Versailles

Versailles


We are searching data for your request:

Forums and discussions:
Manuals and reference books:
Data from registers:
Wait the end of the search in all databases.
Upon completion, a link will appear to access the found materials.

  • View of the Palace and Gardens of Versailles.

    PATEL Pierre (1604 - 1676)

  • View of the Palace and Gardens of Versailles (detail).

    PATEL Pierre (1604 - 1676)

  • View of the Palace and Gardens of Versailles (detail).

    PATEL Pierre (1604 - 1676)

  • View of the Palace and Gardens of Versailles (detail).

    PATEL Pierre (1604 - 1676)

To close

Title: View of the Palace and Gardens of Versailles.

Author : PATEL Pierre (1604 - 1676)

Creation date : 1668

Date shown:

Dimensions: Height 115 - Width 161

Technique and other indications: Oil on canvas

Storage location: National Museum of the Palace of Versailles (Versailles) website

Contact copyright: © Photo RMN-Grand Palais (Palace of Versailles) / Gérard Blot

Picture reference: 96-001865 / MV765

View of the Palace and Gardens of Versailles.

© Photo RMN-Grand Palais (Palace of Versailles) / Gérard Blot

To close

Title: View of the Palace and Gardens of Versailles (detail).

Author : PATEL Pierre (1604 - 1676)

Creation date : 1668

Date shown:

Dimensions: Height 0 - Width 0

Technique and other indications: Oil on canvas

Storage location: National Museum of the Palace of Versailles (Versailles) website

Contact copyright: © Photo RMN-Grand Palais (Palace of Versailles) / Daniel Arnaudet

Picture reference: 84-000903 / MV765

View of the Palace and Gardens of Versailles (detail).

© Photo RMN-Grand Palais (Palace of Versailles) / Daniel Arnaudet

To close

Title: View of the Palace and Gardens of Versailles (detail).

Author : PATEL Pierre (1604 - 1676)

Creation date : 1668

Date shown:

Dimensions: Height 0 - Width 0

Technique and other indications: Oil on canvas

Storage location: National Museum of the Palace of Versailles (Versailles) website

Contact copyright: © Photo RMN-Grand Palais (Palace of Versailles) / Daniel Arnaudet / Gérard Blot

Picture reference: 84-000902 / MV765

View of the Palace and Gardens of Versailles (detail).

© Photo RMN-Grand Palais (Palace of Versailles) / Daniel Arnaudet / Gérard Blot

To close

Title: View of the Palace and Gardens of Versailles (detail).

Author : PATEL Pierre (1604 - 1676)

Creation date : 1668

Date shown:

Dimensions: Height 0 - Width 0

Technique and other indications: Oil on canvas

Storage location: National Museum of the Palace of Versailles (Versailles) website

Contact copyright: © Photo RMN-Grand Palais (Palace of Versailles) / Daniel Arnaudet

Picture reference: 84-000907 / MV765

View of the Palace and Gardens of Versailles (detail).

© Photo RMN-Grand Palais (Palace of Versailles) / Daniel Arnaudet

Publication date: December 2012

Historical context

The mere sight of these buildings evokes absolutism and classicism. Versailles is today a constitutive, immovable and timeless element of the "French national novel". The painting by Pierre Patel, a classic oil on canvas of modest size showing the fragmentary and unfinished palace as it appears in 1668, is therefore particularly interesting.

On this date, the personal reign of Louis XIV had only just begun. The existing arrangements in 1668, and therefore visible in this painting, reflect the priorities of the monarch: the gardens are designed, organized and green, the cave of Thétys, a place of relaxation, is present (square-shaped building to the left of the main entrance, topped with sculptures). Patel's canvas recalls that, until 1789, Versailles was an eternal site where "there is not a place that has not been changed ten times", in the words of Princess Palatine. The palace presented here is therefore the one the sovereign wants to show: a residence, but also an instrument of power and prestige.

