The first railways

The first railways


We are searching data for your request:

Forums and discussions:
Manuals and reference books:
Data from registers:
Wait the end of the search in all databases.
Upon completion, a link will appear to access the found materials.

  • The first railways.

    BEUZON Jean-Louis

  • Diligence and railroad or "the different ways of traveling".

    ANONYMOUS

  • Steam car and railway.

    ANONYMOUS

The first railways.

© Photo RMN-Grand Palais - D. Arnaudet

To close

Title: Stagecoach and railroad or "the different ways of traveling".

Author : ANONYMOUS (-)

Date shown:

Dimensions: Height 0 - Width 0

Storage place: National museums and domain of Compiègne website

Contact copyright: © Photo RMN-Grand Palais - D. Arnaudet

Picture reference: 96-008906 / Prints

Diligence and railroad or "the different ways of traveling".

© Photo RMN-Grand Palais - D. Arnaudet

Steam car and railway.

© Photo RMN-Grand Palais - D. Arnaudet

Publication date: September 2006

Historical context

At the beginning of the XIXe century, France is still an essentially rural country where dispatches are conveyed on horseback and where journeys are made on bumpy roads, in the discomfort of stagecoaches and mail trunks. Nevertheless, psychological reluctance and the opposition of a multitude of interests slow down railway development: the belief that speed can make travelers blind or mad is added to the hostility of valet drivers, innkeepers, and farmers who fear for their cattle, the lack of capital and the distrust of savers who would rather stick to solid state rents than to finance such an enterprise.

In France as in England, the first railway lines appear in the mining regions. 1er January 1828 the Saint-Étienne-Andrézieux line was inaugurated, created to transport coal to the nearest waterways, Loire and Rhône. Opened on August 24, 1837, the Paris-Saint-Germain-en-Laye line was the first to be primarily intended for passenger transport; it marks the beginning of the great French networks which will leave Paris.

It was from 1850 that the railways were built at an accelerated pace to constitute a rail network connected to that of neighboring countries. The State fixes the layout of the tracks and takes into account the infrastructure expenses: earthworks, works of art ..., but it concedes the operation of the lines to large private companies - Compagnie de l'Ouest, Compagnie du Nord , PLM, Compagnie de l'Est… The rail network then becomes an essential factor in regional planning.

Image Analysis

The extraordinary novelty of these early railroads naturally nourished the inspiration of painters, lithographers, illustrators and caricaturists, who often liked to draw surprising parallels between these noisy metal monsters and traditional horse-drawn transport.

Poster artist, occasional illustrator of the Post and Telegraph almanac, Jean-Louis Beuzon has associated, on this color engraving taken from the first book of French History by Gauthier-Deschamps-Aymard, a steam train and a stagecoach of the horse post. In the foreground, a stagecoach from the Compagnie des Messageries Royales is launched at full gallop on a road carved with deep ruts. It provides the Paris-Rouen link. Sixteen to twenty travelers are housed in four separate cabins: the front coupé, the interior, the rear rotunda and the covered or imperial gallery. The postilion who drives the team is clearly identifiable by his well-known uniform: short jacket of royal blue cloth with facings, rolled up and waistcoat in red cloth, patent leather hat in a truncated cone. In the background, the train is traveling on an elevated track and has just crossed a stone bridge that spans the road. Leaving a long plume of gray smoke in its wake, the steam locomotive pulls three passenger cars.

These same means of transport are also associated on the anonymous lithograph which illustrates "the different ways of traveling". A massive mountain range dominates a small village camped by a lake. In the foreground, a Messageries diligence, led by a postilion on horseback, travels on a dirt road. In the distance, we can make out a train with a steam locomotive pulling the wagons. Between the stagecoach and the railroad tracks, in a field, two peasants watch the train go by.

Produced in the late 1830s, the third lithograph contrasts two revolutionary means of transport for the time: the railway and the steam car. In the foreground, the uncovered car - more exactly a steam tricycle - seems to be engaged in a speed contest with the train. It is led by a dandy in a frock coat and top hat, leaning over the steering bar - the "cow tail" - which he holds firmly. Sitting behind him, his elegant passenger raises her hand to his hat for fear it will fly away. In its frantic race, the vehicle loses a passenger who was seated on the outside jump seat.

