JOB cigarette paper

JOB cigarette paper


We are searching data for your request:

Forums and discussions:
Manuals and reference books:
Data from registers:
Wait the end of the search in all databases.
Upon completion, a link will appear to access the found materials.

To close

Title: Job poster cigarette paper.

Author : ATCHE Jane (1872 - 1937)

Creation date : 1896

Date shown:

Dimensions: Height 50 - Width 69.1

Technique and other indications: Colored lithograph.

Storage location: Decorative Arts Museum website

Contact copyright: © Photo RMN-Grand Palais - Bulloz

Picture reference: 00-008693

Job poster cigarette paper.

© Photo RMN-Grand Palais - Bulloz

Publication date: October 2011

Professor of contemporary history IUFM and Université Claude Bernard Lyon 1.Head of University for all, Université Jean Monnet, Saint-Etienne.

Historical context

Smoke is in fashion

Since 1843, when the first industrial modules were put on the French market, cigarettes have taken over social space. After manual production by the many workers of the Régie des Tabacs, the production of cigarettes became mechanized in the early 1870s, with the industrial revolution accelerating: the revolutionary machine known as "Gauloise" was presented by its inventor Anatole Découflé to the Universal Exhibition of 1889. However, hand-made cigarettes, known as “hand-sewn”, still represent the majority of the modules sold. Jean Bardou, who filed a patent for invention in Perpignan, joined forces from the start of the IIe Republic to the Toulouse trade representative Jacques-Zacharie Pauilhac and initiates a commercial organization for the sale of paper notebooks: the acronym JB is separated by a diamond which recalls both the arms of Perpignan and the merchant's carrot. Soon the public will read "JOB". A large factory was founded in La Moulasse in Ariège, then in Toulouse. Jean Bardou's own brother, Joseph, creates the paper Le Nil in the same city.

The promotion of products involves the development of illustrated "advertising": you buy better what you see (or think you see). The use of the three primary colors (blue, yellow, red), to which we add black, makes it possible to obtain all the possible tints and shades.

Image Analysis

The advertising woman

The image of women has been used systematically by artists since Chéret's first posters (The Valentino ball, 1869): women set the tone for fashion products. Whether it's to go to the ball, to eat chocolate, or even to make you want to smoke, she sells.

In November 1896 a major exhibition of artistic posters was held at the Cirque de Reims. Celebrities from the world of the arts take part: Alphonse Mucha (Lefèvre-Utile biscuits), Toulouse-Lautrec (Michaël cycles), Firmin Bouisset (Robert baby bottles). The young Jane Atché - she is twenty-four years old -, coming from Toulouse, presents there a young blonde woman, seated, in a straw yellow dress and large black hat, who contemplates the smoke of a cigarette which she is holding in her hand right, while the volutes are concentrated to form a circle, veiling the head of the young lady with a halo. This poster follows that of Firmin Bouisset from 1895 and precedes the two posters Art Nouveau de Mucha from 1897 and 1898. The Toulouse-Lautrec project was not retained, while that of Jane Atché was taken over by the JOB company at the cost of a few modifications: the dress became soft green, matching the background, and the A scarf of smoke now floats around the JOB brand, while the dress features a rewarding phrase, “Hors Concours Paris 1889” (at the Universal Exhibition). The woman who smokes makes men's heads spin. It breaks down the walls of conventions.

Interpretation

The woman smokes

A woman who smokes is not common in a still very intolerant society. The etiquette manuals (that of the Baroness de Staff, among others) point to the impropriety of female smoking. It would be totally inappropriate to buy packets of ready-made cigarettes at the tobacco store. Using paper to roll your cigarette is perhaps a good way to get around the social ban, when you belong to good society, that of women who are neither vulgar like workers, nor emancipated like "lionesses" of the first half of the XIXe century, nor prostitutes like the popular extraction public girls. The distinction goes through the beauty of the garment, the elegance of the gesture, the care of the outfit.

