Portrait of the Count of Nieuwerkerke

Portrait of the Count of Nieuwerkerke


We are searching data for your request:

Forums and discussions:
Manuals and reference books:
Data from registers:
Wait the end of the search in all databases.
Upon completion, a link will appear to access the found materials.

  • Portrait of Count Emilien de Nieuwerkerke.

  • The Imperial Menagerie, portrait-charge n ° 26 of Nieuwerkerke, "the poodle".

    HADOL, known as WHITE Paul (1835 - 1875)

To close

Title: Portrait of Count Emilien de Nieuwerkerke.

Author :

Creation date : 1856

Date shown: 1856

Dimensions: Height 38 - Width 26

Technique and other indications: Watercolor

Storage place: National Museum of the Château de Compiègne website

Contact copyright: © Photo RMN-Grand Palais - D. Arnaudet web site

Picture reference: 97-017642 / C.55.121

Portrait of Count Emilien de Nieuwerkerke.

© Photo RMN-Grand Palais - D. Arnaudet

To close

Title: The Imperial Menagerie, portrait-charge n ° 26 of Nieuwerkerke, "the poodle".

Author : HADOL, known as WHITE Paul (1835 - 1875)

Creation date : 1870

Date shown: 1870

Dimensions: Height 27.2 - Width 17.4

Technique and other indications: Colored lithograph

Storage place: National Museum of the Château de Compiègne website

Contact copyright: © Photo RMN-Grand Palais - D. Arnaudet

Picture reference: 97-011082 / C.63.105 / 27

The Imperial Menagerie, portrait-charge n ° 26 of Nieuwerkerke, "the poodle".

© Photo RMN-Grand Palais - D. Arnaudet

Publication date: May 2005

Historical context

The brilliant career of Count Emilien de Nieuwerkerke accompanied the sumptuous years of the Second Empire: it began in 1849, under the ephemeral presidency of the Republic of Louis Napoleon Bonaparte, and ended with the fall of the regime on September 4, 1870. Figure Emblematic of the “imperial festival”, the “handsome Emilien” assumed the active and efficient management of the imperial museums for more than twenty years.

In the exercise of his high office, Nieuwerkerke is primarily concerned with the Louvre. He increased the number of exhibition rooms: there were 19 under Napoleon I, 89 under Louis-Philippe; there are 132 under Napoleon III. To ensure that the collections are constantly visible to the public, the Salons are no longer held in the Louvre: they take place first at the Tuileries, then at the Palais-Royal, then in the Salle des Menus-Plaisirs, until Napoleon III had the Palais des Beaux-Arts built from 1855. It was the first building to be built to serve as a museum as such.

In artistic matters, the tastes of the Count of Nieuwerkerke are marked by a marked conservatism. He weighs with all his influence on the jury of the Salons and imposes the "fireman" style. On the other hand, he is a determined follower of the neo-medieval current which triumphs.

Emilien de Nieuwerkerke undoubtedly owed his meteoric rise in the imperial administration to Princess Mathilde, the Emperor's first cousin. The "handsome Batavian" immediately won her over. As for the princess, Horace de Viel-Castel notes that she "does not conceal her affair under any circumstances. Everyone knows that they live in the same main building, and when the Princess receives, Nieuwerkerke appears in the living room without his hat ". Be that as it may, at the end of the Second Empire, the count's numerous female successes got the better of this long extramarital affair which had helped to lead him to high responsibilities.

Image Analysis

Protector of writers and artists whom she received in her living room, Princess Mathilde - who was called Notre-Dame-des-Arts - herself had real artistic gifts. Under the direction of the painter Eugène Giraud (1806-1881), she had acquired a real talent as a watercolourist and etcher, but hardly appreciated oil painting. From 1859, she exhibited at the Salon every year beautiful copies of masterpieces from the Louvre. She obtained an honorable mention from the jury in 1861 and a medal in 1865.

This watercolor study was obviously inspired for face and pose by a pastel portrait of the Earl of Nieuwerkerke by Eugène Giraud in 1851 and held today in Boston in a private collection.

