The Four defeated nations

The <em>Four defeated nations</em>


We are searching data for your request:

Forums and discussions:
Manuals and reference books:
Data from registers:
Wait the end of the search in all databases.
Upon completion, a link will appear to access the found materials.

  • Four Captives also known as Four Vanquished Nations [Spain, Empire, Brandenburg and Holland]

    VAN DEN BOGAERT aka Martin DESJARDINS Martin (1637 - 1694)

  • Four captives also called Four Vanquished Nations [Spain and the Empire]

    VAN DEN BOGAERT aka Martin DESJARDINS Martin (1637 - 1694)

  • Four captives also called Four Vanquished Nations [Holland and Brandenburg]

    VAN DEN BOGAERT aka Martin DESJARDINS Martin (1637 - 1694)

To close

Title: Four Captives also known as Four Vanquished Nations [Spain, Empire, Brandenburg and Holland]

Author : VAN DEN BOGAERT aka Martin DESJARDINS Martin (1637 - 1694)

Creation date : between 1679 and 1685

Date shown: 1678-1679

Dimensions: Height 220 cm - Width 200 cm

Technique and other indications: formerly gilded bronze sculpture

Storage location: Louvre Museum (Paris) website

Contact copyright: © RMN - Grand Palais (Louvre museum) / René-Gabriel Ojéda

Picture reference: 94-050476 / R.F. 4407 to R.F. 4432

Four Captives also known as Four Vanquished Nations [Spain, Empire, Brandenburg and Holland]

© RMN - Grand Palais (Louvre museum) / René-Gabriel Ojéda

To close

Title: Four captives also called Four Vanquished Nations [Spain and the Empire]

Author : VAN DEN BOGAERT aka Martin DESJARDINS Martin (1637 - 1694)

Creation date : between 1679 and 1685

Date shown: 1678-1679

Dimensions: Height 220 cm - Width 200 cm

Technique and other indications: formerly gilded bronze sculpture

Storage location: Louvre Museum (Paris) website

Contact copyright: © RMN - Grand Palais (Louvre museum) / René-Gabriel Ojéda

Picture reference: 94-050487 and 94-050482 / R.F. 4407 and R.F. 4408

Four captives also called Four Vanquished Nations [Spain and the Empire]

© RMN - Grand Palais (Louvre museum) / René-Gabriel Ojéda

To close

Title: Four captives also called Four Vanquished Nations [Holland and Brandenburg]

Author : VAN DEN BOGAERT aka Martin DESJARDINS Martin (1637 - 1694)

Creation date : between 1679 and 1685

Date shown: 1678-1679

Dimensions: Height 220 cm - Width 200 cm

Technique and other indications: formerly gilded bronze sculpture

Storage location: Louvre Museum (Paris) website

Contact copyright: © RMN - Grand Palais (Louvre museum) / René-Gabriel Ojéda

Picture reference: 94-050485 and 94-050489 / R.F. 4410 and R.F. 4409

Four captives also called Four Vanquished Nations [Holland and Brandenburg]

© RMN - Grand Palais (Louvre museum) / René-Gabriel Ojéda

Publication date: September 2015

Historical context

The Place des Victoires has a singular genesis since it is wanted by François, viscount of Aubusson, duke of La Feuillade (1625-1691), to celebrate the end of the war in Holland and the victory of the French army. by the peace treaty of Nijmegen (1678-1679). This is therefore the first desired and created by an individual in order to celebrate his sovereign; this example will be emulated in the most important French cities of the reign of Louis XIV.

Inaugurated in 1686, the Place Royale des Victoires is also an urban novelty in the Parisian landscape of the 17th century.e century thanks to the Duke's desire to have it well lit thanks to four imposing, richly decorated marble pylons. Jules Hardouin Mansart is responsible for the creation of this space in which sat a monument of great importance highlighting the political, military and artistic power of the king.

To perform this sculpted work, Martin Van den Bogaert, known as Martin Desjardins, is chosen. In order to give glory to Louis XIV, the artist made a bronze pedestrian statue of the King crowned by Victory, on a pedestal decorated with bas-reliefs and above all flanked by four bronze figures of captives embodying the various powers subjugated by the royal army. Of these works melted down (for the bronzes) and destroyed during the Revolution, only the captives remain, as well as the bas-reliefs and medallions.

Image Analysis

The four captives therefore each embody a power defeated by the French army. Spain [image 2, left] is symbolized by a naked ephebe in the antique style, with the body in action and whose gaze raised to the sky still seems full of hope. He is chained and seated on his own weapons, a shield and a sword inspired by antiquity. However, at his side, signs and a broken spear symbolize his submission.

