Punishment of misery

Punishment of misery


We are searching data for your request:

Forums and discussions:
Manuals and reference books:
Data from registers:
Wait the end of the search in all databases.
Upon completion, a link will appear to access the found materials.

To close

Title: This is called vagrancy.

Author : STEVENS Alfred (1823 - 1906)

Creation date : 1855

Date shown:

Dimensions: Height 172 - Width 205

Technique and other indications: also known as "The hunters of Vincennes" oil painting on canvas

Storage place: Orsay Museum website

Contact copyright: © Photo RMN-Grand Palais - J. Schormans

Picture reference: 85DE1445 / JDP 385

This is called vagrancy.

© Photo RMN-Grand Palais - J. Schormans

Publication date: March 2016

Historical context

In France, vagrancy, defined as an offense in the Napoleonic code of 1804, is punished in rural areas as well as in towns.

The surveillance of itinerants, strengthened under the Restoration, is strict: it is facilitated by employment, during much of the 19th century.e century, "home passports". At the same time, there is a passport issued for indigence: it is "given to needy people who have to travel", but not to beggars because this would encourage them in the exercise of begging.

Mistrust of the uprooted is reflected, for example, in the electoral law of May 31, 1850, which excludes from the right to vote migrants, railway workers, the unemployed looking for a job from town to town and, of course, vagrants. .

Image Analysis

Five years after this law, Alfred Stevens (also a portrait painter of the women of the world) stages the repression in What is called vagrancy : in Vincennes, a beggar woman is taken to prison by the gendarmes with her young children. A charitable bourgeois gave him a purse; the gendarme reproaches him for his gesture. On the wall to the right, two posters advertise a "ball" and a "land for sale", ironic reminder of the pervasiveness of money in imperial society.

Everything contributes to making this drama of urban misery both sinister and poignant. The icy realism of the details, the dark palette, the gray figures standing out against a black snow-covered wall, give the impression that the unfortunate woman, surrounded by armed men, is not going to prison, but rather to her execution.

Interpretation

Stevens' painting, shown at the 1855 World's Fair, aims to denounce the harsh reality of urban life and the police brutality to which the poor are victims. In front of this defenseless mother given over to the insensitivity of the soldiery, the painter acts as the spokesperson for the oppressed, these harmless poor people who are unfairly hunted down or who are denounced, like these conservative ideologues for whom the poor unemployed "poses as the enemy of society, because he disregards its supreme law, which is work" (H.-A. FRÉGIER, Dangerous Classes of Population in Big Cities, and Ways to Make Them Better, J.-B. Baillière, 1840, 2 vol., T. I, p. 7). Stevens thus contrasts the purely repressive order of the gendarmes (and the regime) with the philanthropic pity embodied by the bourgeoisie.

Napoleon III was not mistaken: shocked that his guards were portrayed so crudely, he made sure that the vagabonds were now taken to prison with discretion, in a closed car!

  • social control
  • childhood
  • women
  • begging
  • poverty
  • police
  • jail
  • Second Empire

Bibliography

Louis CHEVALIER, Working classes and dangerous classes in Paris during the first part of the 19th century, Paris, Plon, 1958.

G.-A. EULOGE, History of the police from its origins to 1940, Paris, Plon, 1985.

Rachel FUCHS, Poor and Pregnant in Paris: Strategies for Survival in the Nineteenth Century, New Brunswick (N. J.), Rutgers University Press, 1992.

Pierre MIQUEL, The Gendarmes, Paris, Olivier Orban, 1990.

Philippe SASSIER, Of the good use of the poor. History of a political theme (16th-20th century), Paris, Fayard, 1990.

To cite this article

Ivan JABLONKA, "Repression of poverty"


Video: Misery- Hobbling Scene

Bestrafung des Elends

Bestrafung des Elends

Schließen

Titel: Dies nennt man Vagabund.

Autor: STEVENS Alfred (1823 - 1906)

Erstellungsdatum : 1855

Datum angezeigt:

Maße: Höhe 172 - Breite 205

Technik und andere Indikationen: auch bekannt als "Die Jäger von Vincennes" Ölgemälde auf Leinwand

Speicherort: Orsay Museum Website

Kontakt Copyright: © Foto RMN-Grand Palais - J. Schormans

Bildreferenz: 85DE1445 / JDP 385

Dies nennt man Vagabund.

© Foto RMN-Grand Palais - J. Schormans

Erscheinungsdatum: März 2016

Historischer Zusammenhang

In Frankreich wird Vagabund, der im napoleonischen Kodex von 1804 als Verbrechen definiert wird, sowohl in ländlichen Gebieten als auch in Städten bestraft.

