The crossing of the Rhine by Louis XIV

The crossing of the Rhine by Louis XIV


We are searching data for your request:

Forums and discussions:
Manuals and reference books:
Data from registers:
Wait the end of the search in all databases.
Upon completion, a link will appear to access the found materials.

  • Le Passage du Rhin, June 12, 1672.

    VAN DER MEULEN Adam-François (1632 - 1690)

  • Le Passage du Rhin, June 12, 1672 [the characters].

    VAN DER MEULEN Adam-François (1632 - 1690)

To close

Title: Le Passage du Rhin, June 12, 1672.

Author : VAN DER MEULEN Adam-François (1632 - 1690)

Date shown: June 12, 1672

Dimensions: Height 49 - Width 110

Technique and other indications: Oil on canvas

Storage location: Louvre Museum (Paris) website

Contact copyright: © Photo RMN-Grand Palais (Louvre Museum) / Jean-Gilles Berizzisite web

Picture reference: 08-551312 / INV1490

Le Passage du Rhin, June 12, 1672.

© Photo RMN-Grand Palais (Louvre Museum) / Jean-Gilles Berizzi

To close

Title: Le Passage du Rhin, June 12, 1672 [the characters].

Author : VAN DER MEULEN Adam-François (1632 - 1690)

Date shown: June 12, 1672

Dimensions: Height 49 - Width 110

Technique and other indications: Oil on canvas

Storage location: Louvre Museum (Paris) website

Contact copyright: © Photo RMN-Grand Palais (Louvre Museum) / Jean-Gilles Berizzisite web

Picture reference: 08-551312 / INV1490

Le Passage du Rhin, June 12, 1672 [the characters].

© Photo RMN-Grand Palais (Louvre Museum) / Jean-Gilles Berizzi

Publication date: December 2013

University of Evry-Val d'Essonne

Historical context

France's lightning offensive

On April 6, 1672, Louis XIV declared war on the United Provinces (Northern Netherlands) in order to lower the outrageous economic and commercial power of the small Protestant republic. On June 12, 1672, the cavalry reached an arm of the Rhine near Schenk, opposite the village of Tolhuys, the “toll house”. The troops of Prince William of Orange (1650-1702) offered little resistance to the 20,000 French soldiers who crossed the river easily.

This feat of arms-length becomes the subject of a vast artistic production which mobilizes all the arts (painting, sculpture, literature) as well as numismatics. In The Century of Louis XIV, Voltaire (1694-1778) describes "a dazzling and unique action, celebrated then as one of the great events which should occupy the memory of men".

The painting by Adam-François Van der Meulen, a Flemish painter who served in France, is a model of its kind in the staging of a military event for propaganda purposes. In 1664, he went into the service of the king and collaborated with Charles Le Brun (1619-1690), the king's first painter. The work adorns the cabinet dedicated to the actions of Louis XIV within the Château de Choisy.

Image Analysis

The triumph of the warchief

The composition of the painting is based on several preparatory studies and sketches, such as the project of an allegorical tapestry based on a three-part iconographic program presented by the artist: "I sketched the Rhine crossing, in three pieces; the first is the march of the cavalry, the middle the King who commands, and the third where we make the bridge of boats. The painting in the Louvre Museum corresponds to the central section of this triptych, the one which attributes the posture of warlord to the sovereign. The painter did not follow the king during the campaign of June 1672, but went there the following September to study the site. If the characters are staged, the topography is respected, in a Flemish style combining a chiaroscuro sky with vegetation made of shades of green. The painter also reveals his virtuosity in the representation of horses.

This small painting describes a large panorama where the reading of the action is guided by a succession of shots. In the right half of the work appears a group of men on horseback who have taken their places on a hill. Among them, the king immediately catches the eye. Her sparkling costume and her white horse with the dappled dress are magnified by the light. Louis XIV turns to the viewer to reinforce the idea of ​​a demonstration in progress. Sword in scabbard, he holds the staff of command which extends his right hand, the hand of action, in order to dramatize the event.

By combining several techniques (various shots, sketches, light effects, gestures), Van der Meulen energizes his painting and gives the impression that the event is taking place live. The royal mount rears up to reflect the beginning of the maneuver, which recalls another painting by the painter, the equestrian portrait of the king in front of Besançon. In the background, the action becomes clearer: military maneuvers and cannonade reinforce the martial atmosphere, as the riders rush towards the river, saber clear. In the background, the Rhine is invaded by a multitude of soldiers surging on a few Dutch horsemen. Rather harmless cannon shots were fired from the tower in the village of Tolhuys.