The princess represented the count at the waist, seated in an armchair, seen from three quarters. The left hand is partly engaged in the vest and the right arm is resting on the armrest of the seat. He is in full maturity, proud and self-confident, aware of the power he wields.

Shortly after the fall of the Second Empire, a series of thirty-one extremely ferocious cartoons, which stigmatized the main figures of the imperial regime, were printed by Coulboeuf in Paris. At that time, caricature was one of the most dynamic weapons and political languages. These thirty-one color lithographs were simply signed "H". The ensemble bears a significant title: The Imperial Menagerie made up of ruminants, amphibians, carnivores and other budget eaters that devoured France for 20 years.

Caricature n ° 26 is dedicated to Count Emilien de Nieuwerkerke. He is represented there in the guise of a dressed poodle, allusion to his servile loyalty to the fallen monarch and probable reference to the many small dogs owned by his mistress, Princess Mathilde, whose monogram is also tattooed on the thigh of the 'animal. The works of art - paintings, statuette - attached to his tail represent the mistakes and wrongdoing he committed in the performance of his high office. One of these paintings depicts a "crowned fish," evidently a mackerel, a trivial and unequivocal evocation of how he allegedly used the Emperor's cousin to satisfy his personal ambitions.

Interpretation

A prominent figure in the imperial regime, Emilien de Nieuwerkerke nourished the inspiration of artists of the time. Many of them painted his portrait: Édouard Dubufe (1820-1883), Henri Lehmann (1814-1882), Ernest Boetzel (1830-around 1920), François-Joseph Heim (1787-1865), Eugène Giraud (1806- 1881), François Dien (1787-1865)… Most of these painters saw in him only the official character, invested with high responsibilities and generously decorated.

The portrait of him by Princess Mathilde rather highlights the power of seduction that some agree to recognize in the "handsome Emilien" whose magnetism is exerted on both women and men. "He has the shoulders of Hercules Farnese and the torso of a Michelangelo", observes Louis Hautecœur. For the sculptor Marcello - pseudonym of Adèle d´Affry, Duchess of Castiglione-Colonna - the count is "handsome as Leonardo da Vinci, intelligent".

The cartoonists took a bite out of it, but they were less tender. If the portrait-charge that Eugène Giraud brushes during one of the famous "Fridays of the Louvre" is relatively obliging, that of Paul Hadol is imbued with a ferocity which would have drawn the wrath of the imperial censorship to him, but , after the Second Empire, it is fashionable to stigmatize the errors of a regime deemed responsible for the French defeat against Prussia and unanimously reviled. The cartoonist thus presents Emilien de Nieuwerkerke as a director reigning unchallenged over an administration of the Imperial Museums with oligarchic functioning, and using the national heritage as he pleases. Indeed, in August 1855, at the request of Empress Eugenie, he sent paintings from the Louvre to the Château de Saint-Cloud, to adorn the apartments of Queen Victoria and Prince Albert, who had come to visit the Universal Exhibition. . Likewise, in 1866, he loaned paintings by Van der Meulen to the Imperial Circle of which he was vice-president. However, at the time, the senatus-consultum of November 12, 1852 placed the collections of imperial museums in the Crown's endowment, and the line between public heritage and imperial property was not clearly defined. Moreover, Nieuwerkerke has been criticized for certain hazardous acquisitions, such as in 1867 that of a supposed bust of the Italian Renaissance which turned out to be a forgery made by the sculptor Giovanni Bastianini. This quickly discovered deception earned the count the sarcasm of an indignant press. These unfortunate errors highlighted by the caricature cannot, however, obliterate a generally positive record of twenty years of activity.

  • Nieuwerkerke (Emilien de)
  • imperial menagerie
  • patrimony
  • Second Empire
  • court life
  • Napoleon III
  • Empress Eugenie (Montijo de)

Bibliography

Philippe CHENNEVIERES, Memories of a Director of Fine Arts, Paris, Athena, reissue 1979. Marguerite CASTILLON DU PERRON, Princess Mathilde, a female reign under the Second Empire, Paris, Amiot Dumont, 1953.Fernande GOLDSCHMIDT, Nieuwerkerke, the handsome Emilien, prestigious director of the Louvre under Napoleon III, Paris, Art International Publishers, 1997 Jean TULARD (dir.), Dictionary of the Second Empire, Paris, Fayard, 1995.The Count of Nieuwerkerke. Art and power under Napoleon III, catalog of the exhibition at the Musée national du Château de Compiègne, Paris, RMN, 2000.