Interpretation

Before the communications revolution of the mid-19th centurye century, slowness, discomfort and high cost were the major drawbacks of horse-drawn traction. In 1830, the mail trunk was the fastest means of transport, from Paris to reach Lyon in 47 hours, Bordeaux in 45 hours, Toulouse in 72 hours; a letter took ten days to get from Paris to Marseilles. Familiar with prints and popular imagery, the majestic stagecoaches of the great courier companies were much slower still.

The appearance of the railroad, and therefore of speed, sounded the death knell for the horse post: the last mail trunk, which linked Toulouse to Montpellier, ceased its service on August 23, 1857; the last line of stagecoaches, between Rouen and Amiens, disappeared in 1872. However, horse-drawn vehicles and rail transport coexisted for a long time still, in fact as well as in imagery, as can be seen from these three engravings. The train surprises and scares. Witness to the construction of the Montpellier-Sète line (1837-1839), Jean-Marie-Isidore Boiffils de Massane evokes "the astonishment mixed with terror" that as a child he felt at the sight of the first locomotive, "this brutal monster , endowed with movement and incomparable strength, animated by two large eyes of flame, blowing smoke ”. The railroad raises serious concerns for the health of passengers. The scientist François Arago affirms that “the transport of soldiers in wagons would effeminate them”; he warns the population against the tunnel of Saint-Cloud, which would give "chest influxes, pleurisy and catarrh". The rail network nevertheless developed rapidly: it reached 9,178 kilometers on December 31, 1859, which represents an average of 622 kilometers of tracks built per year. The railway is now part of the French landscape that it is changing profoundly: crossing waterways and obstacles opposed by the relief require the design of structures, such as the Garabit viaduct built in 1888 by Gustave Eiffel. It will be necessary to wait for the middle of the XXe century so that the automobile could seriously compete with the train.

  • railway
  • industrial Revolution
  • campaign

Bibliography

Clive LAMMING, Les Grands Trains de 1830 à nos jours, Paris, Larousse, 1989. Clive LAMMING and Jacques MARSEILLE, Le Temps des chemin de fer en France, Paris, Nathan, 1986. François and Maguy PALAU, Le Rail en France, tome I, “The Second Empire, 1852-1857”, Paris, Palau Edition, 1998. Jean PECHEUX, The Birth of European Rail, Paris, Berger-Levrault, 1970. Pierre WEIL, Les Chemins de fer, Paris, Larousse, 1964.

To cite this article

Alain GALOIN, "The first railways"


Video: The History of Rail Travel in Under 6 Minutes


Comments:

  1. Baldrik

    Wonderful, this is a valuable phrase

  2. Drake

    In my opinion you are mistaken. I can defend the position. Write to me in PM, we will communicate.

  3. Shayten

    I think this is a very interesting topic. Let's chat with you in PM.

  4. JoJogor

    young fellow

  5. Yardly

    It is compliant, a lot of useful information



Write a message

Die ersten Eisenbahnen

Die ersten Eisenbahnen

  • Die ersten Eisenbahnen.

    BEUZON Jean-Louis

  • Postkutsche und Eisenbahn oder "die verschiedenen Arten des Reisens".

    ANONYM

  • Dampfwagen und Eisenbahn.

    ANONYM

Die ersten Eisenbahnen.

© Foto RMN-Grand Palais - D. Arnaudet

Schließen

Titel: Fleiß und Eisenbahn oder "die verschiedenen Arten des Reisens".

Autor: ANONYM (-)

Datum angezeigt:

Maße: Höhe 0 - Breite 0

Speicherort: Nationalmuseen und Domain der Compiègne-Website

Kontakt Copyright: © Foto RMN-Grand Palais - D. Arnaudet

Bildreferenz: 96-008906 / Drucke

Fleiß und Eisenbahn oder "die verschiedenen Arten des Reisens".

© Foto RMN-Grand Palais - D. Arnaudet

Dampfwagen und Eisenbahn.

