English Pre-Raphaelite: In Search of the Absolute

English Pre-Raphaelite: In Search of the Absolute

  • Joan of Arc kissing the sword of deliverance.

    ROSSETTI Dante Gabriel (1828 - 1882)

  • The Wheel of Fortune.

    BURNE-JONES Edward Coley (1833 - 1898)

Joan of Arc kissing the sword of deliverance.

© Photo RMN-Grand Palais - M. Bellot

To close

Title: The Wheel of Fortune.

Author : BURNE-JONES Edward Coley (1833 - 1898)

Date shown:

Dimensions: Height 200 - Width 100

Technique and other indications: Oil on canvas

Storage location: Orsay Museum website

Contact copyright: © Photo RMN-Grand Palais - G. Blot website

Picture reference: 94-018353 / RF1980-3

© Photo RMN-Grand Palais - G. Blot

Publication date: January 2006

Historical context

Fervent beauty

1848: the “spring of the peoples”. In London, young artists, dissatisfied with academic education, aspire to more authenticity in painting: they deplore the virtuosity and the lack of simplicity of the art of Raphael (1483-1520) and especially of his followers - inspirers of academic principles - defects which, according to them, hinder the true expression of a sincere religious feeling. Enthusiastic on the other hand by the art of the Italian and Flemish primitives, whose simplicity, naive realism and fervor they appreciated, these young people, seven in number, gathered in September 1848 under the name of Pre-Raphaelite Brotherhood (“Pre-Raphaelite brotherhood”), in homage to the period prior to Raphael. Three are painters: Dante Gabriel Rossetti (the leader), William Holman Hunt and John Everett Millais. Only the charismatic Rossetti and with him his disciples maintain, in the heart of the industrial and disenchanted century of Queen Victoria, an intact faith in the intimate charge and the highly symbolic value of the work of art, not without transforming Pre-Raphaelism into a languid and refined art.

Image Analysis

Icons: faith and symbols

Rossetti's choice in 1863 to pay homage to Joan of Arc is not innocent. This heroine of the Hundred Years War embodies absolute devotion to the dolphin Charles and zeal for faith. Dressed in armor, the young warrior kisses the sword known as "Charles Martel" which is said to have been miraculously discovered under the altar of the chapel of Sainte-Catherine-de-Fierbois. Kneeling at the foot of a crucifix, she implores God for strength to drive the English out of France. The spectator, captivated by the painter's warm palette (garnets, browns, golds), is invited to decipher the work by a tight framing which shows the voluntary expression of Jeanne (expression redoubled by the masculine features: prominent chin and neck) and above all accentuates the iconic character of the work: celebration of the faith (via a few limpid symbols like the lily of purity) and of the eternal feminine (lush hair and flamboyant coat). For his part, Edward Burne-Jones - a disciple of Rossetti - evokes the equality of men before fate. Chained to a wheel, a symbol of vicissitudes and change, the slave, the king and the poet are the powerless toys of a giant and indifferent goddess: Fortune. Evocative of the primitives by its perspective supported and covered with scholarly references (the nudes refer to Captives by Michelangelo), the work was to take place in a vast polyptych inspired by the Renaissance and devoted to the history of Troy.

Interpretation

The rebels of the marvelous

Rossetti, focusing on the sensual and searing kiss of a woman in love with the absolute, and Burne-Jones, reactivating the traditional iconography of Fortune, seem to turn their backs on their time. Despite their nostalgic atmosphere, their works carry within them a leaven of revolt against the progress of capitalist and materialist society, progress to which industrial ugliness and misery contradict every day. Although they eliminate any anecdote and any direct reference to the present and they bathe in a backward-looking climate (medieval for the first, ancient for the second) and legend, these paintings also invite reflection on the high moral value of sincerity for one, on the vanity of progress in the face of human tragedies for the other. Reinvested in meaning, the Pre-Raphaelite paintings express "the very noble joy of adding to the pure sensualities of the gaze the emotion of a higher thought" (E. Chesneau, 1882). From the 1880s, they naturally found echoes in the nascent Symbolist movement, enamored of ideal and transcendence. The painter Kandinsky even saw the Pre-Raphaelites as precursors of abstraction: "These are the seekers of the interior, of the exterior" (W. Kandinsky, 1912).

