Saint Mark's Square in the 18th centurye century

Saint Mark's Square in the 18th century<sup>e</sup> century


We are searching data for your request:

Forums and discussions:
Manuals and reference books:
Data from registers:
Wait the end of the search in all databases.
Upon completion, a link will appear to access the found materials.

Saint Mark's Square with charlatans

© RMN-Grand Palais (Château de Fontainebleau) / Gérard Blot

Publication date: December 2018

Academy Inspector Deputy Academic Director

Historical context

Vedutism at the service of Venice

Luca Carlevarijs (1663-1730), originally from Udine in Friuli, is considered the father of Venetian Vedutism in the XVIIIe century - the art of veduta consisting in reproducing views from the city. In 1703 he published a collection of a hundred prints entitled Buildings and views of Venice, which served his colleagues as a reservoir of inspiration and a repertoire of remarkable views, thus revealing the reciprocal borrowings between vedutists in the XVIIIe century. His attachment to the district of Saint-Marc is reflected in his artistic production, as well as that for the events of Venetian life (admissions of ambassadors, regatta in honor of Frederick IV of Denmark, etc.). The inspiration drawn from the engraved work of his predecessor Israel Sylvester is quite possible.

Image Analysis

A lively public square

Placing the viewer in the clock tower, Carlevarijs chooses to give a vivid image of Saint Mark's Square. In the foreground, a multitude of small figures, the macchiette, enliven the square. Some onlookers are gathered around charlatans mounted on improvised platforms, others wear masks and sacrifice for the uses of worldly civility, still others sell their products in the shade of the basilica, whose obscure facade closes the stage on the left. It is a miniature company that comes to life and color under the precise brush of the artist. The second plan is heavily occupied by the base of the imposing bell tower and the regular southern facade of the square. The opening towards the Piazzetta and its two columns, door open on the basin of Saint-Marc and its boats, lets guess the facade of the Doge's Palace and that of the Libreria, and breaks the horizontality of the right part of the canvas, where the Procuracies deploy their regular arcades; it gives the composition a deeper perspective and recalls the city's essential link with the sea.

We recognize in this painting the style of Carlevarijs, which is distinguished by an architectural accuracy tempered by a light pink haze which blurs the precision of the backgrounds.

Interpretation

The agora of the city of the Doges

By choosing to paint Saint Mark's Square, two of its main buildings and its opening to the sea, Carlevarijs paid homage to the political, religious, economic, social and symbolic heart of Venice. The success of the views of Saint Mark's Square with collectors and tourists of the modern age explains the vogue they enjoyed in the artistic production of the 18th century.e century. While Carlevarijs devotes at least six well-known versions to it, Canaletto will make Saint Mark's Square the “subject of a lifetime” (B.A. Kowalszyk).

The Saint-Marc district did not, however, undergo any major transformation in the 18th century.e century, apart from the replacement of the paving of the square and the Piazzetta in the early 1720s. Otherwise, the appearance it takes on is that of its successive architects. The square is organized around Saint Mark's Basilica, built to house the relics of the Evangelist Mark, patron saint of the city. Rebuilt in XIe century and gradually decorated with Gothic additions, the domed church follows the Byzantine style. The four horses which surmount the facade represented by Carlevarijs come from the booty operated after the capture of Constantinople in 1204. True religious heart of the Venetian principality, the basilica organizes the place which is adjacent to it. The bell tower stands 98 meters since the beginning of the XVIe century and overlooks the administrative buildings called Procuracies (the one that Carlevarijs painted to the right of his canvas represents the Procuratie Nuove) because of their vocation to house the services of the procurators of the oligarchic republic of Venice. These buildings form the three south, west and north sides of the square.

In the background, the Piazzetta opens onto the Doge's Palace, a small part of the facade of which can be seen to the left of the painting by Carlevarijs. Built in the XIVe-XVe century, it is the residence of the Doges of the Serenissima and the political heart of Venetian life. Opposite, the Libreria de Saint-Marc, built in the XVIe century, houses the precious manuscripts of the Serenissima - Carlevarijs gives only a narrowed view of the perspective and the distance. The two columns of the Piazzetta opening onto the basin of Saint Mark and the mouth of the Grand Canal are surmounted by the winged lion of Saint Mark (on the left on the canvas) and a bronze representing Saint Theodore, former patron. of the city (right).

The architectural complex of Saint Mark's Square, to which the canvas of Carlevarijs pays a fine tribute, therefore represents a whole marked by Gothic, Byzantine and Renaissance influences. From the heart of the city of the Doges there emerges an appearance of balance which the painter has brought to life. Carlevarijs thus participates in the pictorial epiphany of Venice in painting at the turn of the XVIIe and XVIIIe century. It helps to fix in the European imagination an eternal image of the lagoon city.

