The signing of the Treaty of Versailles

The signing of the Treaty of Versailles


We are searching data for your request:

Forums and discussions:
Manuals and reference books:
Data from registers:
Wait the end of the search in all databases.
Upon completion, a link will appear to access the found materials.

To close

Title: Signature of the Peace Treaty by the German delegation on June 28, 1919 in the Hall of Mirrors.

Author : ORPEN William (1878 - 1931)

Creation date : 1921

Date shown: June 28, 1919

Dimensions: Height 0 - Width 0

Technique and other indications: Oil on canvas.

Storage place: Bildarchiv Preussischer Kulturbesitz (Berlin) website

Contact copyright: © BPK, Berlin, Dist RMN-Grand Palais - Photographer unknown website

Picture reference: 04-507383

Signature of the Peace Treaty by the German delegation on June 28, 1919 in the Hall of Mirrors.

© BPK, Berlin, Dist RMN-Grand Palais - Photographer unknown

Publication date: September 2008

Video

The signing of the Treaty of Versailles

Video

Historical context

Making peace in 1919, a challenge

The peace conference opened in Versailles on January 18, 1919. Two months after the armistice, the question remains: how to pacify Europe after such a devastating conflict? Loose, the settlement of hostilities certainly was from the outset, for all the countries that entered the war in 1914 are convinced that they did so for good reasons. These tensions weigh heavily on the drafting of the treaty, and its final content was initialed on June 28, 1919, exactly five years after the assassination of Archduke Franz Ferdinand in Sarajevo.

Image Analysis

The painting by Sir William Orpen, a painter accredited by the English army during the conflict, is somewhat Epinal's image of the event, reproduced many times in textbooks. Its immediate clarity - the German plenipotentiaries Müller and Bell signing death to the soul under the domineering gaze of Wilson, Clemenceau and Lloyd George in front of them - is not without concealing some subtleties, however. Indeed, it seems that, strongly marked by his experience of life in the trenches, Orpen wanted to play down somewhat the splendor of the trio of Allied leaders as they appear. Orpen counterbalances the majesty of the victorious rulers by crushing them under the high ceilings of the Hall of Mirrors, which occupy the upper three-quarters of the painting. Omnipresent, the mirrors have nothing to reflect: the room is empty in front of the signatories. Summoned to fight, the people are not invited to the diplomatic ballet. That the artist, on this point, took the trouble to reproduce the inscription "Le Roy gouverne" at the top center speaks volumes about his questions. In direct continuity, his 1923 painting, To the Unknown British Soldier Killed in France, will be the subject of a heated debate. It initially depicted a coffin wrapped in Union Jack and flanked by two ghost-like soldiers, later erased under pressure from the British authorities. Note: the place chosen by Orpen for this scene was also the castle of Louis XIV ...

Interpretation

An essential milestone of the XXe european century

This Treaty of Versailles is shattered twenty years and two months after its signature, when Britain and France declared war on Hitler’s Germany. The casus belli, Hitler's invasion of Poland, stems from the 1919 text since it established an independent Poland. But "the refusal of the victorious powers to reinstate the losers torpedoed the meager chances of peace" (Eric J. Hobsbawm, Age of extremes, Brussels, Complex, 1999, p. 60), as the wrongs could not, at the end of the Great War, be endorsed by the Germans alone. In reality, the Treaty of Versailles did not satisfy many people as soon as it was signed. Admittedly, Clemenceau is delighted with the attitude of defeat of the German emissaries: “Less superb on the day of the signing, where the mirrors of the Great King only reflected the will-o'-the-wisps of the big round glasses in crowns of administrative skulls, where the The grimace of the face belied the vague gestures of a sullen courtesy. A tragic silence. " (Georges Clemenceau, The greatness and the miseries of a victory, Paris, Plon, 1930, p. 343). However, the hard terms of the treaty, particularly reparations, will only be implemented very fragmentarily. As for the Wilsonian project of League of Nations, it is discredited by the absence of an international armed force, then by the disavowal of the American Senate in March 1920. The creation by the commissions of the peace treaty of new national entities like Yugoslavia , far from pacifying the continent, carries with it the seeds of future conflicts. The Treaty of Versailles thus appears as a false respite in a century of wars.