© Foto RMN-Grand Palais - D. Arnaudet

Erscheinungsdatum: September 2006

Historischer Zusammenhang

Zu Beginn des XIXe Frankreich ist nach wie vor ein im Wesentlichen ländliches Land, in dem Sendungen zu Pferd befördert werden und in dem Fahrten auf holprigen Straßen in der Unannehmlichkeit von Postkutschen und Postkoffern durchgeführt werden. Dennoch verlangsamen psychologische Zurückhaltung und der Widerstand einer Vielzahl von Interessen die Entwicklung der Eisenbahn: Der Glaube, dass Geschwindigkeit Reisende blind oder verrückt machen kann, trägt zur Feindseligkeit von Dienern, Gastwirten und Bauern bei, die Angst haben für ihr Vieh der Kapitalmangel und das Misstrauen der Sparer, die lieber an Festkörpermieten festhalten als ein solches Unternehmen zu finanzieren.

In Frankreich wie in England erscheinen die ersten Eisenbahnlinien in den Bergbauregionen. 1äh Im Januar 1828 wird die Strecke Saint-Étienne-Andrézieux eingeweiht, mit der Kohle zu den nächstgelegenen Wasserstraßen Loire und Rhône transportiert werden soll. Die am 24. August 1837 eröffnete Strecke Paris-Saint-Germain-en-Laye war die erste, die hauptsächlich für den Personenverkehr bestimmt war. Es markiert den Beginn der großen französischen Netzwerke, die Paris verlassen werden.

Ab 1850 wurden die Eisenbahnen schneller gebaut, um ein Schienennetz zu bilden, das mit dem der Nachbarländer verbunden ist. Der Staat legt die Anordnung der Gleise fest und berücksichtigt die Infrastrukturkosten: Erdarbeiten, Kunstwerke ..., räumt jedoch den Betrieb der Strecken großen privaten Unternehmen ein - Compagnie de l'Ouest, Compagnie du Nord , PLM, Compagnie de l'Est… Das Schienennetz wird dann zu einem wesentlichen Faktor in der Regionalplanung.

Bildanalyse

Die außergewöhnliche Neuheit dieser frühen Eisenbahnen nährte natürlich die Inspiration von Malern, Lithographen, Illustratoren und Karikaturisten, die oft überraschende Parallelen zwischen diesen lauten metallischen Monstern und dem traditionellen Pferdetransport zogen.

Jean-Louis Beuzon, Plakatkünstler, gelegentlicher Illustrator des Post- und Telegraphenalmanachs, hat auf dieser Farbgravur aus dem ersten Buch der französischen Geschichte von Gauthier-Deschamps-Aymard einen Dampfzug und eine Postkutsche aus dem Pferdepfosten. Im Vordergrund startet eine Postkutsche der Compagnie des Messageries Royales im vollen Galopp auf einer mit tiefen Spurrillen geschnitzten Straße. Es bietet die Verbindung Paris-Rouen. 16 bis 20 Reisende sind in vier separaten Kabinen untergebracht: dem vorderen Coupé, dem Innenraum, der hinteren Rotunde und der überdachten oder kaiserlichen Galerie. Der Postillion, der das Team fährt, ist deutlich an seiner bekannten Uniform zu erkennen: kurze Jacke aus königsblauem Stoff mit Verkleidungen, aufgerollt und Weste aus rotem Stoff, Lacklederhut in einem Kegelstumpf. Im Hintergrund fährt der Zug auf einer Hochbahn und hat gerade eine Steinbrücke überquert, die die Straße überspannt. Die Dampflokomotive hinterlässt eine lange graue Rauchwolke und zieht drei Personenkraftwagen.

Dieselben Transportmittel sind auch auf der anonymen Lithographie abgebildet, die "die verschiedenen Reisearten" veranschaulicht. Eine massive Bergkette dominiert ein kleines Dorf an einem See. Im Vordergrund fährt ein Messageries-Fleiß, angeführt von einem Postillion zu Pferd, auf einer unbefestigten Straße. In der Ferne können wir einen Zug mit einer Dampflok erkennen, die die Wagen zieht. Zwischen der Postkutsche und den Eisenbahnschienen beobachten zwei Bauern auf einem Feld den vorbeifahrenden Zug.

