When science inspires art: futurism and chronophotography

When science inspires art: futurism and chronophotography


We are searching data for your request:

Forums and discussions:
Manuals and reference books:
Data from registers:
Wait the end of the search in all databases.
Upon completion, a link will appear to access the found materials.

Home ›Studies› When science inspires art: futurism and chronophotography

  • Animal movement.

    MUYBRIDGE Eadweard (1830 - 1904)

  • Plaster casting: flight of the Goéland.

    MAREY Etienne-Jules (1830 - 1904)

  • Plastic synthesis of a woman's movements.

    RUSSOLO Luigi (1885 - 1947)

  • Unique forms of continuity in space.

    BOCCIONI Umberto (1882 - 1916)

To close

Title: Animal movement.

Author : MUYBRIDGE Eadweard (1830 - 1904)

Date shown:

Dimensions: Height 0 - Width 0

Technique and other indications: Electro-Photography of the consecutive phases of a moving animal, in Volume I, Men, circa 1880, plate 287.

Storage place: The Metropolitan Museum of Art website

Contact copyright: © Metropolitan Museum of Art, Dist. RMN-Grand Palais / Image of the MMA

Picture reference: 08-512475 / 1991.1135.1

© Metropolitan Museum of Art, Dist. RMN-Grand Palais / Image of the MMA

Plaster casting: flight of the Goéland.

© Photo RMN-Grand Palais - All rights reserved

To close

Title: Plastic synthesis of a woman's movements.

Author : RUSSOLO Luigi (1885 - 1947)

Creation date : 1912

Date shown:

Dimensions: Height 0 - Width 0

Technique and other indications: Oil on canvas

Storage place: Grenoble Museum website

Contact copyright: © Grenoble Museum

Picture reference: 98 hp 52 / MG 3036

Plastic synthesis of a woman's movements.

© Grenoble Museum

To close

Title: Unique forms of continuity in space.

Author : BOCCIONI Umberto (1882 - 1916)

Date shown:

Dimensions: Height 111 - Width 88.5

Technique and other indications: Bronze sculpture.

Storage place: Civico Museo d'Arte Contemporanea website

Contact copyright: © Archives Alinari, Florence, Dist RMN-Grand Palais / Mauro Maglianisite web

Picture reference: 08-520648 / CAL-F-005715-0000

Unique forms of continuity in space.

© Archives Alinari, Florence, Dist RMN-Grand Palais / Mauro Magliani

Publication date: April 2009

Historical context

The dynamism of modern life

For the avant-garde of the early twentiethe century, art must represent contemporary society. In order to fit in with the present and to portray modernity, the artists then attempt to invent new artistic means which transpose the characteristics of industrial civilization into visual language.

Futurists in particular seek to express the dynamism of modern life: they consider movement and speed as the most significant phenomena of the XXe dawning century. The bicycle, the automobile, the train, these recent inventions, are rapid means of locomotion which reduce distances; objects, people, are subject to a general acceleration of rhythms (of work, wear and tear, production, innovation, etc.); the development of sport emphasizes the body in motion.

Chronophotography, a new scientific technique invented by Étienne Jules Marey and Eadweard Muybridge to study animal and human locomotion, is an important source of inspiration for them: it provides them with a graphic solution to express the phases of a movement in their works.

Image Analysis

Represent the movement

Marey and Muybridge had the idea of ​​using photography to analyze movement in the 1870s: it allows, thanks to the multiplication of shots and their serialization, to capture the way in which a human or a person moves. animal. The photos that illustrate the publications of the two scientists strike futurists with their dynamism. These artists then reproduce in their works the decomposition of movement visible in chronophotographs.

In the plate taken from Muybridge's book, a man picking up something from the ground is photographed several times so as to produce a series of images that detail each component of the gesture. The different shots are then juxtaposed to render it in its entirety. The plaster cast made from Marey's chronophotographs also breaks down the movements of a living being - the flight of a seagull - but the photographs taken successively have this time been brought together into a single representation. Having taken these pictures on the same celluloid film, Marey then superimposed them with a slight offset to give a synthetic image.

