Portraits-charges of the happy medium celebrities

Portraits-charges of the happy medium celebrities


We are searching data for your request:

Forums and discussions:
Manuals and reference books:
Data from registers:
Wait the end of the search in all databases.
Upon completion, a link will appear to access the found materials.

  • The Legislative Belly. Appearance of the ministerial benches of the improstitute chamber of 1834.

    DAUMIER Honoré (1808 - 1879)

  • Charles Philippon.

    DAUMIER Honoré (1808 - 1879)

  • Jean-Pons-Guillaume Viennet.

    DAUMIER Honoré (1808 - 1879)

  • François-Pierre-Guillaume Guizot, Minister of the Interior (1790-1874).

    DAUMIER Honoré (1808 - 1879)

To close

Title: The Legislative Belly. Appearance of the ministerial benches of the improstitute chamber of 1834.

Author : DAUMIER Honoré (1808 - 1879)

Creation date : 1834

Date shown: 1834

Dimensions: Height 28 - Width 43

Technique and other indications: in The Monthly Association, January 13, 1834 lithography

Storage place: National Library of France (Paris) website

Contact copyright: © Photo National Library of France

Picture reference: The Monthly Association, January 13, 1834

The Legislative Belly. Appearance of the ministerial benches of the improstitute chamber of 1834.

© Photo National Library of France

To close

Title: Charles Philippon.

Author : DAUMIER Honoré (1808 - 1879)

Creation date : 1833

Date shown: 1833

Dimensions: Height 16.4 - Width 13

Technique and other indications: modeling; earthen; polychrome

Storage place: Orsay Museum website

Contact copyright: © Photo RMN-Grand Palais - H. Lewandowskisite web

Picture reference: 98CE17105 / RE 3504

© Photo RMN-Grand Palais - H. Lewandowski

To close

Title: Jean-Pons-Guillaume Viennet.

Author : DAUMIER Honoré (1808 - 1879)

Creation date : 1832

Date shown: 1832

Dimensions: Height 19.9 - Width 18

Technique and other indications: modeling; earthen; polychrome

Storage place: Orsay Museum website

Contact copyright: © Photo RMN-Grand Palais - H. Lewandowski

Picture reference: 98CE17122 / RF 3512

Jean-Pons-Guillaume Viennet.

© Photo RMN-Grand Palais - H. Lewandowski

To close

Title: François-Pierre-Guillaume Guizot, Minister of the Interior (1790-1874).

Author : DAUMIER Honoré (1808 - 1879)

Creation date : 1833

Date shown: 1833

Dimensions: Height 22.5 - Width 15.4

Technique and other indications: modeling; earthen; polychrome

Storage place: Orsay Museum website

Contact copyright: © Photo RMN-Grand Palais - H. Lewandowskisite web

Picture reference: 98CE15057 / RF 3493

François-Pierre-Guillaume Guizot, Minister of the Interior (1790-1874).

© Photo RMN-Grand Palais - H. Lewandowski

Publication date: February 2014

Historical context

The busts-charges of “Celebrities of the happy medium” and the lithographs which result from them date back to the beginnings of the July monarchy. Staggered from 1832 to 1835, the publication of these satirical lithographs has as a backdrop the hardening of the rivalry between the “party of movement” (Laffitte), in power only from November 2, 1830 to March 22, 1831, and “the party of the resistance ”(Casimir Perier, Thiers, Guizot, Soult…) which takes over under the critical eye and in the face of the growing agitation of the Republicans, to whom Philipon and Daumier belong.

