The Thinker by Rodin

<i>The Thinker</i> by Rodin


We are searching data for your request:

Forums and discussions:
Manuals and reference books:
Data from registers:
Wait the end of the search in all databases.
Upon completion, a link will appear to access the found materials.

  • The Thinker.

    RODIN Auguste (1840 - 1917)

  • The Thinker in front of the Pantheon. (anonymous photograph)

    RODIN Auguste (1840 - 1917)

To close

Title: The Thinker.

Author : RODIN Auguste (1840 - 1917)

Creation date : 1880

Date shown:

Dimensions: Height 180 - Width 98

Technique and other indications: Also known under the titles: "The Poet", "The Thinker Poet" cast; bronze

Storage place: Rodin Museum website

Contact copyright: © Musée Rodin, Paris - Photo J. de Calan

Picture reference: S. 1295

© Musée Rodin, Paris - Photo J. de Calan

To close

Title: The Thinker in front of the Pantheon. (anonymous photograph)

Author : RODIN Auguste (1840 - 1917)

Creation date : 1906

Date shown: 1906

Dimensions: Height 0 - Width 0

Technique and other indications: Gelatin silver print

Storage place: Rodin Museum website

Contact copyright: © Rodin Museum, Parissite web

Picture reference: Ph 2881

The Thinker in front of the Pantheon. (anonymous photograph)

© Rodin Museum, Paris

Publication date: March 2016

Video

How to read a sculpture

Video

Historical context

"Offered to the people of Paris"
Great Thinker, still in plaster, was exhibited for the first time in London, in January 1904, then at the Salon of the National Society of Fine Arts in Paris, from April to June. Some of the criticism mocked him: "He's an enormous brute, a gorilla, a caliber, stupidly stubborn, who mulls a vengeance"; but enthusiasm prevailed and the magazine The Arts of Life launched a subscription whose proceeds were intended to place the work in a place in Paris.

Image Analysis

"The Poet, the Thinker": Dante or Rodin
Thought like any other abstract value has been represented until Rodin in the form of an allegory, the goddess Athena (Minerva for the Romans) having been reproduced indefinitely. With The Thinker, Rodin breaks with this academicism in a brilliant way: thought is now a real man who thinks hard. World-renowned work, The Thinker probably belongs to the first figures that Rodin modeled in 1880-1881 for The Gateway to Hell, where it was to occupy the center of the eardrum. It represents both Dante and Rodin, who contemplate the work inspired in the second by the poem of the first, Hell. Figured naked, it has a universal dimension.
The Thinker is one of the few figures created very early and very quickly, who traversed the artist's entire work without undergoing any modification other than enlargement. Despite the most traditional pose, the one that has always meant meditation, a powerful originality is evident. Due to the choice of the model, this one arises from the contrast between the athletic body of a man of action rendered with all the desired vigor, and the identity of the character, one of the kings of the spirit for Rodin who placed at the top of its scale of values ​​"pure thought [...] represented by the artist, the poet, the philosopher".

Interpretation

A symbol of democracy.
During the inauguration of Thinker in front of the Pantheon on April 21, 1906, Henri Dujardin-Beaumetz, Under-Secretary of State for Fine Arts, showed that Rodin admirably completed David d'Angers: at the foot of the pediment symbolizing "the effort of all by the image of more worthy ", The Thinker “Muscular like an athlete […], calm in his strength, because he will only put it at the service of the law [is the one] who, a hundred years ago, made avenging iron the tool of freedom, [ …] Who, through work, builds the modern world and wants it to be worthy of his long efforts. "But soon perceived, in a climate of political and social crisis, as a symbol of democracy, and become a meeting point for union demonstrations, The Thinker placed in front of the memory monument of the left (think of the ashes of Voltaire, Hugo, Zola who were transferred there) disturbed the official authorities and, in 1922, under the National Bloc, he was repatriated to the Rodin museum.

  • monuments
  • Paris
  • Rodin (Auguste)
  • sculpture

Bibliography

Rose-Marie MARTINEZ Rodin. The artist facing the state Paris, Nouvelles Editions Séguier, 1993, p. 1147-1155.Ruth BUTLER Rodin. The solitude of genius Paris, Gallimard-Musée Rodin, 1998, collective index, Exhibition catalog Rodin in 1900, the Alma exhibition Paris, RMN, 2001, (object n ° 113).

To cite this article

Antoinette THE NORMAND ROMAN, " The Thinker by Rodin "


Video: 15 Учимся работать parallel pen, упражнения и ошибки в Calligraffiti

Der Denker von Rodin

<i>Der Denker</i> von Rodin

  • Der Denker.

    RODIN Auguste (1840 - 1917)

  • Der Denker vor dem Pantheon. (anonymes Foto)

    RODIN Auguste (1840 - 1917)

Schließen

Titel: Der Denker.

