History of Photography in Brighton

History of Photography in Brighton


We are searching data for your request:

Forums and discussions:
Manuals and reference books:
Data from registers:
Wait the end of the search in all databases.
Upon completion, a link will appear to access the found materials.

Stereo Cards

The reflective surface of a silvered copper plate was not idealfor stereoscopic effects and the process did not lend itself tothe manufacture of large quantities of stereo pictures. With theadvent of the collodion glass negative and photographic printson albumenized paper in the mid 1850s, the mass production ofstereo cards became possible.

The London Stereoscopic Company, founded in 1854 by GeorgeSwan Nottage, was a firm that specialized in the mass productionof stereoscopic photographs. Nottage's company responded to theenormous demand for stereoscopes and stereo cards. By 1856, TheLondon Stereoscopic Company had sold over 500,000 stereoscopesand had 10,000 titles in its trade list of stereo cards. Two yearslater, in 1858, The London Stereoscopic Company claimed to have100,000 stereo cards in stock [ George Swan Nottage (1823-1885)had connections with Brighton. He owned property in the town andwas a regular visitor to Brighton. At the time of the 1861 CensusGeorge Swan Nottage was residing at 15 Marine Parade, Brightonand when he died in April 1885, he had just returned from an Easterholiday at the seaside town.]

In 1857, The Brighton Stereoscopic Company based at 121St James Street, near the Old Steine was selling stereoscopesfrom half a crown (2s 6d/121/2 p) and stereoscopic views wereon sale at a shilling (1s/10 p) each.

The fashion for collecting and viewing stereoscopic photographsreached its peak in the early 1860s. In 1862 alone, The LondonStereoscopic Company had sold a milliion stereoscopic views.

A wide variety of stereoscopic images could be purchased - viewsof faraway places, (Japan, The Andes) scenes of everyday life,anecdotal pictures, humorous tableaux scenes, 'still life' arrangementsand pictures of life in town and country.In 1858, Samuel Fry,a photographic artist based at 79 Kings Road, Brighton,even produceda "Stereograph of the Moon"

Someof the stereoscopic views sold in Brighton were of purely localinterest.

In March 1863, William Cornish junior of 109 Kings Road,Brighton was advertising a set of six stereoscopic photographsof a decorated railway shed. The 531 ft. long railway shed wasused to house 7,000 school children who had gathered for a mealto celebrate the marriage of Edward, Prince of Wales and PrincessAlexandra of Denmark. Stereoscopic views of the decorated railwayshed could be purchased singly for one shilling (10 pence) orthe customer could buy a complete set for 6 shillings

William Mason junior, the son of W.H.Mason, printsellerand proprietor of the Repository of Arts in Brighton's Kings Road,photographed scenes featuring local craftspeople, such as basketmakers,and issued them as stereographic cards.

Stereocardof a Brighton Basketmaker by W H Mason junior (c1862)


More typically, the Brighton artist Edward Fox, who specialisedin landscape photography, advertised "local views as stereoscopicslides." Familiar landmarks in Brighton, such as the RoyalChain Pier and the Royal Pavilion became popular subjects forstereo cards.Some of Edward Fox junior's stereoscopic slides featuredparticularly dramatic scenes. Fox's titles included " TheChain Pier During a Gale " and " Chain Pier by Moonlight".

Stereocard of the ChainPier, Brighton c1870


Watch the video: Ιστορία της Φωτογραφίας

Geschichte der Fotografie in Brighton

Geschichte der Fotografie in Brighton


We are searching data for your request:

Forums and discussions:
Manuals and reference books:
Data from registers:
Wait the end of the search in all databases.
Upon completion, a link will appear to access the found materials.

Stereokarten

Die spiegelnde Oberfläche einer versilberten Kupferplatte war für stereoskopische Effekte nicht ideal und das Verfahren eignete sich nicht zur Herstellung großer Mengen von Stereobildern. Mit dem Aufkommen des Kollodium-Glasnegativs und der Fotoabzüge auf Albuminpapier Mitte der 1850er Jahre wurde die Massenproduktion von Stereokarten möglich.

