The vision of the sea in the 19th centurye century

The vision of the sea in the 19th century<sup>e</sup> century


We are searching data for your request:

Forums and discussions:
Manuals and reference books:
Data from registers:
Wait the end of the search in all databases.
Upon completion, a link will appear to access the found materials.

  • Landscape with a river in the distance and bay.

    TURNER Joseph (1775 - 1851)

  • The wave.

    COURBET Gustave (1819 - 1877)

  • Young girls by the sea.

    PUVIS DE CHAVANNES Pierre (1824 - 1898)

To close

Title: Landscape with a river in the distance and bay.

Author : TURNER Joseph (1775 - 1851)

School : English

Creation date : 1835

Date shown:

Dimensions: Height 93.5 - Width 123.5

Technique and other indications: Oil painting on canvas

Storage place: Louvre Museum (Paris) website

Contact copyright: © Photo RMN-Grand Palais

Picture reference: 94DE15118 / RF 1967-2

Landscape with a river in the distance and bay.

© Photo RMN-Grand Palais

To close

Title: The wave.

Author : COURBET Gustave (1819 - 1877)

School : Realism

Creation date : 1870

Date shown:

Dimensions: Height 117.1 - Width 160.5

Technique and other indications: Painting also known as "The stormy sea" Oil on canvas

Storage place: Orsay Museum website

Contact copyright: © Photo RMN-Grand Palais - H. Lewandowski

Picture reference: 93DE867 / RF 213

© Photo RMN-Grand Palais - H. Lewandowski

To close

Title: Young girls by the sea.

Author : PUVIS DE CHAVANNES Pierre (1824 - 1898)

School : Symbolism

Creation date : 1879

Date shown:

Dimensions: Height 205 - Width 154

Technique and other indications: Oil painting on canvas

Storage place: Orsay Museum website

Contact copyright: © Photo RMN-Grand Palais - G. Blot / C. Jean

Picture reference: 86EE347 / RF 1970-34

Young girls by the sea.

© Photo RMN-Grand Palais - G. Jean

Publication date: November 2007

Historical context

Before 1750, oceanic spaces attracted little more than sailors. In the XVIIe century, Claude Gellée, known as Le Lorrain, is one of the rare painters to use it in his Harbor views for example, a serene image. The words of classical mythology and of the Bible fill the seas with multiple dangers, to which the persistence of acts of piracy gives a very real character.

This image is gradually fading in Western consciousness, thanks to a process of familiarization to which the success of the great circum-terrestrial voyages and the development of West European merchant navies contributed, but also the diffusion at the beginning of the 18th century.e of natural theology, which argues that the oceans and coasts were willed by God, the popularization of the writings of Bernardin de Saint-Pierre, cantor of distant shores and the rise of romantic sensibility that draws part of his imagination in the contemplation of nature. From 1750 to 1840 occurs what historian Alain Corbin calls the "irresistible awakening of collective desire for the shores". A growing number of doctors prescribe a stay at the sea for its salty air and cold baths; the seas attract romantics, melancholics and all "those who, for fear of the miasma, come to rub shoulders with the foam".

This new attraction is reflected in the painting of the XIXe century. Certainly, in the XVIIe century and eighteenthe, the storms of the Dutch masters, the mythical anchorages of Lorrain, the flourishing ports of Vernet, the silent reveries of Friedrich already testified to a fascination for maritime spaces, but the XIXe century deepens and diversifies its “desire for the shore”. In what way?

Image Analysis

At the turn of the century, the observer liked to let his eye wander, losing itself in these infinite expanses that no visual limit limits. Englishman Turner’s panorama evokes a desire for escape. Its simple palette, dazzling in browns, light beiges, soft grays and luminous white, enlivens an amphibious landscape with shimmers and vibrations where land, sea and sky, indistinct surfaces, interpenetrate within a deliberately unstructured composition. Meanders, wet sand, spray, mist and vapors erase the boundaries between the three elements. This romantic shore invites you to dream, even to melancholy, but, mixing “millennial sediments and ephemeral deposits”, it also provokes a feeling of dizzying time.

