The plague in Marseille

The plague in Marseille


We are searching data for your request:

Forums and discussions:
Manuals and reference books:
Data from registers:
Wait the end of the search in all databases.
Upon completion, a link will appear to access the found materials.

  • The Devotion of Monseigneur de Belsunce during the plague of Marseille in 1720.

    MONSIAU Nicolas André (1754 - 1837)

  • View of the town hall and part of the port of Marseille during the plague epidemic of 1720.

    RIGAUD Jacques (1680 - 1754)

  • View of the Cours de Marseille (boulevard de la Canebière) during the plague epidemic of 1720.

    RIGAUD Jacques (1680 - 1754)

The Devotion of Monseigneur de Belsunce during the plague of Marseille in 1720.

© Photo RMN-Grand Palais (Louvre Museum) / Thierry Le Mage

View of the town hall and part of the port of Marseille during the plague epidemic of 1720.

© Photo RMN-Grand Palais (Palace of Versailles) / Franck Raux

View of the Cours de Marseille (boulevard de la Canebière) during the plague epidemic of 1720.

© Photo RMN-Grand Palais (Palace of Versailles) / Franck Raux

Publication date: March 2013

Historical context

The plague that struck the city of Marseille in 1720 is one of the latest manifestations of a wave of epidemics of the disease which, from 1580, affected modern France and Western Europe.

With nearly 100,000 inhabitants, Marseille was then the third largest city in the kingdom of France, a port city with international influence and a strong social hierarchy. This tragedy will have immediate repercussions on Marseille's demography and lasting repercussions on the commercial prosperity of the city.

The commentators of the time, then the historians of Marseilles, noted the courageous attitude of Henri François-Xavier de Belsunce de Castelmoron, bishop of Marseilles, abbot of Notre-Dame-des-Chambons, adviser to the king who, in this atmosphere of death and desolation, aided the sick and ignored the danger. Duffaud in 1911.

Image Analysis

In priestly habit, wearing his miter, holding a ciborium in his left hand, the bishop gives communion to the plague victims near Fort Saint-Jean. He leans over a dying mother whose naked child has already succumbed to the disease. The path that the man of the Church has taken to reach the dying is strewn with corpses, but this macabre spectacle has not stopped him in the exercise of his ministry and has not weakened his determination: he is in his place in the midst of the flock of his suffering faithful, gives them the last sacraments and does not fear death, however omnipresent around him.

Capuchins and Jesuits, carrying crooks, ewer, torches and crosses, almost as numerous as the plague victims, devote themselves to the bedside of the sick, ready to sacrifice their lives. A monk points to the heavens, indicating to the dying their final resting place. Pyramid-shaped and animated with obliques, the composition presents the "push-back" figures in the foreground, to better showcase the courage and action of the representatives of the Catholic Church. On the face, in the attitude and in the eyes of the dying, one reads the panic, the distress and the worry that contrasting light and a gradation of colors accentuate and dramatize. The work thus contrasts drama and tragedy with courage and dedication.

Interpretation

In the iconographic corpus of the Marseille drama, two figures dominate: the Chevalier Roze à la Tourette and the Bishop of Belsunce, one symbolizing the intervention of the State, the other that of the Catholic Church. As the city crumbles, they embody the guarantors of social and moral order. Exhibited at the Salon of 1819 and acquired that same year by Louis XVIII, Monsiau's painting, in the form of an “exemplum virtutis”, perfectly illustrates the Catholic faith celebrated under the first Restoration: for the restored monarchy it is a question of to make religious sentiment flourish again and to purify manners.

The work is also linked to the romantic current of the moment which in the wake of Chateaubriand (Genius of Christianity, 1802) expresses his admiration for the Christian religion, for morality and humanity. It is also, through the choice of its colors, its general gray-mauve harmony, its icy and regular pictorial material, typical of Monsiau's work.