Futurists use the effect created by these photographs to convey the sensation of movement in their works. Luigi Russolo, in Plastic synthesis of a woman's movements, multiply the representations of the figure in such a way that it seems to invade the space of the painting: the head and feet painted several times side by side form two opposite arcs at the top and bottom of the painting while the body , gradually reduced to a set of curved lines, seems to expand horizontally to infinity. He thus seeks to transcribe the gestures of his model, the way in which the woman he paints moves and, more generally, to make people feel human dynamism, immobility not being natural to men. In Unique forms of continuity in space, Umberto Boccioni merges even more the different stages of the movement of his character, who then seems stretched forwards and backwards. The title of the work should be taken literally: the artist merges the successive gestures of a walking individual into a single form. In both works, curved abstract shapes amplify the dynamic sensation by generating a sort of figurative echo of the action, a shock wave that increasingly faintly and abstractly reproduces the movement of the figure.

Interpretation

Modern art

In these two works, Russolo and Boccioni reinterpreted the aesthetic formula of chronophotographs, but certain futuristic paintings, such Dynamism of a dog on a leash by Giacomo Balla (1912, Knox Art Gallery, Buffalo), exactly reproduce the process of Muybridge and Marey by successively painting the different stages of an action on the same canvas. In a way, the Futurists were inspired by the work of these two scientists because they had a similar goal: like Muybridge and Marey, they seek to show a body moving in space. However, while the former decompose movement to better understand the mechanisms of animal and human locomotion, the latter's task is to render the sensation of movement plastically so that the viewer can feel the dynamism of the subject represented.

Such a transposition of recent scientific research also has special significance for these artists. Imitating the effects of chronophotography is a way of inscribing contemporaneity in their works: the futurists thus show that they are not cut off from the present and that their art accompanies scientific and technical progress. They then forged links with science, an emblematic discipline of modernity since it was at the origin of most of the upheavals that affected the time.

  • chronophotography
  • futurism
  • modernism
  • modernity

Bibliography

François DAGOGNET, Etienne-Jules Marey. Passion for the track, Paris, Hazan, 1987. Gérard-Georges LEMAIRE, Futurism, Paris, Editions du Regard, 1995.Giovanni LISTA, Futurism, Paris, Terrail, 2001.Franck POPPER, Kinetic art. The image of movement in the visual arts since 1860, Paris, Gauthier-Villars Publisher, 1970.Kirk VARNEDOE, In defiance of the rules. How is modern art modern?, Paris, Adam Biro, 1990.

To cite this article

Claire LE THOMAS, "When science inspires art: futurism and chronophotography"


Video: The Art of Suminagashi Japanese Marbling. Craft Therapy. Apartment Therapy


Comments:

  1. Lennell

    I can't take part in the discussion right now - there is no free time. But I will return - I will definitely write what I think on this issue.

  2. Zesiro

    Yes cannot be!

  3. Derrik

    It is also possible on this issue, because only in a dispute can the truth be achieved.

  4. Abukcheech

    Absolutely with you it agree. In it something is also to me this idea is pleasant, I completely with you agree.



Write a message

Wenn Wissenschaft Kunst inspiriert: Futurismus und Chronofotografie

Wenn Wissenschaft Kunst inspiriert: Futurismus und Chronofotografie

Startseite ›Studien› Wenn Wissenschaft Kunst inspiriert: Futurismus und Chronofotografie

  • Tierbewegung.

    MUYBRIDGE Eadweard (1830 - 1904)

  • Gipsabdruck: Flug des Goéland.

    MAREY Etienne-Jules (1830 - 1904)

  • Plastische Synthese der Bewegungen einer Frau.

    RUSSOLO Luigi (1885 - 1947)

  • Einzigartige Formen der Kontinuität im Raum.

    BOCCIONI Umberto (1882 - 1916)

Schließen

Titel: Tierbewegung.

Autor: MUYBRIDGE Eadweard (1830 - 1904)

Datum angezeigt:

Maße: Höhe 0 - Breite 0

Technik und andere Indikationen: Elektrofotografie der aufeinanderfolgenden Phasen eines sich bewegenden Tieres in Band I, Männerum 1880, Platte 287.

Lagerraum: Die Website des Metropolitan Museum of Art

Kontakt Copyright: © Metropolitan Museum of Art, Dist. RMN-Grand Palais / Bild der MMA

Bildreferenz: 08-512475 / 1991.1135.1

© Metropolitan Museum of Art, Dist. RMN-Grand Palais / Bild der MMA

Gipsabdruck: Flug des Goéland.