The wave de Courbet does not have the lightness of Turner’s landscapes. During his stay in Étretat in the summer of 1869, the painter observed several storms through the window of his house. The wave, carried out at the same time as The Cliff of Étretat after the storm and presented, with its counterpart, at the Salon of 1870, represents a wave fringed with foam that will fall on the beach. Heavy gray-black clouds roll menacingly; the Channel, a deep green, is dismantled; the richness of the material spread with a knife, shows the massiveness of the clouds and the wave, and makes the force of the elements particularly tangible. The energy and savagery that emanate from this canvas painted like a drama justify the words of Cézanne, for whom the tide of Courbet comes "from the depths of the ages".

On the contrary, it is an image of serenity offered by the painting of the Symbolist Puvis de Chavanne. Two reclining women dream on the shore, while only one gazes at the sea, combing her magnificent hair; their sculptural body is modestly covered with an antique drape. The mystery of this timeless scene, the attitude of the woman facing us, the gradation from blond ocher to pale pink, twilight orange create a timeless atmosphere that evokes the Arcadia of classical authors.

Interpretation

These three paintings, in their differences and their proximity, shed light on the complexity of the “desire for the shore” in the 19th century.e century. Puvis's Dream, and to a certain extent Turner's landscape, portray a serene sea that invites melancholy meditation. At the opposite, The wave de Courbet emerged from the world of horror and terror which is already that of Brisants at Granville Point d'Huet and that of Raft of the Medusa de Géricault, that is to say of the romantic generation. One trembles there with "a terror caused by the raging sea, the crushing agitation of the waves, the bite of the sharp reefs" (A. CORBIN, The Territory of the Void. The West and the Desire for the Shore (1750-1840), Aubier, 1988, p. 71).

In any case, the attraction for the ocean is to be seen in relation to the fears and repugnances of the dominant classes in the 19th century.e century. Nostalgia for unclean spaces, the need to recharge one's batteries and to purify oneself, the search for the authenticity of a still wild nature: just as the desire for the shore feeds on disgust for the city, so the sea helps to calm the anxieties of an urban bourgeoisie which feels threatened by filth, exhaustion and degeneration. In the opinion of the doctors of the time, the sea even made it possible to fight "against melancholy and spleen ».

"Territories of the void" until the 1840s, havens of purity or poles of violence cherished for the emotions they arouse, the shores filled during the century with spa visitors and wealthy bathers, before becoming from the 1950s -1960 the privileged place of summer vacations for all layers of society.

  • bourgeoisie
  • Hobbies
  • romanticism
  • health
  • symbolism
  • tourism
  • beach
  • Géricault (Théodore)
  • Granville

Bibliography

Alain CORBIN, The Territory of the Void. The West and the Desire for the Shore (1750-1840), Paris, Aubier, 1988.

Alain TAPIE (dir.), Desire for shore; from Granville to Dieppe, the Normandy coast seen by painters between 1820 and 1945, catalog of the exhibition at the Musée des Beaux-Arts de Caen (June 1 - August 31, 1994), Caen, Musée des Beaux-Arts, Paris, RMN, 1994.

To cite this article

Ivan JABLONKA, “The vision of the sea in the XIXe century "


Video: Royal Caribbean. Vision of the Seas. Dinner Buffet

Die Vision des Meeres im 19. Jahrhunderte Jahrhundert

Die Vision des Meeres im 19. Jahrhundert<sup>e</sup> Jahrhundert

  • Landschaft mit einem Fluss in der Ferne und Bucht.

    TURNER Joseph (1775 - 1851)

  • Die Welle.

    COURBET Gustave (1819 - 1877)

  • Junge Mädchen am Meer.

    PUVIS DE CHAVANNES Pierre (1824 - 1898)

Schließen

Titel: Landschaft mit einem Fluss in der Ferne und Bucht.

Autor: TURNER Joseph (1775 - 1851)

Schule : Englisch

Erstellungsdatum : 1835

Datum angezeigt:

Maße: Höhe 93,5 - Breite 123,5

Technik und andere Indikationen: Ölgemälde auf Leinwand

Lagerort: Website des Louvre-Museums (Paris)

Kontakt Copyright: © Foto RMN-Grand Palais

Bildreferenz: 94DE15118 / RF 1967-2

Landschaft mit einem Fluss in der Ferne und Bucht.

© Foto RMN-Grand Palais

Schließen

Titel: Die Welle.

Autor: COURBET Gustave (1819 - 1877)

Schule : Realismus

Erstellungsdatum : 1870

Datum angezeigt:

Maße: Höhe 117,1 - Breite 160,5

Technik und andere Indikationen: Gemälde auch bekannt als "Das stürmische Meer" Öl auf Leinwand

Lagerort: Orsay Museum Website

Kontakt Copyright: © Foto RMN-Grand Palais - H. Lewandowski

Bildreferenz: 93DE867 / RF 213

© Foto RMN-Grand Palais - H. Lewandowski

Schließen

Titel: Junge Mädchen am Meer.

