The pleasures of the beach in the 19th centurye century

The pleasures of the beach in the 19th century<sup>e</sup> century


We are searching data for your request:

Forums and discussions:
Manuals and reference books:
Data from registers:
Wait the end of the search in all databases.
Upon completion, a link will appear to access the found materials.

  • Granville Beach.

    ISABEY Eugene (1803 - 1886)

  • Bathers on Trouville beach.

    BOUDIN Eugène-Louis (1824 - 1898)

  • On the beach.

    MANET Edouard (1832 - 1883)

To close

Title: Granville Beach.

Author : ISABEY Eugene (1803 - 1886)

Creation date : 1863

Date shown:

Dimensions: Height 83 - Width 124

Technique and other indications: Oil painting on canvas

Storage place: Museum of the Old Castle of Laval website

Contact copyright: © Musée du vieux Granville, repository of the Musée de Laval

© Musée du vieux Granville, repository of the Musée de Laval

To close

Title: Bathers on Trouville beach.

Author : BOUDIN Eugène-Louis (1824 - 1898)

Creation date : 1869

Date shown:

Dimensions: Height 31 - Width 48

Technique and other indications: oil painting on wood

Storage place: Orsay Museum website

Contact copyright: © Photo RMN-Grand Palais - D. Arnaudet

Picture reference: 85EE2020 / RF1968

Bathers on Trouville beach.

© Photo RMN-Grand Palais - D. Arnaudet

To close

Title: On the beach.

Author : MANET Edouard (1832 - 1883)

Creation date : 1873

Date shown:

Dimensions: Height 59.6 - Width 73.2

Technique and other indications: Oil painting on canvas

Storage place: Orsay Museum website

Contact copyright: © Photo RMN-Grand Palais - H. Lewandowski

Picture reference: 99DE4986 / RF1953 -24

© Photo RMN-Grand Palais - H. Lewandowski

Publication date: July 2012

Historical context

The shores of the Channel, "territories of the void" until the years 1820-1830, attracted from this period an increasingly numerous clientele of aristocrats, English and French. Tourism also benefits from a quality rail network which, from the 1850s, linked the small ports of Normandy to each other and to Paris.

Image Analysis

The artists of the 1860s and 1870s, observers of a still new pleasure and need, describe to us a practice of the beach that we no longer recognize today. The Bathers of Eugène Boudin, paradoxically, do not seem very keen on swimming. The weather, moreover, does not lend itself to this: the colors of a rather reduced palette - the dirty white of the sky, the predominantly black, white, cream, ocher of the beach - seem to indicate a weak sunshine. This civilized company of elegant gentlemen and ladies who have come to the beach in suits or long dresses anyway prefers to converse among themselves as in a living room, to walk on the foreshore in small groups or to contemplate the sea. On the beach, we remains standing or sitting; only children having fun in the foreground and a small dog on the far left. In the picture On the beach, the couple represented by Manet are just as peaceful and refined, but at least they are on the sand. The woman, dressed in a dress that covers her from the feet to the shoulders, reads, sits, while the man, in a black coat and beret, gazes out at the sea with a few sails. Although their bodies are not uncovered, their position is relatively relaxed: it is a way of involving the viewer, already seduced by the contrast between light colors (the pale yellow sand, the white dress, the foam) and dark (the black of the coat, the royal blue of the sea) and attracted in the painting by the fact of a horizon line placed high enough. Granville Beach Isabey is not the scene of worldly conversations nor of silent pleasures, but the place of a storm which casts its gray, beige and black hues on the sea and the cliffs: the sea wind pushes dark clouds towards the sea. coast, waves the sea, flaps the flags (red, precisely) and disrupts the bathers, which does not prevent them from remaining on the shore or even in the water, heckling and circling, inside of this zone "for single women" which is reserved for them. They wear complete costumes which make them sacrifice their beauty to decency, as Alphonse Karr deplores it in 1841: “With their woolen suit, their jacket, their pants and their oilcloth cap, [the bathers] seem like a crowd of nasty monkeys frolicking on the beach. »(Quoted by G. DESERT, Daily life on the Normandy beaches from the Second Empire to the Roaring Twenties, Hachette, 1983, p. 176).

