The Prince of Condé

The Prince of Condé


We are searching data for your request:

Forums and discussions:
Manuals and reference books:
Data from registers:
Wait the end of the search in all databases.
Upon completion, a link will appear to access the found materials.

To close

Title: Portrait of Louis II of Bourbon known as Le Grand Condé (1621-1686)

Author : D'EGMONT, Justus Van Egmont Juste (1601 - 1674)

Date shown:

Dimensions: Height 146 - Width 110

Technique and other indications: Oil on canvas

Storage place: Condé museum (Chantilly) website

Contact copyright: Photo RMN-Grand Palais (Domaine de Chantilly) / René-Gabriel Ojéda

Picture reference: 02-000221 / PE131

Portrait of Louis II de Bourbon known as Le Grand Condé (1621-1686)

© Photo RMN-Grand Palais (Domaine de Chantilly) / René-Gabriel Ojéda

Publication date: May 2014

Academy Inspector Deputy Academic Director

Historical context

The prince and the painter

On May 19, 1643, the young Louis II of Bourbon, Duke of Enghien, eldest son of the Prince of Condé and cousin of the King of France, won a decisive victory against the Spaniards at Rocroi, in the north of France. His participation in the Princes' Fronde from 1650 to 1652 forced him into exile in the Netherlands, where he served Spain against France. It was there that he undoubtedly reconnected with Juste d´Egmont (1601-1674), a Flemish painter whom he had already met in Paris during the 1640s.

Indeed, Juste d´Egmont - Joost Verus Van Egmont - had lived in Paris as early as 1628, after having been a pupil of Rubens. An appreciated painter, it was especially as a portrait painter of the royal family and the great of the kingdom that he was successful.

It is not known at what precise moment he painted the portrait of the Grand Condé. The facial features of Louis II of Bourbon are those of maturity, and not those of the impetuous youth that the Duke had at Rocroi. Conde, for his part, returned to France at the end of 1659, thanks to the Franco-Spanish Treaty of the Pyrenees. We can therefore think that this portrait was painted in 1657 or 1658, if we compare it to a mention made in the prince's correspondence.

The blue scarf worn by the prince does not refer to the order of the Holy Spirit, which he did not accede until 1661, after his return to grace. A copy of our portrait dated 1665 shows him with the blue scarf AND the cord of the order of the Holy Spirit.

Image Analysis

A court portrait against a background of battle

The canvas is made up of two clearly separated planes. In the foreground, the Duke of Enghien, whose aquiline profile is clearly identifiable, casually poses leaning on a pedestal on which his helmet rests and stares at the viewer. Armed with a sword, he wears rich, articulated and immaculate armor - the use of which gradually disappeared in the 17th century.e century - and wields a staff of command in the direction of the backstage, expressing her dominance over the events it represents. His curly wig and blue sling worn over the shoulder make him a ceremonial military leader who looks determined but calm. Its location in what appears to be the entrance to a natural cavity contrasts with a portrait inscribed in the codes of court portraits and reinforces the feeling of detachment from the background.

Bottom left, a cavalry fight opposes the French charging valiantly against the Spaniards forced to flee in a cloud of smoke. The relegation of combat to the background and lower part of the painting emphasizes in contrast the grandeur and mastery of the Duke, whose outstretched, extended arm of the staff of command overlooks the entire war scene. This mastery and certainty make it possible to refrain from any explicit sign of victory. The canvas itself celebrates a victorious and glorious general whose merits can remain implicit without fear of being misunderstood.

The painting is therefore a demonstration, that of the prince's greatness by the painter, and that of the victorious battle by the prince himself. Juste d'Egmont also used the argument of the battle of Rocroi to paint other portraits of the Grand Condé, in particular a canvas with an identical overall composition but where the prince appears in a fanciful Roman costume (tunic golden, large red enveloping cape, bare arms) and where the battle scene takes place at the foot of the Rocroi fortress. He also represented Conde in general ancient in 1645, playing on the literary amalgamation with Alexander the Great, as the painter Jean Tassel would do to celebrate the capture of Dunkirk the following year. This choice has not been repeated here, since the representation makes no reference to Antiquity and, on the contrary, seeks an anchoring in the contemporary. The absence of a precise reference to a battle - even if it is highly probable that it is indeed the founding victory of Rocroi, as the copy of 1665 recalls - also makes it possible to make the military successes of the Prince of Condé.