Image Analysis

The caricature, writes Charles Philipon in the April 26, 1832 issue of this journal, had in time promised its subscribers a gallery of portraits of celebrities of the happy medium, whose resemblances, conscientiously studied, must have, in addition to an energetic character, this trait burlesque known as “charge”. Accustomed to include in her publications all the possible conditions for success, The caricature postponed the completion of this project for some time, because she had each character modeled. It was after these clay molds [sic] that the designs were executed. "It should be noted that the project had been entrusted to Daumier, to whom probably came the idea of ​​these models (and not" molds ") in colored raw earth which constitute the most remarkable series of sculpted caricatures ever made. The busts-charges that have come down to us are thirty-six: the majority represent ministers and influential figures from the entourage of King Louis-Philippe, deputies mainly from the judiciary, industry and the bank, government journalists, all hostile to republican ideas, even, like Guillaume Viennet, to the Romantic movement and to the most modern trends in art and literature. Several of these "happy medium celebrities", deputies or ministers, reappear on the benches of the "improstitute chamber", to use the expression of The caricature, in the magnificent plate of 1834, The Legislative Belly. However, some of the models for the busts belong to Daumier’s friendly and professional entourage, such as Philipon, the Gallois publicists and Louis Huart. It is moreover not certain that the gallery is complete, because the three series of lithographs for which these sculptures served as a model - portrait-vignettes “with arms”, portrait-vignettes in bust and full-length portraits - represent others. figures of the regime which it would be surprising if Daumier did not model the models: thus Thiers, Bugeaud, Choiseul, Advocate General Plougoulm, one of the favorite targets of Charivari, etc.

Interpretation

Arsène Alexandre, Daumier's first biographer, testifies to this - “It must be said and we will have the opportunity to repeat that Never ever did Daumier draw from nature "- it was in the studio, and not on the model, that Daumier modeled the load-busts, which suggests the prodigious acuity of his memory - no preparatory drawings are preserved - and the reliability of his profession as a sculptor. Although we know of them some remarkable antecedents, such as the amusing and sometimes cruel figurines-charges of Charles Dantan, the busts of Daumier occupy a quite original place in the relatively rare genre of caricature caricature. By accusing the physiognomic peculiarities of his characters, Daumier does not only give in to the taste for ugly and burlesque well in the spirit of his time, as evidenced for example by the Grimaces, drawn by Boilly between 1823 and 1828. He goes further, in a way drawing lessons from the physiognomy of the Swiss pastor Lavater and from the phrenology of Doctor Gall, who claimed to study the character, the dominant “faculties” of individuals, the the first according to the features of their face, the second according to the general shape and bumps of their skull. If Daumier “charges” his characters, it is therefore not to betray them, but on the contrary to reveal what he, as a republican, considered to be their deep personality, and at the same time denounce the failings of the regime that in his eyes they embodied. It is obvious that a correct interpretation of these works, which constitute one of the most violent charges ever imagined against the liberal bourgeoisie, must take into account the ideological context in which they were created. The development of liberal regimes in the 19th centurye century was made at the cost of a struggle both against the clerical and legitimist right and against the neo-Jacobin culture of the republicans ...

  • caricature
  • deputies
  • July Monarchy
  • portrait
  • Thiers (Adolphe)

Bibliography

Daumier 1808-1879 catalog of the exhibition at the Grand Palais, 1999-2000.

To cite this article

Robert FOHR, "Portraits-charges of the happy medium celebrities"


Video: Elizabeth u0026 Elisa: Kim Russo, The Happy Medium

Portraits-Gebühren der glücklichen mittleren Prominenten

Portraits-Gebühren der glücklichen mittleren Prominenten

  • Der gesetzgebende Bauch. Erscheinung der Ministerbänke der improvisierten Kammer von 1834.

    DAUMIER Honoré (1808 - 1879)

  • Charles Philippon.

    DAUMIER Honoré (1808 - 1879)

  • Jean-Pons-Guillaume Viennet.

    DAUMIER Honoré (1808 - 1879)

  • François-Pierre-Guillaume Guizot, Innenminister (1790-1874).

    DAUMIER Honoré (1808 - 1879)

Schließen

Titel: Der gesetzgebende Bauch. Erscheinung der Ministerbänke der improvisierten Kammer ab 1834.

Autor: DAUMIER Honoré (1808 - 1879)

Erstellungsdatum : 1834

Datum angezeigt: 1834

Maße: Höhe 28 - Breite 43

Technik und andere Indikationen: in The Monthly Association, 13. Januar 1834 Lithographie

Speicherort: Website der Nationalbibliothek von Frankreich (Paris)

Kontakt Copyright: © Foto Nationalbibliothek von Frankreich

Bildreferenz: The Monthly Association, 13. Januar 1834

Der gesetzgebende Bauch. Erscheinung der Ministerbänke der improvisierten Kammer von 1834.

