Portrait of Turenne as a Roman general

Portrait of Turenne as a Roman general

Henri de la Tour d'Auvergne, viscount of Turenne

© RMN-Grand Palais (Palace of Versailles) / image RMN-GP

Publication date: September 2019

Academy Inspector Deputy Academic Director

Historical context

A portrait of uncertain attribution

If the identification of the model is not in doubt - it is Henri de La Tour d'Auvergne, viscount of Turenne (1611-1675) -, the date of completion of the work and its precise attribution remain uncertain to this day. We can infer from Turenne's features that he would be between thirty and forty years old, which could suggest that the painter made his canvas during the 1640s. Marshal of France since 1643, Turenne has contributed to the military greatness of the kingdom of the lilies during the campaigns led at the head of the so-called German army during the last phase of the Thirty Years' War.

The similarities in composition and style between this work and several contemporary portraits of the Grand Condé or Gaston d´Orléans by Juste d´Egmont make it possible to attribute the portrait of Turenne to the latter. Returned to the Netherlands in 1650, Juste d´Egmont therefore probably painted Turenne soon after his accession to the Marshalate, as the stick wielded by the model seems to attest.

Image Analysis

A general worthy of Roman warlords

In the foreground, Turenne poses with a form of nonchalant grace, his left hand resting slightly above the hip, the right vigorously holding a staff of command pointed at a war scene in the background. Turenne stares at the viewer, seeming to invite him to participate in a military reality rewritten in connection with Antiquity. Portrait full-length, Turenne wears the outfit of a Roman general offbeat both with the dark forest environment in which he is painted and with that in which he really practiced the profession of arms under Louis XIV.

In the shadow of the forest canopy, to the right of the composition, stands a black servant wearing the general's plumed helmet. In the left background, a fight pits a few horsemen against each other, a discreet reminder of the weapons by which Turenne has won his prestige.

A form of allegory of military command built in echoes of the unbreakable victories of Roman imperial glory, Turenne embodies the strategy and direction of war. Large red enveloping cape, golden tunic, bare arms and legs, the general could appear in transvestite and thus yield to the fashion of the return to Antiquity, whereas he is here above all an heir, that of the great warlords of the Antiquity.

Interpretation

The glory of Turenne

The juxtaposition of the generally antique portrait and the decor creates an impression of shift, already perceptible in two portraits of the Prince of Condé by Juste d'Egmont, in which the painter uses the same process of apparent domination and grandeur of the prince over events. . One might think that Juste d´Egmont thus uses a sort of pictorial leitmotif to celebrate the greatness of the two most prestigious generals of his time. Thus compared to almost identical portraits of Condé and Gaston d 'Orléans, this painting gives Turenne immense glory, since he belongs by the brush to a line of generals who are members of the royal family.

Thanks to his status as a foreign prince - the La Tour d'Auvergne have the Duchy of Bouillon and the sovereign principality of Sedan -, his family relations of very high nobility, his ambition and despite his Calvinist confession, Turenne can quickly command and give proof of his military talent at the head of the German army. The campaigns of 1644, 1645, 1646 and 1648 impose Turenne as a great strategist of the war of movement.

The portrait of Turenne in general Roman, painted at the beginning of the recognition of the viscount as great captain, contributes to the manufacture of the military glory which remains attached to him for posterity. It is part of the ancient reference in vogue in Ancien Régime France, drawing its roots and models from the illustrious memory of the Greek and Roman conquerors. However, it was produced at a time when a "modern" artistic and literary consciousness is beginning to emerge by desecrating Antiquity as an absolute reference.

  • Turenne (Henri de La Tour d'Auvergne)
  • military
  • Germany
  • Thirty Years' War
  • Grand Condé
  • Netherlands
  • official portrait
  • antiquity
  • allegory
  • Orleans (Gaston d ')
  • Old regime
  • Louis XIV
  • Acadamy of Arts

Bibliography

Thierry BAJOU, Painting in Versailles 17th century, Paris, Meeting of national museums, Buchet / Chastel, 1998.

