The publication of the Red Book, questioning of absolutism

The publication of the Red Book, questioning of absolutism


We are searching data for your request:

Forums and discussions:
Manuals and reference books:
Data from registers:
Wait the end of the search in all databases.
Upon completion, a link will appear to access the found materials.

  • Register of bearer prescriptions, known as the “Red Book”.

  • Register of bearer prescriptions.

  • Register of bearer prescriptions, known as the “Red Book”.

  • Register of bearer prescriptions, known as the “Red Book”.

To close

Title: Register of bearer prescriptions, known as the “Red Book”.

Author :

Date shown:

Dimensions: Height 31.3 - Width 23.2

Technique and other indications: Binding in red morocco in the form of a portfolio with the arms of France. Arms of France encircled by the necklaces of the Saint-Esprit and Saint-Michel. Lace decor. Silver lock. Royal monogram. Irons to the bird. On the back of the flap, lily flower seedlings.

Storage location: Historic Center of the National Archives website

Contact copyright: © Historic Center of the National Archives - Photo workshop website

Picture reference: AE / I / 3 / 1a

Register of bearer prescriptions, known as the “Red Book”.

© Historic Center of the National Archives - Photography workshop

To close

Title: Register of bearer prescriptions.

Author :

Date shown:

Dimensions: Height 29 - Width 22.5

Technique and other indications: All the ordinances bear the signature of King Louis XVI.

Storage location: Historic Center of the National Archives website

Contact copyright: © Historic Center of the National Archives - Photo workshop website

Picture reference: AE / I / 3 / 1a

Register of bearer prescriptions.

© Historic Center of the National Archives - Photography workshop

To close

Title: Register of bearer prescriptions, known as the “Red Book”.

Author :

Date shown:

Dimensions: Height 31.3 - Width 23.2

Technique and other indications: Binding in red morocco in the shape of a portfolio with the arms of France. Arms of France encircled by the necklaces of the Saint-Esprit and Saint-Michel. On the back of the flap, lily flower seedlings.

Storage location: Historic Center of the National Archives website

Contact copyright: © Historic Center of the National Archives - Photo workshop website

Picture reference: AE / I / 3 / 1a

Register of bearer prescriptions, known as the “Red Book”.

© Historic Center of the National Archives - Photography workshop

To close

Title: Register of bearer prescriptions, known as the “Red Book”.

Author :

Date shown:

Dimensions: Height 31.3 - Width 23.2

Technique and other indications: Binding in red morocco in the shape of a portfolio with the arms of France. Arms of France encircled by the necklaces of the Saint-Esprit and Saint-Michel. On the back of the flap, lily flowers.

Storage location: Historic Center of the National Archives website

Contact copyright: © Historic Center of the National Archives - Photo workshop website

Picture reference: AE / I / 3 / 1a

Register of bearer prescriptions, known as the “Red Book”.

© Historic Center of the National Archives - Photography workshop

Publication date: August 2005

Video

The publication of the Red Book, questioning of absolutism

Video

Historical context

The financial crisis and the royal pensions scandal

Under the Ancien Régime, royal finances came from taxation, revenues from the royal domain and loans. The Comptroller General of Finances, in charge of the budget, must manage multiple funds of various statutes; he also exercises close control over the Royal Treasury, which under Louis XVI brings together just over 50% of the monarchy's income. The King of France draws on it to grant gratuities or pensions to individuals according to his personal appreciation as well as for services rendered to the State.

While preparing a constitution intended to limit the absolutism that brought the kingdom to the brink of bankruptcy, the National Assembly decided, on November 2, 1789, to confiscate the property of the clergy to save the country from bankruptcy. On the 28th, the deputy Armand Camus denounced to the Assembly the existence of the "Red Book", which contained information on the pensions awarded by the king; the latter immediately votes on its impression.

The Comptroller General Jacques Necker, aware of the scandal and the political consequences of such a revelation in the effervescent context of 1789, tried to dissuade the king from accepting. The “Red Book” was handed over to the Constituent Pension Committee in March 1790 and published on April 1.

Image Analysis

The red morocco binding is at the origin of the name of "Red Book" given to the "Register of bearer ordinances from 1773 to 1788" (on the left) which was published in 1790 concerning the reign of Louis XVI; the older volumes will be found in 1793.