The advertising for the smoke turns on the woman's view. It is certain that the promotion of cigarettes, of the practice of smoking, leads to the social identification of women, mysterious smokers and subjects of male desires.

  • women
  • publicity
  • tobacco
  • Mucha (Alfons)

Bibliography

Bénigno CACÉRÈS, Si le tabac m'être conté…, Paris, La Découverte, 1988. Claudine DHOTEL-VELLIET, Jane Atché, Lille, Le Pont du Nord editions, 2010. Thierry LEFEBVRE, Didier NOURRISSON and Myriam TSIKOUNAS, Quand les psychotropes faire their pub. One hundred thirty years of promotion of alcohol, tobacco, medicines, Paris, Editions du Nouveau Monde, 2010 Dominique LEJEUNE, La France des beginnings de la IIIe République, 1870-1896, Paris, Armand Colin, 1994 Dominique LEJEUNE, La France de la Belle Époque, 1896-1914, Paris, Armand Colin, 1991, Didier NOURRISSON, Cigarette, Histoire d'une tease, Paris, Payot, 2010.

To cite this article

Didier NOURRISSON, "JOB cigarette paper"


Video: Burn Transparent Banana Flavored Rolling Paper Review

JOB Zigarettenpapier

JOB Zigarettenpapier

Schließen

Titel: Job Poster Zigarettenpapier.

Autor: ATCHE Jane (1872 - 1937)

Erstellungsdatum : 1896

Datum angezeigt:

Maße: Höhe 50 - Breite 69,1

Technik und andere Indikationen: Farbige Lithographie.

Lagerraum: Website des Museums für dekorative Kunst

Kontakt Copyright: © Foto RMN-Grand Palais - Bulloz

Bildreferenz: 00-008693

Job Poster Zigarettenpapier.

© Foto RMN-Grand Palais - Bulloz

Erscheinungsdatum: Oktober 2011

Professor für Zeitgeschichte IUFM und Claude Bernard Lyon University 1. Leiter der Universität für alle, Jean Monnet University, Saint-Etienne.

Historischer Zusammenhang

Rauch ist in Mode

Seit 1843, als die ersten Industriemodule auf den französischen Markt gebracht wurden, haben Zigaretten den sozialen Raum übernommen. Nach der manuellen Produktion durch die vielen Arbeiter der Régie des Tabacs wurde die Zigarettenproduktion in den frühen 1870er Jahren mechanisiert, wobei sich die industrielle Revolution beschleunigte: Die revolutionäre Maschine "Gauloise" wurde von ihrem Erfinder Anatole Découflé vorgestellt Die Weltausstellung von 1889. Handgefertigte Zigaretten, bekannt als „handgenäht“, machen jedoch immer noch den größten Teil der verkauften Module aus. Jean Bardou, der in Perpignan ein Patent für eine Erfindung angemeldet hatte, schloss sich seit Beginn des IIe Republik an den Handelsvertreter von Toulouse, Jacques-Zacharie Pauilhac, und initiiert eine Handelsorganisation für den Verkauf von Notizbüchern aus Papier: Das Akronym JB ist durch einen Diamanten getrennt, der sowohl an die Arme von Perpignan als auch an die Karotte des Händlers erinnert. Bald wird die Öffentlichkeit "JOB" lesen. Eine große Fabrik wurde in La Moulasse in Ariège, dann in Toulouse gegründet. Jean Bardous eigener Bruder Joseph kreiert in derselben Stadt die Zeitung Le Nil.

Die Werbung für Produkte beinhaltet die Entwicklung illustrierter "Werbung": Wir kaufen besser, was wir sehen (oder zu sehen glauben). Die Verwendung der drei Grundfarben (blau, gelb, rot), zu denen wir Schwarz hinzufügen, ermöglicht es, alle möglichen Farbtöne und Schattierungen zu erhalten.

Bildanalyse

Die Werbefrau

Das Frauenbild wird seit Chérets ersten Plakaten systematisch von Künstlern verwendet (Der Valentino Ball, 1869): Frauen geben den Ton für Modeprodukte an. Ob es darum geht, zum Ball zu gehen, Schokolade zu essen oder dich zum Rauchen zu bringen, sie verkauft.