  • Jeanne D'Arc
  • Middle Ages
  • Pre-Raphaelite
  • UK

Bibliography

Ernest CHESNEAU, Contemporary English artists, Paris-London, Rouam-Remington, 1882.Wassily KANDINSKY, Spiritual in art, and in painting in particular, Paris, original 1912 edition, reprint Gallimard, coll. "Folio essays", 1989. Roger MARX, Social Art, Paris, 1913.The Pre-Raphaelites, Tate Gallery exhibition catalog, London, Tate Gallery Publications, 1984.William morris, exhibition catalog of the Victoria and Albert Museum, London, Philip Wilson Publishers, 1996.Artistic Brotherhoods in the Nineteenth Century, Aldershot, Ashgate, 2000.Edward Burne-Jones (1833-1898), an English master of the imagination, catalog of the Orsay museum exhibition, March 1-June 6, 1999, Paris, RMN, 1999.

To cite this article

Philippe SAUNIER, "English Pre-Raphaelite: in search of the absolute"


Video: Pre Raphaelite Brotherhood. Summary. Literary Movements

Englisch Präraffaelit: Auf der Suche nach dem Absoluten

Englisch Präraffaelit: Auf der Suche nach dem Absoluten

  • Jeanne d'Arc küsste das Schwert der Befreiung.

    ROSSETTI Dante Gabriel (1828 - 1882)

  • Das Glücksrad.

    BURNE-JONES Edward Coley (1833 - 1898)

Jeanne d'Arc küsste das Schwert der Befreiung.

© Foto RMN-Grand Palais - M. Bellot

Schließen

Titel: Das Glücksrad.

Autor: BURNE-JONES Edward Coley (1833 - 1898)

Datum angezeigt:

Maße: Höhe 200 - Breite 100

Technik und andere Indikationen: Öl auf Leinwand

Speicherort: Orsay Museum Website

Kontakt Copyright: © Foto RMN-Grand Palais - Website von G. Blot

Bildreferenz: 94-018353 / RF1980-3

© Foto RMN-Grand Palais - G. Blot

Erscheinungsdatum: Januar 2006

Historischer Zusammenhang

Inbrünstige Schönheit

1848: der "Frühling der Völker". In London streben junge Künstler, die mit der akademischen Ausbildung unzufrieden sind, nach mehr Authentizität in der Malerei: Sie bedauern die Virtuosität und den Mangel an Einfachheit der Kunst Raphaels (1483-1520) und insbesondere seiner Anhänger - Inspiratoren akademischer Prinzipien - Mängel, die ihrer Meinung nach den wahren Ausdruck eines aufrichtigen religiösen Gefühls behindern. Begeistert von der Kunst der italienischen und flämischen Primitiven, deren Einfachheit, naiven Realismus und Eifer sie schätzten, versammelten sich diese sieben jungen Leute im September 1848 unter dem Namen Präraffaelitische Bruderschaft ("Präraffaelitische Bruderschaft"), als Hommage an die Zeit vor Raphael. Drei sind Maler: Dante Gabriel Rossetti (der Anführer), William Holman Hunt und John Everett Millais. Nur der charismatische Rossetti und mit ihm seine Schüler pflegen im Herzen des industriellen und enttäuschten Jahrhunderts der Königin Victoria einen intakten Glauben an die intime Ladung und den symbolträchtigen Wert des Kunstwerks, nicht ohne den Präraffaelismus in einen zu verwandeln träge und raffinierte Kunst.

