Francoist propaganda

Francoist propaganda


We are searching data for your request:

Forums and discussions:
Manuals and reference books:
Data from registers:
Wait the end of the search in all databases.
Upon completion, a link will appear to access the found materials.

To close

Title: Barcelonés: hace tres anos, Franco te libero

Creation date : 1942 -

Technique and other indications: Translation: Barcelona: three years ago, Franco liberated you

Storage location: Army Museum (Paris) website

Contact copyright: Paris - Army Museum, Dist. RMN-Grand Palais / Pascal Segrette

Picture reference: 06-505807 / 2001.72.10

Barcelonés: hace tres anos, Franco te libero

© Paris - Army Museum, Dist. RMN-Grand Palais / Pascal Segrette

Publication date: January 2019

Historical context

Barcelona, ​​1942

After the end of the Civil War (April 17, 1936 - 1er April 1939) and the final victory of the nationalists led by General Franco, Spain found itself ruined, decimated and still traumatized by the years of conflict. The dictatorship is taking hold, made up of more or less frank connections with the fascist regimes in Europe, repression, purification, information control and "education" of the people. In the wake of the recent experience of the war of opinions, the new authorities are continuing an intense propaganda effort and rewriting the history of the conflict to their sole advantage.

Barcelona: three years ago Franco liberated you is a poster printed by the Jefatura Provincial de propaganda (mention at the bottom right of the image), that is to say the Provincial Propaganda Directorate set up by the new power in each Spanish province, here Catalonia. Almost a meter high, it was plastered on many walls of the Catalan city at the beginning of 1942.

Image Analysis

Portrait of the "liberator"

Framing a representation of Franco, the text is divided into two parts. The address to the city appears on the upper part and the message occupies the lower part, which refers to the capture of Barcelona by the nationalist troops on January 26, 1939. The author of the poster has also played different typographies to obtain visual effects which he hopes will be significant: Franco's name is thus clearly highlighted.

In the center of the image, the bust portrait of the general is fairly classic. Adorned with his military uniform and his decorations (on the collar and the chest), surrounded by the ribbon of the Chief of the Armed Forces, Franco is represented in all solemnity. A subtle play of lights and the technical work on the original photo, however, gives a touch of modernity to the representation, almost enveloping the general with a sort of aura. Finally, Franco appears here in a serene and almost benevolent light rather than martial or threatening. Looking into the distance, he finally presents a face that is both reassuring and determined.

Interpretation

The caudillo and the new Spain

Barcelona: three years ago Franco liberated you This marks first of all the personalization of the power that the new regime intends to disseminate and exercise among the populations. Warlord and now Head of State, the caudillo is placed in the center of the image and message. It was Franco himself - whose name pops up eloquently in larger, bolder type - who took Barcelona three years ago. Crowned with his military glory (we remember his victory), Franco is placed on the same level as the city itself (rather than its inhabitants) to whom the text reminds us of what the latter did for it.

In the context of the Second World War, while the fighting rages in Europe and elsewhere, the general is presented as a real guide for his people: charismatic, visionary, sure of himself, pledge and guarantor of tranquility as well as of " freedom ”of his people. First cradle of republican or far left movements, long the main center of resistance to nationalist assaults, Barcelona was thus delivered from the oppressors (republicans, communists, Trotskyists, anarchists) who tyrannized over it. This "liberation" whose poster celebrates in a way the anniversary having intervened in the not so distant past, one also understands that the threats (interior or exterior) on this one still hover, which justifies that one does allegiance to the general and his methods.

Written in Castilian and structured around the figure of Franco, the poster finally illustrates another facet of the new Francoist propaganda. In the service of a now centralizing state violently rejecting all provincial particularities, its mission is to build a country unified culturally and politically under the command of a single leader.

  • war in spain
  • Franco (general)
  • propaganda
  • Barcelona
  • personality cult

Bibliography

BARRACHINA, Marie-Aline, Propaganda and culture in Franco's Spain, 1936-1945, Grenoble, Ellug, 1998.

BERTHIER, Nancy, Francoism and its image. Cinema and propaganda, Toulouse, University Press of Mirail, 1999

MIRO, Joan, Writings and interviews, Paris, Daniel Lelong, 1995.

To cite this article

Alexandre SUMPF, "Francoist propaganda"


Video: Historical Anthem: Francoist Spain - La Marcha Granadera 19361975


Comments:

  1. Charlton

    I mean you are wrong. I can defend my position. Write to me in PM, we'll talk.

  2. Morgan Tud

    I regret, that I can not participate in discussion now. It is not enough information. But with pleasure I will watch this theme.

  3. Yolrajas

    When meeting a worthy person, think about how to catch up with him. When meeting with a low person, take a closer look at yourself and yourself ...

  4. Aubin

    Good deal!

  5. Wacleah

    You commit an error. I can defend the position. Write to me in PM, we will talk.

  6. Jessy

    You must tell him.



