Portraits on the Stock Exchange

Portraits on the Stock Exchange


We are searching data for your request:

Forums and discussions:
Manuals and reference books:
Data from registers:
Wait the end of the search in all databases.
Upon completion, a link will appear to access the found materials.

To close

Title: Portraits at the Stock Exchange.

Author : DEGAS Edgar (1834 - 1917)

Date shown:

Dimensions: Height 100 - Width 82

Technique and other indications: Oil on canvas

Storage location: Orsay Museum website

Contact copyright: © Photo RMN-Grand Palais - H. Lewandowskisite web

Picture reference: 99-004992 / RF2444

© Photo RMN-Grand Palais - H. Lewandowski

Publication date: April 2006

Historical context

Became in 1724 the official institution where commodities, currencies and securities are traded at the same time, the Paris Stock Exchange was endowed with stable regulations under the Empire and a building, completed in 1827 , whose construction was entrusted by Napoleon to the architect Alexandre Théodore Brongniart. From the middle of the XIXe century, the preponderant role of the Stock Exchange in the economic development of France, and in particular in the financing of industrialization, marked the triumph of the business bourgeoisie, made up of bankers, brokers and stockbrokers who, all attracted by the taste for speculation and the ease of enrichment, met at the Brongniart Palace.

Image Analysis

In this genre scene whose title tells us that it takes place on the Stock Exchange, Edgar Degas has rightly represented businessmen in frock coats and top hats, as the bourgeois fashion of the time wanted, which 'maintain under the peristyle of the Brongniart Palace. In his notebooks, the painter specified that the two men in the center of the painting are Ernest May, the elongated face and the binoculars on his nose, who was the administrator-director of the Franco-Egyptian Bank, and behind him, his partner , a man named Bolâtre, with a stocky figure.

Degas had met the wealthy banker a few months earlier and his description to a friend of his was brief but biting: "He is a businessman who dashes into the arts!" Indeed, May was also an art lover and over the years he had assembled a large collection, mainly paintings by Old Masters, but from 1878 he began to buy works from the Impressionists. Although he had met him for this purpose, Degas chose to present this man within the framework of his financial activities. Thus, he portrays it arriving at the Stock Exchange, apparently to inquire about the daily prices that a stockbroker gives him and which he tells his companion, who leans on his shoulder to better see the slip. The other characters, whose features the painter left blurry, even unfinished as illustrated by the repentance for the man in the foreground on the right, serve to make the scene more animated, even caricatural, when we discover in the back - shot on the left a grotesque character, with the appearance of a clown.

Interpretation

As a keen observer of the Parisian bourgeoisie to which he belonged and devoted a large part of his art, Degas produced here one of the rare transcriptions of a scene at the Stock Exchange, its atmosphere, its clients, its practices. With malice, the painter even delivered his critical look on this commercial institution, both adored for the wealth it drained and suspected for its mood swings, and especially on these businessmen, symbolized by Ernest May, who by trading very quickly built their fortune and collected works of art to show their success. But Ernest May did not hold it against Degas, since a few months later he bought him three paintings and, before dying, bequeathed his portrait to the Louvre.

  • bourgeoisie
  • finances
  • portrait

Bibliography

Pierre CABANNE Edgar DegasParis, Tisné, 1957.Georges DUBY (dir.) History of urban France.The city in the industrial age IV, Paris, Le Seuil, 1983.Andrew FORGE and Robert GORDONDegasParis, Flammarion, 1988.Paul-Jacques LEHMANNHistory de la BourseParis, PUF, 1997.Paul-André LEMOISNEDegas and his workome II, Paris, Arts et Métiers Graphiques, 1949.Henri LOYRETTEDegasParis, Gallimard, 1988.Denys SUTTONDegas.Life and workParis, Nathan, 1986. Émile ZOLAL'Argent1890.Catalogue of the DegasParis exhibition, RMN, 1988.

To cite this article

Fleur SIOUFFI, “Portraits on the Stock Exchange”


Video: Stock Market Trading On The Big Board. NBC News Live Stream Recording


Comments:

  1. Haden

    Thanks! Useful ... .. (-___________-)

  2. Octe

    And what are we going to stop at?

  3. Baldwin

    the Relevant message :)

  4. Emrys

    Dear blog author, are you by any chance from Moscow?



Write a message

Porträts an der Börse

Porträts an der Börse

Schließen

Titel: Porträts an der Börse.