Interpretation

These three paintings show the variety of beach practices in the 19th century. The pleasure of bathers is both spiritual and physical, because the stay at the sea is at the same time cure, contemplation, social act and leisure. The aristocrats and bourgeois who, in the nineteenth century, "form the world of bathers par excellence", like to find in the resorts of the Channel (and soon the Atlantic) luxury hotels, racetracks, casinos, theaters, the walks and regattas to which they are accustomed. It was at this point that the taste for maritime vacationing was born, which responds to a new need, but also to a new sociability. The clientele of the seaside resorts spread under the Second Empire, before its massification at the start of the Third Republic, which will continue to expand thereafter. But, until the 1930s, only a wealthy clientele could taste the pleasures of the beach; and it is naturally an aristocratic atmosphere that Proust celebrates when he describes, at the beginning of the century, the place of his vacation as a young man, Balbec (a town inspired by Cabourg), with its women with sought-after dresses, its Grand-Hotel, its casino and its dike on which he sees young girls parade "in a sporting procession, worthy of the antique and of Giotto" (In Search of Lost Time, t. II, In the shade of young girls in bloom, Gallimard, nrf, 1919, p. 113 and 99).

  • bourgeoisie
  • impressionism
  • Hobbies
  • Normandy
  • tourism
  • sea
  • beach
  • Handle
  • Granville

Bibliography

Daniel CLARY Tourism and vacationing on the Normandy coast , State thesis, Caen, 1974.Alain CORBIN (dir) The Advent of Leisure: 1850-1960 Paris, Aubier, 1995. Gabriel DESERT Daily life on the Normandy beaches from the Second Empire to the Roaring Twenties Paris, Hachette, 1983.P. DUPRE Economic history. The coast of Calvados, 1830-1939. From traditional activities to tourism , 3rd cycle thesis, Caen, 1980.Jacques-Sylvain KLEIN Normandy: cradle of Impressionism: 1820-1900 Rennes, Ed.Ouest-France, 1996.Michel MOLLAT DU JOURDIN "Le front de mer", in Pierre NORA (dir), Memorial place , volume III, France Paris, Gallimard, 1986, p. 617-671.

To cite this article

Ivan JABLONKA, "The pleasures of the beach in the XIXe century "

Connections

Find this work in the MOOC "Impressionism, from scandal to consecration". Each course is organized around a specific theme and includes documentary resources in the form of videos and learning activities. At the end of each sequence, a fun quiz allows participants to self-assess the knowledge acquired.

This MOOC, free and accessible to all, is available at this address: www.mooc-impressionnisme.com


Video: Niall Atkinson, Getting Lost in the Italian Renaissance: The Geography of Urban Disorientation

Die Freuden des Strandes im 19. Jahrhunderte Jahrhundert

Die Freuden des Strandes im 19. Jahrhundert<sup>e</sup> Jahrhundert

  • Granville Beach.

    ISABEY Eugene (1803 - 1886)

  • Badegäste am Strand von Trouville.

    BOUDIN Eugène-Louis (1824 - 1898)

  • Am Strand.

    MANET Edouard (1832 - 1883)

Schließen

Titel: Granville Beach.

Autor: ISABEY Eugene (1803 - 1886)

Erstellungsdatum : 1863

Datum angezeigt:

Maße: Höhe 83 - Breite 124

Technik und andere Indikationen: Ölgemälde auf Leinwand

Speicherort: Website des Museums des Alten Schlosses von Laval

Kontakt Copyright: © Musée du Vieux Granville, hinterlegt im Musée de Laval

© Musée du Vieux Granville, hinterlegt im Musée de Laval

Schließen

Titel: Badegäste am Strand von Trouville.

