Panorama of Palaces

Panorama of Palaces


We are searching data for your request:

Forums and discussions:
Manuals and reference books:
Data from registers:
Wait the end of the search in all databases.
Upon completion, a link will appear to access the found materials.

To close

Title: Universal Exhibition of 1878. The panorama of the palaces.

Author : FERN (-)

Creation date : 1878

Date shown: 1878

Dimensions: Height 0 - Width 0

Technique and other indications: Chromolithography

Storage place: Carnavalet Museum (Paris) website

Contact copyright: © Photo RMN-Grand Palais - Bulloz

Picture reference: 01-024370

Universal Exhibition of 1878. The panorama of the palaces.

© Photo RMN-Grand Palais - Bulloz

Publication date: December 2007

Doctorate in Art History

Historical context

A major exhibition

The 1878 exhibition, inaugurated on 1er May after nineteen months of work and preparation, is in line with the Universal Exhibitions of the XIXe century. Covering an area of ​​750,000 square meters, the exhibition had taken over a whole part of the capital around the Trocadéro hill and the Champ de Mars. The Exhibition, which was visited by more than 16 million people, nevertheless ended in a significant financial deficit of 28 million francs, caused by the construction of two palaces visible on the panorama.

Image Analysis

A universal exhibition on horseback on both banks of the Seine

This panorama describes the geography of the 1878 World's Fair, spread over both banks of the Seine. The northern part, on the right, included the Trocadéro and its gardens. The southern part, on the left, included the exhibition center and the rue des Nations, a row of foreign pavilions. Communication between the two groups took place via the Pont d'Iéna, a link between the two banks. The image testifies to the considerable importance of this ephemeral ensemble in the city. Above all, it reveals the preeminence given to glass and iron in the architecture of the Palais du Champ-de-Mars. Designed by engineer Léopold Hardy, this large building resembled a huge rectangular greenhouse over 400,000 meters in height. Pierced with twenty-seven openings, it contained galleries exhibiting remarkable pieces of international industry and rare objects such as the diamonds of the Crown of France. The architecture of the Palais du Champ-de-Mars, in its grandeur, far exceeded the Crystal Palace, a very famous palace that had been built by Joseph Paxton for the Universal Exhibition in London in 1851.

Interpretation

The panorama, an image of the XIXe century

The use of panoramas was very popular during the XIXe century, which cultivates a taste for history and intellectual and industrial prospecting. This is a chromolithography, a term coined by the lithographer Godefroy Engelmann to designate a color lithographic printing process based on four-color printing. The point of view adopted is that of the height, as if the observer were placed in the nacelle of an aerial vehicle, like the captive balloon called "the giant" raised in the air by the aeronaut Henry Giffard at above the Tuileries during the Exhibition. The use of panoramas remained very popular, especially during the Universal Exhibition of 1900, then gradually disappeared after the turn of the century, dethroned by the rise of photography and then cinematographic film.

  • architecture
  • Champ-de-Mars
  • Universal exhibitions
  • Paris
  • Trocadero Palace
  • city

Bibliography

Anne PINGEOT 1878, The first Universal Exhibition of the Republic Paris, RMN, 1988 Marc GAILLARD The Universal Exhibitions from 1855 to 1937 Paris, Les presses franciliennes, 2005.

To cite this article

Claire MAINGON, “Panorama of the Palaces”


Video: The Amazing Architecture of The Palace of Versailles

Panorama der Paläste

Panorama der Paläste

Schließen

Titel: Weltausstellung von 1878. Das Panorama der Paläste.

Autor: FERN (-)

Erstellungsdatum : 1878

Datum angezeigt: 1878

Maße: Höhe 0 - Breite 0

Technik und andere Indikationen: Chromolithographie

Speicherort: Website des Carnavalet Museum (Paris)

Kontakt Copyright: © Foto RMN-Grand Palais - Bulloz

Bildreferenz: 01-024370

Weltausstellung von 1878. Das Panorama der Paläste.