© Foto Nationalbibliothek von Frankreich

Schließen

Titel: Charles Philippon.

Autor: DAUMIER Honoré (1808 - 1879)

Erstellungsdatum : 1833

Datum angezeigt: 1833

Maße: Höhe 16,4 - Breite 13

Technik und andere Indikationen: Modellieren; irden; polychrom

Speicherort: Orsay Museum Website

Kontakt Copyright: © Foto RMN-Grand Palais - H. Lewandowskisite Web

Bildreferenz: 98CE17105 / RE 3504

© Foto RMN-Grand Palais - H. Lewandowski

Schließen

Titel: Jean-Pons-Guillaume Viennet.

Autor: DAUMIER Honoré (1808 - 1879)

Erstellungsdatum : 1832

Datum angezeigt: 1832

Maße: Höhe 19,9 - Breite 18

Technik und andere Indikationen: Modellieren; irden; polychrom

Speicherort: Orsay Museum Website

Kontakt Copyright: © Foto RMN-Grand Palais - H. Lewandowski

Bildreferenz: 98CE17122 / RF 3512

Jean-Pons-Guillaume Viennet.

© Foto RMN-Grand Palais - H. Lewandowski

Schließen

Titel: François-Pierre-Guillaume Guizot, Innenminister (1790-1874).

Autor: DAUMIER Honoré (1808 - 1879)

Erstellungsdatum : 1833

Datum angezeigt: 1833

Maße: Höhe 22,5 - Breite 15,4

Technik und andere Indikationen: Modellieren; irden; polychrom

Speicherort: Orsay Museum Website

Kontakt Copyright: © Foto RMN-Grand Palais - H. Lewandowskisite Web

Bildreferenz: 98CE15057 / RF 3493

François-Pierre-Guillaume Guizot, Innenminister (1790-1874).

© Foto RMN-Grand Palais - H. Lewandowski

Erscheinungsdatum: Februar 2014

Historischer Zusammenhang

Die Büstenladungen von „Prominenten des glücklichen Mediums“ und die daraus resultierenden Lithografien gehen auf die Anfänge der Julimonarchie zurück. Die Veröffentlichung dieser satirischen Lithografien, die von 1832 bis 1835 gestaffelt ist, hat die Verschärfung der Rivalität zwischen der „Partei der Bewegung“ (Laffitte), die nur vom 2. November 1830 bis zum 22. März 1831 an der Macht war, und der „Partei von der Widerstand “(Casimir Perier, Thiers, Guizot, Soult…), der unter dem kritischen Blick und angesichts der wachsenden Agitation der Republikaner, denen Philipon und Daumier angehören, die Macht übernimmt.