But the canvas is also to be put in relation with a "Notice on the life of the painter" published following the death of the artist in 1837. Monsiau, we read there, learned, when he had started his painting, that he was stricken with stone disease and needed urgent surgery. The painter, however, decided to brave the danger and did not want to know anything until he had finished his painting, for, he declared: "If this delay exposes me to death, my last work will at least have been a tribute to virtue. "And his biographer concludes:" The plague of Marseilles was over, in fact, and while the public surrounded the painting with its praise, the painter endured with unwavering calm the most painful operation of surgery. "

  • Marseilles
  • disease
  • religion
  • epidemics
  • Provence

Bibliography

· From David to Delacroix. French painting from 1774 to 1830, catalog of the Grand Palais exhibition, Paris, R.M.N., 1974.

· Dominique AICARDI-CHÈVE, “The body of contagion. Anthropological study of iconographic representations of the plague (16th-20th centuries in Europe) ”, doctoral thesis in biological anthropology, University of the Mediterranean, 2003.

· Régis BERTRAND, "The iconography of the plague in Marseille or the long memory of a catastrophe" in Images of Provence. Iconographic representations from the end of the Middle Ages to the mid-twentieth century, Aix-en-Provence, University of Provence, 1992.

Charles CARRIÈRE and alii, Marseille dead city. The plague of 1720, Marseille, Maurice Boy Publisher, 1968.

To cite this article

Pascal DUPUY, "The plague in Marseille"


Video: The Plague Medieval Documentary

Die Pest in Marseille

Die Pest in Marseille

  • Die Andacht von Monseigneur de Belsunce während der Pest von Marseille im Jahre 1720.

    MONSIAU Nicolas André (1754 - 1837)

  • Blick auf das Rathaus und einen Teil des Hafens von Marseille während der Pestepidemie von 1720.

    RIGAUD Jacques (1680 - 1754)

  • Blick auf den Cours de Marseille (Boulevard de la Canebière) während der Pestepidemie von 1720.

    RIGAUD Jacques (1680 - 1754)

Die Andacht von Monseigneur de Belsunce während der Pest von Marseille im Jahre 1720.

© Foto RMN-Grand Palais (Louvre-Museum) / Thierry Le Mage

Blick auf das Rathaus und einen Teil des Hafens von Marseille während der Pestepidemie von 1720.

© Foto RMN-Grand Palais (Schloss Versailles) / Franck Raux

Blick auf den Cours de Marseille (Boulevard de la Canebière) während der Pestepidemie von 1720.

© Foto RMN-Grand Palais (Schloss Versailles) / Franck Raux

Erscheinungsdatum: März 2013

Historischer Zusammenhang

Die Pest, die 1720 die Stadt Marseille heimgesucht hat, ist eine der jüngsten Manifestationen einer Welle von Epidemien der Krankheit, die ab 1580 das moderne Frankreich und Westeuropa betraf.

Marseille war damals mit fast 100.000 Einwohnern die drittgrößte Stadt im Königreich Frankreich, eine Hafenstadt mit internationalem Einfluss und einer starken sozialen Hierarchie. Diese Tragödie wird unmittelbare Auswirkungen auf die Demografie von Marseille und dauerhafte Auswirkungen auf den wirtschaftlichen Wohlstand der Stadt haben.

Die damaligen Kommentatoren, damals die Historiker von Marseille, bemerkten die mutige Haltung von Henri François-Xavier de Belsunce de Castelmoron, Bischof von Marseille, Abt von Notre-Dame-des-Chambons, Berater des Königs, der in Diese Atmosphäre des Todes und der Trostlosigkeit half den Kranken und ignorierte die Gefahr. Duffaud im Jahr 1911.

Bildanalyse

In priesterlicher Gewohnheit, mit seiner Gehrung und einem Ziborium in der linken Hand, gibt der Bischof den Pestopfern in der Nähe von Fort Saint-Jean die Kommunion. Er sieht eine sterbende Mutter an, deren nacktes Kind bereits der Krankheit erlegen ist. Der Weg, den der Mann der Kirche eingeschlagen hat, um die Sterbenden zu erreichen, ist mit Leichen übersät, aber dieses makabere Schauspiel hat ihn bei der Ausübung seines Dienstes nicht aufgehalten und seine Entschlossenheit nicht geschwächt: Er ist an seiner Stelle inmitten der Herde seiner leidenden Gläubigen, gibt ihnen die letzten Sakramente und fürchtet den Tod nicht, wie allgegenwärtig er auch sein mag.

