The port of Le Havre

The port of Le Havre


We are searching data for your request:

Forums and discussions:
Manuals and reference books:
Data from registers:
Wait the end of the search in all databases.
Upon completion, a link will appear to access the found materials.

To close

Title: The Port of Le Havre, Bassin de la Barre.

Author : BOUDIN Eugène-Louis (1824 - 1898)

Creation date : 1888

Date shown: 1888

Dimensions: Height 32 - Width 41

Technique and other indications: Oil on parqueted wood.

Storage location: Orsay Museum website

Contact copyright: © Photo RMN-Grand Palais - J.-G. Berizzisite web

Picture reference: 97-010310 / RF1978-19

The Port of Le Havre, Bassin de la Barre.

© Photo RMN-Grand Palais - J.-G. Berizzi

Publication date: September 2008

Historical context

The first globalization

The spread of the British industrial model to North-West Europe and the United States on the one hand, the exploitation of colonial empires on the other, concurred in the second half of the 19th century.e century to an explosion of trade often described as “the first globalization”. Under the Empire then the IIIe Republic, Le Havre, in particular, then experienced a real golden age linked to general world growth. A native of Honfleur, a specialist with Jongkind in seascapes and inspirer of the Impressionists, he painted in Le Havre more or less continuously from 1885 to 1889.

Image Analysis

A testament to the "spirit of sketch"

In 1888, Eugène Boudin undertook, no doubt under the influence that the Impressionists had on him in return, to "rejuvenate his painting". The light in particular is more abundant. He tries, he then says, not to "polish" any more, and adds "I do my best to keep my painting as sketchy." A bright atmosphere reigns over the Barre basin (opened in 1820), located not far from the city center. Boudin grasps it in its length, seen from the south quay. On the right appear the docks of the Lamande quay, with tall vertical structures characteristic of constructions carried out in the 19th century.e century in the big ports like Marseilles or Hamburg. Isolated at the back stands that of the Rotterdam quay, while further on you can guess the rigging of the buildings wet in the Vauban basin. On either side are moored sloops, deep-sea fishing sailboats, with white rails. The metal "V" frame of a crane on the left and the three boats navigating in the center stand out in dark against the bright elements.

Interpretation

1852-1914, the largest city in Normandy, the second port in France

Le Havre is one of those ports that have benefited from the shift in trade from the Mediterranean to the Atlantic. While it retains a fishing activity, as Eugène Boudin shows, this open sea port, privileged in this respect compared to Rouen, becomes a starting point and arrival point for many commodities. Emigrants to America gain days at sea in Genoa or Hamburg. The flow of expensive but light products feeds a large international market specializing in tropical foods. The traders bring them from all over the world to redistribute them, by cabotage and soon by rail, throughout France and Europe. The need to store and preserve this pile of goods justifies the creation of specific buildings, the docks. Concomitantly and customarily for the industrial age, the city grew in area and population (20,000 Le Havre in 1800, 120,000 in 1890) then acquired industrial facilities linked to the port such as shipyards.

  • impressionism
  • Harbor
  • industrial Revolution
  • cranes

Bibliography

Alain BELTRAN and Pascal GRISET, The Economic Growth of France, 1815-1914, Paris, Armand Colin, 1994. André CORVISIER (dir.), History of Havre and the Seine estuary, Toulouse, Privat, 1987. Marie -Françoise COUVEHNES, Les Messageries maritimes, the rise of a large French shipping company, 1851-1894, Paris, PUPS, 2007.Georges DUBY (dir.), Histoire de la France urbaine, volume IV, “The city of the industrial age ”, by Maurice AGULHON, Françoise CHOAY, Maurice CRUBELLIER, Yves LEQUIN and Marcel RONCAYOLO, Paris, Le Seuil, 1983, re-edition“ Points Histoire ”, 1998.

To cite this article

Bernard COLOMB, "The port of Le Havre"


Video: Le Havre, France

Der Hafen von Le Havre

Der Hafen von Le Havre

Schließen

Titel: Der Hafen von Le Havre, Bassin de la Barre.

Autor: BOUDIN Eugène-Louis (1824 - 1898)

Erstellungsdatum : 1888

Datum angezeigt: 1888

Maße: Höhe 32 - Breite 41

Technik und andere Indikationen: Öl auf Parkettholz.

Speicherort: Orsay Museum Website

Kontakt Copyright: © Foto RMN-Grand Palais - J.-G. Berizzisite Web

Bildreferenz: 97-010310 / RF1978-19

Der Hafen von Le Havre, Bassin de la Barre.