The German Empire [image 2, right] is depicted as a middle-aged man, bearded, weary and bent over himself, thus embodying the despondency and resignation due to captivity.

Holland [picture 3, left], in the guise of a slightly bearded man, with cropped hair and a determined and fierce gaze, is the very image of the revolt. The man is not seated like the others, but with one knee on the ground and his muscles clearly tense, ready to get up and release the chains that hold him back.

The fourth figure is the Brandenburg [image 3, right], whose musculature is this time hidden by an ancient dress in reference to the Celtic and Gallic peoples. The man, shown as an older man, is resigned to his fate and even seems to ask for mercy from the victors with his eloquent and desperate gaze which can be compared to that of the Laocoon, famous ancient statue kept in the papal collections at the Vatican.

In a skilful way, Martin Desjardins dresses and gives rhythm to the pedestal thanks to the presence of war trophies positioned next to the defeated warriors (added in 1685): weapons, signs and shields are visible at their sides and at their feet. In a glance turned towards the ancient examples, well present in the royal collections and symbols of power in a European court in XVIIe century, the sculptor signs an impressive and strong work, showing his great technique and his artistic knowledge in the treatment of expressions.

Interpretation

A true triumph offered to Louis XIV by one of his most skillful courtiers, this monument humiliates the four enemy powers as they also become allies of France through treaties, alliances and princely marriages.

This overwhelming vision of sovereign power was criticized from the 18th century.e century for the absolutism it embodies. In 1792, the golden statue of Louis XIV was knocked down and melted down as a powerful and abject symbol of absolute monarchy and the values ​​of humiliation and servitude that it entails. Captives are saved from vandalism, by being identified as the vanquished and slaves to be freed from the yoke of the oppressor. Their chains are symbolically broken and they escape the cast iron to be deposited in 1804 at the Hôtel des Invalides. Emblems of a despotic and powerful reign as well as of a courtier demonstrating straightforwardness, the captives nevertheless played a very different role during the Revolution during which they were seen as the nations delivered by the Enlightenment.

  • allegory
  • Spain
  • Germany
  • Holland
  • myth
  • absolute monarchy
  • Paris
  • Hardouin Mansart (Jules)
  • Holland War

Bibliography

BRESC-BAUTIER Geneviève, DECTOT Xavier (dir.), Art or politics? Arches, statues and columns of Paris, cat. exp. (Paris, 1999), Paris, Artistic action of the City of Paris, coll. “Paris and its heritage”, 1999.BRESC-BAUTIER Geneviève, SCHERF Guilhem (dir.), French bronzes: from the Renaissance to the Age of Enlightenment, cat. exp. (Paris, 2009-2008; New York, 2009; Los Angeles, 2009), Paris, musée du Louvre / Somogy, 2008.

To cite this article

Saskia HANSELAAR, “The Four defeated nations »


Video: BANANA SPLITS MOVIE THE MUSICAL - Animated Song


Comments:

  1. Faisal

    I think, that you are not right. I am assured. I can defend the position.

  2. Bredon

    I advise everyone)

  3. Akinocage

    THERE IS NO FUCK SO IT IS NOT POSSIBLE!

  4. Tangakwunu

    Aren't you the expert?

  5. Amichai

    What words ... The fantasy



Write a message

Das Vier besiegte Nationen

Das <em>Vier besiegte Nationen</em>

  • Vier Gefangene, auch bekannt als Vier besiegte Nationen [Spanien, Reich, Brandenburg und Holland]

    VAN DEN BOGAERT sagte Martin DESJARDINS Martin (1637 - 1694)

  • Vier Gefangene, auch Vier besiegte Nationen genannt [Spanien und das Imperium]

    VAN DEN BOGAERT alias Martin DESJARDINS Martin (1637 - 1694)

  • Vier Gefangene, auch Vier besiegte Nationen genannt [Holland und Brandenburg]

    VAN DEN BOGAERT alias Martin DESJARDINS Martin (1637 - 1694)

Schließen

Titel: Vier Gefangene, auch bekannt als Vier besiegte Nationen [Spanien, Reich, Brandenburg und Holland]

Autor: VAN DEN BOGAERT alias Martin DESJARDINS Martin (1637 - 1694)

