Pius VII

Pius VII

To close

Title: Pius VII.

Author : DAVID Jacques Louis (1748 - 1825)

Creation date : 1805

Date shown: 1804

Dimensions: Height 86.5 - Width 71.5

Technique and other indications: Commissioned by Bonaparte Oil on wood

Storage location: Louvre Museum (Paris) website

Contact copyright: © Photo RMN-Grand Palais - G. Blot

Picture reference: 88EE1932 / INV 3701

© Photo RMN-Grand Palais - G. Blot

Publication date: March 2016

Historical context

Search for religious peace

After a decade of revolution, Bonaparte, who became First Consul, wanted to restore religious peace while asserting the predominance of executive power. Finally Pius VII wants to prevent the application of the Civil Code in Italy.
The tension was heightened when Napoleon pronounced, on May 17, 1809, the annexation of the remainder of the Papal States. On June 10, Pius VII strikes with excommunication those who bear the responsibility for this annexation, hence the arrest of the Pope, then deported in 1812 to Fontainebleau.

Image Analysis

This portrait represents Pius VII seated, holding in his hand a paper on which is written: " Pio VII Bonarum artium patronus . " The Pope is not quite in front, but his firm and direct gaze is directed towards the spectator. He is dressed in red velvet and wears a simple skullcap. A large, richly embroidered stole falls from her shoulders. There is a difference in finish between the highly detailed clothing and the more imprecise chair, which contributes to building the space in depth. Critics of the time admired the realism of the face and the accessories, the simplicity and quality of the workmanship (especially the hands). Some praised the colors, the design, the truth of the flesh and the draperies. In the Debate journal, noted the reduced proportions of the figure, who seemed "a little awkward in his seat", and it was claimed that David had subordinated "the interest of art to that of history".

Interpretation

A realistic portrait

David has a demand for immediate accuracy and this portrait is one example. It seems that he expresses the reality of his model as closely as possible in the psychological truth of the character. David has been said to be an advocate of moral strength. There is no still life, no anecdotal details in the setting: David witnesses exclusively the man, his face, the individual, hence the uniform, dull, "empty" background. This painting in no way reflects the permanent conflict between Napoleon and Pius VII, even if a strong will is visible in the eyes of the Pope. Knowing the rest of history, we can see in it the moral strength of a spiritual and temporal sovereign facing the authoritarianism of Napoleon.

  • Catholicism
  • Clergy
  • Pius VII
  • official portrait
  • realism
  • coronation of Napoleon

Bibliography

Louis BERGERON The Napoleonic Episode , volume I “Interior aspects” Paris, Seuil, coll. “Points Histoire”, 1972.René RÉMOND, Jacques LE GOFF History of religious France , volume III “From the very Christian king to republican secularism: 18th-19th century” Paris, Seuil, 1991.Philippe LEVILLAIN Historical Dictionary of the Papacy Paris, Fayard, 1994. Jean TULARD (dir.) Napoleon dictionary new ed. Fayard, 1999, Catalan collective. expo.From David to Delacroix Paris, Grand Palais, 1974-1975.

To cite this article

Martine GIBOUREAU, "Pius VII"


Video: Trônes en Majesté: la Sedia gestatoria du Pape Pie VII

Pius VII

Pius VII

Schließen

Titel: Pius VII.

Autor: DAVID Jacques Louis (1748 - 1825)

Erstellungsdatum : 1805

Datum angezeigt: 1804

Maße: Höhe 86,5 - Breite 71,5

Technik und andere Indikationen: Im Auftrag von Bonaparte Öl auf Holz

Lagerraum: Website des Louvre-Museums (Paris)