© Foto RMN-Grand Palais - Alle Rechte vorbehalten

Schließen

Titel: Plastische Synthese der Bewegungen einer Frau.

Autor: RUSSOLO Luigi (1885 - 1947)

Erstellungsdatum : 1912

Datum angezeigt:

Maße: Höhe 0 - Breite 0

Technik und andere Indikationen: Öl auf Leinwand

Lagerraum: Website des Grenoble Museums

Kontakt Copyright: © Grenoble Museum

Bildreferenz: 98 PS 52 / MG 3036

Plastische Synthese der Bewegungen einer Frau.

© Grenoble Museum

Schließen

Titel: Einzigartige Formen der Kontinuität im Raum.

Autor: BOCCIONI Umberto (1882 - 1916)

Datum angezeigt:

Maße: Höhe 111 - Breite 88,5

Technik und andere Indikationen: Bronzeskulptur.

Lagerraum: Website des Civico Museo d'Arte Contemporanea

Kontakt Copyright: © Archiv Alinari, Florenz, Dist RMN-Grand Palais / Mauro Maglianisite Web

Bildreferenz: 08-520648 / CAL-F-005715-0000

Einzigartige Formen der Kontinuität im Raum.

© Archiv Alinari, Florenz, Dist RMN-Grand Palais / Mauro Magliani

Erscheinungsdatum: April 2009

Historischer Zusammenhang

Die Dynamik des modernen Lebens

Für die Avantgarde des frühen zwanzigstene Jahrhundert muss Kunst die zeitgenössische Gesellschaft repräsentieren. Um sich in die Gegenwart einzufügen und die Moderne darzustellen, versuchen die Künstler dann, neue künstlerische Mittel zu erfinden, die die Merkmale der industriellen Zivilisation in visuelle Sprache umsetzen.

Futuristen versuchen insbesondere, die Dynamik des modernen Lebens auszudrücken: Sie betrachten Bewegung und Geschwindigkeit als die wichtigsten Phänomene des XXe Morgengrauen Jahrhundert. Das Fahrrad, das Auto, der Zug, diese jüngsten Erfindungen sind schnelle Fortbewegungsmittel, die Entfernungen verringern; Objekte, Menschen, unterliegen einer allgemeinen Beschleunigung des Rhythmus (von Arbeit, Verschleiß, Produktion, Innovation usw.); Die Entwicklung des Sports betont den bewegten Körper.

Die Chronofotografie, eine neue wissenschaftliche Technik, die von Étienne Jules Marey und Eadweard Muybridge erfunden wurde, um die Fortbewegung von Tieren und Menschen zu untersuchen, ist eine wichtige Inspirationsquelle für sie: Sie bietet ihnen eine grafische Lösung, um die Bewegungsphasen in ihren Werken auszudrücken.

Bildanalyse

Stellen Sie die Bewegung dar

Marey und Muybridge hatten in den 1870er Jahren die Idee, mithilfe von Fotografie Bewegungen zu analysieren: Dank der Multiplikation von Aufnahmen und ihrer Serialisierung kann die Art und Weise erfasst werden, in der sich ein Mensch oder eine Person bewegt. Tier. Die Fotos, die die Veröffentlichungen der beiden Wissenschaftler veranschaulichen, beeindrucken Futuristen mit ihrer Dynamik. Diese Künstler reproduzieren dann in ihren Werken die in Chronofotografien sichtbare Zerlegung von Bewegungen.

In der Platte aus Muybridges Buch wird ein Mann, der etwas vom Boden aufhebt, mehrmals fotografiert, um eine Reihe von Bildern zu erzeugen, die jede Komponente der Geste detailliert beschreiben. Die verschiedenen Bilder werden dann nebeneinander gestellt, um sie vollständig zu rendern. Der Gipsabdruck aus Mareys Chronofotografien zerlegt auch die Bewegungen eines Lebewesens - den Flug einer Möwe -, aber die nacheinander aufgenommenen Fotos wurden diesmal zu einer einzigen Darstellung zusammengefasst. Nachdem Marey diese Bilder auf demselben Zelluloidfilm aufgenommen hatte, überlagerte er sie mit einem leichten Versatz, um ein synthetisches Bild zu erhalten.

