The Troika

The Troika


We are searching data for your request:

Forums and discussions:
Manuals and reference books:
Data from registers:
Wait the end of the search in all databases.
Upon completion, a link will appear to access the found materials.

© Contemporary Collections

Publication date: March 2016

Historical context

This cartoon is taken from Gringoire, an extreme right-wing weekly (1928-1944) dominated by its columnist, Henri Béraud. Principal cartoonist of Gringoire, Roger Roy (who started in the left-wing press) has held it for two years. The pencil lines are underlined with India ink, and the contrasts are assured by a few black flat spots.

The cartoon was published about four weeks after the grandiose Paris day of July 14, 1935, when the forty organizations forming the Popular Rally sealed their alliance and swore to “defend democratic freedoms” threatened by factious leagues. From then on, the Popular Front, led by the three major left parties (SFIO, PCF, radical party), was on the march for the legislative elections scheduled for May 1936.

Image Analysis

Roger Roy shows Stalin (in Bolshevik uniform, in boots, wearing a cap marked with the red star) leading, a whip in hand, a troika pulled by three personalities of the Popular Front transformed into horses (zoomorphism is sometimes still used in the caricature of the time to ridicule his victim). From top to bottom: the radical Edouard Daladier, the communist Marcel Cachin, the socialist Léon Blum, while at the back the other great radical, Edouard Herriot (identifiable by his famous pipe), tries in vain to catch up with the sledge which gets carried away. For a Frenchman in 1935, the troika evokes Russian folklore, but also the succession of Lenin (Stalin had managed to get rid of the two other members of the antitrotskyist "troika", Zinoviev and Kamenev).

Interpretation

Roy attacks familiar figures in the audience. So he chooses Cachin, the director of Humanity, a historic communist, preferably Thorez, less known at the time (he had led the PCF since 1931), and Blum, leader of the Socialist parliamentary group in the House, but not of the party. Daladier does not lead the radical party either. But, for the far right, the former president of the Council is the "fusilleur of February 6, 1934"; and then, unlike the true radical leader, Herriot, he clearly sided with the Popular Front. Herriot, for his part, only rallied late and sluggishly, which cost him the presidency of the radical party (Daladier succeeded him in January 1935).

The idea that the Popular Front, an agent of Stalin, was the bedrock of Soviet communism is only in its infancy. A touchstone of ever more violent far-right propaganda, it swelled after June 1936, when Blum was in Matignon. Stalin will thus populate the caricatures of Gringoire. At the time of Munich (1938), anti-communism even explained the rallying of a hitherto nationalist and Germanophobic far right to the pacifist solutions of Hitler's Europe ("Rather Hitler than the Popular Front and Stalin").

  • caricature
  • deputies
  • Popular Front
  • Blum (Leon)
  • socialism
  • Stalin (Joseph Vissarionovich Dzhugashvili, said)
  • Third Republic
  • anticommunism
  • Daladier (Edouard)
  • Herriot (Edouard)
  • PCF
  • hurry
  • SFIO
  • Kamenev (Lev Borissovich)
  • Zinoviev (Grigori)

Bibliography

Serge BERSTEIN, France in the 1930s, Paris, Armand Colin, coll. "Cursus", 1988.Dominique BORNE and Henri DUBIEF, The crisis of the 1930s (1929-1938), Paris, Seuil coll. "Points-Histoire", 1989.Christian DELPORTE, The propaganda pencils, Paris, CNRS-Editions, 1993.J. LETHÈVE, Caricature under the Third Republic, Paris, Armand Colin, 1961, reissued 1986.

To cite this article

Christian DELPORTE, "The troika"


Video: Troika

Die Troika

Die Troika

© Zeitgenössische Sammlungen

Erscheinungsdatum: März 2016

Historischer Zusammenhang

Dieser Cartoon stammt aus Gringoire, eine rechtsextreme Wochenzeitung (1928-1944), die von ihrem Kolumnisten Henri Béraud dominiert wird. Hauptkarikaturist von GringoireRoger Roy (der in der linken Presse angefangen hat) hat es zwei Jahre lang gehalten. Die Bleistiftlinien sind mit Tusche unterstrichen, und die Kontraste werden durch einige schwarze flache Flecken gewährleistet.

