German propaganda

German propaganda


We are searching data for your request:

Forums and discussions:
Manuals and reference books:
Data from registers:
Wait the end of the search in all databases.
Upon completion, a link will appear to access the found materials.

To close

Title: Abandoned populations, trust the German soldier!

Author : MATEJKO Théo (1893 - 1946)

Creation date : 1940

Date shown: 1940

Dimensions: Height 123 - Width 87

Technique and other indications: Paper, printing

Storage location: Army Museum (Paris) website

Contact copyright: © Paris - Army Museum, Dist. RMN-Grand Palais - Photo Army Museum

Picture reference: 09-541603 / Gg 1

Abandoned populations, trust the German soldier!

© Paris - Army Museum, Dist. RMN-Grand Palais - Photo Army Museum

Publication date: April 2012

Historical context

The first German propaganda poster circulated in France

The armistice of June 22, 1940 made official the defeat of France against the Nazis. The “occupied zone”, which corresponds to the northern half and the Atlantic coast, came under German occupation, while the “free zone”, located south of the Loire, came under the direct responsibility of the Vichy government. While French sovereignty is exercised in principle over the entire territory (except in Alsace and Moselle), in fact, the occupying power submits the country to its domination and its decisions.

Produced and distributed on a large scale from the beginning of the Occupation, the poster Abandoned populations, trust the German soldier! is precisely the first poster published in France by the Nazi regime as part of its propaganda.

As such, it presents an invaluable documentary value, which informs us about the policy of ideological diffusion that the IIIe Reich intends to take action to conserve and organize its new power in France. Graffiti "And what else? .. 1940 ”Which was added to it raises the question of the reaction of the French population to this new state of affairs.

Image Analysis

An idealized and "family" scene

Designed by illustrator Théo Matejko (1893-1946), the poster Abandoned populations, trust the German soldier! was printed in large format (123 x 87 cm) and plastered on many walls from the end of June 1940.

The central design is accompanied by a slogan written in large black and red letters, arranged at the top (Abandoned populations,) and downstairs (trust the German soldier!) of the image. The latter represents a German soldier (dressed in his Wehrmacht uniform) with three small French children. Handsome, tall, strong, with light hair and eyes, this "ideal" soldier by Nazi criteria is also smiling and benevolent. He carries in his arms a little boy who happily eats a sandwich, while, standing at his side, two young girls, both shy and now reassured, look at the waiter (and the sandwich) with envy. Charcoal, the graffiti "And what else? .. 1940 "Is the work of E. Criks, a jeweler in Paris, who kept this poster until the end of the war.

Interpretation

From enemy to recourse

Written in French and directly intended for the population, the poster Abandoned populations, trust the German soldier! intends to make the latter understand that the German soldier must no longer be considered as an enemy, but as a protective and nurturing resource for the French families "abandoned" by their "leaders".

Abandoned populations (the overwhelming observation constitutes, at the top, the first part of the message) indeed, since the defeat of June led to the disorderly retreat of the army as well as the massive exodus of civilians fleeing the Nazis (making roads north of France a gigantic chaos), while the government, administrations and local authorities fled or tried to flee south, leaving the populations destitute and disorganized in the face of the occupier.

Anxious to restore order as quickly as possible, the German authorities therefore intend to reassure civilians (trust the German soldier!) by showing by the image that the occupation can be beneficial, benevolent (and even preferable to the previous situation) as long as we accept the new leaders of the country, more solid and more reliable than the old ones.

Without necessarily being representative of the state of mind of all French people, graffiti "And what else? .. 1940 Shows that some do not accept the Nazi occupation.

  • propaganda
  • Occupation
  • War of 39-45
  • Petain (Philippe)
  • poster

Bibliography

AZEMA, Jean-Pierre, From Munich to the Liberation, 1938-1944, Paris, Éditions du Seuil, 1979.

AZEMA, Jean-Pierre and Wieviorka, Olivier, Vichy, 1940-1944, Paris, Perrin, 1997.

LABORIE, Pierre, The French under Vichy and the Occupation, Paris, Milan, 2003 PAXTON, Robert, The France of Vichy, 1940-44, Paris, Éditions du Seuil, 1973.

ROSSIGNOL Dominica, History of propaganda in France from 1940 to 1944, Paris, PUF, 1991.

To cite this article

Alexandre SUMPF, "German propaganda"


Video: The Power of Nazi Propaganda


Comments:

  1. Hurste

    I can offer a lot of information on this topic, do you need ?.

  2. Kigagore

    I think this is a great idea. Fully agree with her.

  3. Mejora

    Excuse, that I interrupt you, would like to offer other decision.

  4. Graden

    Interesting. We are waiting for new messages on the same topic :)

  5. Filbert

    Sorry that I am interrupting you, I too would like to express your opinion.

  6. Prometheus

    Completely I share your opinion. In it something is also idea excellent, agree with you.

  7. Lema

    gee chipmunk =)



Write a message

Deutsche Propaganda

Deutsche Propaganda

Schließen

Titel: Verlassene Bevölkerung, vertraue dem deutschen Soldaten!

Autor: MATEJKO Théo (1893 - 1946)

Erstellungsdatum : 1940

Datum angezeigt: 1940

Maße: Höhe 123 - Breite 87

Technik und andere Indikationen: Papier, Drucken

Speicherort: Website des Armeemuseums (Paris)

Kontakt Copyright: © Paris - Armeemuseum, Dist. RMN-Grand Palais - Foto-Armeemuseum

Bildreferenz: 09-541603 / Gg 1

Verlassene Bevölkerung, vertraue dem deutschen Soldaten!

