Never again !

Never again !


We are searching data for your request:

Forums and discussions:
Manuals and reference books:
Data from registers:
Wait the end of the search in all databases.
Upon completion, a link will appear to access the found materials.

  • Let’s kill the war with general disarmament.

    ANONYMOUS

  • Children, do not play war.

    ANONYMOUS

Let’s kill the war with general disarmament.

© Contemporary Collections

Children, do not play war.

© Contemporary Collections

Publication date: April 2007

Historical context

" Never again ! "

The Great War, by its unbearable duration, the extension and multiplication of its fronts, the experience of the trenches and the relentless mobilization of the rear, had a profound impact on the European populations. Remembrance ceremonies and published accounts instill pacifism, while Aristide Briand, mastermind of national diplomacy in the 1920s, struggles to find partners to "outlaw war." The relative failure of the Briand-Kellog Pact in 1928 did not call these efforts into question: a large Conference on Disarmament was organized in Geneva in 1931 under the aegis of a S.D.N. But Germany is rearming, and France has the world's largest army: Herriot's formula "arbitration, security, disarmament" struggles to materialize.

Image Analysis

The campaign for general disarmament

The poster sponsored by S.F.I.O. for the legislative elections of 1928, although pacifist in the language, is visually of rare violence. The poster artist chose a simple composition: a clenched fist, made red by effort, with fused fingers, firmly holds a severed head reminiscent of Medusa, a figure from Greek mythology. Athena punished this beautiful woman by turning her hair into snakes and afflicting her with a look that now petrifies those who pass her. The green tint used underlines the ugliness of the features: it is the hideous and hateful war that is thus beheaded. The drops of blood are heavy, probably blood spilled during the Great War. The closed fist recalls that of the workers. But here, the Greek hero Perseus has as his heir, between the wars, the political party: in this case, the S.F.I.O. internationalist socialist, mentioned twice, at the top and at the bottom of the poster.

The second document is a poster circulated by the International League of Peace Fighters in the early 1930s. Head down, focused on the ordering of the figurines that wear the bulging French helmet, a child in schoolboy breeches plays wisely to small soldiers. The gray tones illustrate the banality of the scene. But the big cannon is pointed at the little boy's chest - and his already red sweater. Importantly, as recently invented x-rayed, the skeletons of soldiers reveal death lurking beneath the apparent order of attention and the elegance of the condom. Their smile, as frozen as the military pose, probably chilled with horror the children to whom the slogan was addressed directly, and who could easily identify with the innocent at risk of his life.

Interpretation

Limits and dangers of French pacifism in the interwar period

If Medusa, the evil mythological being, was the only mortal Gorgon, her head figured on the aegis - the shield of Athena, goddess of war - on the contrary provided perfect protection. The (classical) ambivalence of Greek myths is used here to illustrate the paradoxical slogan chosen by the S.F.I.O. : kill the war by… disarmament. The brandished head causes repulsion, but the closed eyes and grief are also reminiscent of the face of a Mater dolorosa, a motif often used to evoke the civilian populations who have suffered from the conflict. This poster, which bears the name of the socialist newspaper as on any other electoral medium The Popular, belongs to the 1920s. In the 1930s, the pacifist current splits in two: the intransigent, of the extreme right and the extreme left, are ready to go as far as an alliance with Hitler's Germany to avoid the war ; on the left, anti-fascism is grafted on pacifism and brings together socialists and communists.

The International League of Peace Fighters brings together writers, like Stefan Zweig and Jules Romains, who refuse to let the horrors of war set Europe ablaze again. The drawing, which denounces the masked militarism of these toys, a traditional gift to little boys - including during the Great War by the way - can be read on two levels. The simplicity and harmony that this peaceful play scene exudes stands in stark contrast to the war experience that most children do not have, but which directly appeals to what their parents may have gone through at the same age. Linked to this memorial reference is a grim prognosis for future generations, which inscribes the permanence of the danger of war in the flesh and innocent games of childhood. "Moral disarmament" does not mean the abandonment of all vigilance, quite the contrary: it requires active engagement not only against war, but against the imperialism which is responsible for its outbreak.