Die Aufsicht über Wanderer, die im Rahmen der Restaurierung gestärkt wurden, ist streng: Sie wird während eines Großteils des 19. Jahrhunderts durch Beschäftigung erleichtert.e Jahrhundert "Heimatpässe". Gleichzeitig wird ein Pass für Bedürftigkeit ausgestellt: Er wird "bedürftigen Menschen, die reisen müssen", aber nicht Bettlern gegeben, da dies sie zum Betteln ermutigen würde.

Das Misstrauen gegenüber den Entwurzelten spiegelt sich beispielsweise im Wahlgesetz vom 31. Mai 1850 wider, das das Wahlrecht von Migranten, Eisenbahnarbeitern, Arbeitslosen, die von Stadt zu Stadt Arbeit suchen, und natürlich von Landstreichern ausschließt. .

Bildanalyse

Fünf Jahre nach diesem Gesetz inszeniert Alfred Stevens (ebenfalls Porträtmalerin der Frauen der Welt) die Unterdrückung in Was heißt Vagabund : In Vincennes wird eine Bettlerin von den Gendarmen mit ihren kleinen Kindern ins Gefängnis gebracht. Ein gemeinnütziger Bourgeois gab ihm eine Geldbörse; Der Gendarm wirft ihm seine Geste vor. An der Wand rechts werben zwei Plakate für einen "Ball" und ein "Land zum Verkauf", eine ironische Erinnerung an die Verbreitung von Geld in der imperialen Gesellschaft.

Alles trägt dazu bei, dieses Drama des städtischen Elends sowohl unheimlich als auch ergreifend zu machen. Der eisige Realismus der Details, die dunkle Farbpalette, die grauen Gestalten, die sich von einer schwarzen schneebedeckten Wand abheben, erwecken den Eindruck, dass die unglückliche Frau, umgeben von bewaffneten Männern, nicht ins Gefängnis geht, sondern zu ihrer Hinrichtung.

Interpretation

Stevens 'Gemälde, das auf der Weltausstellung 1855 gezeigt wurde, zielt darauf ab, die harte Realität des städtischen Lebens und die Brutalität der Polizei, der die Armen zum Opfer fallen, anzuprangern. Vor dieser wehrlosen Mutter, die der Unempfindlichkeit des Soldaten ausgeliefert ist, fungiert der Maler als Sprecher der Unterdrückten, dieser harmlosen armen Menschen, die wie diese konservativen Ideologen zu Unrecht gejagt oder denunziert werden für wen sich der arme Arbeitslose "als Feind der Gesellschaft ausgibt, weil er sein oberstes Gesetz, das Arbeit ist, missachtet" (H.-A. FRÉGIER, Gefährliche Bevölkerungsgruppen in Großstädten und Möglichkeiten, sie zu verbessernJ.-B. Baillière, 1840, 2 vol., T. Ich, p. 7). Stevens kontrastiert damit die rein repressive Ordnung der Gendarmen (und des Regimes) mit dem philanthropischen Mitleid der Bourgeoisie.

Napoleon III. Hat sich nicht geirrt: Er war schockiert darüber, dass seine Wachen so grob dargestellt wurden, dass er dafür sorgte, dass die Vagabunden nun mit Diskretion in einem geschlossenen Auto ins Gefängnis gebracht wurden!

  • soziale Kontrolle
  • Kindheit
  • Frauen
  • betteln
  • Armut
  • Polizei
  • Gefängnis
  • Zweites Reich

Literaturverzeichnis

Louis CHEVALIER, Arbeiterklasse und gefährliche Klassen in Paris in der ersten Hälfte des 19. Jahrhunderts, Paris, Plon, 1958.

G.-A. EULOGE, Geschichte der Polizei von ihren Anfängen bis 1940, Paris, Plon, 1985.

Rachel FUCHS, Arm und schwanger in Paris: Überlebensstrategien im 19. Jahrhundert, New Brunswick (N.J.), Rutgers University Press, 1992.

Pierre MIQUEL, Die Gendarmen, Paris, Olivier Orban, 1990.

Philippe SASSIER, Gute Verwendung durch die Armen. Geschichte eines politischen Themas (16.-20. Jahrhundert), Paris, Fayard, 1990.

Um diesen Artikel zu zitieren

Ivan JABLONKA, "Unterdrückung der Armut"


Video: Wo ist das Geld? Ninja-Klaas beim Spurenlesen. Spiel 2. Joko u0026 Klaas gegen ProSieben