Pancho Villa, a figure of the Mexican revolution

Pancho Villa, a figure of the Mexican revolution


We are searching data for your request:

Forums and discussions:
Manuals and reference books:
Data from registers:
Wait the end of the search in all databases.
Upon completion, a link will appear to access the found materials.

To close

Title: Troubles in Mexico: General Pancho Villa

Author : HOFFMAN David W. (-)

Creation date : 1911 -

Dimensions: Height 18 cm - Width 13 cm

Storage place: National Library of France (Paris) website

Contact copyright: © National Library of France

Picture reference: http://gallica.bnf.fr/ark:/12148/btv1b69284661/f1.item.zoom

Troubles in Mexico: General Pancho Villa

© National Library of France

Publication date: November 2016

Historical context

Pancho Villa after the battle of Ciudad Juarez

This photo of Mexican leader Pancho Villa on his white horse was taken in 1911 shortly after the Battle of Ciudad Juarez by a photographer from El Paso, Texas called David W Hoffman. The latter documented many revolutionary events that took place in this city which is located in the north of Mexico. This image of Pancho Villa is well known because it was released as a postcard, with the photographic image printed on the back. The French news agency ROL owned one of these copies.

The Mexican revolutionary armies were accompanied by photographers and filmmakers who “covered” the event. This phenomenon is quite modern.

Ciudad Juarez's victory truly marks the entry of Pancho Villa into the Mexican revolution alongside Francisco Madero (1873-1915), the main opponent of the regime of Porfirio Diaz (1830-1915), founder of the Porfiriato, dictatorship of thirty years.

Madero offers a new reflection on the lives of farmers robbed of their land by large landowners and on November 20, 1910 calls for an insurrection. On May 25, 1911, the dictator resigned after 35 years of absolute power and embarked for France He died in Paris in 1915.

As these events unfold in northern Mexico, the south in turn moves from guerrilla warfare to pitched battle with Zapata as leader. It will last until 1920.

Image Analysis

Pancho Villa: from the outlaw to the bandit gentleman

Pancho Villa poses elegantly while stationary on his white horse. The savagery that usually characterizes the character is not emphasized by the photographer. For little, we would find the pleasant bandit. However, a double row cartridge belt surrounds his bust, while the second single row sits on the saddle in front of him. A rifle is also visible on the horse's rump and goes under the leg of the bandit who has become an army general. The huge sombrero, which forms a halo around his head, gives him a real allure.

In 1911, Pancho Villa was just over thirty years old. He was born around 1878, near Durango in the north of the country, a desert and mountainous region, land of breeding and passage. His real name is Jose Doroteo Arango Arambula. His father, a farm laborer, worked hard in a hacienda, and he himself was very likely to suffer the same fate as he did, but young Doroteo is one of those who refuse to take a straightforward path.

Legend has it that at the age of 17, he killed the young son of a family who had dishonored his sister Martina. From the age of twenty, he alternated between periods of banditry and more orderly life. It was not until 1913 that Pancho Villa gained national stature and became master of the state of Chihuahua. He is especially famous for his attacks on horseback military trains which he then uses for his own troops. He was finally murdered in his car in July 1923.

Interpretation

Pancho Villa, icon and star

Pancho Villa gazes calmly at the photographer's lens as if he had been doing this all his life. He is becoming a star of the press and the media. David W. Hoffman is a photographer who as an American has helped to convey a benevolent image of Pancho Villa in the public eye. In the beginning, the United States was in fact positioned in favor of the rebels by supporting them against the Porfiriato regime. Subsequently, they will consider Pancho Villa as a renegade but in 1911, the bandit has the wind in its sails.

Hollywood takes over the character and the famous Raoul Walsh makes a film about him called The Life of General Villa which is projected as early as May 1914 when the image of Robin Hood who came to avenge the hopes of the humblest dominates the criminal bandit. His fame comes from the fact that he is an outlaw who became a spokesperson for a whole people.

The Mexican revolution is one of the first examples of media war of the XXe century, a conflict in which enemy generals clash not only on the battlefields but also in newspapers and cinemas.

  • revolutionary
  • Mexico

Bibliography

Bernard HOUDIN, Mexico on fire, Gallimard, Paris, 1989

Paco Ignacio TAIBO II, Pancho Villa, novel of a lifetime, Payot, Paris, 2009

Jean-André MEYER, The Mexican Revolution 1910-1940, Taillandier, 2010

To cite this article

Marie-Louise SCHEMBRI, "Pancho Villa, a figure of the Mexican revolution"

Connections


Video: The Mexican Revolution LAST100 wk 8

Pancho Villa, eine Figur der mexikanischen Revolution

Pancho Villa, eine Figur der mexikanischen Revolution

Schließen

Titel: Probleme in Mexiko: General Pancho Villa

Autor: HOFFMAN David W. (-)

Erstellungsdatum : 1911 -

Maße: Höhe 18 cm - Breite 13 cm

Lagerraum: Website der Nationalbibliothek von Frankreich (Paris)

Kontakt Copyright: © Nationalbibliothek von Frankreich

Bildreferenz: http://gallica.bnf.fr/ark:/12148/btv1b69284661/f1.item.zoom

Probleme in Mexiko: General Pancho Villa

© Nationalbibliothek von Frankreich

Erscheinungsdatum: November 2016

Historischer Zusammenhang

Pancho Villa nach der Schlacht von Ciudad Juarez

Dieses Foto des mexikanischen Führers Pancho Villa auf seinem weißen Pferd wurde 1911 kurz nach der Schlacht von Ciudad Juarez von einem Fotografen aus El Paso, Texas, namens David W Hoffman aufgenommen. Letzteres dokumentierte viele revolutionäre Ereignisse in dieser Stadt im Norden Mexikos. Dieses Bild von Pancho Villa ist bekannt, weil es als Postkarte mit dem auf der Rückseite gedruckten Foto veröffentlicht wurde. Die französische Nachrichtenagentur ROL besaß eines dieser Exemplare.