© Paris - Armeemuseum, Dist. RMN-Grand Palais - Foto-Armeemuseum

Erscheinungsdatum: April 2012

Historischer Zusammenhang

Das erste deutsche Propagandaplakat wurde in Frankreich verbreitet

Der Waffenstillstand vom 22. Juni 1940 machte die Niederlage Frankreichs gegen die Nazis offiziell. Die „besetzte Zone“, die der nördlichen Hälfte und der Atlantikküste entspricht, wurde von Deutschland besetzt, während die „Freizone“ südlich der Loire direkt von der Regierung Vichy kontrolliert wurde. Während die französische Souveränität im Prinzip über das gesamte Gebiet (außer im Elsass und an der Mosel) ausgeübt wird, unterwirft die Besatzungsmacht das Land seiner Herrschaft und seinen Entscheidungen.

Produziert und vertrieben in großem Maßstab seit Beginn der Besatzung das Plakat Verlassene Bevölkerung, vertraue dem deutschen Soldaten! ist genau das erste Plakat, das das NS-Regime im Rahmen seiner Propaganda in Frankreich veröffentlicht hat.

Als solches stellt es einen unschätzbaren dokumentarischen Wert dar, der uns über die Politik der ideologischen Verbreitung informiert, die die IIIe Reich beabsichtigt, Maßnahmen zu ergreifen, um seine neue Macht in Frankreich zu erhalten und zu organisieren. Graffiti "Und was noch? .. 1940 Was hinzugefügt wurde, wirft die Frage nach der Reaktion der französischen Bevölkerung auf diesen neuen Zustand auf.

Bildanalyse

Eine idealisierte und "familiäre" Szene

Entworfen vom Illustrator Théo Matejko (1893-1946), das Plakat Verlassene Bevölkerung, vertraue dem deutschen Soldaten! wurde im Großformat (123 x 87 cm) gedruckt und ab Ende Juni 1940 an vielen Wänden verputzt.

Das zentrale Design wird von einem Slogan begleitet, der in großen schwarzen und roten Buchstaben oben angeordnet ist (Verlassene Bevölkerungsgruppen,) und unten (Vertraue dem deutschen Soldaten!) des Bildes. Letzterer repräsentiert einen deutschen Soldaten (in seiner Wehrmachtsuniform) mit drei kleinen französischen Kindern. Gut aussehend, groß, stark, mit hellen Haaren und Augen, dieser "ideale" Soldat nach nationalsozialistischen Kriterien ist auch lächelnd und wohlwollend. Er trägt einen kleinen Jungen in den Armen, der glücklich ein Sandwich isst, während zwei junge Mädchen, beide schüchtern und jetzt beruhigt, neben ihm stehen und den Kellner (und das Sandwich) neidisch ansehen. Holzkohle, das Graffiti "Und was noch? .. 1940 "Ist das Werk von E. Criks, einem Juwelier in Paris, der dieses Plakat bis Kriegsende aufbewahrt hat.

Interpretation

Vom Feind zum Rückgriff

In französischer Sprache verfasst und direkt für die Bevölkerung bestimmt, das Plakat Verlassene Bevölkerung, vertraue dem deutschen Soldaten! Letzteres soll verstehen lassen, dass der deutsche Soldat nicht länger als Feind betrachtet werden darf, sondern als Schutz- und Nährstoffquelle für die französischen Familien, die von ihren "Führern" "verlassen" wurden.

Verlassene Bevölkerungsgruppen (Die überwältigende Beobachtung bildet oben den ersten Teil der Botschaft.) In der Tat führte die Niederlage im Juni zum ungeordneten Rückzug der Armee sowie zum massiven Exodus von Zivilisten, die vor den Nazis flohen (Straßen nördlich von) Frankreich ein gigantisches Chaos), während die Regierung, die Verwaltungen und die lokalen Behörden flohen oder versuchten, nach Süden zu fliehen, wobei die Bevölkerung angesichts der Besatzer mittellos und unorganisiert blieb.

In dem Bestreben, die Ordnung so schnell wie möglich wiederherzustellen, beabsichtigen die deutschen Behörden daher, die Zivilbevölkerung zu beruhigen (Vertraue dem deutschen Soldaten!) indem wir durch das Bild zeigen, dass die Besatzung nützlich, wohlwollend (und sogar der vorherigen Situation vorzuziehen) sein kann, solange wir die neuen Führer des Landes akzeptieren, die solider und zuverlässiger sind als die alten.

Ohne unbedingt repräsentativ für den Geisteszustand aller Franzosen zu sein, Graffiti "Und was noch? .. 1940 Zeigt, dass einige die Besetzung durch die Nazis nicht akzeptieren.

  • Propaganda
  • Besetzung
  • Krieg von 39-45
  • Petain (Philippe)
  • Poster

Literaturverzeichnis

AZEMA, Jean-Pierre, Von München bis zur Befreiung, 1938-1944, Paris, Éditions du Seuil, 1979.

AZEMA, Jean-Pierre und Wieviorka, Olivier, Vichy, 1940-1944, Paris, Perrin, 1997.

LABORIE, Pierre, Die Franzosen unter Vichy und der Besatzung, Paris, Mailand, 2003 PAXTON, Robert, Das Frankreich von Vichy, 1940-44, Paris, Éditions du Seuil, 1973.

ROSSIGNOL Dominica, Geschichte der Propaganda in Frankreich von 1940 bis 1944, Paris, PUF, 1991.

Um diesen Artikel zu zitieren

Alexandre SUMPF, "deutsche Propaganda"


Video: Audrey Doughty on Nazi Propaganda