Jean BÉRANGER, Turenne, Paris, Fayard, 1987.

Id., "Turenne", in François BLUCHE (dir.), Dictionary of the Grand Siècle, Fayard, revised and corrected edition, 2005.

To cite this article

Jean HUBAC, "Portrait of Turenne in general Roman"

Glossary

  • Academy of Fine Arts: Created in 1816 by the union of the Academy of Painting and Sculpture, founded in 1648, the Academy of Music, founded in 1669 and the Academy of Architecture, founded in 1671. Institution which brings together artists distinguished by an assembly of peers and usually working for the crown. It defines the rules of art and good taste, trains artists, organizes exhibitions.
  • Thirty Years' War: European war which ravaged in particular the Holy Roman Empire (Germany) from 1618 to 1659. The origin of the conflict is religious: the expansion of the Reformation in Germany opposes the princes and sovereigns Catholics.

  • Video: A lecture by Nigel Spivey, Looking like Caesar

Porträt von Turenne als römischer General

Porträt von Turenne als römischer General

Henri de la Tour d'Auvergne, Graf von Turenne

© RMN-Grand Palais (Schloss Versailles) / Bild RMN-GP

Erscheinungsdatum: September 2019

Akademischer Inspektor Stellvertretender akademischer Direktor

Historischer Zusammenhang

Ein Porträt unsicherer Zuschreibung

Wenn die Identifizierung des Modells nicht zweifelhaft ist - es ist Henri de la Tour d'Auvergne, Graf von Turenne (1611-1675) -, das Datum der Fertigstellung der Arbeiten und ihre genaue Zuordnung bleiben bis heute unsicher. Wir können aus Turennes Gesichtszügen schließen, dass er zwischen dreißig und vierzig Jahre alt sein würde, was uns vermuten lässt, dass der Maler seine Leinwand in den 1640er Jahren hergestellt hat. Seit 1643 ist Turenne Marschall von Frankreich und hat zur militärischen Größe des Königreichs der Lilien beigetragen während der Feldzüge an der Spitze der sogenannten deutschen Armee in der letzten Phase des Dreißigjährigen Krieges geführt.

Die Ähnlichkeiten in Komposition und Stil zwischen diesem Werk und mehreren zeitgenössischen Porträts des Grand Condé oder Gaston d´Orléans von Juste d´Egmont ermöglichen es, das Porträt von Turenne diesem zuzuschreiben. Juste d´Egmont kehrte 1650 in die Niederlande zurück und malte Turenne daher wahrscheinlich kurz nach seinem Beitritt zum Marschall, wie der vom Modell getragene Stock zu bezeugen scheint.

Bildanalyse

Ein General, der römischer Kriegsherren würdig ist

Im Vordergrund posiert Turenne mit einer Form von nonchalanter Anmut. Ihre linke Hand ruht leicht über der Hüfte, ihre rechte hält kräftig einen Kommandostab und zeigt auf eine Kriegsszene im Hintergrund. Turenne starrt den Betrachter an und scheint ihn einzuladen, an einer militärischen Realität teilzunehmen, die im Zusammenhang mit der Antike neu geschrieben wurde. Das Porträt in voller Länge trägt Turenne das Outfit eines ungewöhnlichen römischen Generals, sowohl mit der dunklen Waldumgebung, in der er gemalt ist, als auch mit der, in der er unter Ludwig XIV. Wirklich den Waffenberuf ausübte.

Im Schatten des Waldhimmels rechts neben der Komposition steht ein schwarzer Diener, der den Federhelm des Generals trägt. Im linken Hintergrund treten bei einem Kampf einige Reiter gegeneinander an, eine diskrete Erinnerung an die Waffen, mit denen Turenne sein Prestige gewonnen hat.

Turenne ist eine Form der Allegorie des militärischen Kommandos, die in Anlehnung an die unzerbrechlichen Siege der römischen kaiserlichen Herrlichkeit errichtet wurde. Großer roter Umhang, goldene Tunika, nackte Arme und Beine, der General könnte in Transvestit erscheinen und so der Mode der Rückkehr in die Antike nachgeben, während er hier vor allem ein Erbe ist, der der großen Kriegsherren der Antike.

