The first attempt at "free school" (1831)

The first attempt at


We are searching data for your request:

Forums and discussions:
Manuals and reference books:
Data from registers:
Wait the end of the search in all databases.
Upon completion, a link will appear to access the found materials.

  • School opening poster.

  • Journal L'Avenir n ° 195 of April 29, 1831, p.1.

  • Charles Forbes, Count of Montalembert, 1843.

    BELLIARD M.

  • Portrait of Hugues-Félicité-Robert de Lamennais.

    GUERIN Paulin Jean-Baptiste (1783 - 1855)

To close

Title: School opening poster.

Author :

Creation date : 1831

Date shown: 1831

Dimensions: Height 0 - Width 0

Storage place: Historic Center of the National Archives website

Contact copyright: © Historic Center of the National Archives - Photography workshop

Picture reference: CC 553 / d.1 / p.6

School opening poster.

© Historic Center of the National Archives - Photography workshop

To close

Title: Journal L'Avenir n ° 195 of April 29, 1831, p.1.

Author :

Creation date : 1831

Date shown: April 29, 1831

Dimensions: Height 0 - Width 0

Storage place: Historic Center of the National Archives website

Contact copyright: © Historic Center of the National Archives - Photo workshop website

Picture reference: CC 553 / d.1 / p.5

Journal L'Avenir n ° 195 of April 29, 1831, p.1.

© Historic Center of the National Archives - Photography workshop

To close

Title: Charles Forbes, Count of Montalembert, 1843.

Author : BELLIARD M. (-)

Creation date : 1843

Date shown: 1843

Dimensions: Height 0 - Width 0

Technique and other indications: Imp. by Auguste Bry, 134 rue du Bac.Rosselin, editor, 21 quai Voltaire

Storage place: Carnavalet Museum (Paris) website

Contact copyright: © Photo library of the Museums of the City of Paris - Cliché Degraces

Picture reference: 1997 CAR 1051NB / PORT PC 221

Charles Forbes, Count of Montalembert, 1843.

© Photo library of the Museums of the City of Paris - Cliché Degraces

Portrait of Hugues-Félicité-Robert de Lamennais.

© Photo RMN-Grand Palais - D. Arnaudet

Publication date: January 2005

Historical context

The Charter and freedom of education

The Revolution established education in France as a public service of state, and Napoleon reinforced this monopoly by bringing all educational institutions under the authority of the university. Since the Concordat, religion has held an eminent place in law in the schools of the University where many ecclesiastics teach, even if the masters and families are sometimes opposed for differences of conceptions, in matters of religion or of context. teaching.

Some congregations such as the Brothers of the Christian Schools are authorized to teach. The Restoration granted them greater freedom and importance.

However, after the electoral success of the Liberals in 1828, the June ordinances imposed on Charles X put new obstacles in the way of the teaching of the Jesuits, an unauthorized congregation, reserved small seminaries for interns only and closed other ecclesiastical schools, which dissatisfied with many Catholics.

On the accession of Louis-Philippe, the Charter of 1830 provided for various reforms that were to be established by separate laws - including the freedom of education which was explicitly mentioned therein. This new concept gives rise to the expectation of less rigid legislation.

Image Analysis

New school poster

Claiming the freedom of education announced by the Charter, liberal Catholics: Henry Lacordaire (1802-1861), a young lawyer who took office in 1827, Charles de Forbes de Montalembert (1810-1870), son of a peer de la Restauration, who was just 20 years old, and Charles de Coux (1787-1864), publicist and social economist, announced by means of a poster that they would be the teachers of a new free school. They thus show that the freedom to teach consists first of all for an individual or for a private community to have the right to open a school.

They have voluntarily omitted to seek authorization from the University and claim to be part of the General Agency for Religious Freedom, a pressure group created by Father Félicité de Lamennais and his disciples to oppose any act that undermines freedom of Catholic worship or freedom of education. The opening of this "free school" is one of the first spectacular actions taken by the agency, which is pushing its theses forward through court proceedings and petitions to the Chambers.