Kapuziner und Jesuiten, die Gauner, Krug, Fackeln und Kreuze tragen, fast so zahlreich wie die Pestopfer, widmen sich dem Krankenbett und sind bereit, ihr Leben zu opfern. Ein Mönch zeigt zum Himmel und zeigt den Sterbenden ihre letzte Ruhestätte an. Pyramidenförmig und mit Schrägen animiert, präsentiert die Komposition die "Push-Back" -Figuren im Vordergrund, um den Mut und das Handeln der Vertreter der katholischen Kirche besser zur Geltung zu bringen. Auf dem Gesicht, in der Haltung und in den Augen der Sterbenden kann man die Panik, die Not und die Sorge lesen, die kontrastierendes Licht und eine Abstufung der Farben akzentuieren und dramatisieren. Die Arbeit kontrastiert also Drama und Tragödie mit Mut und Engagement.

Interpretation

Im ikonografischen Korpus des Dramas von Marseille dominieren zwei Figuren: der Ritter Roze à la Tourette und der Bischof von Belsunce, eine symbolisiert die Intervention des Staates, die andere die der katholischen Kirche. Während die Stadt zusammenbricht, verkörpern sie die Garanten der sozialen und moralischen Ordnung. Monsiaus Gemälde, das im Salon von 1819 ausgestellt und im selben Jahr von Ludwig XVIII. Erworben wurde, zeigt in Form eines „exemplum virtutis“ perfekt den katholischen Glauben, der im Rahmen der ersten Restauration gefeiert wurde: Für die restaurierte Monarchie ist es eine Frage von das religiöse Gefühl wieder zum Blühen zu bringen und die Manieren zu reinigen.

Die Arbeit ist auch mit der romantischen Strömung des Augenblicks verbunden, die nach Chateaubriand (Genie des Christentums, 1802) drückt seine Bewunderung für die christliche Religion, für die Moral und für die Menschlichkeit aus. Es ist auch durch die Wahl seiner Farben, seine allgemeine grau-lila Harmonie, sein eisiges und regelmäßiges Bildmaterial, typisch für Monsiaus Werk.

Die Leinwand soll aber auch in Beziehung gesetzt werden zu einem "Hinweis auf das Leben des Malers", der nach dem Tod des Künstlers im Jahre 1837 veröffentlicht wurde. Monsiau, wie wir dort lesen, erfuhr, als er mit dem Malen begonnen hatte, dass er an einer Steinkrankheit litt und dringend operiert werden musste. Der Maler entschloss sich jedoch, der Gefahr zu trotzen und wollte nichts wissen, bis er sein Gemälde fertiggestellt hatte, denn er erklärte: "Wenn diese Verzögerung mich dem Tod aussetzt, wird mein letztes Werk zumindest eine Hommage an gewesen sein Tugend. "Und sein Biograf kommt zu dem Schluss:" Die Pest von Marseille war tatsächlich vorbei, und während die Öffentlichkeit das Gemälde mit seinem Lob umgab, ertrug der Maler mit unerschütterlicher Ruhe die schmerzhafteste Operation. ""

  • Marseille
  • Krankheit
  • Religion
  • Epidemien
  • Provence

Literaturverzeichnis

· Von David bis Delacroix. Französische Malerei von 1774 bis 1830, Katalog der Ausstellung Grand Palais, Paris, R.M.N., 1974.

· Dominique AICARDI-CHÈVE: „Der Körper der Ansteckung. Anthropologische Untersuchung ikonografischer Darstellungen der Pest (16.-20. Jahrhundert in Europa) “, Doktorarbeit in biologischer Anthropologie, Universität des Mittelmeers, 2003.

· Régis BERTRAND, "Die Ikonographie der Pest in Marseille oder die lange Erinnerung an eine Katastrophe" in Bilder der Provence. Ikonografische Darstellungen vom Ende des Mittelalters bis zur Mitte des 20. Jahrhunderts, Aix-en-Provence, Universität der Provence, 1992.

Charles CARRIÈRE und alii, Marseille tote Stadt. Die Pest von 1720, Marseille, Maurice Boy Verlag, 1968.

Um diesen Artikel zu zitieren

Pascal DUPUY, "Die Pest in Marseille"


Video: Das große Sterben - Pest, Typhus und Cholera Folge 16. ARD-alpha