Interpretation

Der Ruhm von Turenne

Die Gegenüberstellung des allgemein antiken Porträts und der Dekoration erzeugt einen Eindruck der Verschiebung, der bereits in zwei Porträts des Prinzen von Condé von Juste d'Egmont erkennbar ist, in denen der Maler denselben Prozess der offensichtlichen Herrschaft und Größe des Prinzen über Ereignisse anwendet. . Man könnte meinen, dass Juste d´Egmont daher eine Art bildliches Leitmotiv verwendete, um die Größe der beiden angesehensten Generäle seiner Zeit zu feiern. Im Vergleich zu fast identischen Porträts von Condé und Gaston d 'Orléans verleiht dieses Gemälde Turenne einen immensen Ruhm, da er mit dem Pinsel zu einer Reihe von Generälen gehört, die Mitglieder der königlichen Familie sind.

Dank seines Status als ausländischer Prinz - die La Tour d'Auvergne haben das Herzogtum Bouillon und das souveräne Fürstentum Sedan -, seiner familiären Beziehungen von sehr hohem Adel, seinem Ehrgeiz und trotz seines kalvinistischen Geständnisses kann Turenne schnell an der Spitze der deutschen Armee sein militärisches Talent zu befehlen und unter Beweis zu stellen. Die Feldzüge von 1644, 1645, 1646 und 1648 machen Turenne zu einem großen Strategen des Bewegungskrieges.

Das Porträt von Turenne im Allgemeinen Roman, das zu Beginn der Anerkennung des Viscount als großer Kapitän gemalt wurde, trägt zur Herstellung des militärischen Ruhms bei, der ihm für die Nachwelt erhalten bleibt. Es ist Teil der alten Mode-Referenz in Ancien Régime France, die ihre Wurzeln und Modelle aus der illustren Erinnerung der griechischen und römischen Eroberer bezieht. Es entstand jedoch zu einer Zeit, als ein "modernes" künstlerisches und literarisches Bewusstsein entstand, indem die Antike als absolute Referenz entweiht wurde.

  • Turenne (Henri de la Tour d'Auvergne)
  • Militär-
  • Deutschland
  • Dreißigjähriger Krieg
  • Grand Condé
  • Niederlande
  • offizielles Porträt
  • Antike
  • Allegorie
  • Orleans (Gaston d ')
  • Altes Regime
  • Ludwig XIV
  • Akademie der Künste

Literaturverzeichnis

Thierry BAJOU, Malerei in Versailles 17. Jahrhundert, Paris, Treffen der Nationalmuseen, Buchet / Chastel, 1998.

Jean BÉRANGER, Turenne, Paris, Fayard, 1987.

Ich würde., "Turenne", in François BLUCHE (dir.), Wörterbuch des Grand Siècle, Fayard, überarbeitete und korrigierte Ausgabe, 2005.

Um diesen Artikel zu zitieren

Jean HUBAC, "Porträt von Turenne im Allgemeinen römisch"

Glossar

  • Akademie der bildenden Künste: 1816 von der Vereinigung der 1648 gegründeten Akademie für Malerei und Skulptur, der 1669 gegründeten Musikakademie und der 1671 gegründeten Akademie für Architektur gegründet. Institution Das bringt Künstler zusammen, die sich durch eine Versammlung von Kollegen auszeichnen und normalerweise für die Krone arbeiten. Es definiert die Regeln der Kunst und des guten Geschmacks, bildet Künstler aus, organisiert Ausstellungen.
  • Dreißigjähriger Krieg: Europäischer Krieg, der von 1618 bis 1659 insbesondere das Heilige Römische Reich (Deutschland) verwüstete. Der Ursprung des Konflikts ist religiös: Die Ausweitung der Reformation in Deutschland widersetzt sich den Fürsten und Herrschern Katholiken.

  • Video: Der Römische Circus - Massenunterhaltung im Römischen Reich