Erstellungsdatum : zwischen 1679 und 1685

Datum angezeigt: 1678-1679

Maße: Höhe 220 cm - Breite 200 cm

Technik und andere Indikationen: ehemals vergoldete Bronzeskulptur

Lagerraum: Website des Louvre-Museums (Paris)

Kontakt Copyright: © RMN - Grand Palais (Louvre-Museum) / René-Gabriel Ojéda

Bildreferenz: 94-050476 / R.F. 4407 bis R.F. 4432

Vier Gefangene, auch bekannt als Vier besiegte Nationen [Spanien, Reich, Brandenburg und Holland]

© RMN - Grand Palais (Louvre-Museum) / René-Gabriel Ojéda

Schließen

Titel: Vier Gefangene, auch Vier besiegte Nationen genannt [Spanien und das Imperium]

Autor: VAN DEN BOGAERT sagte Martin DESJARDINS Martin (1637 - 1694)

Erstellungsdatum : zwischen 1679 und 1685

Datum angezeigt: 1678-1679

Maße: Höhe 220 cm - Breite 200 cm

Technik und andere Indikationen: ehemals vergoldete Bronzeskulptur

Lagerraum: Website des Louvre-Museums (Paris)

Kontakt Copyright: © RMN - Grand Palais (Louvre-Museum) / René-Gabriel Ojéda

Bildreferenz: 94-050487 und 94-050482 / R.F. 4407 und R.F. 4408

Vier Gefangene, auch Vier besiegte Nationen genannt [Spanien und das Imperium]

© RMN - Grand Palais (Louvre-Museum) / René-Gabriel Ojéda

Schließen

Titel: Vier Gefangene, auch Vier besiegte Nationen genannt [Holland und Brandenburg]

Autor: VAN DEN BOGAERT alias Martin DESJARDINS Martin (1637 - 1694)

Erstellungsdatum : zwischen 1679 und 1685

Datum angezeigt: 1678-1679

Maße: Höhe 220 cm - Breite 200 cm

Technik und andere Indikationen: ehemals vergoldete Bronzeskulptur

Lagerraum: Website des Louvre-Museums (Paris)

Kontakt Copyright: © RMN - Grand Palais (Louvre-Museum) / René-Gabriel Ojéda

Bildreferenz: 94-050485 und 94-050489 / R.F. 4410 und R.F. 4409

Vier Gefangene, auch Vier besiegte Nationen genannt [Holland und Brandenburg]

© RMN - Grand Palais (Louvre-Museum) / René-Gabriel Ojéda

Erscheinungsdatum: September 2015

Historischer Zusammenhang

Der Place des Victoires hat eine einzigartige Genese, da er von François, Graf von Aubusson, Herzog von La Feuillade (1625-1691), gewünscht wird, um das Kriegsende in Holland und den Sieg der französischen Armee zu feiern. durch den Friedensvertrag von Nimwegen (1678-1679). Dies ist daher das erste, was ein Individuum wünscht und erschafft, um seinen Souverän zu feiern. Dieses Beispiel wird in den wichtigsten französischen Städten der Regierungszeit Ludwigs XIV. nachgeahmt.

Der 1686 eingeweihte Place Royale des Victoires ist auch eine urbane Neuheit in der Pariser Landschaft des 17. Jahrhunderts.e Jahrhundert dank des Wunsches des Herzogs, es dank vier imposanten, reich verzierten Marmormasten gut beleuchtet zu haben. Jules Hardouin Mansart ist verantwortlich für die Schaffung dieses Raumes, in dem sich ein Denkmal von großer Bedeutung befand, das die politische, militärische und künstlerische Macht des Königs hervorhob.

Für diese skulptierte Arbeit wird Martin Van den Bogaert, bekannt als Martin Desjardins, ausgewählt. Um Ludwig XIV. Ruhm zu verleihen, fertigte der Künstler eine bronzene Fußgängerstatue des vom Sieg gekrönten Königs auf einem mit Basreliefs verzierten Sockel an, der vor allem von vier Bronzefiguren von Gefangenen flankiert wird, die die verschiedenen von den unterworfenen Mächten verkörpern königliche Armee. Von diesen Werken, die während der Revolution eingeschmolzen (für die Bronzen) und zerstört wurden, sind nur noch die Gefangenen sowie die Reliefs und Medaillons übrig.