Interpretation

An apology for the Grand Condé

Juste d´Egmont does not seek to represent the war, reduced here to the victorious general and the charge of cavalry - whose role in the Battle of Rocroi was indeed decisive. On the other hand, he inscribes his work in the tradition of Condean apology. It was the prince who commissioned several portraits of himself, from David Teniers and especially Egmont during the 1650s, and others from the 1660s, and who had copies made. Art was to praise the prince and erase the setbacks of the 1650s, during which Condé turned his military talent against France. From his return at the end of 1659 to his death in 1686, the prince fought again in the service of the king while devoting himself more and more exclusively to his domain of Chantilly, where he maintained a brilliant court.

The Condean successes are all the more laudable in the eyes of a good number of contemporaries as they made it possible to save the kingdom on several occasions from invasion or defeat - in Rocroi in 1643 or in Lens in 1648 during the War of Trent. Years, in Paris in 1649 during the Fronde, without counting the victorious campaigns of the years 1660 and 1670. Many artists also contributed to the condean apology, until Bossuet who evokes "this other Alexander" painted as a magnificent and magnanimous hero in his Funeral oration of the Prince of Condé. However, Juste d´Egmont chooses here voluntarily to abandon the ancient reference to Alexander, the Grand Condé being sufficient in himself as a model of military perfection. A few years later, Louis XIV will operate the same transformation at Versailles, from the ancient reference system to the self-referential.

Highlighting a success that is difficult to compare, the portrait of the Grand Condé by Juste d´Egmont is itself a great success. It is disseminated through engravings, copies, and even objects - the Condé de Chantilly museum, for example, keeps a box whose lid is decorated with a miniature copy of this portrait.

  • allegory
  • absolute monarchy
  • army
  • regency
  • Sling
  • Great Century
  • Grand Condé

Bibliography

Katia BÉGUIN, The Princes of Condé. Rebels, courtiers and patrons in Grand Siècle France, Champ Vallon, Seyssel, 1999.

Simone BERTIÈRE, Condé, the misguided hero, Paris, Editions de Fallois, 2011.

To cite this article

Jean HUBAC, "The Prince of Condé"


Video: Au cœur de lhistoire: Condé, un héros oublié Franck Ferrand


Comments:

  1. Grosar

    Blog in reader unambiguously

  2. Grogul

    I think you are not right. I'm sure. I invite you to discuss.

  3. Medwine

    Sorry, but this doesn't quite work for me.

  4. Vigar

    You are not right. Enter we'll discuss it. Write to me in PM, we will handle it.



Write a message

Der Prinz von Condé

Der Prinz von Condé

Schließen

Titel: Porträt von Ludwig II. Von Bourbon, bekannt als Le Grand Condé (1621-1686)

Autor: D'EGMONT, Justus Van Egmont Juste (1601 - 1674)

Datum angezeigt:

Maße: Höhe 146 - Breite 110

Technik und andere Indikationen: Öl auf Leinwand

Speicherort: Website des Condé-Museums (Chantilly)

Kontakt Copyright: Foto RMN-Grand Palais (Domaine de Chantilly) / René-Gabriel Ojéda

Bildreferenz: 02-000221 / PE131

Porträt von Louis II de Bourbon, bekannt als Le Grand Condé (1621-1686)

© Foto RMN-Grand Palais (Domaine de Chantilly) / René-Gabriel Ojéda

Erscheinungsdatum: Mai 2014

Akademischer Inspektor Stellvertretender akademischer Direktor

Historischer Zusammenhang

Der Prinz und der Maler

Am 19. Mai 1643 errang der junge Ludwig II. Von Bourbon, Herzog von Enghien, ältester Sohn des Prinzen von Condé und Cousin des Königs von Frankreich, in Rocroi im Norden Frankreichs einen entscheidenden Sieg gegen die Spanier. Seine Teilnahme an der Prinzenfronde von 1650 bis 1652 zwang ihn ins niederländische Exil, wo er Spanien gegen Frankreich diente. Dort verband er sich zweifellos wieder mit Juste d´Egmont (1601-1674), einem flämischen Maler, den er bereits in den 1640er Jahren in Paris kennengelernt hatte.