Interpretation

Glory, Worth and Honor

Van der Meulen's painting models a certain image of the king. It allows many historical parallels with Alexander the Great or Julius Caesar who participate in the birth of the myth and these “strategies of glory” studied by Peter Burke (see bibliography). After the invasion of the United Provinces, the crossing of the Rhine symbolically opens a new diplomatic space. Jean Racine (1639-1699) evokes the effect of this episode on the Dutch: "They flee at full speed, and falling on each other, will carry the news to the depths of Holland that the king had passed. . "

On a preparatory sketch, the painter adds three allegorical figures which symbolize the greatness of the act: Glory, Worth and Honor. Through this historical panorama, Van der Meulen represents the unshakeable stature of the sovereign, actor in a victorious and unstoppable march. He placed Louis XIV (no 1) at the heart of the event, in the immediate vicinity of danger, in order to magnify its courage and power. The king eclipses the other characters: Duke Philippe d´Orléans (1640-1701), his brother (no 2), faces him; the Grand Condé (no 3) plans the maneuver, but is set back behind the ruler. In a blue coat and red trousers, an officer of the French Guards addresses the King who, entirely concerned with the action in progress, barely turns his head.

This historical scene is the object of multiple replicas which swarm across the kingdom, by Van der Meulen himself, his disciples or other painters, such as the paintings by Joseph Parrocel (1646-1704), Jean-Baptiste Martin l 'Elder (1659-1735) or Savior Le Comte (1659-1694). The glory of arms is also celebrated by almanacs, medals or bas-reliefs, as on the Saint-Denis gate, dedicated to "Louis the Great". In reality, this triumphal scene erected as a historical reference masks the military setbacks of the following days. In July, the Dutch opened the dykes, flooded the flat country and stopped the advance of French troops. This painting in fact illustrates an action in half-tone, without glare and without major rupture, but from 1673, it allows Van der Meulen to be received at the Academy of painting and sculpture.

  • army
  • Bourbons
  • Condé
  • Holland
  • Louis XIV
  • Orleans (of)
  • Great Century
  • Racine (Jean)

Bibliography

Lucien BÉLY, International Relations in Europe. 17th-18th centuries, Paris, University Press of France, coll. “Themis. History ”, 1992.

Peter BURKE, Louis XIV. The strategies of glory, Paris, Le Seuil, 1995.

Joël CORNETTE, The King of War. Essay on Sovereignty in Grand Siècle France, Paris, Payot, coll. "Historical Library", 1993.

Hervé DRÉVILLON, The Absolute Kings. 1629-1715, Paris, Belin, coll. “History of France”, 2011.

· Sandra DE VRIES, ““ Le passage du Rhin ”door Adam-Frans van der Meulen”, in Newsletter van het Rijksmuseum, 1993, no 1.

Isabelle RICHEFORT, Adam-François Van der Meulen. Flemish painter in the service of Louis XIV, Rennes, Rennes University Press, coll. "Art and society", 2004.

· Laure STARCKY, "The epic of a crossing", in To the glory of the king: Van der Meulen, painter of the conquests of Louis XIV, catalog of the exhibition of the Musée des Beaux-Arts de Dijon (9 June-28 September 1998) and the Musée d'Histoire de la Ville de Luxembourg (29 October 1998-17 January 1999), Dijon-Luxembourg, Musée des Beaux -Arts de Dijon-Musée d'Histoire de la Ville de Luxembourg, 1998.

To cite this article

Stéphane BLOND, "The passage of the Rhine by Louis XIV"


Video: The Crossing Of The Rhine River WWII

Die Rheinüberquerung durch Ludwig XIV

Die Rheinüberquerung durch Ludwig XIV

  • Le Passage du Rhin, 12. Juni 1672.

    VAN DER MEULEN Adam-François (1632 - 1690)

  • Le Passage du Rhin, 12. Juni 1672 [die Charaktere].

    VAN DER MEULEN Adam-François (1632 - 1690)

Schließen

Titel: Le Passage du Rhin, 12. Juni 1672.

Autor: VAN DER MEULEN Adam-François (1632 - 1690)

Datum angezeigt: 12. Juni 1672

Maße: Höhe 49 - Breite 110

Technik und andere Indikationen: Öl auf Leinwand

Lagerraum: Website des Louvre-Museums (Paris)

Kontakt Copyright: © Foto RMN-Grand Palais (Louvre-Museum) / Jean-Gilles Berizzisite Web

Bildreferenz: 08-551312 / INV1490

Le Passage du Rhin, 12. Juni 1672.

© Foto RMN-Grand Palais (Louvre-Museum) / Jean-Gilles Berizzi

Schließen

Titel: Le Passage du Rhin, 12. Juni 1672 [die Charaktere].

