The Paris-Mediterranean

The Paris-Mediterranean


We are searching data for your request:

Forums and discussions:
Manuals and reference books:
Data from registers:
Wait the end of the search in all databases.
Upon completion, a link will appear to access the found materials.

To close

Title: Advertising poster for the Mediterranean Express.

Creation date : 1889

Date shown:

Dimensions: Height 115 - Width 87.5

Technique and other indications: Colored lithograph

Storage location: MuCEM website

Contact copyright: © Photo RMN-Grand Palais - G. Blot

Picture reference: 05-509311 / 61.18.59F

Advertising poster for the Mediterranean Express.

© Photo RMN-Grand Palais - G. Blot

Publication date: January 2012

Historical context

The Mediterranean within reach by rail

If the French Riviera has been a holiday resort for the wealthy since the 18th centurye century, it truly becomes a place of tourism in the middle of the XIXe century. Still reserved for a very small minority made up of the wealthiest classes in France and Europe, it is however attracting more and more people to its hotels, casinos and more or less luxurious villas.

A boom made possible in particular by the development of the steam train, which brings the Mediterranean closer to the major European cities, including London and Paris. In line with the PLM (Paris-Lyon-Marseille) created in 1857, the Compagnie des wagons-lits was created in 1872, before being renamed

International company of sleeping cars and large European expressways in 1884. The French company (of Belgian origin) specializing in luxury trains in sleeping cars for lounges and restaurants can thus offer its future customers a trip on the Mediterranean Express, as evidenced by the advertising poster dating from 1889 here proposed in the study.

Image Analysis

From gray to azure

Mediterranean Express combines a stylized and symbolic representation with practical information. These present in writing the service offered (top), the company offering them (top left), but also the departure and arrival times (center left and bottom), as well as the stations served. The advertisement is therefore intended to be precise, which facilitates the process for buyers and suggests seriousness and performance (speed and comfort mentioned above on the right) of the service.

As this is a lithograph, the delicacy of the line is remarkable, more reminiscent of painting than the drawing traditionally used for this medium and this advertising function. The first small image (top left) represents a French city (see the flag), probably Paris (see the lampposts) of the Belle-Epoque (see the carriage and the clothes of passers-by) battered by winds and rain . It contrasts with the main image, which represents all the elements symbolically linked to the ideal and much sunnier French Riviera. A seafront (reminiscent of the Promenade des Anglais or the Croisette), a luxury hotel, the deep blue sea and controlled vegetation thus depict an idyllic destination. If we recognize the artist’s hand on the two representations, the difference in the treatment of colors and light remains striking and remarkable.

Interpretation

A certain idea of ​​tourism

It was logically through wall advertising, which was also booming in European cities at the end of the 19th century, that the Company intended to seduce potential tourists (French and English here). By deploying its commercial vocation, the image also informs us about the perception and representation then associated with the French Riviera and the "luxury" tourism that it allows.

As such, the "pictorial" and symbolic opposition between Paris and the Mediterranean is eloquent. In a style reminiscent of that of Cézanne or even Corot, the southern city thus dreamed of presents indeed an attractive place. The International company of sleeping cars and large European expressways is therefore aimed at a very affluent audience, offering them a luxury and comfortable service for a luxury resort. The fact that the poster also concerns English people is not trivial either, referring to the tourism and at tourist British, synonymous with class and refined elegance which the delicacy, quality and stylization of the images try to respect.

As to signs here associated with tourism on the coast, they refer to the representation shared at the time (including that of the more modest classes). According to an advertising process on the way to becoming classic, Mediterranean Express helps to anchor them even more in the collective imagination, while relying on them to stimulate envy.

  • Hobbies
  • railway
  • Mediterranean

Bibliography

CORBIN Alain, The Advent of Leisure (1850-1960), Paris, Flammarion, coll. "Champs", 2001. GOUJON Jacques, One hundred years of tourism in France, Paris, éditions du Recherches-Midi, 1990. LAMMING Clive and MARSEILLE Jacques, Le Temps des chemin de fer en France, Paris, Nathan, 1986. PECHEUX Jacques, The Birth of European Rail, Paris, Berger-Levrault, 1970.VAN DIEVOET Ibert, Compagnie Internationale des Wagons-Lits et des Grands Express Européens, in Belgian Expansion, Brussels, December 1908, n ° XI, p.485 to 489 .

To cite this article

Alexandre SUMPF, "Le Paris-Méditerranée"


Video: Could Greece and France stop Turkey from taking the eastern Mediterranean?

Das Paris-Mittelmeer

Das Paris-Mittelmeer

Schließen

Titel: Werbeplakat für den Mediterranean Express.

Erstellungsdatum : 1889

Datum angezeigt:

Maße: Höhe 115 - Breite 87,5

Technik und andere Indikationen: Farbige Lithographie

Speicherort: MuCEM-Website

Kontakt Copyright: © Foto RMN-Grand Palais - G. Blot

Bildreferenz: 05-509311 / 61.18.59F

Werbeplakat für den Mediterranean Express.

© Foto RMN-Grand Palais - G. Blot

Erscheinungsdatum: Januar 2012

Historischer Zusammenhang

Das Mittelmeer mit der Bahn erreichbar

Wenn die französische Riviera seit dem 18. Jahrhundert ein Ferienort für die Reichen iste Jahrhundert wird es wirklich ein Ort von Tourismus in der Mitte des XIXe Jahrhundert. Es ist immer noch einer sehr kleinen Minderheit vorbehalten, die sich aus den reichsten Klassen Frankreichs und Europas zusammensetzt. Es zieht jedoch immer mehr Menschen in seine Hotels, Casinos und mehr oder weniger luxuriösen Villen.