Tatsächlich hatte Juste d´Egmont - Joost Verus Van Egmont - bereits 1628 in Paris gelebt, nachdem er Schüler von Rubens gewesen war. Als geschätzter Maler war er besonders als Porträtmaler der königlichen Familie und des Großen des Königreichs erfolgreich.

Es ist nicht bekannt, zu welchem ​​Zeitpunkt er das Porträt des Grand Condé gemalt hat. Die Gesichtszüge Ludwigs II. Von Bourbon sind die der Reife und nicht die der ungestümen Jugend, die der Herzog in Rocroi hatte. Conde seinerseits kehrte Ende 1659 dank des französisch-spanischen Pyrenäenvertrags nach Frankreich zurück. Wir können daher denken, dass dieses Porträt 1657 oder 1658 gemalt wurde, wenn wir es mit einer Erwähnung vergleichen, die in der Korrespondenz des Prinzen gemacht wurde.

Der vom Prinzen getragene blaue Schal bezieht sich nicht auf die Ordnung des Heiligen Geistes, der er erst 1661 nach seiner Rückkehr zur Gnade beigetreten ist. Eine Kopie unseres Porträts von 1665 zeigt ihn mit dem blauen Schal UND der Schnur der Ordnung des Heiligen Geistes.

Bildanalyse

Ein Hofporträt vor dem Hintergrund der Schlacht

Die Leinwand besteht aus zwei klar getrennten Ebenen. Im Vordergrund posiert der Herzog von Enghien, dessen Adlerprofil eindeutig erkennbar ist, beiläufig auf einem Sockel, auf dem sein Helm ruht, und starrt den Betrachter an. Mit einem Schwert bewaffnet trägt er eine reichhaltige, artikulierte und makellose Rüstung, deren Verwendung im 17. Jahrhundert allmählich verschwand.e Jahrhundert - und verfügt über einen Stab in Richtung Backstage, der ihre Dominanz über die Ereignisse zum Ausdruck bringt, die er darstellt. Seine lockige Perücke und die blaue Schlinge über der Schulter machen ihn zu einem zeremoniellen Militärführer, der entschlossen, aber ruhig aussieht. Seine Lage in dem scheinbar Eingang zu einer natürlichen Höhle steht im Gegensatz zu einem Porträt, das in den Codes der Gerichtsporträts verankert ist, und verstärkt das Gefühl der Ablösung vom Hintergrund.

Unten links widersetzt sich ein Kavalleriekampf den Franzosen, die tapfer gegen die Spanier vorgehen, die gezwungen sind, in einer Rauchwolke zu fliehen. Der Abstieg des Kampfes in den Hintergrund und in den unteren Teil des Gemäldes unterstreicht im Gegensatz dazu die Größe und Meisterschaft des Herzogs, dessen ausgestreckter, ausgestreckter Arm des Kommandostabes den gesamten Kriegsschauplatz überblickt. Diese Meisterschaft und Gewissheit ermöglichen es, auf jedes explizite Zeichen des Sieges zu verzichten. Die Leinwand selbst feiert einen siegreichen und glorreichen General, dessen Verdienste implizit bleiben können, ohne befürchten zu müssen, missverstanden zu werden.