Autor: PUVIS DE CHAVANNES Pierre (1824 - 1898)

Schule : Symbolismus

Erstellungsdatum : 1879

Datum angezeigt:

Maße: Höhe 205 - Breite 154

Technik und andere Indikationen: Ölgemälde auf Leinwand

Lagerort: Orsay Museum Website

Kontakt Copyright: © Foto RMN-Grand Palais - G. Blot / C. Jean

Bildreferenz: 86EE347 / RF 1970-34

Junge Mädchen am Meer.

© Foto RMN-Grand Palais - G. Jean

Erscheinungsdatum: November 2007

Historischer Zusammenhang

Vor 1750 zogen ozeanische Räume kaum mehr als Seeleute an. Im XVIIe Jahrhundert ist Claude Gellée, bekannt als Le Lorrain, einer der wenigen Maler, die es in seinem verwenden Blick auf den Hafen Zum Beispiel ein ruhiges Bild. Die Worte der klassischen Mythologie und der Bibel erfüllen die Meere mit vielfältigen Gefahren, denen das Fortbestehen von Piraterie einen sehr realen Charakter verleiht.

Dieses Bild schwindet allmählich im westlichen Bewusstsein, dank eines Einarbeitungsprozesses, zu dem der Erfolg der großen zirkumterrestrischen Reisen und die Entwicklung der westeuropäischen Handelsmarinen beigetragen haben, aber auch die Verbreitung zu Beginn des 18. Jahrhunderts.e der natürlichen Theologie, die argumentiert, dass die Ozeane und Küsten von Gott gewollt wurden, die Popularisierung der Schriften von Bernardin de Saint-Pierre, Kantor entfernter Küsten, und der Aufstieg der romantischen Sensibilität, die einen Teil seiner Vorstellungskraft anzieht in der Betrachtung der Natur. Von 1750 bis 1840 ereignet sich das, was der Historiker Alain Corbin das "unwiderstehliche Erwachen des kollektiven Verlangens nach den Ufern" nennt. Eine wachsende Zahl von Ärzten verschreibt wegen der salzigen Luft und der kalten Bäder einen Aufenthalt am Meer. Die Meere ziehen Romantiker, Melancholiker und alle "diejenigen an, die aus Angst vor Miasma kommen, um sich mit dem Schaum die Schultern zu reiben".

Diese neue Attraktion spiegelt sich in der Malerei des XIX widere Jahrhundert. Sicherlich im XVIIe Jahrhundert und achtzehntene, die Stürme der niederländischen Meister, die mythischen Ankerplätze von Lorrain, die blühenden Häfen von Vernet, die stillen Träumereien von Friedrich zeugten bereits von einer Faszination für maritime Räume, aber der XIXe Jahrhundert vertieft und diversifiziert sein "Verlangen nach dem Ufer". Inwiefern?

Bildanalyse

Um die Jahrhundertwende ließ der Betrachter gern sein Auge schweifen, um sich in diesen unendlichen Weiten zu verlieren, die keine visuellen Grenzen haben. Das Panorama des Engländers Turner weckt den Wunsch nach Flucht. Seine einfache Palette, die in Braun, hellem Beige, weichen Grautönen und leuchtendem Weiß schimmert, belebt eine amphibische Landschaft mit Schimmern und Vibrationen, in der sich Land, Meer und Himmel, undeutliche Oberflächen, durchdringen eine bewusst unstrukturierte Komposition. Mäander, nasser Sand, Spray, Nebel und Dämpfe heben die Grenzen zwischen den drei Elementen auf. Dieses romantische Ufer lädt zum Träumen ein, sogar zur Melancholie, aber durch das Mischen von "tausendjährigen Sedimenten und kurzlebigen Ablagerungen" entsteht auch ein Gefühl schwindelerregender Zeit.