To cite this article

Alain GALOIN, “Portrait of the Count of Nieuwerkerke”


Video: How to paint like Monet: Lessons on Impressionist landscape painting techniques - Part 1

Porträt des Grafen von Nieuwerkerke

Porträt des Grafen von Nieuwerkerke

  • Porträt des Grafen Emilien de Nieuwerkerke.

  • Die kaiserliche Menagerie, Porträt-Anklage Nr. 26 von Nieuwerkerke, "der Pudel".

    HADOL, bekannt als WHITE Paul (1835 - 1875)

Schließen

Titel: Porträt des Grafen Emilien de Nieuwerkerke.

Autor:

Erstellungsdatum : 1856

Datum angezeigt: 1856

Maße: Höhe 38 - Breite 26

Technik und andere Indikationen: Aquarell

Lagerraum: Website des Nationalmuseums des Château de Compiègne

Kontakt Copyright: © Foto RMN-Grand Palais - Website von D. Arnaudet

Bildreferenz: 97-017642 / C.55.121

Porträt des Grafen Emilien de Nieuwerkerke.

© Foto RMN-Grand Palais - D. Arnaudet

Schließen

Titel: Die kaiserliche Menagerie, Porträt-Anklage Nr. 26 von Nieuwerkerke, "der Pudel".

Autor: HADOL, bekannt als WHITE Paul (1835 - 1875)

Erstellungsdatum : 1870

Datum angezeigt: 1870

Maße: Höhe 27,2 - Breite 17,4

Technik und andere Indikationen: Farbige Lithographie

Lagerraum: Website des Nationalmuseums des Château de Compiègne

Kontakt Copyright: © Foto RMN-Grand Palais - D. Arnaudet

Bildreferenz: 97-011082 / C.63.105 / 27

Die kaiserliche Menagerie, Porträt-Anklage Nr. 26 von Nieuwerkerke, "der Pudel".

© Foto RMN-Grand Palais - D. Arnaudet

Erscheinungsdatum: Mai 2005

Historischer Zusammenhang

Die glänzende Karriere des Grafen Emilien de Nieuwerkerke begleitete die prächtigen Jahre des Zweiten Reiches: Sie begann 1849 unter der kurzlebigen Präsidentschaft der Republik Louis Napoleon Bonaparte und endete mit dem Sturz des Regimes am 4. September 1870. Abbildung Als Symbol des „kaiserlichen Festivals“ übernahm die „hübsche Emilien“ mehr als zwanzig Jahre lang die aktive und effiziente Leitung der kaiserlichen Museen.

In der Ausübung seines hohen Amtes befasst sich Nieuwerkerke hauptsächlich mit dem Louvre. Er erhöhte die Anzahl der Ausstellungsräume: Es gab 19 unter Napoleon I., 89 unter Louis-Philippe; es gibt 132 unter Napoleon III. Damit die Sammlungen ständig für die Öffentlichkeit sichtbar sind, werden die Salons nicht mehr im Louvre aufbewahrt: Sie finden zuerst in den Tuilerien, dann im Palais-Royal, dann im Salle des Menus-Plaisirs bis Napoleon statt III ließ das Palais des Beaux-Arts ab 1855 errichten. Es war das erste Gebäude, das als Museum als solches diente.

In künstlerischen Angelegenheiten ist der Geschmack des Grafen von Nieuwerkerke von einem ausgeprägten Konservatismus geprägt. Es wiegt mit all seinem Einfluss auf die Jury der Salons und setzt den "Feuerwehrmann" -Stil durch. Andererseits ist er ein entschlossener Anhänger der neomittelalterlichen Bewegung, die triumphiert.