Futuristen nutzen den Effekt dieser Fotografien, um das Gefühl von Bewegung in ihren Werken zu vermitteln. Luigi Russolo, in Plastische Synthese der Bewegungen einer FrauMultiplizieren Sie die Darstellungen der Figur so, dass sie in den Raum des Gemäldes einzudringen scheint: Kopf und Füße, die mehrmals nebeneinander gemalt werden, bilden zwei gegenüberliegende Bögen am oberen und unteren Rand des Gemäldes, während der Körper , allmählich auf eine Reihe gekrümmter Linien reduziert, scheint sich horizontal bis unendlich auszudehnen. Er versucht daher, die Gesten seines Modells, die Art und Weise, wie sich die Frau, die er malt, bewegt, zu transkribieren und die Menschen allgemeiner dazu zu bringen, menschliche Dynamik zu spüren, wobei Immobilität für Männer nicht selbstverständlich ist. Im Einzigartige Formen der Kontinuität im RaumUmberto Boccioni verschmilzt die verschiedenen Phasen der Bewegung seines Charakters noch weiter und lässt ihn hin und her gestreckt erscheinen. Der Titel der Arbeit sollte wörtlich genommen werden: Der Künstler vereint die aufeinanderfolgenden Gesten eines wandelnden Individuums in einer einzigen Form. In beiden Arbeiten verstärken gekrümmte abstrakte Formen die dynamische Empfindung, indem sie eine Art figuratives Echo der Handlung erzeugen, eine Schockwelle, die die Bewegung der Figur zunehmend schwach und abstrakt reproduziert.

Interpretation

Moderne Kunst

In diesen beiden Werken interpretierten Russolo und Boccioni die ästhetische Formel von Chronofotografien neu, aber bestimmte futuristische Gemälde, wie z Dynamik eines Hundes an der Leine von Giacomo Balla (1912, Knox Art Gallery, Buffalo) reproduzieren genau den Prozess von Muybridge und Marey, indem sie nacheinander die verschiedenen Phasen einer Aktion auf dieselbe Leinwand malen. In gewisser Weise waren die Futuristen von der Arbeit dieser beiden Wissenschaftler inspiriert, weil sie ein ähnliches Ziel hatten: Wie Muybridge und Marey versuchen sie, einen Körper zu zeigen, der sich im Raum bewegt. Während die ersteren Bewegungen zerlegen, um die Mechanismen der Fortbewegung von Mensch und Tier besser zu verstehen, besteht die Aufgabe der letzteren darin, das Bewegungsgefühl plastisch wiederzugeben, damit der Betrachter die Dynamik des dargestellten Subjekts spüren kann.

Eine solche Umsetzung der jüngsten wissenschaftlichen Forschung hat auch für diese Künstler eine besondere Bedeutung. Die Nachahmung der Auswirkungen der Chronofotografie ist eine Möglichkeit, Zeitgenossenschaft in ihre Werke einzuschreiben: Die Futuristen zeigen damit, dass sie nicht von der Gegenwart abgeschnitten sind und dass ihre Kunst den wissenschaftlichen und technischen Fortschritt begleitet. Sie knüpften dann Verbindungen zur Wissenschaft, einer emblematischen Disziplin der Moderne, da sie den Ursprung der meisten Umwälzungen darstellte, die die Zeit beeinflussten.

  • Chronofotografie
  • Futurismus
  • Modernismus
  • Modernität

Literaturverzeichnis

François DAGOGNET, Etienne-Jules Marey. Die Leidenschaft der Spur, Paris, Hazan, 1987. Gérard-Georges LEMAIRE, Futurismus, Paris, Editions du Regard, 1995. Giovanni LISTA, Futurismus, Paris, Terrail, 2001.Franck POPPER, Kinetische Kunst. Das Bild der Bewegung in der bildenden Kunst seit 1860, Paris, Gauthier-Villars Verlag, 1970.Kirk VARNEDOE, Trotz der Regeln. Wie ist moderne Kunst modern?, Paris, Adam Biro, 1990.

Um diesen Artikel zu zitieren

Claire LE THOMAS, "Wenn Wissenschaft Kunst inspiriert: Futurismus und Chronofotografie"


Video: The Weird World of Eadweard Muybridge