Image Analysis

The painting is organized around a central axis materialized by the canal, the Latona basin (even if it has not yet received its statues, begun in the same year of the painting), the pavilion of Louis XIII, the center of which will be occupied by the king's chamber from 1701, the Marble court and the future avenue de Paris.
This east-west line creates a real gap in the relief, moreover clearly exaggerated by the painter to show that the Sun King dominates nature: the hills seem to be pushed back by the basin, the marshes disappear in favor of formal gardens arranged by Le Nôtre from 1662. This axis dissolves in the distance in the blur of the landscape, affirming the infinity of royal power. Likewise, in the foreground, it explodes into a multitude of paths, giving the impression of radiating and weaving a parallel with the sun, a symbol chosen by the king as early as 1654.

The theme of the sun is taken up in the very organization of the painting: the chosen east-west axis recalls the diurnal course of the star. From the chosen point of view, panorama overhanging all the buildings, the strict French gardens and the rigor of its organization, the painting appears geometric, almost a "cold machine of glory" (J. Cornette). To humanize the canvas, Patel featured a procession entering the palace in the lower right corner of the canvas.

The only human presence in the painting is organized around the king's coach, reminding us that the latter is the court's center of gravity, starting in 1668. Curiously, the painting shows no workers, no construction sites, even though close 2% of the kingdom's expenditure is devoted to the beautification of the palace and that in 1685, according to a courtier, more than 36,000 people worked there. This absence is not explained only by the end of the first phase of expansion (1664-1668), and the priority then given to the War of Devolution (1667-1668). The painter shows that it is through the king that the palace is organized and built; he and his courtiers alone are worthy of being immortalized.

The colors chosen also tend to humanize the painting. Patel usually paints uncrowded ruins. It is through the play of warm colors that he manages to give them a peaceful atmosphere. The same process is applied for Versailles: the ocher of buildings and terraces lit by sunlight, as well as the clear and reassuring sky, tend to attenuate the cold and majestic aspect of the composition.

Interpretation

Why immortalize the castle when the constructions are only in their infancy?

From the start of his personal reign, long before actually settling there (1682), Louis XIV made this place a symbol of his power, a "reliquary of absolutism" (J. Cornette). By including this painting in a set of paintings including Fontainebleau, the Sun King seeks to anchor his reign in the lineage of his predecessors, and in particular of François Ier. It is interesting to draw a parallel between this painting by Pierre Patel and the portrait of Louis XIV in coronation costume painted by Hyacinthe Rigaud. The latter spreads the idea of ​​the power of the king through his demeanor and his regalia.

Likewise, Patel’s painting conveys the idea of ​​the king’s power through his works, notably the largest of them, Versailles. Rigaud's painting was to be sent to the court of Philip V of Spain, to remind the Bourbon of the majesty of his grandfather. We can assume that the vocation of this painting was not to remain in the palace. These paintings "make the grandeur of royal power burst out in the eyes of all", to use Bossuet's words. Being two commissions, they also recall that art, in the XVIIe century, lives on the subsidies of the sovereign, provider of pensions and offices, and submits to his tastes and demands. These lead to many representations of the palace in Patel's style, such as The Orangery of the Palace of Versailles by Martin des Batailles or the various paintings by his brother, Pierre-Denis Martin (The Palace of Versailles, 1722).

After the aura of prestige and power in Louisiana, the Revolution adorned it with a negative and sulphurous aura, which continued throughout the 19th century.e century, despite the success of the Museum of French History inaugurated by Louis-Philippe in June 1837. It was not until the XXe century for artists to truly appropriate the palace. The latter enters popular culture: it is the setting for blockbuster films like Marie Antoinette (S. Coppola, 2006), while opening up to contemporary art (Murakami in 2010).

  • Versailles
  • architecture
  • Louis XIV
  • absolute monarchy
  • garden
  • Le Nôtre (André)
  • Great Century

Bibliography

Thierry BAJOU, Painting in Versailles, Seventeenth century, Paris, R.M.N., 2000.

Joël CORNETTE (dir.), Versailles, the power of stone, Paris, Tallandier, 2006.

Nathalie COURAL, The Patels: Pierre Patel (1605-1676) and his sons, Paris, Arthéna, 2001.