Emilien de Nieuwerkerke verdankte seinen kometenhaften Aufstieg in der kaiserlichen Verwaltung zweifellos Prinzessin Mathilde, der ersten Cousine des Kaisers. Der "hübsche Batavianer" überzeugte sie sofort. In Bezug auf die Prinzessin bemerkt Horace de Viel-Castel, dass sie "ihre Affäre unter keinen Umständen verbirgt. Jeder weiß, dass sie im selben Hauptgebäude wohnen, und als die Prinzessin Nieuwerkerke empfängt, erscheint sie ohne Hut im Wohnzimmer. " Wie dem auch sei, am Ende des Zweiten Reiches konnten die vielen weiblichen Erfolge des Grafen diese lange außereheliche Affäre überwinden, die ihn zu hohen Verantwortlichkeiten geführt hatte.

Bildanalyse

Prinzessin Mathilde, die Notre-Dame-des-Arts hieß und Beschützerin von Schriftstellern und Künstlern, die sie in ihrem Wohnzimmer empfing, hatte selbst echte künstlerische Begabungen. Unter der Leitung der Malerin Eugène Giraud (1806-1881) hatte sie ein echtes Talent als Aquarellistin und Radiererin erworben, aber Ölgemälde kaum geschätzt. Ab 1859 stellte sie jedes Jahr im Salon wunderschöne Kopien von Meisterwerken aus dem Louvre aus. Sie erhielt 1861 eine lobende Erwähnung von der Jury und 1865 eine Medaille.

Diese Aquarellstudie wurde eindeutig für das Gesicht und die Pose von einem Pastellporträt des Earl of Nieuwerkerke inspiriert, das 1851 von Eugène Giraud ausgeführt und heute in Boston in einer Privatsammlung aufbewahrt wurde.

Die Prinzessin stellte den Grafen in der Taille dar, der von drei Vierteln aus in einem Sessel saß. Die linke Hand ist teilweise in der Weste eingerastet und der rechte Arm ruht auf der Armlehne des Sitzes. Er ist in voller Reife, stolz und selbstbewusst und sich der Macht bewusst, die er ausübt.

Kurz nach dem Untergang des Zweiten Reiches druckte Coulboeuf in Paris eine Reihe von einunddreißig äußerst grausamen Cartoons, die die Hauptfiguren des kaiserlichen Regimes stigmatisierten. Zu dieser Zeit gehörte die Karikatur zu den dynamischsten Waffen und politischen Sprachen. Diese einunddreißig Farblithographien wurden einfach mit "H" signiert. Das Ensemble trägt einen bedeutenden Titel: Die kaiserliche Menagerie bestand aus Wiederkäuern, Amphibien, Fleischfressern und anderen Haushaltsfressern, die Frankreich 20 Jahre lang verschlungen hatten.

Die Karikatur Nr. 26 ist dem Grafen Emilien de Nieuwerkerke gewidmet. Er ist in der Gestalt eines gekleideten Pudels dargestellt, eine Anspielung auf seine unterwürfige Loyalität gegenüber dem gefallenen Monarchen und ein wahrscheinlicher Hinweis auf die vielen kleinen Hunde seiner Geliebten, Prinzessin Mathilde, deren Monogramm ebenfalls auf den Oberschenkel tätowiert ist 'Tier. Die Kunstwerke - Gemälde, Statuetten -, die an seinem Schwanz befestigt sind, repräsentieren die Fehler und Fehlverhalten, die er bei der Ausführung seines hohen Amtes begangen hat. Eines dieser Gemälde zeigt einen "gekrönten Fisch", offensichtlich eine Makrele, eine triviale und eindeutige Erinnerung daran, wie er angeblich den Cousin des Kaisers benutzt hat, um seine persönlichen Ambitionen zu befriedigen.

Interpretation

Emilien de Nieuwerkerke, eine herausragende Persönlichkeit des kaiserlichen Regimes, war die Inspiration für die damaligen Künstler. Viele von ihnen malten sein Porträt: Édouard Dubufe (1820-1883), Henri Lehmann (1814-1882), Ernest Boetzel (1830 - um 1920), François-Joseph Heim (1787-1865), Eugène Giraud (1806- 1881), François Dien (1787-1865)… Die meisten dieser Maler sahen in ihm nur den offiziellen Charakter, der mit hoher Verantwortung ausgestattet und großzügig dekoriert war.