Ein Boom wurde insbesondere durch die Entwicklung des Dampfzuges ermöglicht, der das Mittelmeer den europäischen Großstädten wie London und Paris näher bringt. In Anlehnung an die 1857 geschaffene PLM (Paris-Lyon-Marseille) wurde 1872 die Compagnie des wagons-lits gegründet, bevor sie umbenannt wurde

Internationale Gesellschaft von Schlafwagen und großen europäischen Schnellstraßen 1884. Die französische Firma (belgischer Herkunft), spezialisiert auf Luxuszüge im Schlafwagen für Lounges und Restaurants kann so seinen zukünftigen Kunden eine Reise auf die Mediterraner Express, wie das hier in der Studie vorgestellte Werbeplakat aus dem Jahr 1889 belegt.

Bildanalyse

Von grau bis azurblau

Mediterraner Express kombiniert eine stilisierte und symbolische Darstellung mit praktischen Informationen. Diese präsentieren schriftlich den angebotenen Service (oben), das Unternehmen, das sie anbietet (oben links), aber auch die Abfahrts- und Ankunftszeiten (Mitte links und unten) sowie die bedienten Stationen. Die Werbung soll daher präzise sein, was den Prozess für Käufer erleichtert und Ernsthaftigkeit und Leistung suggeriert (Geschwindigkeit und Komfort oben rechts erwähnt) des Dienstes.

Da es sich um eine Lithografie handelt, ist die Zartheit der Linie bemerkenswert und erinnert eher an die Malerei als an die Zeichnung, die traditionell für dieses Medium und diese Werbefunktion verwendet wird. Das erste kleine Bild (oben links) zeigt eine französische Stadt (siehe Flagge), wahrscheinlich Paris (siehe Laternenpfähle) der Belle-Epoque (siehe Kutsche und Kleidung von Passanten), die von Wind und Regen geschlagen wurde . Es steht im Kontrast zum Hauptbild, das alle Elemente darstellt, die symbolisch mit der idealen und viel sonnigeren französischen Riviera verbunden sind. Eine Strandpromenade (die an die Promenade des Anglais oder die Croisette erinnert), ein Luxushotel, das tiefblaue Meer und die kontrollierte Vegetation sind somit ein idyllisches Reiseziel. Wenn wir die Hand des Künstlers an den beiden Darstellungen erkennen, bleibt der Unterschied in der Behandlung von Farben und Licht auffällig und bemerkenswert.

Interpretation

Eine bestimmte Vorstellung vom Tourismus

Logischerweise wollte das Unternehmen durch Wandwerbung, die Ende des 19. Jahrhunderts auch in europäischen Städten boomte, potenzielle Touristen (hier Französisch und Englisch) verführen. Durch den Einsatz seiner kommerziellen Berufung informiert uns das Bild auch über die Wahrnehmung und Repräsentation, die dann mit der französischen Riviera und dem damit verbundenen "Luxus" -Tourismus verbunden sind.

Als solches ist der "bildliche" und symbolische Gegensatz zwischen Paris und dem Mittelmeer beredt. In einem Stil, der an den von Cézanne oder sogar Corot erinnert, träumte die südliche Stadt von Geschenken und war in der Tat ein attraktiver Ort. Das Internationale Gesellschaft von Schlafwagen und großen europäischen Schnellstraßen richtet sich daher an ein sehr wohlhabendes Publikum und bietet ihnen einen luxuriösen und komfortablen Service für ein Luxusresort. Die Tatsache, dass das Plakat auch Engländer betrifft, ist auch nicht trivial Tourismus und bei Tourist Britisch, gleichbedeutend mit Klasse und raffinierter Eleganz, die die Zartheit, Qualität und Stilisierung der Bilder zu respektieren versuchen.

Bezüglich Zeichen hier im Zusammenhang mit dem Tourismus an der Küste beziehen sie sich auf die damals geteilte Repräsentation (einschließlich der der bescheideneren Klassen). Nach einem Werbeprozess auf dem Weg zum Klassiker, Mediterraner Express hilft, sie noch mehr in der kollektiven Vorstellungskraft zu verankern, während sie sich darauf verlassen, dass sie Neid anregen.

  • Hobbys
  • Eisenbahn
  • Mittelmeer-

Literaturverzeichnis

CORBIN Alain, Das Aufkommen der Freizeit (1850-1960), Paris, Flammarion, umg. "Champs", 2001. GOUJON Jacques, Hundert Jahre Tourismus in Frankreich, Paris, éditions du Recherches-Midi, 1990. LAMMING Clive und MARSEILLE Jacques, Le Temps des Chemin de Fer en Frankreich, Paris, Nathan, 1986. PECHEUX Jacques, Die Geburt der Europäischen Schiene, Paris, Berger-Levrault, 1970. Van Dieville Ibert, Compagnie Internationale des Wagons-Lits und des Grands Express Européens, in belgischer Expansion, Brüssel, Dezember 1908, Nr. XI, S. 485 bis 489 .

Um diesen Artikel zu zitieren

Alexandre SUMPF, "Le Paris-Méditerranée"


Video: Killerwale jagen Motorboot - Orca-Wale vor Kalifornien angeln