Vincent MAROTEAUX, Versailles, the king and his domain, Paris, Picard, 2000.

Jean-François SOLNON, History of Versailles, Paris, Perrin, coll. "Tempus", 2003.

To cite this article

Baptiste LOY, "Versailles"


Video: M83 - Outro Versailles Theme Vinyl Rip


Comments:

  1. Faezuru

    I think, that you have deceived.

  2. Filmore

    Few feelings .. but beautiful ...

  3. Scaffeld

    remarkably, this is the fun play

  4. Kazralkree

    Sounds quite seductive



Write a message

Versailles

Versailles

  • Blick auf das Schloss und die Gärten von Versailles.

    PATEL Pierre (1604 - 1676)

  • Blick auf das Schloss und die Gärten von Versailles (Detail).

    PATEL Pierre (1604 - 1676)

  • Blick auf das Schloss und die Gärten von Versailles (Detail).

    PATEL Pierre (1604 - 1676)

  • Blick auf das Schloss und die Gärten von Versailles (Detail).

    PATEL Pierre (1604 - 1676)

Schließen

Titel: Blick auf das Schloss und die Gärten von Versailles.

Autor: PATEL Pierre (1604 - 1676)

Erstellungsdatum : 1668

Datum angezeigt:

Maße: Höhe 115 - Breite 161

Technik und andere Indikationen: Öl auf Leinwand

Speicherort: Website des Nationalmuseums des Schlosses von Versailles (Versailles)

Kontakt Copyright: © Foto RMN-Grand Palais (Schloss von Versailles) / Gérard Blot

Bildreferenz: 96-001865 / MV765

Blick auf das Schloss und die Gärten von Versailles.

© Foto RMN-Grand Palais (Schloss von Versailles) / Gérard Blot

Schließen

Titel: Blick auf das Schloss und die Gärten von Versailles (Detail).

Autor: PATEL Pierre (1604 - 1676)

Erstellungsdatum : 1668

Datum angezeigt:

Maße: Höhe 0 - Breite 0

Technik und andere Indikationen: Öl auf Leinwand

Speicherort: Website des Nationalmuseums des Schlosses von Versailles (Versailles)

Kontakt Copyright: © Foto RMN-Grand Palais (Schloss von Versailles) / Daniel Arnaudet

Bildreferenz: 84-000903 / MV765

Blick auf das Schloss und die Gärten von Versailles (Detail).

© Foto RMN-Grand Palais (Schloss von Versailles) / Daniel Arnaudet

Schließen

Titel: Blick auf das Schloss und die Gärten von Versailles (Detail).

Autor: PATEL Pierre (1604 - 1676)

Erstellungsdatum : 1668

Datum angezeigt:

Maße: Höhe 0 - Breite 0

Technik und andere Indikationen: Öl auf Leinwand

Speicherort: Website des Nationalmuseums des Schlosses von Versailles (Versailles)

Kontakt Copyright: © Foto RMN-Grand Palais (Schloss von Versailles) / Daniel Arnaudet / Gérard Blot

Bildreferenz: 84-000902 / MV765

Blick auf das Schloss und die Gärten von Versailles (Detail).

© Foto RMN-Grand Palais (Schloss von Versailles) / Daniel Arnaudet / Gérard Blot

Schließen

Titel: Blick auf das Schloss und die Gärten von Versailles (Detail).

Autor: PATEL Pierre (1604 - 1676)

Erstellungsdatum : 1668

Datum angezeigt:

Maße: Höhe 0 - Breite 0

Technik und andere Indikationen: Öl auf Leinwand

Speicherort: Website des Nationalmuseums des Schlosses von Versailles (Versailles)

Kontakt Copyright: © Foto RMN-Grand Palais (Schloss von Versailles) / Daniel Arnaudet

Bildreferenz: 84-000907 / MV765

Blick auf das Schloss und die Gärten von Versailles (Detail).

