Paul Barroilhet

Paul Barroilhet


We are searching data for your request:

Forums and discussions:
Manuals and reference books:
Data from registers:
Wait the end of the search in all databases.
Upon completion, a link will appear to access the found materials.

To close

Title: Baroilhet.

Author : VOGT Charles (-)

Date shown:

Dimensions: Height 0 - Width 0

Technique and other indications: Series Gallery of the Press, Literature & Fine Arts.Title carried : Baroilhet [sic].

Storage location: National Museum of the Château de Compiègne website

Contact copyright: © Photo RMN-Grand Palais - D. Arnaudet

Picture reference: 97-024124 / C.53.049 / 27

© Photo RMN-Grand Palais - D. Arnaudet

Publication date: November 2010

Historical context

The 19th century, the century of performers

The 19th century was the age of opera, a sort of golden age during which the lyric art aroused considerable fervor. The baritone was then one of those who, like Gilbert Duprez and Rosine Stoltz, performed with talent the greatest roles in the repertoire on this prestigious stage.

Image Analysis

The portrait gallery, a tradition

This lithograph is part of a series of portraits published from 1839 to 1841 by Louis Huart and Charles Philipon under the title Press, Literature and Fine Arts Gallery. Each illustration is accompanied by a biographical note. This Gallery appears in editions and then, partially, in bound form at the end of each year. Only this last collection, composed of three albums, is preserved, and Barroilhet (1810-1871) is not there. Published at an unknown date, this lithograph by Charles Vogt, a student of the École des beaux-arts, was undoubtedly produced shortly after the singer's engagement at the Opera in December 1840. Seen as a bust, he poses the most simply of the world, in an elegant city outfit, arms crossed and slightly at an angle. By the calm that emanates from the artist, this portrait contrasts with the caricatures which are ironic about the agitation and exaggeration of his playing.

Interpretation

An idol fallen into oblivion

Vogt’s portrait of Paul Barroilhet represents him at the dawn of his Parisian career. Although French by birth and a student of the Paris Conservatory, he started in Italy and only returned to France after several years of success on the other side of the Alps (where he created several roles notably for Donizetti and Mercadante). It is this notoriety which earned him to be hired on the most prestigious stage in France. He starts there in The Favorite, on December 2, 1840, and very quickly became one of the public's darlings.

In 1841 he already created the character of Lusignan in The Queen of Cyprus, but it is that of Charles VI, in the eponymous opera, which quickly becomes his flagship role. This immediate popularity amply justifies its presence in this Gallery, alongside the greatest singers of his time: his friend Nourrit, but also Lablache, Rubini and Duprez.

Strangely, and despite his successes, Barroilhet is far from having the latter's fame today. It is even difficult to find books that devote a few pages to it. His fame is therefore both immense and ephemeral, certainly because his private life and his talent have given rise to much less debate than those of Duprez and Stoltz. In addition, this great art lover left the stage in 1847 to devote himself to his collection of paintings.

  • opera
  • portrait

Bibliography

Press, Literature and Fine Arts Gallery, Paris, Aubert, 1839-1841.Jean-Louis TAMVACO, “Paul-Bernard Barroilhet”, in Knowledge of Paris and France, 1973, n ° 17, p. 88-91.Damien COLAS, “Paul Barroilhet”, in Joël-Marie Fauquet (dir.), Dictionary of music in France in the 19th century, Paris, Fayard, 2003. Jean GOURRET, New Dictionary of Paris Opera singers from the 17th century to the present day, Paris, Albatros, 1989.

To cite this article

Stella ROLLET, "Paul Barroilhet"


Video: John Black Super Decathlon


Comments:

  1. Aaron

    Really short

  2. Sepp

    Congratulations, the remarkable message

  3. Menassah

    Marvelous

  4. Mathias

    the most valuable answer



Write a message

Paul Barroilhet

Paul Barroilhet

Schließen

Titel: Baroilhet.

Autor: VOGT Charles (-)

Datum angezeigt:

Maße: Höhe 0 - Breite 0

Technik und andere Indikationen: Serie Galerie für Presse, Literatur und bildende Kunst.Titel getragen : Baroilhet.