© Foto RMN-Grand Palais - Bulloz

Erscheinungsdatum: Dezember 2007

Promotion in Kunstgeschichte

Historischer Zusammenhang

Eine große Ausstellung

Die Ausstellung von 1878, eröffnet am 1äh Mai nach neunzehn Monaten Arbeit und Vorbereitung steht im Einklang mit den Weltausstellungen des XIXe Jahrhundert. Auf einer Fläche von 750.000 Quadratmetern hatte die Ausstellung einen ganzen Teil der Hauptstadt rund um den Trocadéro-Hügel und den Champ de Mars eingenommen. Die Ausstellung, die von mehr als 16 Millionen Menschen besucht wurde, endete dennoch mit einem erheblichen finanziellen Defizit von 28 Millionen Franken, das durch den Bau von zwei auf dem Panorama sichtbaren Palästen verursacht wurde.

Bildanalyse

Eine Weltausstellung zu Pferd an beiden Ufern der Seine

Dieses Panorama beschreibt die Geographie der Weltausstellung von 1878, die sich über beide Ufer der Seine erstreckt. Der nördliche Teil rechts umfasste das Trocadéro und seine Gärten. Im südlichen Teil links befanden sich das Ausstellungszentrum und die Rue des Nations, eine Reihe ausländischer Pavillons. Die Kommunikation zwischen den beiden Gruppen erfolgte über die Jenaer Brücke, eine Verbindung zwischen den beiden Banken. Das Bild zeugt von der erheblichen Bedeutung dieses kurzlebigen Ensembles in der Stadt. Es zeigt vor allem die Vorrangstellung von Glas und Eisen in der Architektur des Palais du Champ-de-Mars. Dieses große Gebäude wurde vom Ingenieur Léopold Hardy entworfen und ähnelte einem riesigen rechteckigen Gewächshaus mit einer Höhe von über 400.000 Metern. Es war mit 27 Öffnungen durchbohrt und enthielt Galerien, in denen bemerkenswerte Stücke der internationalen Industrie und seltene Gegenstände wie die Diamanten der französischen Krone ausgestellt waren. Die Architektur des Palais du Champ-de-Mars übertraf in seiner Pracht den Kristallpalast, einen sehr berühmten Palast, der 1851 von Joseph Paxton für die Weltausstellung in London erbaut worden war, bei weitem.

Interpretation

Das Panorama, ein Bild des XIXe Jahrhundert

Die Verwendung von Panoramen war während des XIX sehr beliebte Jahrhundert, das einen Geschmack für Geschichte und intellektuelle und industrielle Erforschung kultiviert. Dies ist eine Chromolithographie, ein Begriff, den der Lithograf Godefroy Engelmann geprägt hat, um ein Farblithografiedruckverfahren auf der Basis des Vierfarbdrucks zu bezeichnen. Der Standpunkt ist der der Höhe, als ob der Beobachter in der Gondel eines Luftfahrzeugs platziert wäre, wie der gefangene Ballon "der Riese", der vom Aeronauten Henry Giffard in der Luft angehoben wurde über den Tuilerien während der Ausstellung. Die Verwendung von Panoramen blieb besonders während der Weltausstellung von 1900 sehr beliebt und verschwand nach der Jahrhundertwende allmählich, entthront durch den Aufstieg der Fotografie und des Kinofilms.

  • die Architektur
  • Champ-de-Mars
  • Weltausstellungen
  • Paris
  • Trocadero-Palast
  • Stadt

Literaturverzeichnis

Anne PINGEOT 1878, Die erste Weltausstellung der Republik Paris, RMN, 1988 Marc GAILLARD Die Weltausstellungen von 1855 bis 1937 Paris, Les presses franciliennes, 2005.

Um diesen Artikel zu zitieren

Claire MAINGON, "Panorama der Paläste"


Video: Changing the Guard at Buckingham Palace, London