Bildanalyse

Die Karikatur, schreibt Charles Philipon in der Ausgabe dieses Journals vom 26. April 1832, hatte seinen Abonnenten rechtzeitig eine Galerie von Porträts von Prominenten des glücklichen Mediums versprochen, deren gewissenhaft studierte Ähnlichkeiten neben einem energetischen Charakter dieses Merkmal aufweisen müssen Burleske als "Ladung" bekannt. Gewohnt, alle möglichen Erfolgsbedingungen in ihre Veröffentlichungen aufzunehmen, Die Karikatur verschob den Abschluss dieses Projekts für eine Weile, weil sie jeden Charakter modellieren ließ. Aus diesen irdenen Formen wurden dann die Entwürfe gemacht. "Es sollte angemerkt werden, dass das Projekt Daumier anvertraut wurde, dem wahrscheinlich die Idee dieser Modelle (und nicht" Formen ") in farbiger roher Erde kam, die die bemerkenswerteste Serie von Skulpturen darstellen, die jemals hergestellt wurden. Die Büstenbeschuldigungen, die uns auferlegt wurden, sind sechsunddreißig: Die Mehrheit vertritt Minister und einflussreiche Persönlichkeiten aus dem Gefolge von König Louis-Philippe, Abgeordnete hauptsächlich aus Justiz, Industrie und Industrie die Bank, Regierungsjournalisten, die alle republikanischen Ideen feindlich gegenüberstehen, selbst wie Guillaume Viennet der romantischen Bewegung und den modernsten Trends in Kunst und Literatur. Einige dieser „glücklichen mittleren Prominenten“, Abgeordnete oder Minister, tauchen auf den Bänken der „improvisierten Kammer“ wieder auf, um den Ausdruck von zu verwenden Die Karikatur, in der prächtigen Platte von 1834, Der gesetzgebende Bauch. Einige der Modelle für die Büsten gehören jedoch Daumiers freundlichem und professionellem Gefolge, wie Philipon, die Gallois-Publizisten und Louis Huart. Es ist auch nicht sicher, ob die Galerie vollständig ist, da die drei Serien von Lithografien, für die diese Skulpturen als Modell dienten - Porträtvignetten „mit Armen“, Porträtvignetten in Büste und Porträts in voller Länge - andere darstellen. Zahlen des Regimes, von denen es überraschend wäre, wenn Daumier die Modelle nicht modellieren würde: So Thiers, Bugeaud, Choiseul, Generalanwalt Plougoulm, eines der beliebtesten Ziele der Charivari, usw.

Interpretation

Arsène Alexandre, Daumiers erste Biografin, bezeugt dies: „Es muss gesagt werden, und wir werden die Gelegenheit haben, dies zu wiederholen Daumier hat noch nie aus der Natur gezogen "- Daumier modellierte im Studio und nicht nach dem Vorbild die Lastbüsten, was auf die erstaunliche Schärfe seines Gedächtnisses hinweist - es sind keine vorbereitenden Zeichnungen erhalten - und auf die Zuverlässigkeit seines Berufs als Bildhauer. Obwohl wir einige bemerkenswerte Vorgeschichten kennen, wie die amüsanten und manchmal grausamen Figurenladungen von Charles Dantan, nehmen die Büsten von Daumier einen recht originellen Platz im relativ seltenen Genre der Karikaturkarikatur ein. Daumier beschuldigt die physiognomischen Besonderheiten seiner Figuren und gibt nicht nur dem Geschmack für hässlich und burlesk im Geiste seiner Zeit nach, wie zum Beispiel die Grimassen, gezeichnet von Boilly zwischen 1823 und 1828. Er geht weiter und zieht in gewisser Weise Lehren aus der Physiognomie des Schweizer Pastors Lavater und aus der Phrenologie von Doktor Gall, der behauptete, den Charakter, die dominierenden „Fähigkeiten“ von Individuen, zu studieren die erste nach den Gesichtszügen, die zweite nach der allgemeinen Form und den Beulen ihres Schädels. Wenn Daumier seine Charaktere „beschuldigt“, ist es daher nicht, sie zu verraten, sondern im Gegenteil zu enthüllen, was er als Republikaner als ihre tiefe Persönlichkeit ansah, und gleichzeitig die Versäumnisse des Regimes anzuprangern, das er getan hat. in seinen Augen verkörperten sie. Es liegt auf der Hand, dass eine korrekte Interpretation dieser Werke, die eine der gewalttätigsten Anklagen darstellen, die jemals gegen die liberale Bourgeoisie erdacht wurden, den ideologischen Kontext berücksichtigen muss, in dem sie geschaffen wurden. Die Entwicklung liberaler Regime im 19. Jahrhunderte Jahrhundert wurde auf Kosten eines Kampfes sowohl gegen das klerikale und legitimistische Recht als auch gegen die neo-jakobinische Kultur der Republikaner gemacht ...

  • Karikatur
  • Abgeordnete
  • Julimonarchie
  • Porträt
  • Thiers (Adolphe)

Literaturverzeichnis

Daumier 1808-1879 Katalog der Ausstellung im Grand Palais, 1999-2000.

Um diesen Artikel zu zitieren

Robert FOHR, "Portraits-Anklagen der Prominenten des glücklichen Mediums"


Video: Stars, die zu jung gestorben sind u0026 unvergessen bleiben HD