Das Gemälde ist daher eine Demonstration der Größe des Prinzen durch den Maler und der siegreichen Schlacht des Prinzen selbst. Juste d'Egmont verwendete das Argument der Schlacht von Rocroi auch, um andere Porträts des Grand Condé zu malen, insbesondere eine Leinwand mit identischer Gesamtkomposition, auf der der Prinz jedoch in einer phantasievollen römischen Tracht (Tunika) erscheint goldener, großer roter Umhang, nackte Arme) und wo die Kampfszene am Fuße der Festung Rocroi stattfindet. Er vertrat auch Conde im Allgemeinen im Altertum von 1645 und spielte an der literarischen Verschmelzung mit Alexander dem Großen, wie es der Maler Jean Tassel tun würde, um die Eroberung von Dünkirchen im folgenden Jahr zu feiern. Diese Wahl wurde hier nicht wiederholt, da die Darstellung keinen Bezug zur Antike hat und im Gegenteil eine Verankerung in der Gegenwart sucht. Das Fehlen eines genauen Hinweises auf eine Schlacht - auch wenn es sehr wahrscheinlich ist, dass es sich tatsächlich um den Gründungssieg von Rocroi handelt, wie die Kopie von 1665 erinnert - ermöglicht es auch, die militärischen Erfolge des Prinzen von zu erzielen Condé.

Interpretation

Eine Entschuldigung für den Grand Condé

Juste d´Egmont versucht nicht, den Krieg darzustellen, der hier auf den siegreichen General und die Anklage der Kavallerie reduziert wurde - deren Rolle in der Schlacht von Rocroi tatsächlich entscheidend war. Andererseits schreibt er seine Arbeit in die Tradition der kondeanischen Entschuldigung ein. Es war der Prinz, der mehrere Porträts von sich selbst in Auftrag gab, von David Teniers und insbesondere Egmont in den 1650er Jahren und anderen aus den 1660er Jahren, und der Kopien anfertigen ließ. Kunst sollte den Prinzen loben und die Rückschläge der 1650er Jahre beseitigen, in denen Condé sein militärisches Talent gegen Frankreich wandte. Von seiner Rückkehr Ende 1659 bis zu seinem Tod 1686 kämpfte der Prinz erneut im Dienste des Königs, während er sich immer mehr ausschließlich seiner Domäne von Chantilly widmete, wo er einen hervorragenden Hof unterhielt.

Die Erfolge der Condeaner sind in den Augen vieler Zeitgenossen umso lobenswerter, als sie es ermöglichten, das Königreich mehrmals vor Invasion oder Niederlage zu retten - 1643 in Rocroi oder 1648 in Lens während des Krieges von Trient. Jahre, 1649 in Paris während der Fronde, ohne die siegreichen Feldzüge der Jahre 1660 und 1670 zu zählen. Viele Künstler trugen auch zur Entschuldigung bei, bis Bossuet, der "diesen anderen Alexander" hervorruft, als großartiger und großmütiger Held malte in seinem Begräbnisrede des Prinzen von Condé. Juste d´Egmont entscheidet sich hier jedoch freiwillig dafür, den alten Hinweis auf Alexander aufzugeben, wobei der Grand Condé als Modell militärischer Perfektion in sich ausreicht. Einige Jahre später wird Ludwig XIV. In Versailles dieselbe Transformation durchführen, vom alten Bezugssystem zum Selbstreferenzsystem.

Das Porträt des Grand Condé von Juste d´Egmont ist selbst ein großer Erfolg. Es wird durch Gravuren, Kopien und sogar Gegenstände verbreitet - das Museum Condé de Chantilly bewahrt beispielsweise eine Schachtel auf, deren Deckel mit einer Miniaturkopie dieses Porträts verziert ist.

  • Allegorie
  • absolute Monarchie
  • Heer
  • Regentschaft
  • Schlinge
  • Großes Jahrhundert
  • Grand Condé

Literaturverzeichnis

Katia BÉGUIN, Die Fürsten von Condé. Rebellen, Höflinge und Gönner in Grand Siècle FrankreichChamp Vallon, Seyssel, 1999.

Simone BERTIÈRE, Condé, der fehlgeleitete Held, Paris, Editions de Fallois, 2011.

Um diesen Artikel zu zitieren

Jean HUBAC, "Der Prinz von Condé"


Video: Gruppendate-Quiz: Kann niemand Nicolas einschätzen? Prince Charming - Folge 03