Autor: BOUDIN Eugène-Louis (1824 - 1898)

Erstellungsdatum : 1869

Datum angezeigt:

Maße: Höhe 31 - Breite 48

Technik und andere Indikationen: Ölgemälde auf Holz

Speicherort: Orsay Museum Website

Kontakt Copyright: © Foto RMN-Grand Palais - D. Arnaudet

Bildreferenz: 85EE2020 / RF1968

Badegäste am Strand von Trouville.

© Foto RMN-Grand Palais - D. Arnaudet

Schließen

Titel: Am Strand.

Autor: MANET Edouard (1832 - 1883)

Erstellungsdatum : 1873

Datum angezeigt:

Maße: Höhe 59,6 - Breite 73,2

Technik und andere Indikationen: Ölgemälde auf Leinwand

Speicherort: Orsay Museum Website

Kontakt Copyright: © Foto RMN-Grand Palais - H. Lewandowski

Bildreferenz: 99DE4986 / RF1953 -24

© Foto RMN-Grand Palais - H. Lewandowski

Erscheinungsdatum: Juli 2012

Historischer Zusammenhang

Die Ufer des Kanals, "Gebiete der Leere" bis in die Jahre 1820-1830, zogen aus dieser Zeit eine immer zahlreichere Klientel von Aristokraten, Engländern und Franzosen an. Der Tourismus profitiert auch von einem hochwertigen Schienennetz, das ab den 1850er Jahren die kleinen Häfen der Normandie miteinander und mit Paris verband.

Bildanalyse

Die Künstler der 1860er und 1870er Jahre, Beobachter eines noch neuen Vergnügens und Bedürfnisses, beschreiben uns eine Praxis des Strandes, die wir heute nicht mehr erkennen. Das Badegäste von Eugène Boudin scheinen paradoxerweise nicht sehr schwimmfreudig zu sein. Das Wetter eignet sich darüber hinaus nicht dafür: Die Farben einer eher reduzierten Palette - das schmutzige Weiß des Himmels, das überwiegend Schwarz, Weiß, Creme, Ocker des Strandes - scheinen auf einen schwachen Sonnenschein hinzuweisen. Diese zivilisierte Gesellschaft eleganter Herren und Damen, die in Anzügen oder langen Kleidern an den Strand gekommen sind, unterhält sich ohnehin lieber wie in einem Wohnzimmer, geht in kleinen Gruppen an der Küste spazieren oder betrachtet das Meer. bleibt stehen oder sitzen; Nur Kinder, die Spaß im Vordergrund haben, und ein kleiner Hund ganz links. In dem Bild Am StrandDas von Manet vertretene Paar ist ebenso friedlich und raffiniert, aber zumindest im Sand. Die Frau, gekleidet in ein Kleid, das sie von den Füßen bis zu den Schultern bedeckt, liest und sitzt, während der Mann in einem schwarzen Mantel und einer Baskenmütze mit ein paar Segeln auf das Meer blickt. Obwohl ihre Körper nicht freigelegt sind, ist ihre Position relativ entspannt: Es ist eine Möglichkeit, den Betrachter einzubeziehen, der bereits durch den Kontrast zwischen hellen Farben (hellgelber Sand, weißes Kleid, Schaum) und verführt ist dunkel (das Schwarz des Mantels, das Königsblau des Meeres) und im Gemälde durch die Tatsache angezogen, dass eine Horizontlinie hoch genug platziert ist. Granville Beach Isabey ist nicht Schauplatz weltlicher Gespräche oder stiller Freuden, sondern der Ort eines Sturms, der seine Grau-, Beige- und Schwarztöne auf das Meer und die Klippen wirft: Der Seewind drückt dunkle Wolken in Richtung Meer. Küste, schwenkt das Meer, schlägt die Fahnen (rot, genau) und stört die Badegäste, was sie nicht daran hindert, am Ufer oder sogar im Wasser zu bleiben, Zwischenrufe und Kreise im Inneren dieser Zone "für alleinstehende Frauen", die für sie reserviert ist. Sie tragen komplette Kostüme, die sie dazu bringen, ihre Schönheit für Anstand zu opfern, wie Alphonse Karr es 1841 bedauert: „Mit ihrem Wollanzug, ihrer Jacke, ihrer Hose und ihrer Wachstuchkappe wirken [die Badegäste] wie eine Menschenmenge böse Affen tummeln sich am Strand. »(Zitiert von G. DESERT, Das tägliche Leben an den Stränden der Normandie vom Zweiten Reich bis in die zwanziger JahreHachette, 1983, p. 176).