Die dritte Lithographie wurde Ende der 1830er Jahre hergestellt und stellt zwei revolutionäre Transportmittel der damaligen Zeit gegenüber: die Eisenbahn und den Dampfwagen. Im Vordergrund scheint das unbedeckte Auto - genauer gesagt ein Dampfdreirad - in einen Geschwindigkeitswettbewerb mit dem Zug verwickelt zu sein. Es wird von einem Dandy in Gehrock und Zylinder geführt, der sich über die Lenkstange beugt - den "Kuhschwanz" - den er festhält. Sein eleganter Passagier sitzt hinter ihm und hebt ihre Hand an seinen Hut, aus Angst, er könnte wegfliegen. In seinem hektischen Rennen verliert das Fahrzeug einen Passagier, der auf dem Außensprungsitz saß.

Interpretation

Vor der Kommunikationsrevolution Mitte des 19. Jahrhundertse Jahrhundert, Langsamkeit, Unbehagen und hohe Kosten waren die Hauptnachteile der von Pferden gezogenen Traktion. 1830 war der Postkoffer das schnellste Transportmittel: Von Paris nach Lyon in 47 Stunden, Bordeaux in 45 Stunden, Toulouse in 72 Stunden; Es dauerte zehn Tage, bis ein Brief von Paris nach Marseille kam. Die majestätischen Postkutschen der großen Kurierunternehmen, die mit Drucken und populären Bildern vertraut waren, waren noch viel langsamer.

Das Erscheinen der Eisenbahn und damit der Geschwindigkeit löste den Todesstoß für den Pferdeposten aus: Der letzte Postkoffer, der Toulouse mit Montpellier verband, stellte am 23. August 1857 seinen Dienst ein; Die letzte Reihe von Postkutschen zwischen Rouen und Amiens verschwand 1872. Pferdewagen und Schienenverkehr existierten jedoch noch lange nebeneinander, sowohl in der Tat als auch in der Bildsprache, wie aus diesen drei Gravuren hervorgeht. Der Zug überrascht und erschreckt. Jean-Marie-Isidore Boiffils de Massane ist Zeuge des Baus der Linie Montpellier-Sète (1837-1839) und erinnert an "das mit Terror vermischte Erstaunen", das er als Kind beim Anblick der ersten Lokomotive "dieses brutalen Monsters" empfand , ausgestattet mit Bewegung und unvergleichlicher Kraft, belebt von zwei großen Flammenaugen, die Rauch blasen “. Die Eisenbahn wirft ernsthafte Bedenken hinsichtlich der Gesundheit der Fahrgäste auf. Der Wissenschaftler François Arago bekräftigt, dass "der Transport von Soldaten in Wagen sie weiblich machen würde"; Er warnt die Bevölkerung vor dem Tunnel von Saint-Cloud, der "Brustzustrom, Pleuritis und Katarrh" verursachen würde. Das Schienennetz entwickelte sich dennoch rasant: Am 31. Dezember 1859 erreichte es 9.178 Kilometer, was einem Durchschnitt von 622 Kilometern pro Jahr gebauter Gleise entspricht. Die Eisenbahn ist heute Teil der französischen Landschaft, die sich grundlegend verändert: Das Überqueren von Wasserstraßen und Hindernissen, denen das Relief entgegensteht, erfordert die Gestaltung von Bauwerken wie dem eingebauten Garabit-Viadukt 1888 von Gustave Eiffel. Es wird notwendig sein, auf die Mitte des XX zu wartene Jahrhundert, damit das Automobil ernsthaft mit dem Zug konkurrieren konnte.

  • Eisenbahn
  • Industrielle Revolution
  • Kampagne

Literaturverzeichnis

Clive LAMMING, Les Grands Trains von 1830 à nos jours, Paris, Larousse, 1989. Clive LAMMING und Jacques MARSEILLE, Frankreich, Paris, Nathan, 1986. François und Maguy PALAU, Le Rail und Frankreich, Band I, "Das Zweite Reich, 1852-1857", Paris, Palau Edition, 1998. Jean PECHEUX, Die Geburt der europäischen Eisenbahn, Paris, Berger-Levrault, 1970. Pierre WEIL, Les Chemins de fer, Paris, Larousse, 1964.

Um diesen Artikel zu zitieren

Alain GALOIN, "Die ersten Eisenbahnen"


Video: Die erste Runde - Auf der Prüfstrecke für Züge