Victor Laloux, the architect of Orsay station

Victor Laloux, the architect of Orsay station

To close

Title: Victor Laloux (1850-1937), architect.

Author : DESCHENAUX, known as DECHENAUD Adolphe (1868 - 1926)

Creation date : 1922

Date shown:

Dimensions: Height 55 - Width 47

Technique and other indications: Oil on canvas

Storage place: Orsay Museum website

Contact copyright: © Photo RMN-Grand Palais - H. Lewandowskisite web

Picture reference: 99DE5012 / RF 1983-99

Victor Laloux (1850-1937), architect.

© Photo RMN-Grand Palais - H. Lewandowski

Publication date: March 2016

Historical context

Emblematic representative of the official architect covered with honors, Victor Laloux enjoyed an exemplary career. His work earned him numerous international awards and distinctions, and in 1920 he became president of the Society of French Artists.

Image Analysis

Adolphe Déchenaud, after a stay in Rome from 1894 to 1898, became known through the portraits he sent to the Salon of French artists. Awarded a third class medal at the end of that of 1900 where he presented a portrait of Constant Roux (current location uncertain) he becomes the usual painter of a group of artists who are his friends (Etienne Dujardin-Beaumetz, 1906, Paris, Musée d´Orsay). Subsequently, through the theme of the workshop, he will bring together the members of his artistic circle in compositions imbued with a lot of naturalness (Friends group, 1908, Paris, Musée d´Orsay).

This portrait of Victor Laloux, which can be dated to 1912 or 1922 thanks to the remains of the inscription on the lower left of the painting, seems more official and represents the character from the front, against an indistinct dark background, in a tight frame. We find there the artist’s usual academic doing, dominated by the smooth touch and the clear palette restoring skin tones.

Interpretation

A tribute by an artist to his elder, this small-format painting, with an intimate character despite the severity and solemnity of the composition, remained in the dedicatee's house until the time of its donation to the Musée d´Orsay. If it is possible to consider its realization in 1922, which the features of the architect seem to corroborate, we can consider this painting as the homage of a member to the new president of the Society of French artists, or as a mark of friendship between these two men who met on the benches of the Institute since 1918. Through the author, the model, the technique or the motivation of this painting, two artists are found together who made it last late in the twentieth century a certain academic tradition, both pictorial and architectural, linked to the teaching of the School of Fine Arts, both of which covered the entire course.

  • architecture
  • station
  • portrait
  • town planning
  • Laloux (Victor)

Bibliography

Marie-Laure CROSNIER-LECONTE Victor Laloux, the architect of Orsay station Paris, 1987.

To cite this article

Dominique LOBSTEIN, "Victor Laloux, the architect of the Orsay station"


Video: The Musee DOrsay in minecraft

Victor Laloux, der Architekt der Orsay Station

Victor Laloux, der Architekt der Orsay Station

Schließen

Titel: Victor Laloux (1850–1937), Architekt.

Autor: DESCHENAUX, bekannt als DECHENAUD Adolphe (1868 - 1926)

Erstellungsdatum : 1922

Datum angezeigt:

Maße: Höhe 55 - Breite 47

Technik und andere Indikationen: Öl auf Leinwand

Lagerort: Orsay Museum Website

Kontakt Copyright: © Foto RMN-Grand Palais - H. Lewandowskisite Web

Bildreferenz: 99DE5012 / RF 1983-99

Victor Laloux (1850–1937), Architekt.

© Foto RMN-Grand Palais - H. Lewandowski

Erscheinungsdatum: März 2016

Historischer Zusammenhang

Victor Laloux, ein bedeutender Vertreter des offiziellen Architekten mit Auszeichnung, erlebte eine vorbildliche Karriere. Seine Arbeit brachte ihm zahlreiche internationale Auszeichnungen und Auszeichnungen ein und 1920 wurde er Präsident der Gesellschaft französischer Künstler.

Bildanalyse

Adolphe Déchenaud wurde nach einem Aufenthalt in Rom von 1894 bis 1898 durch die Porträts bekannt, die er an den Salon französischer Künstler sandte. Mit einer Medaille der dritten Klasse am Ende des Jahres 1900 belohnt, wo er ein Porträt von Constant Roux präsentierte (aktueller Standort ungewiss), wird er zum üblichen Maler einer Gruppe von Künstlern, die seine Freunde sind (Etienne Dujardin-Beaumetz1906, Paris, Musée d´Orsay). Anschließend wird er durch das Thema des Workshops die Mitglieder seines künstlerischen Kreises in Kompositionen zusammenbringen, die von viel Natürlichkeit durchdrungen sind (Freundesgruppe1908, Paris, Orsay Museum).

Dieses Porträt von Victor Laloux, das dank der Reste der Inschrift unten links auf dem Gemälde auf 1912 oder 1922 datiert werden kann, wirkt offizieller und repräsentiert die Figur von vorne vor einem undeutlichen dunklen Hintergrund in einem engen Rahmen. Wir finden dort das übliche akademische Tun des Künstlers, dominiert von der sanften Berührung und der klaren Palette, die die Hauttöne wiederherstellt.

Interpretation

Als Hommage eines Künstlers an seinen Ältesten blieb dieses kleinformatige Gemälde, das trotz der Strenge und Feierlichkeit der Komposition einen intimen Charakter hatte, bis zu seiner Spende an das Musée d´Orsay im Haus des Widmungsträgers. Wenn es möglich ist, seine Verwirklichung im Jahr 1922 in Betracht zu ziehen, was die Merkmale des Architekten zu bestätigen scheinen, können wir dieses Gemälde als Hommage eines Mitglieds an den neuen Präsidenten der Gesellschaft französischer Künstler oder als ein Zeichen der Freundschaft zwischen diesen beiden Männern, die sich seit 1918 auf den Bänken des Instituts trafen. Durch den Autor, das Modell, die Technik oder die Motivation dieses Gemäldes finden wir zwei Künstler, die es zuletzt spät gemacht haben. im zwanzigsten Jahrhundert war eine gewisse akademische Tradition, sowohl bildlich als auch architektonisch, mit dem Unterricht an der School of Fine Arts verbunden, die beide den gesamten Kurs abdeckten.

  • die Architektur
  • Bahnhof
  • Porträt
  • Stadtplanung
  • Laloux (Victor)

Literaturverzeichnis

Marie-Laure CROSNIER-LECONTE Victor Laloux, der Architekt der Orsay Station Paris, 1987.

Um diesen Artikel zu zitieren

Dominique LOBSTEIN, "Victor Laloux, der Architekt der Orsay Station"


Video: Les Invalides - Tomb of Napoleon Paris 2009