Die Welle de Courbet hat nicht die Leichtigkeit von Turners Landschaften. Während seines Aufenthalts in Étretat im Sommer 1869 beobachtete der Maler mehrere Stürme durch das Fenster seines Hauses. Die Welledurchgeführt zur gleichen Zeit wie Die Klippe von Étretat nach dem Sturm und präsentiert mit seinem Gegenstück im Salon von 1870 eine mit Schaum gesäumte Welle, die auf den Strand fallen wird. Schwere grau-schwarze Wolken rollen bedrohlich; Der tiefgrüne Kanal wird abgebaut. Der Reichtum des mit einem Messer ausgebreiteten Materials zeigt die Massivität der Wolken und der Welle und macht die Kraft der Elemente besonders greifbar. Die Energie und Wildheit, die von dieser wie ein Drama gemalten Leinwand ausgehen, rechtfertigen die Worte von Cézanne, für den die Flut von Courbet "aus den Tiefen der Zeitalter" kommt.

Im Gegenteil, es ist ein Bild der Gelassenheit, das das Gemälde des Symbolisten Puvis de Chavanne bietet. Zwei liegende Frauen träumen am Ufer, während nur eine auf das Meer blickt und ihre prächtigen Haare kämmt; Ihr skulpturaler Körper ist bescheiden mit einem antiken Tuch bedeckt. Das Geheimnis dieser zeitlosen Szene, die Haltung der Frau, die uns gegenübersteht, die Abstufung von blondem Ocker zu blassrosa, Dämmerungsorange schaffen eine zeitlose Atmosphäre, die an das Arkadien klassischer Autoren erinnert.

Interpretation

Diese drei Gemälde beleuchten in ihren Unterschieden und ihrer Nähe die Komplexität des „Wunsches nach dem Ufer“ im 19. Jahrhundert.e Jahrhundert. Puvis 'Traum und bis zu einem gewissen Grad Turners Landschaft zeigen ein ruhiges Meer, das zu melancholisch angehauchter Meditation einlädt. Im Gegenteil, Die Welle de Courbet ist aus der Welt des Grauens und des Terrors hervorgegangen, die bereits die von ist Brisants am Granville Point d'Huet und das von Floß der Medusa de Géricault, das heißt von der romantischen Generation. Wir zittern dort mit "einer Angst, die durch das tobende Meer, die zermalmende Bewegung der Wellen, den Biss der scharfen Riffe verursacht wird" (A. CORBIN, Das Territorium der Leere. Der Westen und das Verlangen nach der Küste (1750-1840)Aubier, 1988, p. 71).

In jedem Fall ist die Anziehungskraft des Ozeans in Bezug auf die Ängste und die Abneigung der herrschenden Klassen im 19. Jahrhundert zu sehen.e Jahrhundert. Nostalgie nach unreinen Räumen, die Notwendigkeit, die Batterien wieder aufzuladen und sich zu reinigen, die Suche nach der Authentizität einer noch wilden Natur: So wie sich das Verlangen nach dem Ufer von Ekel für die Stadt ernährt, hilft das Meer, sich zu beruhigen die Ängste einer städtischen Bourgeoisie, die sich von Schmutz, Erschöpfung und Entartung bedroht fühlt. Nach Meinung der damaligen Ärzte ermöglichte das Meer sogar den Kampf gegen Melancholie und Milz ».

"Territorien der Leere" bis in die 1840er Jahre, Zufluchtsorte der Reinheit oder Pole der Gewalt, die für die Emotionen geschätzt werden, die sie wecken, die Ufer, die im Laufe des Jahrhunderts mit Kurbesuchern und wohlhabenden Badenden gefüllt wurden, bevor sie aus den 1950er Jahren stammten -1960 der privilegierte Ort der Sommerferien für alle Schichten der Gesellschaft.

  • Bourgeoisie
  • Hobbys
  • Romantik
  • Gesundheit
  • Symbolismus
  • Tourismus
  • Strand
  • Géricault (Théodore)
  • Granville

Literaturverzeichnis

Alain CORBIN, Das Territorium der Leere. Der Westen und das Verlangen nach der Küste (1750-1840), Paris, Aubier, 1988.

Alain TAPIE (dir.), Wunsch nach Ufer; von Granville bis Dieppe, der Küste der Normandie, gesehen von Malern zwischen 1820 und 1945, Katalog der Ausstellung im Musée des Beaux-Arts de Caen (1. Juni - 31. August 1994), Caen, Musée des Beaux-Arts, Paris, RMN, 1994.

Um diesen Artikel zu zitieren

Ivan JABLONKA, "Die Vision des Meeres im XIXe Jahrhundert "


Video: We get NEW SAILS. Sailing Boat Life Episode 164 Sailing Catalpa