Autor: VAN DER MEULEN Adam-François (1632 - 1690)

Datum angezeigt: 12. Juni 1672

Maße: Höhe 49 - Breite 110

Technik und andere Indikationen: Öl auf Leinwand

Lagerraum: Website des Louvre-Museums (Paris)

Kontakt Copyright: © Foto RMN-Grand Palais (Louvre-Museum) / Jean-Gilles Berizzisite Web

Bildreferenz: 08-551312 / INV1490

Le Passage du Rhin, 12. Juni 1672 [die Charaktere].

© Foto RMN-Grand Palais (Louvre-Museum) / Jean-Gilles Berizzi

Erscheinungsdatum: Dezember 2013

Universität von Evry-Val d'Essonne

Historischer Zusammenhang

Frankreichs Blitzoffensive

Am 6. April 1672 erklärte Ludwig XIV. Den Vereinigten Provinzen (Nordniederlande) den Krieg, um die empörende wirtschaftliche und kommerzielle Macht der kleinen protestantischen Republik zu verringern. Am 12. Juni 1672 erreichte die Kavallerie einen Rheinarm bei Schenk gegenüber dem Dorf Tolhuys, dem „Zollhaus“. Die Truppen von Prinz Wilhelm von Oranien (1650-1702) leisteten den 20.000 französischen Soldaten, die den Fluss leicht überquerten, wenig Widerstand.

Dieses Kunststück wird zum Gegenstand einer umfangreichen künstlerischen Produktion, die alle Künste (Malerei, Skulptur, Literatur) sowie die Numismatik mobilisiert. Im Das Jahrhundert Ludwigs XIVVoltaire (1694-1778) beschreibt "eine schillernde und einzigartige Aktion, die damals als eines der großen Ereignisse gefeiert wurde, die die Erinnerung der Menschen beschäftigen sollten".

Das Gemälde von Adam-François Van der Meulen, einem flämischen Maler, der in Frankreich diente, ist ein Modell dieser Art bei der Inszenierung eines militärischen Ereignisses für Propagandazwecke. 1664 trat er in den Dienst des Königs und arbeitete mit Charles Le Brun (1619-1690) zusammen, dem ersten Maler des Königs. Die Arbeit schmückt das Kabinett, das den Aktionen Ludwigs XIV. Im Château de Choisy gewidmet ist.

Bildanalyse

Der Triumph des Kriegshäuptlings

Die Komposition des Gemäldes basiert auf mehreren vorbereitenden Studien und Skizzen, wie dem Projekt eines allegorischen Wandteppichs, der auf einem dreiteiligen ikonografischen Programm basiert, das der Künstler präsentiert: "Ich habe das skizziert Rheinübergangin drei Stücken; Der erste ist der Marsch der Kavallerie, der mittlere der König, der befiehlt, und der dritte, wo wir die Brücke der Boote bauen. Das Gemälde im Louvre entspricht dem zentralen Teil dieses Triptychons, der dem Souverän die Haltung des Kriegsherrn zuschreibt. Der Maler folgte dem König während des Feldzugs im Juni 1672 nicht, sondern ging im folgenden September dorthin, um die Stätte zu studieren. Wenn die Figuren inszeniert werden, wird die Topographie im flämischen Stil respektiert, wobei ein Hell-Dunkel-Himmel mit einer Vegetation aus Grüntönen kombiniert wird. Der Maler zeigt auch seine Virtuosität in der Darstellung von Pferden.

Dieses kleine Gemälde beschreibt ein großes Panorama, in dem das Lesen der Handlung von einer Reihe von Aufnahmen geleitet wird. In der rechten Hälfte der Arbeit erscheint eine Gruppe von Männern zu Pferd, die ihren Platz auf einem Hügel eingenommen haben. Unter ihnen fällt der König sofort ins Auge. Ihr funkelndes Kostüm und ihr weißes Pferd mit dem gesprenkelten Kleid werden durch das Licht vergrößert. Ludwig XIV. Wendet sich an den Betrachter, um die Idee einer laufenden Demonstration zu bekräftigen. Mit dem Schwert in der Scheide hält er den Kommandostab, der seine rechte Hand, die Hand des Handelns, ausstreckt, um das Ereignis zu dramatisieren.

Durch die Kombination verschiedener Techniken (verschiedene Aufnahmen, Skizzen, Lichteffekte, Gesten) regt Van der Meulen seine Malerei an und vermittelt den Eindruck, dass die Veranstaltung live stattfindet. Der königliche Berg erhebt sich, um den Beginn des Manövers widerzuspiegeln, das an ein anderes Gemälde des Malers erinnert, das Reiterporträt des Königs vor Besançon. Im Hintergrund wird die Aktion klarer: Militärische Manöver und Kanonaden verstärken die Kampfatmosphäre, während die Reiter säbelklar auf den Fluss zueilen. Im Hintergrund wird der Rhein von einer Vielzahl von Soldaten überfallen, die sich auf einige niederländische Reiter stürzen. In der Ferne vom Turm des Dorfes Tolhuys werden ziemlich harmlose Kanonenschüsse abgefeuert.