  • Germany
  • army
  • Clemenceau (Georges)
  • War of 14-18
  • Franco-German special issue
  • Treaty of Versailles
  • League of Nations (League of Nations)

Bibliography

Jacques BAINVILLE, John Maynard KEYNES,The political consequences of peace, The economic consequences of peace, Paris, Gallimard, coll. "Tel" (double volume), 2002. Jean-Michel GAILLARD, "Versailles, 1919: the peace of the victors", L’Histoire, 232, May 1999, S. 76-85.Georges-Henri SOUTOU,Gold and blood. The economic war goals of the First World War, Paris, Fayard, 1989.Pierre VALLAUD, 14-18, World War I, volumes I and II, Paris, Fayard, 2004.

To cite this article

François BOULOC, "The signing of the Treaty of Versailles"


Video: Versailles, 28 June 1919. Signing of the peace treaty

Die Unterzeichnung des Vertrags von Versailles

Die Unterzeichnung des Vertrags von Versailles

Schließen

Titel: Unterzeichnung des Friedensvertrages durch die deutsche Delegation am 28. Juni 1919 im Spiegelsaal.

Autor: ORPEN William (1878 - 1931)

Erstellungsdatum : 1921

Datum angezeigt: 28. Juni 1919

Maße: Höhe 0 - Breite 0

Technik und andere Indikationen: Öl auf Leinwand.

Speicherort: Website des Bildarchiv Preußischen Kulturbesitzes (Berlin)

Kontakt Copyright: © BPK, Berlin, Dist RMN-Grand Palais - Unbekannte Website des Fotografen

Bildreferenz: 04-507383

Unterzeichnung des Friedensvertrages durch die deutsche Delegation am 28. Juni 1919 im Spiegelsaal.

© BPK, Berlin, Dist RMN-Grand Palais - Fotograf unbekannt

Erscheinungsdatum: September 2008

Video

Die Unterzeichnung des Vertrags von Versailles

Video

Historischer Zusammenhang

1919 Frieden schließen, eine Herausforderung

Die Friedenskonferenz wurde am 18. Januar 1919 in Versailles eröffnet. Zwei Monate nach dem Waffenstillstand bleibt die Frage: Wie kann Europa nach einem so verheerenden Konflikt befriedet werden? Die Beilegung der Feindseligkeiten war sicherlich von Anfang an so, denn alle Länder, die 1914 in den Krieg eintraten, sind davon überzeugt, dass sie dies aus guten Gründen getan haben. Diese Spannungen belasten die Entwicklung des Vertrags erheblich, und sein endgültiger Inhalt wurde am 28. Juni 1919, genau fünf Jahre nach der Ermordung von Erzherzog Franz Ferdinand in Sarajevo, paraphiert.

Bildanalyse

Das Gemälde von Sir William Orpen, einem von der englischen Armee während des Konflikts akkreditierten Maler, ist in gewisser Weise Epinals Bild des Ereignisses, das viele Male in Lehrbüchern wiedergegeben wurde. Seine unmittelbare Klarheit - die deutschen Bevollmächtigten Müller und Bell unterzeichnen den Tod der Seele unter dem dominierenden Blick von Wilson, Clemenceau und Lloyd George vor ihnen - ist jedoch nicht ohne einige Feinheiten zu verbergen. In der Tat scheint es, dass Orpen, stark geprägt von seiner Erfahrung mit dem Leben in den Schützengräben, die Pracht des Trios alliierter Führer, wie sie erscheinen, etwas herunterspielen wollte. Orpen gleicht die Majestät der siegreichen Herrscher aus, indem er sie unter den hohen Decken des Spiegelsaals zerquetscht, der die oberen drei Viertel des Gemäldes einnimmt. Allgegenwärtig haben die Spiegel nichts zu reflektieren: Der Raum vor den Unterzeichnern ist leer. Zum Kampf aufgerufen, sind die Menschen nicht zum diplomatischen Ballett eingeladen. Dass sich der Künstler in diesem Punkt die Mühe gemacht hat, die Inschrift "Le Roy Gouverneur" in der oberen Mitte zu reproduzieren, spricht Bände über seine Fragen. In direkter Kontinuität sein Gemälde von 1923, An den unbekannten britischen Soldaten, der in Frankreich getötet wurdewird Gegenstand einer hitzigen Debatte sein. Es zeigte zunächst einen Sarg, der in den Union Jack gewickelt und von zwei geisterhaften Soldaten flankiert war, die später unter dem Druck der britischen Behörden gelöscht wurden. Hinweis: Der von Orpen für diese Szene gewählte Ort war auch das Schloss Ludwigs XIV. ...