Sumptuous "lace" bindings

Emblematic of royal splendor, these three bindings produced during the reign of Louis XV, around 1750, 1760 and 1773 - the date on which each of the collections begins - are unique creations and are among the most beautiful of the 18th century. The royal bookbinders Antoine Pasdeloup (1685-1758) and Pierre-Paul Dubuisson (died in 1762) could be the authors of the two oldest (on the right). The abundant golden decoration of the bindings catches the light and gives each volume a fascinating glow. To obtain such a richness of gilding, the binder uses florets placed next to each other, which make up this kind of lace.

The ornamentation begins with ornate fillets and rollers at the edge of each binding plate and continues, extending further to the center from the corners and midpoints of each side. The space left free between the florets is studded with solid gold dots, hollowed out circles, open flowers, which serve to give the same intensity of brilliance and gilding to the entire ornate surface. At the corners we recognize the Louis XV cipher, two "L" s facing each other around a fleur de lis. The long sides and the flap of the oldest binding, which has a silver clasp, feature bird irons.

The covers of the three bindings bear the royal coat of arms in the center, surrounded by the collar of the Order of the Holy Spirit and that of Saint Michael.

Inconsistent and expensive donations

The "Red Book" is not an account book, but a record of the outflows of funds ordered by the king which have all received the royal "L" (for Louis) initials. Published as is in 1790, the Red book appears inconsistent and expensive; he provoked a general outcry in the patriotic press, which reproduced it and commented on it extensively with sarcastic and insulting remarks to which were added numerous caricatures.

On these pages concerning 1787 and 1788, enormous sums are devoted to various departments which manage them: Foreign Affairs, the King's House, or to exceptional needs: the transfer of funds to Holland for payment in guilders probably concerns the supply in grains due to famine.

The two “ordinances on” Charles de Savalette de Magnanville (1713-1790) and François La Borde de Mériville (1761-1802) “for expenses of extraordinary service of finances” come under the operation of the royal finances. Both guardians of the Royal Treasury, these financiers bought their office at a considerable price and served as financial support for the monarchy. Their countless loans to the royal coffers run into tens of millions of pounds a year, what is known as "serving the Treasury."

The disclosure of the names of pension recipients is even more scandalous. With the exception of the wealthy Vaudois banker Isaac Panchaud (1736-1789), co-founder of the Caisse d'Escompte, they were rich nobles like the Comte d'Artois, brother of Louis XVI (future Charles X), foreign princes like Maximilien des Deux-Ponts - Principality of Rhineland-Palatinate - of the Wittelsbach family, the Count of Albany, Prince Stuart pretending to the throne of England, and his wife Louise Maximilienne, daughter of Gustavus Adolf de Stolberg Gedern, general of the Empress Marie-Thérèse of Austria, or Countess Josepha de Brionne, daughter of Duke Louis III of Lorraine and widow of Amédée II of Savoy-Carignan.

Several people of the court receive pensions, often without real motive such as the countess of Ossun, lady of the queen's matron, "for her table", the countess of Andlau, daughter of the philosopher Helvétius, "secret pension". These disproportionate and often cumulative favors paid to the royal family, favorite courtiers and noble families are deeply shocking, given the deficit and popular misery.

Interpretation

A huge impact

The publication of the "Red Book" highlights the abuses of absolutism, the mess of finances and the need for reform. The Constituent makes a distinction between public finances and the personal finances of the king, to whom it assigns a civil list. From the summer of 1790, the Pension Committee paid pensions based on completely revised criteria.

Disclosure of the beneficiaries of royal largesse further discredits the aristocracy and has an immense effect both in Paris and in the provinces. For journalist Loustalot, Paris revolutions, it makes “any counter-revolution impossible”.

This affair also reveals the weakness of Louis XVI, who procrastinates but does not find a solution in time to prevent the scandal. Another ruler reportedly refused to deliver the document or destroyed it.
Returned to the king after publication, the “Red Book” was rediscovered in 1793 by the victorious revolutionaries. Eager to exploit its powerful impact on public opinion, the Convention once again votes to print it - but this time all three volumes will be published.

  • Old regime
  • Constituent Assembly
  • finances
  • Louis XVI
  • Necker (Jacques)
  • scandal
  • Camus (Armand Gaston)

Bibliography

Bruno BLASSELLE, Full Pages: History of the Book volume I, Paris, Gallimard, 1997.Yves DEVAUX, Ten centuries of French binding.Paris, Pygmalion Publishing, 1977.

To cite this article

Luce-Marie ALBIGÈS, "The publication of the Red Book, questioning of absolutism"


Video: Prussian Absolutism AP Euro Review


Comments:

  1. Llacheu

    In my opinion you commit an error. Let's discuss it.