© Foto RMN-Grand Palais (Schloss von Versailles) / Daniel Arnaudet

Erscheinungsdatum: Dezember 2012

Historischer Zusammenhang

Der bloße Anblick dieser Gebäude ruft Absolutismus und Klassizismus hervor. Versailles ist heute ein konstitutives, unbewegliches und zeitloses Element des "französischen Nationalromanes". Besonders interessant ist daher das Gemälde von Pierre Patel, ein klassisches Öl auf Leinwand von bescheidener Größe, das den fragmentarischen und unvollendeten Palast aus dem Jahr 1668 zeigt.

Zu diesem Zeitpunkt hatte die persönliche Regierungszeit Ludwigs XIV. Gerade erst begonnen. Die bestehenden Arrangements aus dem Jahr 1668, die in diesem Gemälde zu sehen sind, spiegeln die Prioritäten des Monarchen wider: Die Gärten sind gestaltet, organisiert und grün, die Höhle von Thétys, ein Ort der Entspannung, ist vorhanden (quadratisches Gebäude links vom Haupteingang, gekrönt mit Skulpturen). Patels Leinwand erinnert daran, dass Versailles bis 1789 ein ewiger Ort war, an dem "es keinen Ort gibt, der nicht zehnmal verändert wurde", so Prinzessin Palatine. Der hier vorgestellte Palast ist daher derjenige, den der Souverän zeigen möchte: eine Residenz, aber auch ein Instrument der Macht und des Prestiges.

Bildanalyse

Das Gemälde ist um eine vom Kanal materialisierte Mittelachse angeordnet, das Latona-Becken (auch wenn es noch keine Statuen erhalten hat, die im selben Jahr des Gemäldes begonnen wurden), den Pavillon Ludwigs XIII. Das Zentrum wird ab 1701 von der Königskammer, dem Marmorhof und der künftigen Allee von Paris besetzt sein.
Diese Ost-West-Linie schafft eine echte Lücke im Relief, die vom Maler deutlich übertrieben wird, um zu zeigen, dass der Sonnenkönig die Natur dominiert: Die Hügel scheinen vom Becken zurückgedrängt zu werden, die Sümpfe verschwinden zugunsten der von arrangierten formalen Gärten Le Nôtre von 1662. Diese Achse löst sich in der Ferne in der Unschärfe der Landschaft auf und bestätigt die Unendlichkeit der königlichen Macht. Ebenso explodiert es im Vordergrund in eine Vielzahl von Pfaden und erweckt den Eindruck, eine Parallele zur Sonne zu strahlen und zu weben, ein Symbol, das der König bereits 1654 gewählt hat.

Das Thema Sonne wird in der Organisation des Gemäldes selbst aufgegriffen: Die gewählte Ost-West-Achse erinnert an den Tagesverlauf des Sterns. Aus der gewählten Sicht, einem Panorama mit Blick auf alle Gebäude, die strengen französischen Gärten und die Strenge seiner Organisation, erscheint das Gemälde geometrisch, fast wie eine "kalte Maschine des Ruhms" (J. Cornette). Um die Leinwand zu humanisieren, zeigte Patel eine Prozession, die den Palast in der unteren rechten Ecke der Leinwand betrat.

Die einzige menschliche Präsenz auf dem Gemälde ist um die Kutsche des Königs herum organisiert, was uns daran erinnert, dass letztere ab 1668 der Schwerpunkt des Hofes ist. Seltsamerweise zeigt das Gemälde keine Arbeiter, keine Baustellen, obwohl es in der Nähe ist 2% der Ausgaben des Königreichs sind für die Verschönerung des Palastes bestimmt, und 1685 arbeiteten nach Angaben eines Höflings mehr als 36.000 Menschen dort. Diese Abwesenheit erklärt sich nicht nur durch das Ende der ersten Expansionsphase (1664-1668) und die Priorität, die dann dem Devolutionskrieg (1667-1668) eingeräumt wird. Der Maler zeigt, dass der Palast durch den König organisiert und gebaut wird; er und seine Höflinge allein sind es wert, verewigt zu werden.

