Taking of the smalah of Abd-el-Kader

Taking of the smalah of Abd-el-Kader


We are searching data for your request:

Forums and discussions:
Manuals and reference books:
Data from registers:
Wait the end of the search in all databases.
Upon completion, a link will appear to access the found materials.

Taking of the smalah from Abd-El-Kader to Taguin. May 16, 1843.

© Photo RMN-Grand Palais - G. Blot / H. Lewandowski

Publication date: May 2005

Historical context

Emir Abd el-Kader had been the soul of the resistance to the French colonization of Algeria, the conquest of which had been undertaken in 1830. However, this victory sounded the death knell for Algerian independence, despite some local resistance. .

Image Analysis

This painting, one of the largest ever made, is an airy composition in which Vernet managed to avoid the frieze and which he knew how to punctuate. By a succession of triangles, the two most important of which are on the left around the Duke of Aumale and on the right around the palanquins, the only elements to stand out against the sky - this sky whose blue was spread with sabers -, Vernet is managed to show the French attack, the Algerian resistance and the flight of the Muslims. These triangles are also punctuated by breakthroughs in the direction of the viewer who anticipate the panoramas, direct ancestors of cinema. If in the background we see the attack of Yousouf's spahis, it is the foreground, behind the duke sitting on his white horse and giving his orders, which nevertheless focuses the gaze. This is where the artist brought together the French protagonists and anecdotes intended to bring the painting to life, such as the Jew who fled with his possessions. Among the characters, who form a gallery of portraits, are the second lieutenant of Canclaux whose charge allows to free the soldiers of second lieutenant Delage, at the center of the composition, surrounded by Muslims, and whose horse is killed, Lieutenant-Colonel Morris of the 4th Chasers, Captain d'Epinay on the far left, and Captain Dupin, later famous for his expeditious action in Mexico. It will be noted that the axis of the Duke of Aumale allows to slide towards a marabout named Sid-el-Aradj who had consecrated Abd el-Kader, a blind character reading the Koran, and whose presence makes it possible to show the religious side of the scene. Topographically, the work is very accurate, with the small stream in the center of the valley, the location of the ruined Turkish fort and the arid mountains in the background. The same goes for the location of the Emir's white tents and the positions of the troops, except probably for the location of the figures which had to be shown in close-up.
From a stylistic point of view, the artist multiplied the sources of inspiration while asserting his own way, particularly in the representation of horses of which he was a specialist like his father and master Carle Vernet. Taking up the orientalizing fashion initiated with Napoleonic paintings (Girodet), he applied himself to painting figures of Muslims, some of whom had exact costumes, but in cases such as women climbing on palanquins, he was visibly inspired by the Death of Sardanapalus (Louvre) by Delacroix. It is also from this painter that he draws inspiration from his Arabs fighting on horseback as in wild fantasies. As for the animals, it seems that it was from Rosa Bonheur that Vernet borrowed the oxen from the center of his composition. But he probably copied his gazelles and camels, like Barye or Cain, at the Jardin des Plantes. More interesting is the woman who implores the Duke of Aumale at the foot of his horse. Directly inspired by the Russian soldier at the foot of the Emperor's horse in the Napoleon on the battlefield of Eylau de Gros (Louvre), it reveals the reference to which Vernet was attached to compose his work. But if in Gros the sacredness of Napoleon is accentuated by this anecdote, nothing remains in Vernet. His Duke of Aumale is no more than a general giving his orders and he barely stands out from all the figures. This painting seems to fall within Gros's conception of the battle scene, but the military and topographical vision rather takes up the formula of Lejeune and Bacler’Albe. Vernet wanted in this immense canvas to synthesize the two conceptions of battle painting, while announcing panorama painting.

Interpretation

In addition to questions related to battle painting in the XIXe century, this painting shows in a disproportionate way a relatively secondary episode of the conquest of Algeria, since Abd el-Kader did not surrender until 1847. The size of this painting in fact reveals a desire for propaganda by Louis-Philippe at a time when his power was being challenged. By magnifying the courage of his son the Duke of Aumale, he was trying to show how much he and his sons had worked for the greatness of France. However, the painting cannot be conceived independently of the other paintings in the room known as the Smalah, in Versailles, for which it was designed, and without those in the neighboring room, known as Constantine. In front of The Taking of the Smalah, Vernet painted The Battle of Isly, a victory won by Marshal Bugeaud in 1844 and certainly more striking, but which did not occupy an entire wall. In the Constantine room, Louis-Philippe also applied himself to showing the feats of arms of his sons, The Duke of Nemours repelling a Kabyle attack in Coudiat-Aty, The Capture of the Mouzaïa Pass by the Duke of Orleans, Battle of the forest of Habrah led by the Duke of Orleans against Abd el-Kader, three paintings by Vernet who became the cantor of the royal family. In summary, these rooms give the impression that the conquest of Algeria was carried out by the sons of the king of the French, while it was a long-term work that lasted until the Second Empire. If there is a sort of mystification here, it must be recognized that these works are very little known to the general public, proof that the goal sought by Louis-Philippe has not been achieved.