Kontakt Copyright: © Foto RMN-Grand Palais - G. Blot

Bildreferenz: 88EE1932 / INV 3701

© Foto RMN-Grand Palais - G. Blot

Erscheinungsdatum: März 2016

Historischer Zusammenhang

Suche nach religiösem Frieden

Nach einem Jahrzehnt der Revolution wollte Bonaparte, der Erster Konsul wurde, den religiösen Frieden wiederherstellen und gleichzeitig die Vorherrschaft der Exekutive behaupten. Schließlich will Pius VII. Die Anwendung des Bürgerlichen Gesetzbuchs in Italien verhindern.
Die Spannung wurde noch größer, als Napoleon am 17. Mai 1809 die Annexion des Restes der Kirchenstaaten erklärte. Am 10. Juni schlägt Pius VII. Mit Exkommunikation diejenigen, die die Verantwortung für diese Annexion tragen, daher die Verhaftung des Papstes, der 1812 nach Fontainebleau deportiert wurde.

Bildanalyse

Dieses Porträt zeigt Pius VII. Sitzend und hält ein Papier in der Hand, auf dem geschrieben steht: " Pio VII Bonarum artium patronus . " Der Papst ist nicht ganz vorne, aber sein fester und direkter Blick ist auf den Zuschauer gerichtet. Er ist in rotem Samt gekleidet und trägt eine einfache Schädeldecke. Eine große, reich bestickte Stola fällt von ihren Schultern. Es gibt einen Unterschied in der Verarbeitung zwischen der sehr detaillierten Kleidung und dem ungenaueren Stuhl, was dazu beiträgt, den Raum in der Tiefe aufzubauen. Kritiker der Zeit bewunderten den Realismus des Gesichts und der Accessoires, die Einfachheit und die Qualität der Verarbeitung (insbesondere der Hände). Einige lobten die Farben, das Design, die Wahrheit des Fleisches und die Vorhänge. In dem Debattenjournalbemerkte die reduzierten Proportionen der Figur, die "auf seinem Platz etwas unbeholfen" wirkte, und es wurde behauptet, David habe "das Interesse der Kunst dem der Geschichte untergeordnet".

Interpretation

Ein realistisches Porträt

David hat eine Forderung nach sofortiger Genauigkeit und dieses Porträt ist ein Beispiel. Es scheint, dass er die Realität seines Modells in der psychologischen Wahrheit des Charakters so genau wie möglich ausdrückt. David soll ein Verfechter der moralischen Stärke sein. Es gibt kein Stillleben, keine anekdotischen Details in der Umgebung: David sieht ausschließlich den Mann, sein Gesicht, das Individuum, daher den einheitlichen, stumpfen, "leeren" Hintergrund. Dieses Gemälde spiegelt in keiner Weise den permanenten Konflikt zwischen Napoleon und Pius VII. Wider, auch wenn in den Augen des Papstes ein starker Wille sichtbar ist. Wenn wir den Rest der Geschichte kennen, können wir darin die moralische Stärke eines geistigen und zeitlichen Herrschers sehen, der dem Autoritarismus Napoleons gegenübersteht.

  • Katholizismus
  • Klerus
  • Pius VII
  • offizielles Porträt
  • Realismus
  • Krönung Napoleons

Literaturverzeichnis

Louis BERGERON Die napoleonische Episode , Band I „Innenaspekte“ Paris, Seuil, Slg. "Points Histoire", 1972. René RÉMOND, Jacques LE GOFF Geschichte des religiösen Frankreichs , Band III „Vom sehr christlichen König zum republikanischen Säkularismus: 18.-19. Jahrhundert“ Paris, Seuil, 1991.Philippe LEVILLAIN Historisches Wörterbuch des Papsttums Paris, Fayard, 1994. Jean TULARD (Regie) Napoleon Wörterbuch neue ed. Fayard, 1999, katalanisches Kollektiv. Messe.Von David bis Delacroix Paris, Grand Palais, 1974-1975.

Um diesen Artikel zu zitieren

Martine GIBOUREAU, "Pius VII."


Video: Nunc Coepi Extra 20 Napoleon, Pope Pius VII, and Lanteri - English