  2. Niyol

    It is understood in two ways as

  3. Jimmy

    especially about the vulgar crumb

  4. Kajibei

    No, I can't tell you.

  5. Morogh

    I think they are wrong. I am able to prove it. Write to me in PM, discuss it.

  6. Amen

    At someone the letter alexia)))))

  7. Anthany

    I think you are making a mistake. I can defend my position. Email me at PM, we'll talk.



Write a message

Die Veröffentlichung des Roten Buches, die den Absolutismus in Frage stellt

Die Veröffentlichung des Roten Buches, die den Absolutismus in Frage stellt

  • Register der Inhaberrezepte, bekannt als "Rotes Buch".

  • Register der Inhaberrezepte.

  • Register der Inhaberrezepte, bekannt als "Rotes Buch".

  • Register der Inhaberrezepte, bekannt als "Rotes Buch".

Schließen

Titel: Register der Inhaberrezepte, bekannt als "Rotes Buch".

Autor:

Datum angezeigt:

Maße: Höhe 31,3 - Breite 23,2

Technik und andere Indikationen: Einband in rotem Marokko in Form einer Mappe mit den Armen Frankreichs. Die Arme Frankreichs sind von den Halsketten des Heiligen Esprit und des Heiligen Michel umgeben. Spitzendekor. Silbernes Schloss. Königliches Monogramm. Eisen zum Vogel. Auf der Rückseite der Klappe blühen Lilienkeimlinge.

Lagerraum: Historisches Zentrum der Website des Nationalarchivs

Kontakt Copyright: © Historisches Zentrum des Nationalarchivs - Website des Fotoworkshops

Bildreferenz: AE / I / 3 / 1a

Register der Inhaberrezepte, bekannt als "Rotes Buch".

© Historisches Zentrum des Nationalarchivs - Fotoworkshop

Schließen

Titel: Register der Inhaberrezepte.

Autor:

Datum angezeigt:

Maße: Höhe 29 - Breite 22,5

Technik und andere Indikationen: Alle Verordnungen tragen die Unterschrift von König Ludwig XVI.

Lagerraum: Historisches Zentrum der Website des Nationalarchivs

Kontakt Copyright: © Historisches Zentrum des Nationalarchivs - Website des Fotoworkshops

Bildreferenz: AE / I / 3 / 1a

Register der Inhaberrezepte.

© Historisches Zentrum des Nationalarchivs - Fotoworkshop

Schließen

Titel: Register der Inhaberrezepte, bekannt als "Rotes Buch".

Autor:

Datum angezeigt:

Maße: Höhe 31,3 - Breite 23,2

Technik und andere Indikationen: Einband in rotem Marokko in Form einer Mappe mit den Armen Frankreichs. Die Arme Frankreichs sind von den Halsketten des Heiligen Esprit und des Heiligen Michel umgeben. Auf der Rückseite der Klappe blühen Lilienkeimlinge.

Lagerraum: Historisches Zentrum der Website des Nationalarchivs

Kontakt Copyright: © Historisches Zentrum des Nationalarchivs - Website des Fotoworkshops

Bildreferenz: AE / I / 3 / 1a

Register der Inhaberrezepte, bekannt als "Rotes Buch".

© Historisches Zentrum des Nationalarchivs - Fotoworkshop

Schließen

Titel: Register der Inhaberrezepte, bekannt als "Rotes Buch".

Autor:

Datum angezeigt:

Maße: Höhe 31,3 - Breite 23,2

Technik und andere Indikationen: Einband in rotem Marokko in Form einer Mappe mit den Armen Frankreichs. Die Arme Frankreichs sind von den Halsketten des Heiligen Esprit und des Heiligen Michel umgeben. Auf der Rückseite der Klappe blühen Lilienkeimlinge.

Lagerraum: Historisches Zentrum der Website des Nationalarchivs

Kontakt Copyright: © Historisches Zentrum des Nationalarchivs - Website des Fotoworkshops

Bildreferenz: AE / I / 3 / 1a

Register der Inhaberrezepte, bekannt als "Rotes Buch".