Im November 1896 fand im Cirque de Reims eine große Ausstellung künstlerischer Plakate statt. Prominente aus der Welt der Künste nehmen teil: Alphonse Mucha (Lefèvre-Utile-Kekse), Toulouse-Lautrec (Michaël-Zyklen), Firmin Bouisset (Robert-Flaschen). Die junge Jane Atché - sie ist vierundzwanzig Jahre alt - kommt aus Toulouse und präsentiert dort eine junge blonde Frau, die in einem strohgelben Kleid und einem großen schwarzen Hut sitzt und über den Rauch einer Zigarette nachdenkt, die sie in der Hand hält rechts, während die Voluten konzentriert sind, um einen Kreis zu bilden, der den Kopf der jungen Dame mit einem Heiligenschein verhüllt. Dieses Plakat folgt dem von Firmin Bouisset aus dem Jahr 1895 und geht den beiden Plakaten voraus Jugendstil de Mucha aus den Jahren 1897 und 1898. Das Projekt Toulouse-Lautrec wurde nicht beibehalten, während das von Jane Atché auf Kosten einiger Änderungen von der Firma JOB übernommen wurde: Das Kleid wurde weichgrün und passte zum Hintergrund und zum Ein Rauchschal schwebt jetzt um die Marke JOB, während das Kleid die lohnende Formel „Hors Concours Paris 1889“ (auf der Weltausstellung) trägt. Die Frau, die raucht, lässt die Köpfe der Männer drehen. Es bricht die Mauern von Konventionen ein.

Interpretation

Die Frau raucht

Eine Frau, die raucht, ist in einer immer noch sehr intoleranten Gesellschaft nicht trivial. Die Etikette-Handbücher (unter anderem die der Baronin de Staff) weisen auf die Unangemessenheit des weiblichen Rauchens hin. Es wäre völlig unangemessen, Päckchen mit fertigen Zigaretten im Tabakladen zu kaufen. Die Verwendung von Papier zum Rollen Ihrer Zigarette ist vielleicht ein guter Weg, um das soziale Verbot zu umgehen, wenn Sie einer guten Gesellschaft angehören, das von Frauen, die weder vulgär wie Arbeiterinnen noch emanzipiert wie "Löwinnen" der erste Hälfte des XIXe Jahrhundert, noch Prostituierte wie die beliebte Extraktion öffentlichen Mädchen. Die Unterscheidung geht durch die Schönheit des Kleidungsstücks, die Eleganz der Geste, die Pflege des Outfits.

Die Werbung für den Rauch macht die Rechnung der Frau an. Es ist sicher, dass die Förderung von Zigaretten, die Praxis des Rauchens, zur sozialen Identifikation von Frauen, mysteriösen Rauchern und Subjekten männlicher Wünsche führt.

  • Frauen
  • Werbung
  • Tabak
  • Mucha (Alfons)

Literaturverzeichnis

Bénigno CACÉRÈS, Paris, La Découverte, 1988. Claudine DHOTEL-VELLIET, Jane Atché, Lille, Le Pont du Nord, 2010. Thierry LEFEBVRE, Didier NOURRISSON und Myriam TSIKOUNAS, Quand les psychotropes faire ihre Kneipe. Einhundertdreißig Jahre Förderung von Alkohol, Tabak, Medikamenten, Paris, Editions du Nouveau Monde, 2010 Dominique LEJEUNE, La France des Beginns der IIIe République, 1870-1896, Paris, Armand Colin, 1994 Dominique LEJEUNE, La France de la Belle Époque, 1896-1914, Paris, Armand Colin, 1991, Didier NOURRISSON, Zigarette, Histoire d'une Tease, Paris, Payot, 2010.

Um diesen Artikel zu zitieren

Didier NOURRISSON, "JOB Zigarettenpapier"


Video: Девушки, какие намёки парни никогда не поймут?