The mention the reference "ne varietur "Was affixed in 1831 to the poster and the newspaper, when they were seized, because they are documents of instruction. The school, opened on May 9, was closed the next day, the children evicted without violence, and the three teachers prosecuted. The trial, sent to the Assize Court as a political offense, was brought up before the Court of Peers sitting in the High Court of Justice when Montalembert was invested with the peerage (following the death of his father). Defendants thus have a good platform to justify their act and deliberately support its legality. They face the minimum fine, but popularly win the case.

The future

Daily The future of April 29, 1831 exposes the theses of its founder, Félicité de Lamennais. The epigraph chosen by him, "Dieu et la Liberté", a famous phrase borrowed from Voltaire, explains his views on freedom and on his desire to dissociate the Church from political power.

Affirming that the freedom of education, desired by the Charter, is not compatible with the previous regulations, the group proclaims the right to override the monopoly of the University, because "Freedom is not given but is taken" . The opening of this school is intended as a response to the closure of the Lyon choir school (school for young choristers of the cathedral) where "the University has pursued freedom even in the choir children" and does not hesitate to s 'announce as the first demand for an overhaul of the organization of education, which should one day lead to a "free and Catholic University project".

The audacity of The future is new like its religious conceptions: justice alone is the basis of true legitimacy; Christianity and the Church, its depositary, must appear as the foundations of law, representing the future of society. In this perspective, the newspaper also defends freedom of conscience, which presupposes the separation between Church and State, freedoms of the press and of association, the right to suffrage, which must be universal. In foreign policy, the newspaper speaks out for oppressed Poland, Ireland and Belgium. The future wishes Catholicism to reconnect with the spirit of the century. He anticipates future designs with deep intuitions which, in hindsight, quite justify his name. But more than a media outlet, it is a forum, a means of recruiting new defenders of freedoms. He often acts with extraordinary clumsiness: he does not choose his opponents but provokes them all! In the eyes of the administration, The future is considered "one of the most anarchist newspapers".

The democratic action of The future is opposed by other Catholics. Attacked by the bishops unwilling to break the Concordat and by the Jesuits, it suspended its publication in November 1831. Lamennais, Lacordaire and Montalembert appealed to the Pope and went to Rome. When Gregory XVI (1765-1846) condemned by the encyclical Mirari your the social Catholicism of The future, they submit, but Lamennais later turned towards radical positions that would lead to his break with the Church. The General Agency and The future are permanently discontinued. However, a large part of the French clergy had knowledge of the doctrines of The future, and Lamennais’s audience reached various countries in Europe. In France, the question of freedom of education looms large, to which Montalembert dedicates his work.

Interpretation

The new attitude of the Church

This operation inaugurates a new tactic: the conquest of public opinion. It breaks, in effect, with the traditional attitude of the Church - the support of royalty. The debate sharply pits parties, Church, University and State against each other. It is indicative of the evolution of the positions of the Church under the July Monarchy: a desire for political independence from the State, the appearance of a Catholic parliamentary lobby, the importance of the issue of school.

The episcopate follows suit slowly, but is drawn into it. The position taken by Montalembert during this period partly explains the popularity of the Church at the start of the revolution of 1848.

  • Catholicism
  • Montalembert (Charles Forbes of)
  • school
  • free school
  • education
  • Lamennais (Hugues-Félicité Robert de)
  • July Monarchy
  • portrait
  • hurry
  • poster

Bibliography

Jacques GADILLE and Jean-Marie MAYEUR (under the direction of), Liberalism, industrialization, European expansion (1830-1914), Paris, Desclée, 1995.

Louis GRIMAUD, History of freedom of education in France, volumes V and VI, Paris, Rousseau, 1898.

Jean-Marie MAYEUR, (under the direction of), History of Christianity from its origins to the present day, Paris, Desclée, 1990-1995.

To cite this article

Luce-Marie ALBIGÈS, "The first attempt at a" free school "(1831)"


Video: Winning MLK Oratorical Speech PWCS


Comments:

  1. Oswiu

    Great article, thanks!