Autor: DEGAS Edgar (1834 - 1917)

Datum angezeigt:

Maße: Höhe 100 - Breite 82

Technik und andere Indikationen: Öl auf Leinwand

Lagerort: Orsay Museum Website

Kontakt Copyright: © Foto RMN-Grand Palais - H. Lewandowskisite Web

Bildreferenz: 99-004992 / RF2444

© Foto RMN-Grand Palais - H. Lewandowski

Erscheinungsdatum: April 2006

Historischer Zusammenhang

1724 wurde die Pariser Börse zur offiziellen Institution, in der Waren, Währungen und Wertpapiere gleichzeitig gehandelt werden. Sie wurde mit stabilen Vorschriften unter dem Imperium und einem 1827 fertiggestellten Gebäude ausgestattet , dessen Bau Napoleon dem Architekten Alexandre Théodore Brongniart anvertraute. Ab der Mitte des XIXe Jahrhundert überwog die überwiegende Rolle der Börse für die wirtschaftliche Entwicklung Frankreichs und insbesondere für die Finanzierung der Industrialisierung den Triumph der Geschäftsbourgeoisie, die sich aus Bankern, Maklern und Börsenmaklern zusammensetzte, die Alle, die von der Vorliebe für Spekulationen und der Leichtigkeit der Bereicherung angezogen wurden, trafen sich im Brongniart-Palast.

Bildanalyse

In dieser Genreszene, deren Titel besagt, dass sie an der Börse stattfindet, hat Edgar Degas Geschäftsleute zu Recht in Gehröcken und Zylinderhüten vertreten, wie es die bürgerliche Mode der damaligen Zeit wollte 'Unter dem Peristil des Brongniart-Palastes pflegen. In seinen Notizbüchern gab der Maler an, dass die beiden Männer in der Mitte des Gemäldes Ernest May sind, das längliche Gesicht und das Fernglas auf seiner Nase, der Administrator-Direktor der französisch-ägyptischen Bank, und hinter ihm sein Partner Ein Mann namens Bolâtre mit einer untersetzten Gestalt.

Degas hatte den wohlhabenden Bankier einige Monate zuvor getroffen, und seine Beschreibung gegenüber einem seiner Freunde war kurz, aber beißend: "Er ist ein Geschäftsmann, der sich mit Kunst beschäftigt!" In der Tat war May auch ein Kunstliebhaber und hatte im Laufe der Jahre eine große Sammlung zusammengestellt, hauptsächlich Gemälde alter Meister, aber ab 1878 begann er, Werke von den Impressionisten zu kaufen. Obwohl er ihn zu diesem Zweck getroffen hatte, entschied sich Degas, diesen Mann im Rahmen seiner finanziellen Aktivitäten vorzustellen. So porträtiert er es, wie es an der Börse ankommt, anscheinend um nach den Preisen des Tages zu fragen, die ihm ein Börsenmakler gibt und die er seinem Begleiter mitteilt, der sich auf seine Schulter lehnt, um den Zettel besser sehen zu können. Die anderen Figuren, deren Gesichtszüge der Maler verschwommen gelassen hat, sogar unvollendet, wie die Reue für den Mann im Vordergrund rechts zeigt, dienen dazu, die Szene animierter und sogar karikaturistischer zu machen, wenn wir sie im Hintergrund entdecken -planen Sie links einen grotesken Charakter mit dem Aussehen eines Clowns.

Interpretation

Als begeisterter Beobachter der Pariser Bourgeoisie, zu der er gehörte und der einen großen Teil seiner Kunst widmete, produzierte Degas hier eine der seltenen Transkriptionen einer Szene an der Börse, ihrer Atmosphäre, ihrer Kunden, ihrer Praktiken. Mit Unheil äußerte sich der Maler sogar kritisch zu dieser Handelsinstitution, die sowohl für den Reichtum, den sie entwässerte, als auch für ihre Stimmungsschwankungen vermutete, als auch für diese Geschäftsleute, die von Ernest May symbolisiert wurden. die durch den Handel sehr schnell ihr Vermögen aufbauten und Kunstwerke sammelten, um ihren Erfolg zu zeigen. Aber Ernest May hielt es Degas nicht entgegen, da er ihm einige Monate später drei Gemälde kaufte und sein Porträt vor seinem Tod dem Louvre vermachte.

  • Bourgeoisie
  • Finanzen
  • Porträt

Literaturverzeichnis

Pierre CABANNE Edgar DegasParis, Tisné, 1957.Georges DUBY (Hrsg.) Geschichte des städtischen Frankreich. Die Stadt im Industriezeitalter IV, Paris, Le Seuil, 1983. Andrew FORGE und Robert GORDONDegasParis, Flammarion, 1988.Paul-Jacques LEHMANNHistory de la BourseParis, PUF, 1997. Paul-André LEMOISNEDegas und sein Werk II, Paris, Arts et Métiers Graphiques, 1949. Henri LOYRETTEDegasParis, Gallimard, 1988. Denys SUTTONDegas.Life and workParis, Nathan, 1986. Émile ZOLAL'Argent der DegasParis Ausstellung, RMN, 1988.

Um diesen Artikel zu zitieren

Fleur SIOUFFI, „Porträts an der Börse“


Video: Wie sollten Börsen-Anfänger investieren? Christian Röhl über Anlagestrategien u0026 Öl-Werte