Die gewählten Farben neigen auch dazu, das Gemälde zu humanisieren. Patel malt normalerweise nicht überfüllte Ruinen. Durch das Spiel warmer Farben schafft er es, ihnen eine friedliche Atmosphäre zu geben. Das gleiche Verfahren wird für Versailles angewendet: Der Ocker von Gebäuden und Terrassen, die vom Sonnenlicht beleuchtet werden, sowie der klare und beruhigende Himmel dämpfen tendenziell den kalten und majestätischen Aspekt der Komposition.

Interpretation

Warum das Schloss verewigen, wenn die Bauwerke erst in den Kinderschuhen stecken?

Von Beginn seiner persönlichen Regierungszeit an, lange bevor er sich dort niederließ (1682), machte Ludwig XIV. Diesen Ort zu einem Symbol seiner Macht, einem "Reliquiar des Absolutismus" (J. Cornette). Durch die Aufnahme dieses Gemäldes in eine Reihe von Gemälden, darunter Fontainebleau, versucht der Sonnenkönig, seine Herrschaft in der Linie seiner Vorgänger und insbesondere von François I. zu verankernäh. Es ist interessant, eine Parallele zwischen diesem Gemälde von Pierre Patel und dem Porträt von Ludwig XIV. In einem von Hyacinthe Rigaud gemalten Krönungskostüm zu ziehen. Letzterer verbreitet die Idee der Macht des Königs durch sein und sein Verhalten Insignien.

Ebenso vermittelt Patels Gemälde die Idee der Macht des Königs durch seine Werke, insbesondere das größte von ihnen, Versailles. Rigauds Gemälde sollte an den Hof Philipps V. von Spanien geschickt werden, um den Bourbon an die Majestät seines Großvaters zu erinnern. Wir können davon ausgehen, dass die Berufung dieses Gemäldes nicht im Palast bleiben sollte. Diese Bilder "lassen die Größe der königlichen Macht in den Augen aller platzen", um Bossuets Worte zu verwenden. Als zwei Kommissionen erinnern sie sich auch an diese Kunst im XVIIe Jahrhundert, lebt von den Subventionen des Souveräns, Anbieter von Renten und Ämtern, und unterwirft sich seinem Geschmack und seinen Forderungen. Diese führen zu vielen Darstellungen des Palastes im Stil Patels, wie z Die Orangerie des Schlosses von Versailles von Martin des Batailles oder die verschiedenen Gemälde seines Bruders Pierre-Denis Martin (Das Schloss von Versailles, 1722).

Nach der Aura des Prestiges und der Macht in Louisiana schmückte die Revolution sie mit einer negativen und schwefelhaltigen Aura, die sich im gesamten 19. Jahrhundert fortsetzte.e Jahrhundert, trotz des Erfolgs des im Juni 1837 von Louis-Philippe eingeweihten Museums für französische Geschichte. Erst am XXe Jahrhundert für Künstler, um den Palast wirklich anzueignen. Letzteres trat in die Populärkultur ein: Es war die Kulisse für Blockbuster-Filme wie Marie Antoinette (S. Coppola, 2006), während er sich der zeitgenössischen Kunst öffnet (Murakami im Jahr 2010).

  • Versailles
  • die Architektur
  • Ludwig XIV
  • absolute Monarchie
  • Garten
  • Le Nôtre (André)
  • Großes Jahrhundert

Literaturverzeichnis

Thierry BAJOU, Malen in Versailles, Siebzehntes Jahrhundert, Paris, R. M. N., 2000.

Joël CORNETTE (dir.), Versailles, die Kraft des Steins, Paris, Tallandier, 2006.

Nathalie COURAL, Die Patels: Pierre Patel (1605-1676) und seine Söhne, Paris, Arthéna, 2001.

Vincent MAROTEAUX, Versailles, der König und seine Domäne, Paris, Picard, 2000.

Jean-François SOLNON, Geschichte von Versailles, Paris, Perrin, umg. "Tempus", 2003.

Um diesen Artikel zu zitieren

Baptiste LOY, "Versailles"


Video: Versailles. Aristocrats Symphony Official Music Video