  2. Tagar

    I join. All above told the truth.

  3. Karoly

    I am very sorry that I cannot help with anything. I hope you will be of help here. Do not despair.

  4. Adrial

    It agree, it is an amusing phrase

  5. Gann

    It agree, your idea is brilliant



Write a message

Der erste Versuch einer "freien Schule" (1831)

Der erste Versuch einer

  • Schuleröffnungsplakat.

  • Journal L'Avenir Nr. 195 vom 29. April 1831, S. 1.

  • Charles Forbes, Graf von Montalembert, 1843.

    BELLIARD M.

  • Porträt von Hugues-Félicité-Robert de Lamennais.

    GUERIN Paulin Jean-Baptiste (1783 - 1855)

Schließen

Titel: Schuleröffnungsplakat.

Autor:

Erstellungsdatum : 1831

Datum angezeigt: 1831

Maße: Höhe 0 - Breite 0

Lagerraum: Historisches Zentrum der Website des Nationalarchivs

Kontakt Copyright: © Historisches Zentrum des Nationalarchivs - Fotoworkshop

Bildreferenz: CC 553 / d.1 / S.6

Schuleröffnungsplakat.

© Historisches Zentrum des Nationalarchivs - Fotoworkshop

Schließen

Titel: Journal L'Avenir Nr. 195 vom 29. April 1831, S. 1.

Autor:

Erstellungsdatum : 1831

Datum angezeigt: 29. April 1831

Maße: Höhe 0 - Breite 0

Lagerraum: Historisches Zentrum der Website des Nationalarchivs

Kontakt Copyright: © Historisches Zentrum des Nationalarchivs - Website des Fotoworkshops

Bildreferenz: CC 553 / d.1 / S.5

Journal L'Avenir Nr. 195 vom 29. April 1831, S. 1.

© Historisches Zentrum des Nationalarchivs - Fotoworkshop

Schließen

Titel: Charles Forbes, Graf von Montalembert, 1843.

Autor: BELLIARD M. (-)

Erstellungsdatum : 1843

Datum angezeigt: 1843

Maße: Höhe 0 - Breite 0

Technik und andere Indikationen: Imp. von Auguste Bry, 134 rue du Bac.Rosselin, Herausgeber, 21 quai Voltaire

Lagerraum: Website des Carnavalet Museums (Paris)

Kontakt Copyright: © Fotobibliothek der Museen der Stadt Paris - Cliché Degraces

Bildreferenz: 1997 CAR 1051NB / PORT PC 221

Charles Forbes, Graf von Montalembert, 1843.

© Fotobibliothek der Museen der Stadt Paris - Cliché Degraces

Porträt von Hugues-Félicité-Robert de Lamennais.

© Foto RMN-Grand Palais - D. Arnaudet

Erscheinungsdatum: Januar 2005

Historischer Zusammenhang

Die Charta und die Bildungsfreiheit

Die Revolution etablierte die Bildung in Frankreich als öffentlichen Staatsdienst, und Napoleon stärkte dieses Monopol, indem er alle Bildungseinrichtungen der Autorität der Universität unterwarf. Seit dem Konkordat hat die Religion an den Schulen der Universität, an denen viele Geistliche unterrichten, einen herausragenden Platz im Recht eingenommen, auch wenn die Meister und Familien manchmal wegen unterschiedlicher Vorstellungen, in religiösen oder kontextbezogenen Fragen abgelehnt werden. Lehren.

Einige Gemeinden wie die Brüder der christlichen Schulen sind zum Unterrichten berechtigt. Die Wiederherstellung gewährte ihnen mehr Freiheit und Bedeutung.

Nach dem Wahlerfolg der Liberalen im Jahr 1828 stellten die gegen Karl X. auferlegten Verordnungen vom Juni neue Hindernisse für den Unterricht der Jesuiten dar, einer nicht autorisierten Gemeinde, die kleine Seminare nur für Praktikanten reservierte und andere kirchliche Schulen schloss unzufrieden mit vielen Katholiken.

