A look at the English at the start of the 20th centurye century

A look at the English at the start of the 20th century<sup>e</sup> century


We are searching data for your request:

Forums and discussions:
Manuals and reference books:
Data from registers:
Wait the end of the search in all databases.
Upon completion, a link will appear to access the found materials.

"The English at home", L’Assiette au Beurre, n ° 92

© Public establishment of the Palais de la Porte Dorée

Publication date: April 2016

Heritage Curator, Head of Historical Collections, National Museum of the History of Immigration

Historical context

From Paris as a world city to the representation of the foreigner in The Butter Plate

At the beginning of the XXe century, Paris was marked by the acceleration of globalization and became a veritable international artistic crossroads. Many artists contributing to the review The Butter Plate are foreigners, like Kees Van Dongen, Dutch, Leonetto Cappiello, Italian, Félix Vallotton, Swiss, and Francisco Sancha y Lengo, aka Sancha, Spanish. The latter, trained at the School of Fine Arts in Malaga, Spain, became a pupil of Juan Gris, a cubist painter.

In this context, The Butter Plate has devoted nearly one thousand three hundred drawings to foreign countries and to the figure of the foreigner, which she freezes by emphasizing certain features. The review, created in 1901 by Samuel Schwarz, had a difficult start; his humorous editorial line was then reinforced in 1903, by uniting art and satire.

The image of the United Kingdom underwent many changes between 1901 and 1912. This attitude is very much linked to the Boer War, especially when the United Kingdom seized the Transvaal and Orange in South Africa.

Image Analysis

"The English at home"

The year 1903 begins with this one: a portrait of an Englishman. The man, represented as a bust, stands out against a bright orange background. He wears a town suit and an indoor beanie slipping over his poorly combed hair. The Englishman has clear eyes lost in the dark, protruding ears and an extremely red nose contrasting with his long black mustache.

Sancha's drawing evokes Anglophobia, as he uncompromisingly paints an Englishman whom he categorizes as a drunkard. The caricature transgresses the canons of human representation and thus stigmatizes the associated moral values.

The Butter Plate innovates in comparison with other contemporary journals such as The laugh, especially in the layout. Here, few black and white vignettes are offered, and the quality of the artists is privileged to the detriment of the number of illustrations. The palette remained lively until 1911, and the slight burrs on the edges of the colors were linked to the printing technique used: photoengraving on a zinc plate.

Interpretation

Caricature and history

In 1903, France and Great Britain came together and sealed a historic agreement, the Entente Cordiale ... The press relayed this new attitude, and The Butter Plate is favorable to the British. Then, in 1912, Sancha moved to London.

Inherited from the French Revolution, the cartoon is a humorous testimony to a current issue and its debates. In this spirit, The Butter Plate criticized the army, the police, the judiciary, the deputies, the clergy, the worker ...

Published in the press, the caricature is presented as a witness to the circulation of ideas. As it is an immense source of information on public opinion, stereotypes but also political and social imaginaries, historians were therefore the first to study it. Since the 1970s, caricature has been approached in a more interdisciplinary approach.

  • caricature
  • The Butter Plate
  • Britain
  • anti-colonialism
  • satirical press
  • immigration

Study in partnership with:

Bibliography

TENTH Élisabeth, TENTH Michel, The Butter Plate: Illustrated Satirical Review (1901-1912), Paris, F. Maspero, coll. "Collection of the Center for the History of Syndicalism" (no 3), 1974.

LE MEN Ségolène, "Research on 19th century caricature: inventory", Perspective (19th century), no 3, 2009, p. 426-460.

PANTORBA Bernardino by, Historia y crítica de las Exposiciones Nacionales de Bellas Artes celebradas en España, Madrid, Jesús Ramón García-Rama, 1980 (1st ed. Madrid, Alcor, 1948).

TILLIER Bertrand, "Caricatural in the art of the 20th century", Perspective (20th-21st centuries), no 4, 2009, p. 538-558.

To cite this article

Magdalena RUIZ MARMOLEJO, “A Look at the English at the Beginning of the XXe century "


Video: American Literature of the 20th Century


Comments:

  1. Gosho

    Nice post! It was interesting for me to read. Now I will look at your blog even more often.

  2. Anubis

    Bravo, seems remarkable idea to me is

  3. Samman

    In it something is. Thanks for the explanation.

  4. Jayvee

    I suggest you visit the site, where there are many articles on the topic that interests you.

  5. Grolabar

    Prompt reply, attribute of ingenuity ;)

  6. Zolorr

    Instead of criticizing, write your options better.