Bildanalyse

Ikonen: Glaube und Symbole

Rossettis Entscheidung im Jahr 1863, Jeanne d'Arc zu huldigen, ist nicht unschuldig. Diese Heldin des Hundertjährigen Krieges verkörpert absolute Hingabe an den Delphin Charles und Eifer für den Glauben. In Rüstung geküsst küsst der junge Krieger das Schwert "Charles Martel", das auf wundersame Weise unter dem Altar der Kapelle von Sainte-Catherine-de-Fierbois entdeckt worden sein soll. Sie kniet am Fuße eines Kruzifixes und fleht Gott um Kraft an, um die Engländer aus Frankreich zu vertreiben. Der Zuschauer, der von der warmen Farbpalette des Malers (Granate, Braun, Gold) fasziniert ist, wird aufgefordert, das Werk durch einen engen Rahmen zu entziffern, der den freiwilligen Ausdruck von Jeanne zeigt (Ausdruck verdoppelt durch die männlichen Merkmale: hervorstehendes Kinn und Hals). und betont vor allem den ikonischen Charakter des Werkes: Feier des Glaubens (über einige klare Symbole wie die Lilie der Reinheit) und des ewigen Weiblichen (üppiges Haar und extravagantes Fell). Edward Burne-Jones seinerseits - ein Schüler von Rossetti - erinnert an die Gleichheit der Menschen vor dem Schicksal. An ein Rad gekettet, ein Symbol für Wechselfälle und Veränderungen, sind der Sklave, der König und der Dichter die machtlosen Spielzeuge einer riesigen und gleichgültigen Göttin: Fortune. Evokation der Primitiven durch seine Perspektive unterstützt und mit wissenschaftlichen Referenzen abgedeckt (die Akte beziehen sich auf Gefangene von Michelangelo) sollte die Arbeit in einem riesigen Polyptychon stattfinden, das von der Renaissance inspiriert und der Geschichte Trojas gewidmet war.

Interpretation

Die Rebellen der Wunderbaren

Rossetti, der sich auf den sinnlichen und sengenden Kuss einer Frau konzentriert, die in das Absolute verliebt ist, und Burne-Jones, der die traditionelle Ikonographie des Glücks reaktiviert, scheinen ihrer Zeit den Rücken zu kehren. Trotz ihrer nostalgischen Atmosphäre tragen ihre Werke einen Aufruhr gegen den Fortschritt der kapitalistischen und materialistischen Gesellschaft in sich, dem industrielle Hässlichkeit und Elend jeden Tag widersprechen. Obwohl sie jede Anekdote und jeden direkten Bezug zur Gegenwart beseitigen und in einem rückwärtsgerichteten Klima (mittelalterlich für das erste, alt für das zweite) und einer Legende baden, laden diese Gemälde auch zum Nachdenken über den hohen moralischen Wert von ein Aufrichtigkeit für den einen, über die Eitelkeit des Fortschritts angesichts menschlicher Tragödien für den anderen. Die präraffaelitischen Gemälde, die in ihre Bedeutung reinvestiert wurden, drücken "die sehr edle Freude aus, den reinen Sinnlichkeiten des Blicks die Emotionen eines höheren Gedankens hinzuzufügen" (E. Chesneau, 1882). Ab den 1880er Jahren fanden sie natürlich Echos in der aufkommenden symbolistischen Bewegung, verliebt in Ideal und Transzendenz. Der Maler Kandinsky sah die Präraffaeliten sogar als Vorläufer der Abstraktion: "Dies sind die Sucher des Inneren, des Äußeren" (W. Kandinsky, 1912).

  • Jeanne d'Arc
  • Mittelalter
  • Präraffaeliten
  • Großbritannien

Literaturverzeichnis

Ernest CHESNEAU, Zeitgenössische englische Künstler, Paris-London, Rouam-Remington, 1882. Wassily KANDINSKY, Spirituell in der Kunst und insbesondere in der Malerei, Paris, Originalausgabe 1912, Nachdruck Gallimard, Slg. "Folio Essays", 1989. Roger MARX, Soziale Kunst, Paris, 1913.Die Präraffaeliten, Ausstellungskatalog der Tate Gallery, London, Tate Gallery Publications, 1984.William Morris, Ausstellungskatalog des Victoria and Albert Museum, London, Philip Wilson Publishers, 1996.Künstlerische Bruderschaften im neunzehnten Jahrhundert, Aldershot, Ashgate, 2000.Edward Burne-Jones (1833–1898), ein englischer Meister der Phantasie, Katalog der Orsay Museumsausstellung, 1. März - 6. Juni 1999, Paris, RMN, 1999.

Um diesen Artikel zu zitieren

Philippe SAUNIER, "Englischer Präraffaelit: auf der Suche nach dem Absoluten"


Video: Alexander Rahr: Rußland Das andere Europa