Interpretation

Ruhm, Wert und Ehre

Van der Meulens Gemälde modelliert ein bestimmtes Bild des Königs. Es erlaubt viele historische Parallelen zu Alexander dem Großen oder Julius Cäsar, die an der Geburt des Mythos und diesen von Peter Burke untersuchten „Strategien des Ruhms“ beteiligt sind (siehe Bibliographie). Nach dem Einmarsch in die Vereinigten Provinzen eröffnet die Rheinüberquerung symbolisch einen neuen diplomatischen Raum. Jean Racine (1639-1699) erinnert an die Auswirkungen dieser Episode auf die Holländer: "Sie fliehen mit voller Geschwindigkeit und fallen aufeinander, um die Nachricht in die Tiefen Hollands zu tragen, die der König passiert hat. . ""

Auf einer vorbereitenden Skizze fügt der Maler drei allegorische Figuren hinzu, die die Größe des Aktes symbolisieren: Ruhm, Wert und Ehre. Durch dieses historische Panorama repräsentiert Van der Meulen die unerschütterliche Statur des souveränen Schauspielers in einem siegreichen und unaufhaltsamen Marsch. Er platzierte Ludwig XIVÖ 1) im Herzen des Ereignisses, in unmittelbarer Nähe der Gefahr, um seinen Mut und seine Macht zu vergrößern. Der König verdunkelt die anderen Charaktere: Herzog Philippe d´Orléans (1640-1701), sein Bruder (nÖ 2) steht ihm gegenüber; der Grand Condé (n. der Grand CondéÖ 3) plant das Manöver, wird aber hinter das Lineal zurückgesetzt. In einem blauen Mantel und einer roten Hose spricht ein Offizier der französischen Garde den König an, der, völlig besorgt über die laufende Aktion, kaum den Kopf abwendet.

Diese historische Szene ist Gegenstand mehrerer Nachbildungen, die von Van der Meulen selbst, seinen Schülern oder anderen Malern über das Königreich schwärmen, wie die Gemälde von Joseph Parrocel (1646-1704), Jean-Baptiste Martin l Elder (1659-1735) oder Retter Le Comte (1659-1694). Der Ruhm der Waffen wird auch von Almanachen, Medaillen oder Reliefs gefeiert, wie am Saint-Denis-Tor, das "Ludwig dem Großen" gewidmet ist. In Wirklichkeit maskiert diese als historische Referenz errichtete Triumphszene die militärischen Rückschläge der folgenden Tage. Im Juli öffneten die Holländer die Deiche, überfluteten das flache Land und stoppten den Vormarsch der französischen Truppen. Dieses Gemälde zeigt tatsächlich eine Aktion im Halbton, ohne Blendung und ohne größeren Bruch, aber ab 1673 kann Van der Meulen an der Akademie für Malerei und Skulptur empfangen werden.

  • Heer
  • Bourbonen
  • Condé
  • Holland
  • Ludwig XIV
  • Orleans (von)
  • Großes Jahrhundert
  • Racine (Jean)

Literaturverzeichnis

Lucien BÉLY, Internationale Beziehungen in Europa. 17.-18. Jahrhundert, Paris, University Press of France, Slg. „Themis. Geschichte “, 1992.

Peter BURKE, Ludwig XIV. Die Strategien des Ruhms, Paris, Le Seuil, 1995.

Joël CORNETTE, Der König des Krieges. Essay über Souveränität in Grand Siècle Frankreich, Paris, Payot, umg. "Historische Bibliothek", 1993.

Hervé DRÉVILLON, Die absoluten Könige. 1629-1715, Paris, Belin, umg. "Geschichte Frankreichs", 2011.

· Sandra DE VRIES, „Le Durchgang du Rhin“ Tür Adam-Frans van der Meulen “, in Newsletter van het Rijksmuseum1993, Nr. 1.

Isabelle RICHEFORT, Adam-François Van der Meulen. Flämischer Maler im Dienste Ludwigs XIV, Rennes, Rennes University Press, Slg. "Kunst und Gesellschaft", 2004.

· Laure STARCKY, "Das Epos einer Kreuzung", in Zur Ehre des Königs: Van der Meulen, Maler der Eroberungen Ludwigs XIV, Katalog der Ausstellung des Musée des Beaux-Arts in Dijon (9. Juni bis 28. September 1998) und des Musée d'Histoire de la Ville de Luxembourg (29. Oktober 1998 - 17. Januar 1999), Dijon-Luxembourg, Musée des Beaux -Arts de Dijon-Musée d'Histoire de la Ville de Luxembourg, 1998.

Um diesen Artikel zu zitieren

Stéphane BLOND, "Die Rheinpassage Ludwigs XIV."


Video: . Teil 1