© Historisches Zentrum des Nationalarchivs - Fotoworkshop

Erscheinungsdatum: August 2005

Video

Die Veröffentlichung des Roten Buches, die den Absolutismus in Frage stellt

Video

Historischer Zusammenhang

Die Finanzkrise und der königliche Rentenskandal

Unter dem Ancien Régime stammten die königlichen Finanzen aus Steuern, Einnahmen aus dem königlichen Bereich und Darlehen. Der für das Budget zuständige Finanzkontrolleur muss mehrere Fonds verschiedener Gesetze verwalten. Er übt auch eine enge Kontrolle über die königliche Schatzkammer aus, die unter Ludwig XVI. etwas mehr als 50% des Einkommens der Monarchie zusammenbringt. Der König von Frankreich stützt sich darauf, um Einzelpersonen nach seiner persönlichen Wertschätzung Trinkgelder oder Renten sowie für Leistungen an den Staat zu gewähren.

Bei der Ausarbeitung einer Verfassung zur Begrenzung des Absolutismus, der das Königreich an den Rand des Bankrotts brachte, beschloss die Nationalversammlung am 2. November 1789, das Eigentum des Klerus zu beschlagnahmen, um das Land vor dem Bankrott zu retten. Am 28. prangerte der stellvertretende Armand Camus der Versammlung die Existenz des "Roten Buches" an, das Informationen über die vom König gewährten Renten enthielt; Letzterer stimmt sofort über seinen Eindruck ab.

Der Comptroller General Jacques Necker, der sich des Skandals und der politischen Konsequenzen einer solchen Enthüllung im sprudelnden Kontext von 1789 bewusst war, versuchte, den König von der Annahme abzubringen. Das „Rote Buch“ wurde im März 1790 an den Ausschuss für konstituierende Altersversorgung übergeben und am 1. April veröffentlicht.

Bildanalyse

Die rote Marokko-Bindung ist der Ursprung des Namens "Rotes Buch" im "Register der Trägerverordnungen von 1773 bis 1788" (links), das 1790 über die Regierungszeit Ludwigs XVI. Veröffentlicht wurde. Die älteren Bände werden 1793 gefunden.

Prächtige "Spitzen" -Bindungen

Diese drei Bindungen, die während der Regierungszeit Ludwigs XV. Um 1750, 1760 und 1773 - dem Datum, an dem jede der Sammlungen beginnt - hergestellt wurden, stehen für königliche Pracht und sind einzigartige Kreationen und gehören zu den schönsten des 18. Jahrhunderts. Die königlichen Buchbinder Antoine Pasdeloup (1685-1758) und Pierre-Paul Dubuisson (gestorben 1762) könnten die Autoren der beiden ältesten (rechts) sein. Die reichlich vorhandene goldene Verzierung der Bindungen fängt das Licht ein und verleiht jedem Band einen faszinierenden Glanz. Um eine solche Fülle an Vergoldungen zu erzielen, verwendet der Binder nebeneinander angeordnete Röschen, aus denen diese Art von Spitze besteht.

Die Verzierung beginnt mit verzierten Filets und Rollen am Rand jeder Bindeplatte und setzt sich fort und erstreckt sich von den Ecken und Mittelpunkten jeder Seite weiter bis zur Mitte. Der Raum, der zwischen den Röschen frei bleibt, ist mit massiven Goldpunkten, ausgehöhlten Kreisen und offenen Blüten besetzt, die dazu dienen, der gesamten verzierten Oberfläche die gleiche Intensität der Brillanz und Vergoldung zu verleihen. An den Ecken erkennen wir die Louis XV-Chiffre, zwei "L", die sich um eine Lilie gegenüberstehen. Die langen Seiten und die Klappe der ältesten Bindung mit silbernem Verschluss sind mit Vogeleisen versehen.

Die Umschläge der drei Bindungen tragen in der Mitte das königliche Wappen, umgeben vom Kragen des Ordens des Heiligen Geistes und des Heiligen Michael.

Inkonsistente und teure Spenden

Das "Rote Buch" ist kein Geschäftsbuch, sondern eine Aufzeichnung der vom König bestellten Mittelabflüsse, die alle die königlichen "L" -Initialen (für Louis) erhalten haben. Veröffentlicht wie im Jahr 1790, die Rotes Buch erscheint inkonsistent und teuer; er provozierte einen allgemeinen Aufschrei in der patriotischen Presse, der ihn reproduzierte und ausführlich mit sarkastischen und beleidigenden Bemerkungen kommentierte, denen zahlreiche Karikaturen hinzugefügt wurden.