Bildanalyse

Die vier Gefangenen verkörpern daher jeweils eine von der französischen Armee besiegte Macht. Spanien [Bild 2, links] wird durch eine nackte Ephebe im antiken Stil symbolisiert, deren Körper in Aktion ist und deren Blick zum Himmel immer noch voller Hoffnung zu sein scheint. Er ist gefesselt und sitzt auf seinen eigenen Waffen, einem Schild und einem Schwert, die von der Antike inspiriert sind. An seiner Seite symbolisieren jedoch Zeichen und ein zerbrochener Speer seine Unterwerfung.

Das Deutsche Reich [Bild 2, rechts] wird als bärtiger, müder und über sich selbst gebeugter Mann mittleren Alters dargestellt, der die Niedergeschlagenheit und Resignation aufgrund der Gefangenschaft verkörpert.

Holland [Bild 3, links] in der Gestalt eines leicht bärtigen Mannes mit kurzgeschnittenen Haaren und entschlossenem und heftigem Blick ist das Bild der Revolte. Der Mann sitzt nicht wie die anderen, sondern mit einem Knie auf dem Boden und deutlich angespannten Muskeln, bereit aufzustehen und die Ketten zu lösen, die ihn zurückhalten.

Die vierte Figur ist die Brandenburg [Bild 3, rechts], deren Muskulatur diesmal durch ein altes Kleid in Bezug auf die keltischen und gallischen Völker verborgen ist. Der Mann, der als älterer Mann dargestellt wird, ist seinem Schicksal ergeben und scheint sogar mit seinem beredten und verzweifelten Blick, der mit dem des Mannes verglichen werden kann, um Gnade von den Siegern zu bitten Laokoon, berühmte antike Statue, die in den päpstlichen Sammlungen des Vatikans aufbewahrt wird.

Geschickt kleidet sich Martin Desjardins und gibt dem Sockel Rhythmus, dank der Anwesenheit von Kriegstrophäen neben den besiegten Kriegern (hinzugefügt 1685): Waffen, Schilder und Schilde sind an ihren Seiten und zu ihren Füßen sichtbar. Auf einen Blick wandte er sich den alten Beispielen zu, die in den königlichen Sammlungen und Machtsymbolen eines europäischen Hofes im XVIIe Jahrhundert signiert der Bildhauer ein beeindruckendes und starkes Werk, das seine großartige Technik und sein künstlerisches Wissen im Umgang mit Ausdrucksformen zeigt.

Interpretation

Dieses Denkmal ist ein wahrer Triumph, den Ludwig XIV. Von einem seiner geschicktesten Höflinge geboten hat. Es demütigt die vier feindlichen Mächte, da sie durch Verträge, Bündnisse und fürstliche Ehen auch Verbündete Frankreichs werden.

Diese überwältigende Vision von souveräner Macht wurde ab dem 18. Jahrhundert kritisiert.e Jahrhundert für den Absolutismus, den es verkörpert. 1792 wurde die goldene Statue Ludwigs XIV. Als mächtiges und erbärmliches Symbol der absoluten Monarchie und der damit verbundenen Werte der Demütigung und Knechtschaft niedergeschlagen und eingeschmolzen. Gefangene werden vor Vandalismus gerettet, indem sie als Besiegte und Sklaven identifiziert werden, die vom Joch des Unterdrückers befreit werden sollen. Ihre Ketten sind symbolisch gebrochen und sie entkommen dem Gusseisen, das 1804 im Hôtel des Invalides deponiert wird. Die Gefangenen, Embleme einer despotischen und mächtigen Regierungszeit sowie ein Höfling, der Egetismus demonstrierte, spielten dennoch eine ganz andere Rolle während der Revolution, in der sie als die von der Aufklärung gelieferten Nationen angesehen wurden.

  • Allegorie
  • Spanien
  • Deutschland
  • Holland
  • Mythos
  • absolute Monarchie
  • Paris
  • Hardouin Mansart (Jules)
  • Holland Krieg

Literaturverzeichnis

BRESC-BAUTIER Geneviève, DECTOT Xavier (Regie), Kunst oder Politik? Bögen, Statuen und Säulen von Paris, Katze. exp. (Paris, 1999), Paris, Künstlerische Aktion der Stadt Paris, Slg. "Paris und sein Erbe", 1999. BRESC-BAUTIER Geneviève, SCHERF Guilhem (dir.), Französische Bronzen: von der Renaissance bis zum Zeitalter der Aufklärung, Katze. exp. (Paris, 2009-2008; New York, 2009; Los Angeles, 2009), Paris, Musée du Louvre / Somogy, 2008.

Um diesen Artikel zu zitieren

Saskia HANSELAAR: „Die Vier besiegte Nationen »


Video: The Alternate World of A Southern Victory LORE