Interpretation

Ein wesentlicher Meilenstein des XXe europäisches Jahrhundert

Dieser Versailler Vertrag wird zwanzig Jahre und zwei Monate nach seiner Unterzeichnung zerstört, als Großbritannien und Frankreich Hitlers Deutschland den Krieg erklärten. Das Casus BelliHitlers Invasion in Polen ergibt sich aus dem Text von 1919, seit er ein unabhängiges Polen gegründet hat. Aber "die Weigerung der siegreichen Mächte, die Verlierer wieder einzusetzen, torpedierte die mageren Chancen auf Frieden" (Eric J. Hobsbawm, Alter der Extreme, Brussels, Complex, 1999, p. 60), da das Unrecht am Ende des Ersten Weltkriegs nicht allein von den Deutschen gebilligt werden konnte. In Wirklichkeit befriedigte der Vertrag von Versailles nicht viele Menschen, sobald er unterzeichnet wurde. Zugegeben, Clemenceau ist erfreut über die Haltung der Niederlage der deutschen Abgesandten: "Weniger großartig am Tag der Unterzeichnung, als die Spiegel des Großen Königs nur den Irrlicht der großen runden Gläser in Kronen von Verwaltungsschädeln widerspiegelten, in denen die Die Grimasse im Gesicht widerlegte die vagen Gesten einer mürrischen Höflichkeit. Eine tragische Stille. "(Georges Clemenceau, Die Größe und das Elend eines Sieges, Paris, Plon, 1930, p. 343). Die harten Klauseln des Vertrags, insbesondere die Wiedergutmachung, werden jedoch nur sehr fragmentarisch umgesetzt. Das Wilsonsche Projekt des Völkerbundes wird durch das Fehlen einer internationalen Streitmacht und die Ablehnung des amerikanischen Senats im März 1920 diskreditiert. Die Schaffung des Friedensvertrages durch die Kommissionen neuer nationaler Einheiten wie Jugoslawien weit davon entfernt, den Kontinent zu befrieden, bringt er die Keime zukünftiger Konflikte mit sich. Der Versailler Vertrag erscheint daher als falsche Atempause in einem Jahrhundert der Kriege.

  • Deutschland
  • Heer
  • Clemenceau (Georges)
  • Krieg von 14-18
  • Deutsch-französische Sonderausgabe
  • Vertrag von Versailles
  • Völkerbund (Völkerbund)

Literaturverzeichnis

Jacques BAINVILLE, John Maynard KEYNES,Die politischen Folgen des Friedens, Die wirtschaftlichen Folgen des Friedens, Paris, Gallimard, umg. "Tel" (Doppelband), 2002. Jean-Michel GAILLARD, "Versailles, 1919: Der Frieden der Sieger", L'Histoire, 232, Mai 1999, S. 76-85.Georges-Henri SOUTOU,Gold und Blut. Die wirtschaftlichen Kriegsziele des Ersten Weltkriegs, Paris, Fayard, 1989. Pierre VALLAUD, 14-18, Erster Weltkrieg, Bände I und II, Paris, Fayard, 2004.

Um diesen Artikel zu zitieren

François BOULOC, "Die Unterzeichnung des Vertrags von Versailles"


Video: Versailler Vertrag