Mit dem Aufkommen von Louis-Philippe sah die Charta von 1830 verschiedene Reformen vor, die durch separate Gesetze festgelegt werden sollten - einschließlich der darin ausdrücklich erwähnten Bildungsfreiheit. Dieses neue Konzept lässt die Erwartung einer weniger strengen Gesetzgebung aufkommen.

Bildanalyse

Neues Schulplakat

Henry Lacordaire (1802-1861), ein junger Anwalt, der 1827 sein Amt antrat, Charles de Forbes de Montalembert (1810-1870), Sohn eines Gleichaltrigen, beansprucht die in der Charta angekündigte Bildungsfreiheit: Henry Lacordaire (1802-1861), ein junger Anwalt, der 1827 sein Amt antrat Der erst 20-jährige de la Restauration und der Publizist und Sozialökonom Charles de Coux (1787-1864) kündigten per Poster an, dass sie Lehrer einer neuen freien Schule sein würden. Sie zeigen damit, dass die Freiheit zu unterrichten in erster Linie für einen Einzelnen oder eine private Gemeinschaft darin besteht, das Recht zu haben, eine Schule zu eröffnen.

Sie haben es freiwillig versäumt, die Genehmigung der Universität einzuholen und behaupten, Teil der Allgemeinen Agentur für Religionsfreiheit zu sein, einer Interessengruppe, die von Pater Félicité de Lamennais und seinen Schülern gegründet wurde, um sich jeder Handlung zu widersetzen, die untergräbt Freiheit des katholischen Gottesdienstes oder der Bildung. Die Eröffnung dieser "freien Schule" ist eine der ersten spektakulären Maßnahmen der Agentur, die ihre Thesen durch Gerichtsverfahren und Petitionen an die Kammern vorantreibt.

Die Erwähnung der Referenz "ne varietur "Wurde 1831 auf dem Plakat und der Zeitung angebracht, als sie beschlagnahmt wurden, weil sie Belehrungsdokumente sind. Die am 9. Mai eröffnete Schule wurde am nächsten Tag geschlossen, die Kinder gewaltfrei vertrieben und die drei Lehrer strafrechtlich verfolgt. Der Prozess, der als politisches Vergehen an das Assize Court geschickt wurde, wird vor dem Court of Peers vor dem High Court of Justice zur Sprache gebracht, wenn Montalembert (nach dem Tod seines Vaters) in die Peerage investiert wird. Die Angeklagten haben somit eine gute Plattform, um ihre Handlung zu rechtfertigen und ihre Rechtmäßigkeit bewusst zu unterstützen. Sie müssen mit der Mindeststrafe rechnen, gewinnen aber im Volksmund den Fall.

Die Zukunft

Täglich Die Zukunft vom 29. April 1831 enthüllt die Thesen seines Gründers Félicité de Lamennais. Das von ihm gewählte Epigraph "Dieu et la Liberté", ein berühmter Satz von Voltaire, erklärt seine Ansichten zur Freiheit und zu seinem Wunsch, die Kirche von der politischen Macht zu trennen.

Die Gruppe bekräftigt, dass die von der Charta gewünschte Bildungsfreiheit nicht mit den bisherigen Bestimmungen vereinbar ist, und erklärt das Recht, das Monopol der Universität außer Kraft zu setzen, weil "Freiheit nicht gegeben, sondern genommen wird". . Die Eröffnung dieser Schule ist als Reaktion auf die Schließung der Lyoner Chorschule (Schule für junge Choristen der Kathedrale) gedacht, in der "die Universität die Freiheit auch bei den Chorkindern angestrebt hat" und nicht zögert 'als erste Forderung nach einer Überarbeitung der Bildungsorganisation ankündigen, die eines Tages zu einem "freien und katholischen Universitätsprojekt" führen sollte.