© Foto RMN-Grand Palais - J.-G. Berizzi

Erscheinungsdatum: September 2008

Historischer Zusammenhang

Die erste Globalisierung

Die Ausbreitung des britischen Industriemodells auf Nordwesteuropa und die Vereinigten Staaten einerseits und die Ausbeutung von Kolonialreichen andererseits stimmten in der zweiten Hälfte des 19. Jahrhunderts überein.e Jahrhundert zu einer Explosion des Handels oft als "die erste Globalisierung" bezeichnet. Unter dem Imperium dann die IIIe Insbesondere die Republik Le Havre erlebte damals ein echtes goldenes Zeitalter, das mit dem allgemeinen Wachstum der Welt verbunden war. Der gebürtige Honfleur, Spezialist für Seestücke bei Jongkind und Inspirator der Impressionisten, malte von 1885 bis 1889 mehr oder weniger ununterbrochen in Le Havre.

Bildanalyse

Ein Zeugnis für den "Geist der Skizze"

1888 verpflichtete sich Eugène Boudin zweifellos unter dem Einfluss der Impressionisten, "sein Gemälde zu verjüngen". Insbesondere das Licht ist häufiger. Er versucht, sagt er, nicht mehr zu "polieren" und fügt hinzu: "Ich gebe mein Bestes, um mein Bild so skizzenhaft zu halten." Über dem 1820 eröffneten Barre-Becken, das nicht weit vom Stadtzentrum entfernt liegt, herrscht eine helle Atmosphäre. Boudin ergreift es in seiner Länge, vom Südkai aus gesehen. Auf der rechten Seite erscheinen die Docks des Lamande-Kais mit hohen vertikalen Strukturen, die für Bauwerke aus dem 19. Jahrhundert charakteristisch sind.e Jahrhundert in den großen Häfen wie Marseille oder Hamburg. Auf der Rückseite befindet sich isoliert der Rotterdamer Kai. Weiter unten können Sie die Takelage der im Vauban-Becken nassen Gebäude erraten. Auf beiden Seiten befinden sich festgemachte Schaluppen, Hochseefischersegelboote mit weißen Schienen. Der Metallrahmen "V" eines Krans links und die drei in der Mitte navigierenden Boote heben sich im Dunkeln von den hellen Elementen ab.

Interpretation

1852-1914 die größte Stadt der Normandie, der zweite Hafen Frankreichs

Le Havre ist einer der Häfen, die von der Verlagerung des Handels vom Mittelmeer zum Atlantik profitiert haben. Wie Eugène Boudin zeigt, ist dieser offene Seehafen, der in dieser Hinsicht im Vergleich zu Rouen privilegiert ist, ein Ausgangspunkt für viele Waren. Auswanderer nach Amerika gewinnen Tage auf See in Genua oder Hamburg. Der Strom teurer, aber leichter Produkte speist einen großen internationalen Markt, der sich auf tropische Lebensmittel spezialisiert hat. Die Händler bringen sie aus der ganzen Welt, um sie per Kabotage und bald auch auf der Schiene in ganz Frankreich und Europa neu zu verteilen. Die Notwendigkeit, diesen Warenstapel zu lagern und zu konservieren, rechtfertigt die Schaffung bestimmter Gebäude, der Docks. Gleichzeitig und für das Industriezeitalter üblich, wächst die Stadt in Fläche und Bevölkerung (20.000 Le Havre im Jahr 1800, 120.000 im Jahr 1890) und erwirbt dann mit dem Hafen verbundene Industrieanlagen wie Werften.

  • Impressionismus
  • Hafen
  • Industrielle Revolution
  • Kräne

Literaturverzeichnis

Alain BELTRAN und Pascal GRISET, La Croissance économique de la France, 1815-1914, Paris, Armand Colin, 1994. André CORVISIER (Regie), Geschichte von Havre und der Seine-Mündung, Toulouse, Privat, 1987. Marie -Françoise COUVEHNES, Maritimes Les Messageries, Aufstieg einer großen französischen Reederei, 1851-1894, Paris, PUPS, 2007.Georges DUBY (Regie), Histoire de la France urbaine, Band IV, „La ville de Industriezeitalter “, von Maurice AGULHON, Françoise CHOAY, Maurice CRUBELLIER, Yves LEQUIN und Marcel RONCAYOLO, Paris, Le Seuil, 1983, Schilf. Sammlung„ Points Histoire “, 1998.

Um diesen Artikel zu zitieren

Bernard COLOMB, "Der Hafen von Le Havre"


Video: Claude Monet Art Museums Full HD 1080i