Die London Stereoscopic Company, gegründet 1854 von GeorgeSwan Nottage, war eine Firma, die sich auf die Massenproduktion von stereoskopischen Fotografien spezialisiert hatte. Die Firma Nottage reagierte auf die enorme Nachfrage nach Stereoskopen und Stereokarten. Bis 1856 hatte TheLondon Stereoscopic Company über 500.000 Stereoskope verkauft und hatte 10.000 Titel in seiner Handelsliste von Stereokarten. Zwei Jahre später, im Jahr 1858, behauptete die London Stereoscopic Company, 100.000 Stereokarten auf Lager zu haben [ George Swan Nottage (1823-1885) hatte Verbindungen zu Brighton. Er besaß Grundstücke in der Stadt und war ein regelmäßiger Besucher von Brighton. Zum Zeitpunkt der Volkszählung von 1861 wohnte George Swan Nottage in 15 Marine Parade, Brighton, und als er im April 1885 starb, war er gerade von einem Osterurlaub in der Küstenstadt zurückgekehrt.]

Im Jahr 1857, The Brighton Stereoscopic Company mit Sitz in der 121St James Street, in der Nähe der Old Steine, verkaufte Stereoskope von einer halben Krone (2s 6d/121/2 P.) und stereoskopische Ansichten wurden für jeweils einen Schilling (1s/10 P.) verkauft.

Die Mode des Sammelns und Betrachtens von stereoskopischen Fotografien erreichte in den frühen 1860er Jahren ihren Höhepunkt. Allein im Jahr 1862 hatte die LondonStereoscopic Company eine Million stereoskopische Ansichten verkauft.

Eine große Auswahl an stereoskopischen Bildern konnte erworben werden - Ansichten von fernen Orten, (Japan, Anden) Szenen des täglichen Lebens, anekdotische Bilder, humorvolle Tableausszenen, "Stillleben" -Arrangements und Bilder des Lebens in Stadt und Land. Samuel Fry,ein Fotokünstler aus der 79 Kings Road, Brighton, hat sogar einen "Stereograph of the Moon" produziert.

Einige der in Brighton verkauften stereoskopischen Ansichten waren von rein lokalem Interesse.

Im März 1863, William Cornish Junior von 109 Kings Road, Brighton warb für eine Reihe von sechs stereoskopischen Fotografien eines dekorierten Eisenbahnschuppens. Der 531 Fuß lange Eisenbahnschuppen wurde verwendet, um 7.000 Schulkinder zu beherbergen, die sich zu einem Essen versammelt hatten, um die Hochzeit von Edward, Prinz von Wales und Prinzessin Alexandra von Dänemark, zu feiern. Stereoskopische Ansichten des dekorierten Eisenbahnschuppens konnten einzeln für einen Schilling (10 Pence) gekauft werden oder der Kunde konnte ein komplettes Set für 6 Schilling kaufen

William Mason Junior, der Sohn von W. H. Mason, Druckverkäufer und Inhaber des Repository of Arts in Brightons Kings Road, fotografierte Szenen mit lokalen Handwerkern wie Korbmachern und gab sie als Stereokarten aus.

Stereocardof ein Brighton Basketmaker von W H Mason junior (c1862)


Typischer ist der Künstler aus Brighton Edward Fox, der sich auf Landschaftsfotografie spezialisiert hatte, bewarb "lokale Ansichten als stereoskopische Dias". Bekannte Sehenswürdigkeiten in Brighton, wie der RoyalChain Pier und der Royal Pavilion, wurden zu beliebten Themen für Stereokarten. Einige der stereoskopischen Dias von Edward Fox junior zeigten besonders dramatische Szenen. Zu den Titeln von Fox gehörten „TheChain Pier während eines Sturms“ und „Chain Pier by Moonlight“.

Stereokarte des ChainPier, Brighton c1870


Schau das Video: Lächeln bitte! - Die Erfindung der Fotografie I DIE INDUSTRIELLE REVOLUTION