Auf diesen Seiten über 1787 und 1788 werden enorme Summen für verschiedene Abteilungen verwendet, die sie verwalten: Auswärtige Angelegenheiten, das Königshaus oder außergewöhnliche Bedürfnisse: Die Überweisung von Geldern nach Holland zur Zahlung in Gulden betrifft wahrscheinlich die Lieferung in Körnern wegen Hungersnot.

Die beiden "Verordnungen über" Charles de Savalette de Magnanville (1713-1790) und François La Borde de Mériville (1761-1802) "für Ausgaben für außerordentliche Finanzdienstleistungen" fallen unter die Funktion der königlichen Finanzen. Beide Hüter der königlichen Schatzkammer, diese Finanziers, kauften ihr Büro zu einem beträchtlichen Preis und dienten als finanzielle Unterstützung für die Monarchie. Ihre unzähligen Kredite an die königlichen Kassen belaufen sich auf mehrere zehn Millionen Pfund pro Jahr, was als "Dienst am Finanzministerium" bekannt ist.

Noch skandalöser ist die Offenlegung der Namen der Rentenempfänger. Mit Ausnahme des wohlhabenden Waadtländer Bankiers Isaac Panchaud (1736-1789), Mitbegründer der Caisse d'Escompte, waren sie reiche Adlige wie der Comte d'Artois, Bruder von Ludwig XVI. (Zukünftiger Karl X.), ausländische Fürsten wie Maximilien des Deux-Ponts - Fürstentum Rheinland-Pfalz - der Familie Wittelsbach, Graf von Albany, Prinz Stuart, der den Thron Englands vortäuscht, und seine Frau Louise Maximilienne, Tochter von Gustav Adolf de Stolberg Gedern, General der Kaiserin Marie-Thérèse von Österreich oder Gräfin Josepha de Brionne, Tochter von Herzog Ludwig III. Von Lothringen und Witwe von Amédée II. Von Savoyen-Carignan.

Mehrere Personen des Hofes erhalten Renten, oft ohne wirkliches Motiv, wie die Gräfin von Ossun, Dame der Königinmatrone, "für ihren Tisch", die Gräfin von Andlau, Tochter des Philosophen Helvétius, "geheime Rente". Diese unverhältnismäßigen und oft kumulativen Gefälligkeiten, die der königlichen Familie, den Lieblingshöflingen und den Adelsfamilien gezahlt werden, sind angesichts des Defizits und der Armut der Menschen zutiefst schockierend.

Interpretation

Eine enorme Wirkung

Die Veröffentlichung des "Roten Buches" hebt den Missbrauch des Absolutismus, das Durcheinander der Finanzen und die Notwendigkeit von Reformen hervor. Der Wähler unterscheidet zwischen den öffentlichen Finanzen und den persönlichen Finanzen des Königs, dem er eine zivile Liste zuweist. Ab Sommer 1790 zahlte der Rentenausschuss Renten nach vollständig überarbeiteten Kriterien.

Die Offenlegung der Nutznießer königlicher Großzügigkeit diskreditiert die Aristokratie weiter und hat sowohl in Paris als auch in den Provinzen eine immense Wirkung. Für den Journalisten Loustalot Pariser Revolutionenes macht "jede Konterrevolution unmöglich".

Diese Angelegenheit zeigt auch die Schwäche Ludwigs XVI., Der zögert, aber nicht rechtzeitig eine Lösung findet, um den Skandal zu verhindern. Berichten zufolge weigerte sich ein anderer Herrscher, das Dokument zu liefern, oder zerstörte es.
Nach der Veröffentlichung zum König zurückgekehrt, wurde das „Rote Buch“ 1793 von den siegreichen Revolutionären wiederentdeckt. Der Konvent ist bestrebt, seine starken Auswirkungen auf die öffentliche Meinung auszunutzen, und stimmt erneut dafür, ihn zu drucken. Diesmal werden jedoch alle drei Bände veröffentlicht.

  • Altes Regime
  • Konstituierende Versammlung
  • Finanzen
  • Ludwig XVI
  • Necker (Jacques)
  • Skandal
  • Camus (Armand Gaston)

Literaturverzeichnis

Bruno BLASSELLE, Vollständige Seiten: Geschichte des Buches Band I, Paris, Gallimard, 1997. Yves DEVAUX, Zehn Jahrhunderte französische Bindung.Paris, Pygmalion Publishing, 1977.

Um diesen Artikel zu zitieren

Luce-Marie ALBIGÈS, "Die Veröffentlichung des Roten Buches, Infragestellung des Absolutismus"


Video: Absolutismus unter dem Sonnenkönig I musstewissen Geschichte