Die Kühnheit von Die Zukunft ist neu wie seine religiösen Vorstellungen: Gerechtigkeit allein ist die Grundlage wahrer Legitimität; Das Christentum und die Kirche, ihre Verwahrstelle, müssen als Rechtsgrundlagen erscheinen und die Zukunft der Gesellschaft darstellen. In dieser Perspektive verteidigt die Zeitung auch die Gewissensfreiheit, die die Trennung zwischen Kirche und Staat, die Presse- und Vereinigungsfreiheit, das universelle Wahlrecht voraussetzt. In der Außenpolitik spricht sich die Zeitung für das unterdrückte Polen, Irland und Belgien aus. Die Zukunft wünscht sich, dass der Katholizismus sich wieder mit dem Geist des Jahrhunderts verbindet. Er antizipiert zukünftige Entwürfe mit tiefen Intuitionen, die im Nachhinein seinen Namen durchaus rechtfertigen. Aber es ist mehr als ein Medienunternehmen, es ist eine Plattform, ein Mittel, um neue Verteidiger der Freiheiten zu rekrutieren. Er handelt oft mit außergewöhnlicher Ungeschicklichkeit: Er wählt seine Gegner nicht aus, sondern provoziert sie alle! In den Augen der Verwaltung, Die Zukunft gilt als "eine der anarchistischsten Zeitungen".

Das demokratische Handeln von Die Zukunft wird von anderen Katholiken abgelehnt. Angegriffen von den Bischöfen, die nicht bereit waren, das Konkordat zu brechen, und von den Jesuiten, setzte sie ihre Veröffentlichung im November 1831 aus. Lamennais, Lacordaire und Montalembert appellierten an den Papst und gingen nach Rom. Als Gregor XVI. (1765-1846) von der Enzyklika verurteilt wurde Mirari deine der soziale Katholizismus von Die ZukunftSie unterwerfen sich, aber Lamennais wandte sich später radikalen Positionen zu, die zu seinem Bruch mit der Kirche führen würden. Die Generalagentur und Die Zukunft werden dauerhaft eingestellt. Ein großer Teil der französischen Geistlichen kannte jedoch die Lehren von Die Zukunftund Lamennais 'Publikum erreichte verschiedene Länder in Europa. In Frankreich spielt die Frage der Bildungsfreiheit eine große Rolle, der Montalembert seine Arbeit widmet.

Interpretation

Die neue Haltung der Kirche

Diese Operation eröffnet eine neue Taktik: die Eroberung der öffentlichen Meinung. Es bricht praktisch mit der traditionellen Haltung der Kirche - der Unterstützung der Könige. In der Debatte treten Parteien, Kirche, Universität und Staat scharf gegeneinander an. Es zeigt die Entwicklung der Positionen der Kirche unter der Julimonarchie: den Wunsch nach politischer Unabhängigkeit vom Staat, das Erscheinen einer katholischen parlamentarischen Lobby, die Bedeutung der Frage von Schule.

Das Episkopat folgt langsam, wird aber hineingezogen. Die Position, die Montalembert in dieser Zeit einnahm, erklärt teilweise die Popularität der Kirche zu Beginn der Revolution von 1848.

  • Katholizismus
  • Montalembert (Charles Forbes von)
  • Schule
  • freie Schule
  • Bildung
  • Lamennais (Hugues-Félicité Robert de)
  • Julimonarchie
  • Porträt
  • Eile
  • Poster

Literaturverzeichnis

Jacques GADILLE und Jean-Marie MAYEUR (unter der Leitung von), Liberalismus, Industrialisierung, europäische Expansion (1830-1914), Paris, Desclée, 1995.

Louis GRIMAUD, Geschichte der Bildungsfreiheit in Frankreich, Bände V und VI, Paris, Rousseau, 1898.

Jean-Marie MAYEUR, (unter der Leitung von), Geschichte des Christentums von seinen Anfängen bis heute, Paris, Desclée, 1990-1995.

Um diesen Artikel zu zitieren

Luce-Marie ALBIGÈS, "Der erste Versuch einer" freien Schule "(1831)"


Video: Frei wovon? Frei wozu? - Die Freien Alternativschulen -- eine Standortbestimmung