Write a message

Schauen Sie sich die Engländer zu Beginn des 20. Jahrhunderts ane Jahrhundert

Schauen Sie sich die Engländer zu Beginn des 20. Jahrhunderts an<sup>e</sup> Jahrhundert

"Die Engländer zu Hause", L'Assiette au Beurre, Nr. 92

© Öffentliche Einrichtung des Palais de la Porte Dorée

Erscheinungsdatum: April 2016

Kurator des Kulturerbes, Leiter der historischen Sammlungen, Nationalmuseum für Einwanderungsgeschichte

Historischer Zusammenhang

Von Paris als Weltstadt bis zur Vertretung des Ausländers in Die Butterplatte

Zu Beginn des XXe Jahrhundert war Paris von der Beschleunigung der Globalisierung geprägt und wurde zu einem wahren internationalen künstlerischen Scheideweg. Viele Künstler haben zur Rezension beigetragen Die Butterplatte sind Ausländer wie Kees Van Dongen, Holländer, Leonetto Cappiello, Italiener, Félix Vallotton, Schweizer und Francisco Sancha y Lengo, auch bekannt als Sancha, Spanier. Letzterer, der an der Schule der Schönen Künste in Malaga, Spanien, ausgebildet wurde, wurde Schüler des kubistischen Malers Juan Gris.

In diesem Zusammenhang, Die Butterplatte hat fast eintausenddreihundert Zeichnungen dem Ausland und der Figur des Ausländers gewidmet, die sie einfriert, indem sie bestimmte Merkmale hervorhebt. Die 1901 von Samuel Schwarz geschaffene Rezension hatte einen schwierigen Start; Seine humorvolle redaktionelle Linie wurde dann 1903 durch die Vereinigung von Kunst und Satire verstärkt.

Das Bild des Vereinigten Königreichs hat sich zwischen 1901 und 1912 stark verändert. Diese Haltung hängt sehr stark mit dem Burenkrieg zusammen, insbesondere als das Vereinigte Königreich den Transvaal und Orange in Südafrika eroberte.

Bildanalyse

"Die Engländer zu Hause"

Das Jahr 1903 beginnt mit diesem: einem Porträt eines Engländers. Der als Büste dargestellte Mann hebt sich von einem leuchtend orangefarbenen Hintergrund ab. Er trägt einen Stadtanzug und eine Innenmütze, die über sein schlecht gekämmtes Haar rutscht. Der Engländer hat klare Augen in den dunklen, hervorstehenden Ohren und eine extrem rote Nase, die sich von seinem langen schwarzen Schnurrbart abhebt.

Sanchas Zeichnung erinnert an Anglophobie, als er kompromisslos einen Engländer malt, den er als Säufer einstuft. Die Karikatur übertritt die Kanone der menschlichen Repräsentation und stigmatisiert damit die damit verbundenen moralischen Werte.

Die Butterplatte Innovationen im Vergleich zu anderen zeitgenössischen Zeitschriften wie Das Lachenvor allem im Layout. Hier werden nur wenige Schwarz-Weiß-Vignetten angeboten, und die Qualität der Künstler wird zum Nachteil der Anzahl der Abbildungen bevorzugt. Die Palette blieb bis 1911 lebhaft, und die leichten Grate an den Rändern der Farben waren mit der verwendeten Drucktechnik verbunden: Fotogravur auf einer Zinkplatte.

Interpretation

Karikatur und Geschichte

1903 kamen Frankreich und Großbritannien zusammen und besiegelten ein historisches Abkommen, die Entente Cordiale ... Die Presse gab diese neue Haltung weiter, und Die Butterplatte ist günstig für die Briten. Dann, im Jahr 1912, zog Sancha nach London.

Der von der Französischen Revolution geerbte Cartoon zeugt humorvoll von einem aktuellen Thema und seinen Debatten. In diesem Sinne Die Butterplatte kritisierte die Armee, die Polizei, die Justiz, die Abgeordneten, den Klerus, den Arbeiter ...

Die in der Presse veröffentlichte Karikatur wird als Zeuge der Verbreitung von Ideen präsentiert. Da es sich um eine immense Informationsquelle zur öffentlichen Meinung, zu Stereotypen, aber auch zu politischen und sozialen Vorstellungen handelt, haben sich Historiker als erste damit befasst. Seit den 1970er Jahren wird die Karikatur interdisziplinärer angegangen.

  • Karikatur
  • Die Butterplatte
  • Großbritannien
  • Antikolonialismus
  • satirische Presse
  • Einwanderung

Studieren Sie in Partnerschaft mit:

Literaturverzeichnis

Zehnte Elisabeth, Zehnte Michel, Die Butterplatte: Illustrated Satirical Review (1901-1912), Paris, F. Maspero, Slg. "Sammlung des Zentrums für die Geschichte des Syndikalismus" (Nr. 3), 1974.

LE MEN Ségolène, "Forschung zur Karikatur des 19. Jahrhunderts: Inventar", Perspektive (19. Jahrhundert), no 3, 2009, p. 426-460.

PANTORBA Bernardino von, Historia y crítica de las Exposiciones Nacionales de Bellas Artes celebradas en España, Madrid, Jesús Ramón García-Rama, 1980 (1. Aufl. Madrid, Alcor, 1948).

TILLIER Bertrand, "Karikatur in der Kunst des 20. Jahrhunderts", Perspektive (20.-21. Jahrhundert), no 4, 2009, p. 538-558.

Um diesen Artikel zu zitieren

Magdalena RUIZ MARMOLEJO, "Ein Blick auf die Engländer zu Beginn des XXe Jahrhundert "


Video: My First Time on a INFLATABLE SUP - Morrison Spring Florida