  • allegory
  • childhood
  • War of 14-18
  • pacifism
  • patriotism
  • Third Republic
  • League of Nations (League of Nations)
  • Herriot (Edouard)
  • imperialism
  • propaganda
  • SFIO

Bibliography

Maurice AGULHON, The Republic, volume II, “1932 to the present day”, Paris, Hachette, coll. "Pluriel", new expanded edition, 1990. Jean-Jacques BECKER and Gilles CANDAR (eds.), History of lefts in France, volume II, "20th century, put to the test of history", Paris, La Découverte, 2004. Dominique BORNE and Henri DUBIEF, The Depression of the 1930s (1929-1938), Paris, Le Seuil, coll. "Points", 1989. Raymond HUARD, Universal Suffrage in France (1848-1946), Paris, Aubier, 1990. Jean-Marie MAYEUR, Political life under the Third Republic, Paris, Le Seuil, 1993.

To cite this article

Alexandre SUMPF, “Never again! "


Video: Never Again

Nie wieder !

Nie wieder !

  • Lasst uns den Krieg mit allgemeiner Abrüstung töten.

    ANONYM

  • Kinder, spielt keinen Krieg.

    ANONYM

Lasst uns den Krieg mit allgemeiner Abrüstung töten.

© Zeitgenössische Sammlungen

Kinder, spielt keinen Krieg.

© Zeitgenössische Sammlungen

Erscheinungsdatum: April 2007

Historischer Zusammenhang

" Nie wieder ! ""

Der Große Krieg hatte aufgrund seiner unerträglichen Dauer, der Erweiterung und Vervielfachung seiner Fronten, der Erfahrung der Gräben und der unerbittlichen Mobilisierung des Rückens tiefgreifende Auswirkungen auf die europäische Bevölkerung. Gedenkzeremonien und veröffentlichte Berichte führen zu Pazifismus, da Aristide Briand, Vordenker der nationalen Diplomatie in den 1920er Jahren, Schwierigkeiten hat, Partner für einen "Kriegsverbot" zu finden. Das relative Scheitern des Briand-Kellog-Pakts im Jahr 1928 stellte diese Bemühungen nicht in Frage: 1931 wurde in Genf eine große Abrüstungskonferenz unter der Schirmherrschaft eines S.D.N. Aber Deutschland rüstet sich auf und Frankreich hat die größte Armee der Welt: Herriots Formel "Schiedsgerichtsbarkeit, Sicherheit, Abrüstung" kämpft um die Verwirklichung.

Bildanalyse

Die Kampagne für die allgemeine Abrüstung

Das von S.F.I.O. denn die Parlamentswahlen von 1928 sind, obwohl in den Worten pazifistisch, visuell von seltener Gewalt. Der Plakatkünstler hat eine einfache Komposition gewählt: Eine durch Anstrengung rot geballte Faust mit verschmolzenen Fingern hält einen abgetrennten Kopf fest, der an Medusa erinnert, eine Figur aus der griechischen Mythologie. Athena bestrafte diese schöne Frau, indem sie ihre Haare in Schlangen verwandelte und sie mit einem Blick bedrängte, der jetzt diejenigen versteinert, die an ihr vorbeikommen. Die verwendete Grüntönung unterstreicht die Hässlichkeit der Merkmale: Es ist der schreckliche und hasserfüllte Krieg, der auf diese Weise enthauptet wird. Die Blutstropfen sind schwer, wahrscheinlich während des Ersten Weltkriegs vergossenes Blut. Die geschlossene Faust erinnert an die der Arbeiter. Aber hier hat der griechische Held Perseus zwischen den Kriegen die politische Partei als seinen Erben: in diesem Fall die S.F.I.O. Internationalistischer Sozialist, zweimal erwähnt, oben und unten auf dem Plakat.

Das zweite Dokument ist ein Plakat, das Anfang der 1930er Jahre von der International League of Peace Fighters in Umlauf gebracht wurde. Ein Kind in Schulshorts spielt mit Bedacht auf die Reihenfolge der Figuren, die den prall gefüllten französischen Helm tragen zu kleinen Soldaten. Die Grautöne veranschaulichen die Banalität der Szene. Aber die große Kanone ist auf die Brust des kleinen Jungen gerichtet - und auf seinen bereits roten Pullover. Wichtig ist, dass, wie kürzlich erfunden, die Skelette von Soldaten den Tod offenbaren, der unter der scheinbaren Reihenfolge der Aufmerksamkeit und der Eleganz des Kondoms lauert. Ihr Lächeln, so gefroren wie die Militärpose, erschreckte wahrscheinlich vor Entsetzen die Kinder, an die der Slogan direkt gerichtet war und die sich leicht mit den Unschuldigen identifizieren konnten, die in Lebensgefahr waren.