  • Algeria
  • army
  • battles
  • colonial conquest
  • Orientalism
  • overseas
  • Louis Philippe

Bibliography

Claire CONSTANSCatalog of paintings from VersaillesParis, RMN, t.II, 1995 Jean MEYER, Annie REY-GOLDZEIGUER, Jean TARRADE Colonial history of France, t.1, The conquest Paris, Armand Colin, coll. "Agora Pocket", 1991.

To cite this article

Jérémie BENOÎT, "Taking of the smalah of Abd-el-Kader"


Video: Prise de la Smala dAbd-el-Kader par le duc dAumale


Comments:

  1. Ovadiah

    Nothing serious, I think.

  2. Fejin

    Incredible. It seems impossible.

  3. Remo

    Thank you, the post is truly sensible and to the point, there is something to learn.

  4. Goltizahn

    I think you are wrong. I'm sure. Let's discuss this.



Write a message

Einnahme der Smalah von Abd-el-Kader

Einnahme der Smalah von Abd-el-Kader

Einnahme der Smalah von Abd-El-Kader nach Taguin. 16. Mai 1843.

© Foto RMN-Grand Palais - G. Blot / H. Lewandowski

Erscheinungsdatum: Mai 2005

Historischer Zusammenhang

Emir Abd el-Kader war die Seele des Widerstands gegen die französische Kolonialisierung Algeriens gewesen, deren Eroberung 1830 stattgefunden hatte. Dieser Sieg war jedoch trotz einiger lokaler Widerstände der Todesstoß für die Unabhängigkeit Algeriens. .

Bildanalyse

Dieses Gemälde, eines der größten, das jemals gemalt wurde, ist eine luftige Komposition, in der Vernet den Fries vermeiden konnte und die er zu interpunktieren wusste. Durch eine Reihe von Dreiecken, von denen sich die beiden wichtigsten links um den Herzog von Aumale und rechts um die Sänften befinden, die einzigen Elemente, die sich vom Himmel abheben - dieser Himmel, dessen Blau mit Säbeln übersät war -, ist Vernet gelang es, den französischen Angriff, den algerischen Widerstand und die Flucht der Muslime zu zeigen. Diese Dreiecke werden auch durch Durchbrüche in Richtung des Betrachters unterbrochen, der die Panoramen vorwegnimmt, direkte Vorfahren des Kinos. Wenn wir im Hintergrund den Angriff von Yousoufs Spahis sehen, ist es der Vordergrund hinter dem Herzog, der auf seinem weißen Pferd sitzt und seine Befehle erteilt, der dennoch den Blick fokussiert. Hier brachte der Künstler die französischen Protagonisten und Anekdoten zusammen, die das Gemälde zum Leben erwecken sollten, wie den Juden, der mit seinem Besitz geflohen war. Unter den Figuren, die eine Galerie von Porträts bilden, befindet sich der zweite Leutnant von Canclaux, dessen Anklage es ermöglicht, die Soldaten des zweiten Leutnants Delage im Zentrum der Komposition zu befreien, umgeben von Muslimen, und dessen Pferd getötet wird. Oberstleutnant Morris von den 4. Verfolgern, Captain d'Epinay ganz links und Captain Dupin, später berühmt für seine schnelle Aktion in Mexiko. Es wird angemerkt, dass die Achse des Herzogs von Aumale es erlaubt, in Richtung eines Marabouts namens Sid-el-Aradj zu gleiten, der Abd el-Kader, einen blinden Charakter, der den Koran liest, geweiht hatte und dessen Anwesenheit es ermöglicht, die religiöse Seite von zu zeigen die Szene. Topographisch ist die Arbeit sehr genau, mit dem kleinen Bach in der Mitte des Tals, der Lage der zerstörten türkischen Festung und den trockenen Bergen im Hintergrund. Gleiches gilt für den Standort der weißen Zelte des Emir und die Positionen der Truppen, außer wahrscheinlich für den Standort der Figuren, die in Nahaufnahme gezeigt werden mussten.
Aus stilistischer Sicht vervielfachte der Künstler die Inspirationsquellen und behauptete seinen eigenen Weg, insbesondere bei der Darstellung von Pferden, auf die er wie sein Vater und Meister Carle Vernet spezialisiert war. Er nahm die orientalistische Mode auf, die mit den napoleonischen Gemälden (Girodet) initiiert wurde, und widmete sich dem Malen von Figuren von Muslimen, von denen einige exakte Kostüme hatten, aber in Fällen wie Frauen, die auf Sänften kletterten, ließ er sich sichtlich von den Tod von Sardanapalus (Louvre) von Delacroix. Von diesem Maler lässt er sich auch von seinen Arabern inspirieren, die wie in wilden Fantasien zu Pferd kämpfen. Was die Tiere betrifft, so scheint es, dass Vernet die Ochsen von Rosa Bonheur aus dem Zentrum seiner Komposition entlehnt hat. Aber wahrscheinlich hat er seine Gazellen und Kamele wie Barye oder Kain im Jardin des Plantes kopiert. Interessanter ist die Frau, die den Herzog von Aumale am Fuße seines Pferdes anfleht. Direkt inspiriert vom russischen Soldaten am Fuße des Kaiserpferdes in der Napoleon auf dem Schlachtfeld von Eylau de Gros (Louvre) enthüllt den Hinweis, an den Vernet gebunden war, um sein Werk zu komponieren. Aber wenn in Gros die Heiligkeit Napoleons durch diese Anekdote betont wird, bleibt in Vernet nichts übrig. Sein Herzog von Aumale ist nicht mehr als ein General, der seine Befehle erteilt, und er hebt sich kaum von allen Figuren ab. Dieses Gemälde scheint in Gros 'Konzeption der Kampfszene zu fallen, aber die militärische und topografische Vision greift eher die Formel von Lejeune und Bacler'Albe auf. Vernet wollte in dieser riesigen Leinwand die beiden Konzepte der Schlachtmalerei zusammenfassen und gleichzeitig die Panorama-Malerei ankündigen.