Write a message

Francoistische Propaganda

Francoistische Propaganda

Schließen

Titel: Barcelonés: hace tres anos, Franco te libero

Erstellungsdatum : 1942 -

Technik und andere Indikationen: Übersetzung: Barcelona: Vor drei Jahren hat Franco Sie befreit

Lagerraum: Website des Armeemuseums (Paris)

Kontakt Copyright: Paris - Armeemuseum, Dist. RMN-Grand Palais / Pascal Segrette

Bildreferenz: 06-505807 / 2001.72.10

Barcelonés: hace tres anos, Franco te libero

© Paris - Armeemuseum, Dist. RMN-Grand Palais / Pascal Segrette

Erscheinungsdatum: Januar 2019

Historischer Zusammenhang

Barcelona, ​​1942

Nach dem Ende des Bürgerkriegs (17. April 1936 - 1äh April 1939) und der endgültige Sieg der von General Franco angeführten Nationalisten, Spanien, wurde durch die Jahre des Konflikts ruiniert, dezimiert und immer noch traumatisiert. Die Diktatur greift, bestehend aus mehr oder weniger offenen Verbindungen zu den faschistischen Regimen in Europa, Unterdrückung, Reinigung, Informationskontrolle und "Bildung" des Volkes. Nach den jüngsten Erfahrungen mit dem Meinungskrieg setzen die neuen Behörden ihre intensiven Propagandabemühungen fort und schreiben die Geschichte des Konflikts zu ihrem alleinigen Vorteil neu.

Barcelona: Vor drei Jahren hat Franco dich befreit ist ein Plakat, das von der Propaganda der Provinz Jefatura gedruckt wurde (Erwähnung unten rechts im Bild), dh von der Propagandadirektion der Provinz, die von der neuen Macht in jeder spanischen Provinz, hier Katalonien, eingerichtet wurde. Fast einen Meter hoch, wurde es Anfang 1942 an vielen Mauern der katalanischen Stadt verputzt.

Bildanalyse

Porträt des "Befreiers"

Der Text umrahmt eine Darstellung von Franco und ist in zwei Teile gegliedert. Die Adresse der Stadt erscheint im oberen Teil und die Nachricht nimmt den unteren Teil ein, der sich auf die Eroberung Barcelonas durch die nationalistischen Truppen am 26. Januar 1939 bezieht. Der Autor des Plakats hat auch anders gespielt Typografien, um visuelle Effekte zu erzielen, von denen er hofft, dass sie von Bedeutung sind: Francos Name wird somit deutlich hervorgehoben.

In der Bildmitte ist das Büstenporträt des Generals ziemlich klassisch. Franco ist mit seiner Militäruniform und seinen Verzierungen (am Kragen und an der Brust) geschmückt, umgeben vom Band des Chefs der Streitkräfte, in aller Feierlichkeit vertreten. Ein subtiles Lichtspiel und die technische Arbeit am Originalfoto verleihen der Darstellung jedoch einen Hauch von Modernität und hüllen den General fast in eine Art Aura. Schließlich erscheint Franco hier eher in einem ruhigen und fast wohlwollenden Licht als kriegerisch oder bedrohlich. Mit Blick in die Ferne zeigt er endlich ein Gesicht, das sowohl beruhigend als auch entschlossen ist.

Interpretation

Das Caudillo und das neue Spanien

Barcelona: Vor drei Jahren hat Franco dich befreit Dies markiert vor allem die Personalisierung der Macht, die das neue Regime unter der Bevölkerung verbreiten und nutzen will. Kriegsherr und jetzt Staatsoberhaupt, der Caudillo wird in der Mitte des Bildes und der Nachricht platziert. Es war Franco selbst, dessen Name in größerer, kühnerer Schrift eloquent auftaucht, der vor drei Jahren Barcelona eroberte. Franco ist von seinem militärischen Ruhm gekrönt (wir erinnern uns an seinen Sieg) und befindet sich auf der gleichen Ebene wie die Stadt selbst (und nicht ihre Bewohner), an die uns der Text erinnert, was diese für sie getan hat.

Während die Kämpfe in Europa und anderswo toben, wird der General im Kontext des Zweiten Weltkriegs als wahrer Leitfaden für sein Volk dargestellt: charismatisch, visionär, selbstsicher, Versprechen und Garant der Ruhe sowie der "Ruhe". Freiheit “seines Volkes. Barcelona, ​​die erste Wiege republikanischer oder rechtsextremer Bewegungen, lange Zeit das Hauptzentrum des Widerstands gegen nationalistische Angriffe, wurde somit von den Unterdrückern (Republikanern, Kommunisten, Trotzkisten, Anarchisten) befreit, die es tyrannisierten. Diese "Befreiung", deren Plakat in gewisser Weise das Jubiläum feiert, das in die nicht allzu ferne Vergangenheit eingegriffen hat, versteht man auch, dass die Bedrohungen (innen oder außen) auf dieser immer noch schweben, was dies rechtfertigt Treue zum General und seinen Methoden.

Das in kastilischer Sprache verfasste und um die Figur Francos herum strukturierte Plakat zeigt schließlich eine weitere Facette der neuen frankoistischen Propaganda. Im Dienst eines jetzt zentralisierenden Staates, der alle Besonderheiten der Provinz gewaltsam ablehnt, besteht seine Mission darin, ein kulturell und politisch einheitliches Land unter dem Kommando eines einzigen Führers aufzubauen.

  • Krieg in Spanien
  • Franco (allgemein)
  • Propaganda
  • Barcelona
  • Persönlichkeitskult

Literaturverzeichnis

BARRACHINA, Marie-Aline, Propaganda und Kultur in Francos Spanien, 1936-1945, Grenoble, Ellug, 1998.

BERTHIER, Nancy, Francoismus und sein Image. Kino und Propaganda, Toulouse, University Press of Mirail, 1999

MIRO, Joan, Schriften und Interviews, Paris, Daniel Lelong, 1995.

Um diesen Artikel zu zitieren

Alexandre SUMPF, "Francoistische Propaganda"


Video: Tasché Burger Set Fire to the Rain. Live Shows. The Voice SA. M-Net