Die mexikanischen Revolutionsarmeen wurden von Fotografen und Filmemachern begleitet, die über das Ereignis „berichteten“. Dieses Phänomen ist ziemlich modern.

Der Sieg von Ciudad Juarez markiert wirklich den Eintritt von Pancho Villa in die mexikanische Revolution neben Francisco Madero (1873-1915), dem Hauptgegner des Regimes von Porfirio Diaz (1830-1915), dem Gründer des Porfiriato, der Diktatur von 30 Jahre.

Madero bietet eine neue Reflexion über das Leben von Bauern, die von Großgrundbesitzern ihres Landes beraubt wurden, und fordert am 20. November 1910 einen Aufstand. Am 25. Mai 1911 trat der Diktator nach 35 Jahren absoluter Macht zurück und begab sich nach Frankreich. Er starb 1915 in Paris.

Während sich diese Ereignisse in Nordmexiko abspielen, bewegt sich der Süden wiederum vom Guerillakrieg zum heftigen Kampf mit Zapata als Anführer. Es wird bis 1920 dauern.

Bildanalyse

Pancho Villa: Vom Gesetzlosen zum Banditen-Gentleman

Pancho Villa posiert elegant im Stillstand auf seinem weißen Pferd. Die Wildheit, die den Charakter normalerweise charakterisiert, wird vom Fotografen nicht betont. Für wenig würden wir den angenehmen Banditen finden. Ein zweireihiger Patronengürtel umgibt jedoch seine Brust, während die zweite einzelne Reihe auf dem Sattel vor ihm sitzt. Ein Gewehr ist auch auf dem Hinterteil des Pferdes sichtbar und geht unter das Bein des Banditen, der General der Armee geworden ist. Der riesige Sombrero, der einen Heiligenschein um seinen Kopf bildet, gibt ihm einen echten Reiz.

Im Jahr 1911 war Pancho Villa etwas mehr als dreißig Jahre alt. Er wurde um 1878 in der Nähe von Durango im Norden des Landes geboren, einer Wüste und Bergregion, einem Land der Brut und des Durchgangs. Sein richtiger Name ist Jose Doroteo Arango Arambula. Sein Vater, ein Landarbeiter, arbeitete hart in einer Hacienda, und er selbst erlitt sehr wahrscheinlich das gleiche Schicksal wie er, aber der junge Doroteo ist einer von denen, die sich weigern, einen direkten Weg einzuschlagen.

Der Legende nach tötete er im Alter von 17 Jahren den kleinen Sohn einer Familie, die seine Schwester Martina entehrt hatte. Ab seinem zwanzigsten Lebensjahr wechselte er zwischen Banditentum und geordnetem Leben. Erst 1913 erlangte Pancho Villa nationales Ansehen und wurde Herr des Staates Chihuahua. Er ist besonders berühmt für seine Angriffe auf Militärzüge zu Pferd, die er dann für seine eigenen Truppen einsetzt. Im Juli 1923 wurde er schließlich in seinem Auto ermordet.

Interpretation

Pancho Villa, Ikone und Stern

Pancho Villa blickt ruhig auf die Linse des Fotografen, als hätte er dies sein ganzes Leben lang getan. Er wird zum Star der Presse und der Medien. David W. Hoffman ist ein Fotograf, der als Amerikaner dazu beigetragen hat, ein wohlwollendes Bild von Pancho Villa in der Öffentlichkeit zu vermitteln. Am Anfang waren die Vereinigten Staaten tatsächlich zugunsten der Rebellen positioniert, indem sie sie gegen das Porfiriato-Regime unterstützten. Anschließend werden sie Pancho Villa als Abtrünnigen betrachten, aber 1911 hat der Bandit den Wind in den Segeln.

Hollywood übernimmt die Figur und der berühmte Raoul Walsh macht einen Film über ihn namens Das Leben von General Villa Das wird bereits im Mai 1914 projiziert, als das Bild von Robin Hood, der die Hoffnungen der Demütigsten rächt, den kriminellen Banditen dominiert. Sein Ruhm kommt von der Tatsache, dass er ein Gesetzloser ist, der Sprecher eines ganzen Volkes wurde.

Die mexikanische Revolution ist eines der ersten Beispiele für den Medienkrieg des XXe Jahrhundert, ein Konflikt, in dem feindliche Generäle nicht nur auf den Schlachtfeldern, sondern auch in Zeitungen und Kinos aufeinander treffen.

  • Revolutionär
  • Mexiko

Literaturverzeichnis

Bernard HOUDIN, Mexiko in Flammen, Gallimard, Paris, 1989

Paco Ignacio TAIBO II, Pancho Villa, Roman Ihres Lebens, Payot, Paris, 2009

Jean-André MEYER, Die mexikanische Revolution 1910-1940, Taillandier, 2010

Um diesen Artikel zu zitieren

Marie-Louise SCHEMBRI, "Pancho Villa, eine Figur der mexikanischen Revolution"

Verbindungen


Video: Pancho Villa: Clip from Documentary