Interpretation

Neben Fragen zur Schlachtmalerei im XIXe Jahrhundert zeigt dieses Gemälde in unverhältnismäßiger Weise eine relativ sekundäre Episode der Eroberung Algeriens, da Abd el-Kader sich erst 1847 ergab. Die Größe dieses Gemäldes zeigt tatsächlich den Wunsch nach Propaganda von Louis-Philippe zu einer Zeit, als seine Macht herausgefordert wurde. Indem er den Mut seines Sohnes, des Herzogs von Aumale, vergrößerte, versuchte er zu zeigen, wie sehr er und seine Söhne für die Größe Frankreichs gearbeitet hatten. Das Gemälde kann jedoch nicht unabhängig von den anderen Gemälden in dem als Smalah bekannten Raum in Versailles, für den es entworfen wurde, und ohne die im benachbarten Raum, der als Konstantin bekannt ist, konzipiert werden. Vor Die Einnahme der SmalahVernet malte Die Schlacht von Isly, ein Sieg, den Marschall Bugeaud 1844 errungen hatte und der sicherlich auffälliger war, der aber nicht eine ganze Mauer einnahm. Im Raum der Konstantin widmete sich Louis-Philippe auch der Darstellung der Waffenleistungen seiner Söhne. Der Herzog von Nemours wehrt einen Kabyle-Angriff in Coudiat-Aty ab, Die Eroberung des Mouzaïa-Passes durch den Herzog von Orleans, Schlacht im Wald von Habrah, angeführt vom Herzog von Orleans gegen Abd el-Kader, drei Gemälde von Vernet, der Kantor der königlichen Familie wurde. Zusammenfassend erwecken diese Räume den Eindruck, dass die Eroberung Algeriens von den Söhnen des Königs der Franzosen durchgeführt wurde, während es sich um eine langfristige Arbeit handelte, die bis zum Zweiten Reich dauerte. Wenn es hier eine Art Mystifizierung gibt, muss anerkannt werden, dass diese Werke der Öffentlichkeit nur sehr wenig bekannt sind, ein Beweis dafür, dass das von Louis-Philippe angestrebte Ziel nicht erreicht wurde.

  • Algerien
  • Heer
  • Kämpfe
  • koloniale Eroberung
  • Orientalismus
  • Übersee-
  • Louis Philippe

Literaturverzeichnis

Claire CONSTANSKatalog von Gemälden aus VersaillesParis, RMN, t.II, 1995 Jean MEYER, Annie REY-GOLDZEIGUER, Jean TARRADE Kolonialgeschichte Frankreichs, t.1, Die Eroberung Paris, Armand Colin, umg. "Agora Pocket", 1991.

Um diesen Artikel zu zitieren

Jérémie BENOÎT, "Die Smalah von Abd-el-Kader nehmen"


Video: Jiya Re - Jab Tak Hai Jaan Cover by Alaa Wardi