Interpretation

Grenzen und Gefahren des französischen Pazifismus in der Zwischenkriegszeit

Wenn Medusa, das böse mythologische Wesen, die einzige sterbliche Gorgon war, bot ihr Kopf, der auf der Ägide abgebildet war - der Schild von Athena, der Göttin des Krieges - im Gegenteil perfekten Schutz. Die (klassische) Ambivalenz griechischer Mythen wird hier verwendet, um den paradoxen Slogan zu veranschaulichen, den der S.F.I.O. : töte den Krieg durch ... Abrüstung. Der geschwungene Kopf verursacht Abstoßung, aber die geschlossenen Augen und der Kummer erinnern auch an das Gesicht eines Mater dolorosa, ein Motiv, das oft verwendet wird, um die Zivilbevölkerung zu evozieren, die unter dem Konflikt gelitten hat. Dieses Plakat, auf dem der Name der sozialistischen Zeitung wie auf jedem anderen Wahlmedium getragen wird Der populäregehört zu den 1920er Jahren. In den 1930er Jahren teilt sich die pazifistische Strömung in zwei Teile: Die Unnachgiebigen der extremen Rechten und der extremen Linken sind bereit, ein Bündnis mit Hitlers Deutschland zu vermeiden der Krieg ; Auf der linken Seite wird der Antifaschismus auf den Pazifismus übertragen und bringt Sozialisten und Kommunisten zusammen.

Die Internationale Liga der Friedenskämpfer vereint Schriftsteller wie Stefan Zweig und Jules Romains, die sich weigern, die Schrecken des Krieges Europa wieder in Brand setzen zu lassen. Die Zeichnung, die den maskierten Militarismus dieser Spielzeuge anprangert, ein traditionelles Geschenk an kleine Jungen - übrigens auch während des Ersten Weltkriegs -, kann auf einer doppelten Ebene gelesen werden. Die Einfachheit und Harmonie, die diese friedliche Spielszene ausstrahlt, steht in krassem Gegensatz zu der Kriegserfahrung, die die meisten Kinder nicht haben, die aber direkt anspricht, was ihre Eltern im gleichen Alter durchgemacht haben könnten. Verbunden mit dieser Gedenkreferenz ist eine düstere Prognose für zukünftige Generationen, die die Dauerhaftigkeit der Kriegsgefahr in das Fleisch und unschuldige Spiele der Kindheit einschreibt. "Moralische Abrüstung" bedeutet nicht die Aufgabe aller Wachsamkeit, ganz im Gegenteil: Es erfordert aktives Engagement nicht nur gegen den Krieg, sondern auch gegen den Imperialismus, der für seinen Ausbruch verantwortlich ist.

  • Allegorie
  • Kindheit
  • Krieg von 14-18
  • Pazifismus
  • Patriotismus
  • Dritte Republik
  • Völkerbund (Völkerbund)
  • Herriot (Edouard)
  • Imperialismus
  • Propaganda
  • SFIO

Literaturverzeichnis

Maurice AGULHON, Die Republik, Band II, "1932 bis heute", Paris, Hachette, Slg. "Pluriel", neue erweiterte Ausgabe, 1990. Jean-Jacques BECKER und Gilles CANDAR (Hrsg.), Geschichte der Linken in Frankreich, Band II, "20. Jahrhundert, auf die Probe gestellt", Paris, La Découverte, 2004. Dominique BORNE und Henri DUBIEF, Die Depression der 1930er Jahre (1929-1938), Paris, Le Seuil, umg. "Points", 1989. Raymond HUARD, Allgemeines Wahlrecht in Frankreich (1848-1946), Paris, Aubier, 1990. Jean-Marie MAYEUR, Politisches Leben unter der Dritten Republik, Paris, Le Seuil, 1993.

Um diesen Artikel zu zitieren

Alexandre SUMPF: „Nie wieder! ""


Video: Cro Rockstar