Speicherort: Website des Nationalmuseums des Château de Compiègne

Kontakt Copyright: © Foto RMN-Grand Palais - D. Arnaudet

Bildreferenz: 97-024124 / C.53.049 / 27

© Foto RMN-Grand Palais - D. Arnaudet

Erscheinungsdatum: November 2010

Historischer Zusammenhang

Das 19. Jahrhundert, das Jahrhundert der Darsteller

Das 19. Jahrhundert war das Zeitalter der Oper, eine Art goldenes Zeitalter, in dem die lyrische Kunst beträchtliche Leidenschaft erregte. Der Bariton war damals einer von denen, die wie Gilbert Duprez und Rosine Stoltz auf dieser prestigeträchtigen Bühne mit Talent die größten Rollen im Repertoire spielten.

Bildanalyse

Die Porträtgalerie, eine Tradition

Diese Lithographie ist Teil einer Reihe von Porträts, die von 1839 bis 1841 von Louis Huart und Charles Philipon unter dem Titel veröffentlicht wurden Galerie für Presse, Literatur und bildende Kunst. Jede Abbildung wird von einer biografischen Notiz begleitet. Diese Galerie erscheint in Ausgaben und dann teilweise in gebundener Form am Ende eines jeden Jahres. Nur diese letzte Sammlung, bestehend aus drei Alben, ist erhalten, und Barroilhet (1810-1871) ist nicht da. Zu einem unbekannten Zeitpunkt veröffentlicht, wurde diese Lithographie von Charles Vogt, einem Studenten der École des beaux-arts, zweifellos kurz nach dem Engagement des Sängers an der Oper im Dezember 1840 produziert. Als Büste betrachtet, posiert er am meisten auf der ganzen Welt, in eleganter Stadtkleidung, mit verschränkten Armen und leicht schräg. Durch die Ruhe, die vom Künstler ausgeht, kontrastiert dieses Porträt mit den Karikaturen, die ironisch über die Aufregung und Übertreibung seines Handelns sind.

Interpretation

Ein in Vergessenheit geratenes Idol

Vogts Porträt von Paul Barroilhet repräsentiert ihn zu Beginn seiner Pariser Karriere. Obwohl er gebürtiger Franzose und Student des Pariser Konservatoriums war, begann er in Italien und kehrte erst nach mehreren Jahren des Erfolgs auf der anderen Seite der Alpen nach Frankreich zurück (wo er verschiedene Rollen insbesondere für Donizetti und Mercadante schuf). Es ist diese Bekanntheit, die ihn dazu brachte, auf der prestigeträchtigsten Bühne Frankreichs engagiert zu werden. Er beginnt dort in Der Favorit, am 2. Dezember 1840, und wurde sehr schnell einer der Lieblinge der Öffentlichkeit.

Bereits 1841 schuf er den Charakter von Lusignan in Die Königin von Zypern, aber es war das von Karl VI. in der gleichnamigen Oper, das schnell zu seinem Flaggschiff wurde. Diese unmittelbare Popularität rechtfertigt seine Präsenz in dieser Hinsicht in hohem Maße Galerieneben den größten Sängern seiner Zeit: seinem Freund Nourrit, aber auch Lablache, Rubini oder Duprez.

Seltsamerweise und trotz seiner Erfolge ist Barroilhet heute weit davon entfernt, dessen Ruhm zu haben. Es ist sogar schwierig, Bücher zu finden, die ein paar Seiten widmen. Sein Ruhm ist daher sowohl immens als auch kurzlebig, sicherlich weil sein Privatleben und sein Talent viel weniger Debatten ausgelöst haben als die von Duprez und Stoltz. Darüber hinaus verließ dieser große Kunstliebhaber ab 1847 die Szene, um sich seiner Gemäldesammlung zu widmen.

  • Oper
  • Porträt

Literaturverzeichnis

Galerie für Presse, Literatur und bildende Kunst, Paris, Aubert, 1839-1841. Jean-Louis TAMVACO, "Paul-Bernard Barroilhet", in Kenntnisse von Paris und Frankreich1973, Nr. 17, p. 88-91.Damien COLAS, "Paul Barroilhet", in Joël-Marie Fauquet (dir.), Musikwörterbuch in Frankreich im 19. Jahrhundert, Paris, Fayard, 2003. Jean GOURRET, Neues Wörterbuch der Sänger der Pariser Oper vom 17. Jahrhundert bis heute, Paris, Albatros, 1989.

Um diesen Artikel zu zitieren

Stella ROLLET, "Paul Barroilhet"


Video: Makeba Williams, MD, UW Health Obstetrics and Gynecology