Interpretation

Diese drei Gemälde zeigen die Vielfalt der Strandpraktiken im 19. Jahrhundert. Das Vergnügen der Badegäste ist sowohl geistig als auch körperlich, denn der Aufenthalt am Meer ist gleichzeitig Heilung, Kontemplation, sozialer Akt und Freizeit. Die Aristokraten und Bourgeois, die im 19. Jahrhundert "die Welt der Badegäste schlechthin bilden", finden in den Ferienorten des Kanals (und bald auch im Atlantik) Luxushotels, Rennstrecken, Kasinos, Theater, die Spaziergänge und Regatten, an die sie gewöhnt sind. An diesem Punkt wurde der Geschmack für Seeurlaub geboren, der auf ein neues Bedürfnis, aber auch auf eine neue Geselligkeit reagiert. Die Klientel der Badeorte breitete sich unter dem Zweiten Reich aus, bevor es zu Beginn der Dritten Republik massiviert wurde, die danach weiter expandieren wird. Bis in die 1930er Jahre konnte jedoch nur eine wohlhabende Kundschaft die Freuden des Strandes schmecken. und es ist natürlich eine aristokratische Atmosphäre, die Proust feiert, wenn er zu Beginn des Jahrhunderts den Ort seines Urlaubs als junger Mann beschreibt, Balbec (eine von Cabourg inspirierte Stadt) mit seinen Frauen in begehrten Kleidern, sein Grand-Hotel, sein Kasino und sein Deich, auf dem er junge Mädchen "in einer sportlichen Prozession, die der Antike und des Giotto würdig ist" (Auf der Suche nach der verlorenen Zeit, t. II, Im Schatten junger Mädchen in voller BlüteGallimard, nrf, 1919, p. 113 und 99).

  • Bourgeoisie
  • Impressionismus
  • Hobbys
  • Normandie
  • Tourismus
  • Meer
  • Strand
  • Griff
  • Granville

Literaturverzeichnis

Daniel CLARY Tourismus und Urlaub an der Küste der Normandie , State Thesis, Caen, 1974. Alain CORBIN (dir) Das Aufkommen der Freizeit: 1850-1960 Paris, Aubier, 1995. Gabriel DESERT Das tägliche Leben an den Stränden der Normandie vom Zweiten Reich bis in die zwanziger Jahre Paris, Hachette, 1983.P. DUPRE Wirtschaftsgeschichte. Die Küste von Calvados, 1830-1939. Von traditionellen Aktivitäten bis zum Tourismus , 3. Zyklusarbeit, Caen, 1980. Jacques-Sylvain KLEIN Normandie: Wiege des Impressionismus: 1820-1900 Rennes, Ed.Ouest-France, 1996. Michael MOLLAT DU JOURDIN "Le front de mer", im Pierre NORA (dir), Gedenkstätte , Band III, Frankreich Paris, Gallimard, 1986, p. 617-671.

Um diesen Artikel zu zitieren

Ivan JABLONKA, "Die Freuden des Strandes im XIXe Jahrhundert "

Verbindungen

Finden Sie diese Arbeit im MOOC "Impressionismus, vom Skandal bis zur Weihe". Jeder Kurs ist nach einem bestimmten Thema organisiert und enthält Dokumentationsressourcen in Form von Videos und Lernaktivitäten. Am Ende jeder Sequenz ermöglicht ein lustiges Quiz den Teilnehmern, das erworbene Wissen selbst zu bewerten.

Dieses kostenlose und für alle zugängliche MOOC ist unter folgender Adresse verfügbar: www.mooc-impressionnisme.com


Video: Urkundenkopie und Abschrift - alles, was man wissen soll