Die Karikatur wurde ungefähr vier Wochen nach dem grandiosen Pariser Tag vom 14. Juli 1935 veröffentlicht, als die vierzig Organisationen, die die Volkskundgebung bildeten, ihr Bündnis besiegelten und schworen, "demokratische Freiheiten zu verteidigen", die von faktischen Ligen bedroht waren. Von da an war die Volksfront, angeführt von den drei großen linken Parteien (SFIO, PCF, radikale Partei), auf dem Marsch zu den für Mai 1936 geplanten Parlamentswahlen.

Bildanalyse

Roger Roy zeigt Stalin (in bolschewistischer Uniform, in Stiefeln, mit einer Mütze mit dem roten Stern) an der Spitze, eine Peitsche in der Hand, eine Troika, die von drei Persönlichkeiten der Volksfront gezogen wurde und in Pferde verwandelt wurde (manchmal wird immer noch Zoomorphismus verwendet) in der Karikatur der Zeit, sein Opfer lächerlich zu machen). Von oben nach unten: Der radikale Edouard Daladier, der Kommunist Marcel Cachin, der Sozialist Léon Blum, während der andere große Radikale, Edouard Herriot (erkennbar an seiner berühmten Pfeife), vergeblich versucht, den Schlitten einzuholen, der wird mitgerissen. Für einen Franzosen im Jahr 1935 erinnert die Troika an die russische Folklore, aber auch an die Nachfolge Lenins (Stalin hatte es geschafft, die beiden anderen Mitglieder der antitrotskistischen "Troika" Sinowjew und Kamenew loszuwerden).

Interpretation

Roy greift bekannte Persönlichkeiten im Publikum an. Also wählt er Cachin, den Regisseur von Menschheit, ein historischer Kommunist, vorzugsweise Thorez, der zu dieser Zeit weniger bekannt war (er hatte die PCF seit 1931 geführt), und Blum, Vorsitzender der sozialistischen Fraktion im Haus, aber nicht der Partei. Daladier führt auch die radikale Partei nicht an. Für die extreme Rechte ist der frühere Präsident des Rates der "Fusilleur vom 6. Februar 1934"; und dann, im Gegensatz zu dem wahren radikalen Führer, Herriot, war er eindeutig auf der Seite der Volksfront. Herriot hingegen erholte sich nur spät und träge, was ihn die Präsidentschaft der radikalen Partei kostete (Daladier folgte ihm im Januar 1935 nach).

Die Idee, dass die Volksfront, Agent Stalins, das Fundament des sowjetischen Kommunismus war, steckt erst in den Kinderschuhen. Der Prüfstein für immer gewalttätigere rechtsextreme Propaganda schwoll nach Juni 1936 an, als Blum in Matignon war. Stalin wird also die Karikaturen von bevölkern Gringoire. Zur Zeit Münchens (1938) erklärte der Antikommunismus sogar die Versammlung eines bisher nationalistischen und germanophoben Rechtsextremisten zu den pazifistischen Lösungen von Hitlers Europa ("Eher Hitler als Volksfront und Stalin").

  • Karikatur
  • Abgeordnete
  • Volksfront
  • Blum (Leon)
  • Sozialismus
  • Stalin (Joseph Vissarionovich Dzhugashvili, sagte)
  • Dritte Republik
  • Antikommunismus
  • Daladier (Edouard)
  • Herriot (Edouard)
  • PCF
  • Eile
  • SFIO
  • Kamenew (Lev Borissovich)
  • Sinowjew (Grigori)

Literaturverzeichnis

Serge BERSTEIN, Frankreich in den 1930er Jahren, Paris, Armand Colin, umg. "Cursus", 1988. Dominique BORNE und Henri DUBIEF, Die Krise der 1930er Jahre (1929-1938), Paris, Seuil coll. "Points-Histoire", 1989. Christian DELPORTE, Die Propagandastifte, Paris, CNRS-Editions, 1993.J. LETHÈVE, Karikatur unter der Dritten Republik, Paris, Armand Colin, 1961, neu aufgelegt 1986.

Um diesen Artikel zu zitieren

Christian DELPORTE, "Die Troika"


Video: Ulrike Herrmann über: Griechenland, Troika, Banken und die Rolle Deutschlands