  • Italy
  • Venice
  • monuments
  • Basilica
  • Veduta
  • Grand Canal
  • boat
  • St. Mark's horses
  • channel

Bibliography

Collective, Dazzling Venice. Venice, the arts and Europe in the 18th century, Paris, Meeting of National Museums, 2018.

KOWALCZYK, Bozena Anna (dir.), Canaletto-Guardi. The two masters of Venice, Jacquemart-André Museum, Institut de France, 2012.

PEDROCCO, Filippo, Views of Venice from Carpaccio to Canaletto, Paris, Citadelles and Mazenod, 2002.

Id. Painters of Venice the Serene, Paris, Citadelles and Mazenod, 2010.

SCARPA, Annalisa, Venice in the time of Canaletto, Paris, Gallimard, Special discoveries, 2012.

To cite this article

Jean HUBAC, "Saint Mark's Square in the XVIIIe century "

Glossary

  • Veduta: Most faithful representation possible - at least in appearance - of a view of Venice

  • Video: VENICE: St Marks Square. Piazza San Marco HD

Markusplatz im 18. Jahrhunderte Jahrhundert

Markusplatz im 18. Jahrhundert<sup>e</sup> Jahrhundert

Markusplatz mit Scharlatanen

© RMN-Grand Palais (Schloss Fontainebleau) / Gérard Blot

Erscheinungsdatum: Dezember 2018

Akademischer Inspektor Stellvertretender akademischer Direktor

Historischer Zusammenhang

Vedutismus im Dienste Venedigs

Luca Carlevarijs (1663-1730), ursprünglich aus Udine in Friaul, gilt im 18. Jahrhundert als Vater des venezianischen Vedutismuse Jahrhundert - die Kunst von Veduta bestehend in der Reproduktion Ansichten aus der Stadt. Im Jahr 1703 veröffentlichte er eine Sammlung von hundert Drucken mit dem Titel Gebäude und Ansichten von Venedig, das seinen Kollegen als Reservoir der Inspiration und als Repertoire bemerkenswerter Ansichten diente und so die wechselseitigen Anleihen zwischen Vedutisten im XVIIIe Jahrhundert. Seine Verbundenheit mit dem Stadtteil Saint-Marc spiegelt sich in seiner künstlerischen Produktion sowie in den Ereignissen des venezianischen Lebens wider (Aufnahme von Botschaftern, Regatta zu Ehren Friedrichs IV. Von Dänemark usw.). Inspiration aus der Gravur seines Vorgängers Israel Sylvester ist durchaus möglich.

Bildanalyse

Ein lebhafter öffentlicher Platz

Carlevarijs setzt den Betrachter in den Glockenturm und gibt ein lebendiges Bild des Markusplatzes. Im Vordergrund eine Vielzahl kleiner Figuren, die Macchiettebeleben den Platz. Einige Zuschauer sind um Scharlatane versammelt, die auf improvisierten Plattformen montiert sind, andere tragen Masken und opfern für die weltliche Höflichkeit, wieder andere verkaufen ihre Produkte im Schatten der Basilika, deren dunkle Fassade die schließt Bühne auf der linken Seite. Es ist eine Miniaturfirma, die unter dem präzisen Pinsel des Künstlers zum Leben und zur Farbe erweckt wird. Der zweite Plan ist stark von der Basis des imposanten Glockenturms und der regulären Südfassade des Platzes besetzt. Die Öffnung zur Piazzetta und ihren beiden Säulen, die Tür zum Becken von Saint-Marc und seinen Booten offen, lässt die Fassade des Dogenpalastes und der Libreria erraten und bricht die Horizontalität des rechten Teils der Leinwand. wo die Procuracies ihre regulären Arkaden einsetzen; Es gibt der Komposition eine tiefere Perspektive und erinnert an die wesentliche Verbindung der Stadt mit dem Meer.

Wir erkennen in diesem Gemälde den Stil von Carlevarijs, der sich durch eine architektonische Genauigkeit auszeichnet, die durch einen hellrosa Nebel gemildert wird, der die Präzision der Hintergründe verwischt.

Interpretation

Die Agora der Stadt der Dogen

Mit der Bemalung des Markusplatzes, zweier seiner Hauptgebäude und seiner Öffnung zum Meer huldigte Carlevarijs dem politischen, religiösen, wirtschaftlichen, sozialen und symbolischen Herzen Venedigs. Der Erfolg der Aussicht auf den Markusplatz mit Sammlern und Touristen der Moderne erklärt die Mode, die sie in der künstlerischen Produktion des 18. Jahrhunderts genossen haben.e Jahrhundert. Wenn Carlevarijs ihm mindestens sechs bekannte Versionen widmet, wird Canaletto den Markusplatz zum "Thema seines Lebens" machen (B.A. Kowalszyk).