Autor: RODIN Auguste (1840 - 1917)

Erstellungsdatum : 1880

Datum angezeigt:

Maße: Höhe 180 - Breite 98

Technik und andere Indikationen: Auch bekannt unter den Titeln: "The Poet", "The Thinker Poet" gegossen; Bronze

Lagerraum: Rodin Museum Website

Kontakt Copyright: © Musée Rodin, Paris - Foto J. de Calan

Bildreferenz: S. 1295

© Musée Rodin, Paris - Foto J. de Calan

Schließen

Titel: Der Denker vor dem Pantheon. (anonymes Foto)

Autor: RODIN Auguste (1840 - 1917)

Erstellungsdatum : 1906

Datum angezeigt: 1906

Maße: Höhe 0 - Breite 0

Technik und andere Indikationen: Silbergelatineabzug

Lagerraum: Rodin Museum Website

Kontakt Copyright: © Rodin Museum, Parissite Web

Bildreferenz: Ph 2881

Der Denker vor dem Pantheon. (anonymes Foto)

© Rodin Museum, Paris

Erscheinungsdatum: März 2016

Video

Wie man eine Skulptur liest

Video

Historischer Zusammenhang

"Den Parisern angeboten"
Großartig Denker, noch in Gips, wurde im Januar 1904 zum ersten Mal in London ausgestellt, dann von April bis Juni im Salon der Nationalen Gesellschaft der Schönen Künste in Paris. Einige der Kritiker verspotteten ihn: "Er ist ein riesiger Schläger, ein Gorilla, ein Kaliber, dumm stur, der über Rache nachdenkt"; aber die Begeisterung setzte sich durch und die Zeitschrift Die Künste des Lebens startete ein Abonnement, dessen Erlös die Arbeit an einem Ort in Paris platzieren sollte.

Bildanalyse

"Der Dichter, der Denker": Dante oder Rodin
Der Gedanke wie jeder andere abstrakte Wert wurde bis Rodin in Form einer Allegorie dargestellt, wobei die Göttin Athene (Minerva für die Römer) auf unbestimmte Zeit reproduziert wurde. Mit Der DenkerRodin bricht auf brillante Weise mit diesem Akademismus: Das Denken ist jetzt ein richtiger Mann, der hart nachdenkt. Weltbekannte Arbeit, Der Denker gehört wahrscheinlich zu den ersten Figuren, für die Rodin 1880-1881 modellierte Das Tor zur Hölle, wo es die Mitte des Trommelfells besetzen sollte. Es repräsentiert sowohl Dante als auch Rodin, die über das Werk nachdenken, das im zweiten vom Gedicht des ersten inspiriert wurde. Hölle. Nackt dargestellt, hat es eine universelle Dimension.
Der Denker ist eine der wenigen Figuren, die sehr früh und sehr schnell geschaffen wurden und alle Arbeiten des Künstlers durchquerten, ohne andere Änderungen als die Erweiterung vorzunehmen. Trotz der traditionellsten Pose, die immer Meditation bedeutete, ist eine kraftvolle Originalität offensichtlich. Aufgrund der Wahl des Modells ergibt sich dieses aus dem Kontrast zwischen dem athletischen Körper eines Mannes mit der gewünschten Kraft und der Identität des Charakters, eines der Könige des Geistes für Rodin, der ihn platziert hat an der Spitze seiner Werteskala "reines Denken [...] vertreten durch den Künstler, den Dichter, den Philosophen".

Interpretation

Ein Symbol der Demokratie.
Während der Einweihung von Denker Henri Dujardin-Beaumetz, Staatssekretär für bildende Künste, zeigte am 21. April 1906 vor dem Pantheon, dass Rodin David d'Angers bewundernswert vollendete: am Fuße des Giebels, der "die Anstrengung aller durch das Bild von symbolisiert" würdiger ", Der Denker „Muskulös wie ein Athlet […], ruhig in seiner Kraft, weil er es nur in den Dienst des Gesetzes stellen wird [ist derjenige], der vor hundert Jahren Racheisen zum Werkzeug der Freiheit gemacht hat, [ …] Wer durch Arbeit die moderne Welt aufbaut und möchte, dass sie seiner langen Bemühungen würdig ist. »Aber bald in einem Klima der politischen und sozialen Krise als Symbol der Demokratie wahrgenommen und zum Treffpunkt für Gewerkschaftsdemonstrationen werden, Der Denker vor dem Denkmal der Linken platziert (denken Sie an die Asche von Voltaire, Hugo, Zola, die dorthin gebracht wurden), störte die offiziellen Behörden und 1922 wurde er unter dem Nationalblock in das Rodin-Museum zurückgeführt.

  • Monumente
  • Paris
  • Rodin (Auguste)
  • Skulptur

Literaturverzeichnis

Rose-Marie MARTINEZ Rodin. Der Künstler vor dem Staat Paris, Nouvelles Editions Séguier, 1993, p. 1147-1155.Ruth BUTLER Rodin. Die Einsamkeit des Genies Paris, Gallimard-Musée Rodin, 1998, Sammelindex, Ausstellungskatalog Rodin im Jahr 1900 die Alma Ausstellung Paris, RMN, 2001 (Objekt Nr. 113).

Um diesen Artikel zu zitieren

Antoinette DER NORMAND RÖMER, " Der Denker von Rodin "


Video: Musée RODIN - Geheimtipps aus Paris 8