Das Porträt von Prinzessin Mathilde unterstreicht eher die Kraft der Verführung, die einige in der "hübschen Emilien" erkennen, deren Magnetismus sowohl auf Frauen als auch auf Männer ausgeübt wird. "Er hat die Schultern von Hercules Farnese und den Oberkörper eines Michelangelo", bemerkt Louis Hautecœur. Für den Bildhauer Marcello - Pseudonym von Adèle d´Affry, Herzogin von Castiglione-Colonna - ist der Graf "gutaussehend wie Leonardo da Vinci, intelligent".

Die Karikaturisten nahmen einen Bissen davon, aber sie waren weniger zart. Wenn die Porträtbeschuldigung, die Eugène Giraud während eines der berühmten "Freitage des Louvre" streift, relativ verbindlich ist, ist die von Paul Hadol von einer Wildheit durchdrungen, die den Zorn der kaiserlichen Zensur auf ihn gezogen hätte, aber Nach dem Zweiten Reich ist es Mode, die Fehler eines Regimes zu stigmatisieren, das für die französische Niederlage gegen Preußen verantwortlich ist und einstimmig beschimpft wird. Der Karikaturist präsentiert Emilien de Nieuwerkerke somit als Direktor, der ohne Spaltung über eine Verwaltung der kaiserlichen Museen mit oligarchischer Funktion regiert und das nationale Erbe nach Belieben nutzt. Tatsächlich sandte er im August 1855 auf Wunsch von Kaiserin Eugenie Gemälde aus dem Louvre an das Château de Saint-Cloud, um die Wohnungen von Königin Victoria und Prinz Albert zu schmücken, die gekommen waren, um die Weltausstellung zu besuchen. . Ebenso verlieh er 1866 Gemälde von Van der Meulen an den Kaiserkreis, dessen Vizepräsident er war. Zu dieser Zeit stellte das Senatus-Konsultum vom 12. November 1852 die Sammlungen kaiserlicher Museen in die Kronstiftung, und die Grenze zwischen öffentlichem Erbe und kaiserlichem Eigentum war nicht klar definiert. Darüber hinaus wurde Nieuwerkerke für bestimmte gefährliche Anschaffungen kritisiert, beispielsweise 1867 für eine mutmaßliche italienische Renaissance-Büste, die sich als Fälschung des Bildhauers Giovanni Bastianini herausstellte. Diese schnell entdeckte Täuschung brachte dem Grafen den Sarkasmus einer empörten Presse ein. Diese unglücklichen Fehler, die durch die Karikatur unterstrichen werden, können jedoch eine allgemein positive Bilanz von zwanzig Jahren Aktivität nicht auslöschen.

  • Nieuwerkerke (Emilien de)
  • kaiserliche Menagerie
  • Patrimonium
  • Zweites Reich
  • Gerichtsleben
  • Napoleon III
  • Kaiserin Eugenie (Montijo de)

Literaturverzeichnis

Philippe CHENNEVIERES, Erinnerungen an einen Direktor der Schönen Künste, Paris, Athena, Neuauflage 1979. Marguerite CASTILLON DU PERRON, Prinzessin Mathilde, eine weibliche Regierung unter dem Zweiten Reich, Paris, Amiot Dumont, 1953. Fernande GOLDSCHMIDT, Nieuwerkerke, der hübsche Emilien, angesehener Direktor des Louvre unter Napoleon III, Paris, Art International Publishers, 1997 Jean TULARD (Regie), Wörterbuch des Zweiten Reiches, Paris, Fayard, 1995.Der Graf von Nieuwerkerke. Kunst und Macht unter Napoleon III, Katalog der Ausstellung im Musée national du Château de Compiègne, Paris, RMN, 2000.

Um diesen Artikel zu zitieren

Alain GALOIN, "Porträt des Grafen von Nieuwerkerke"


Video: Helmut Graf von Moltke Generalstabschef