Das Saint-Marc-Viertel erfuhr jedoch im 18. Jahrhundert keinen größeren Wandel.e Jahrhundert, abgesehen von der Erneuerung der Pflasterung des Platzes und der Piazzetta in den frühen 1720er Jahren. Ansonsten sieht es so aus wie die nachfolgenden Architekten. Der Platz ist um den Markusdom herum organisiert, der die Reliquien des Evangelisten Markus, des Schutzpatrons der Stadt, beherbergt. In XI umgebaute Jahrhundert und nach und nach mit gotischen Ergänzungen geschmückt, folgt die Kuppelkirche dem byzantinischen Stil. Die vier Pferde, die die von Carlevarijs dargestellte Fassade überragen, stammen aus der Beute, die nach der Eroberung von Konstantinopel im Jahr 1204 betrieben wurde. Die Basilika ist das wahre religiöse Herz des venezianischen Fürstentums und organisiert den angrenzenden Ort. Der Glockenturm steht seit Beginn des 16. Jahrhunderts 98 Meter hoche Jahrhundert und überblickt die Verwaltungsgebäude namens Procuracies (das, das Carlevarijs rechts von seiner Leinwand gemalt hat, repräsentiert das Procuratie Nuove) wegen ihrer Berufung, die Dienste der Staatsanwälte der oligarchischen Republik Venedig unterzubringen. Diese Gebäude bilden die drei Süd-, West- und Nordseiten des Platzes.

Im Hintergrund öffnet sich die Piazzetta zum Dogenpalast, von dem ein kleiner Teil der Fassade links vom Gemälde von Carlevarijs zu sehen ist. Erbaut im XIVe-XVe Jahrhundert ist es die Residenz der Dogen der Serenissima und das politische Herz des venezianischen Lebens. Gegenüber die im 16. Jahrhundert erbaute Libreria de Saint-Marce Jahrhundert beherbergt die wertvollen Manuskripte der Serenissima - Carlevarijs gibt nur einen engeren Blick auf die Perspektive und die Entfernung. Die beiden Säulen der Piazzetta, die sich zum Becken von Saint Mark und zur Mündung des Canal Grande öffnen, werden von dem geflügelten Löwen von Saint Mark (links auf der Leinwand) und einer Bronze überragt, die Saint Theodore, den ehemaligen Schutzpatron, darstellt. der Stadt (rechts).

Der architektonische Komplex des Markusplatzes, dem die Leinwand von Carlevarijs eine schöne Hommage zollt, repräsentiert daher ein Ganzes, das von gotischen, byzantinischen und Renaissance-Einflüssen geprägt ist. Aus dem Herzen der Stadt der Dogen entsteht ein Gleichgewicht, das der Maler zum Leben erweckt hat. Carlevarijs beteiligt sich damit an der malerischen Epiphanie Venedigs in der Malerei um die Wende des XVIIe und XVIIIe Jahrhundert. Es hilft, in der europäischen Vorstellung ein ewiges Bild der Lagunenstadt zu fixieren.

  • Italien
  • Venedig
  • Monumente
  • Basilika
  • Veduta
  • Canal Grande
  • Boot
  • St. Marks Pferde
  • Kanal

Literaturverzeichnis

Kollektiv, Schillerndes Venedig. Venedig, Kunst und Europa im 18. Jahrhundert, Paris, Treffen der Nationalmuseen, 2018.

KOWALCZYK, Bozena Anna (Regie), Canaletto-Guardi. Die beiden Meister von Venedig, Jacquemart-André Museum, Institut de France, 2012.

PEDROCCO, Filippo, Blick auf Venedig von Carpaccio nach Canaletto, Paris, Citadelles und Mazenod, 2002.

Ich würde. Maler von Venedig der Gelassene, Paris, Citadelles und Mazenod, 2010.

SCARPA, Annalisa, Venedig in der Zeit von Canaletto, Paris, Gallimard, Besondere Entdeckungen, 2012.

Um diesen Artikel zu zitieren

Jean HUBAC, "Markusplatz im XVIIIe Jahrhundert "

Glossar

  • Veduta: Eine möglichst getreue Darstellung einer Ansicht von Venedig

  • Video: Bluefin 108 Cruise u0026 12 Cruise Carbon iSUPs. Comparison review video