A social palace for workers

A social palace for workers


We are searching data for your request:

Forums and discussions:
Manuals and reference books:
Data from registers:
Wait the end of the search in all databases.
Upon completion, a link will appear to access the found materials.

  • Schoolchildren in the inner courtyard of the Familistère Social Palace.

    ANONYMOUS

  • The Familistère de Guise seen from the southwest: the central pavilion, the left wing and the commissaries.

    ANONYMOUS

  • View of the city, the Familistère and the Godin factory from the castle of the Dukes of Guise.

    ANONYMOUS

  • Portrait of Jean-Baptiste-André Godin.

    ANONYMOUS

To close

Title: Schoolchildren in the inner courtyard of the Familistère Social Palace.

Author : ANONYMOUS (-)

Creation date : 1896

Date shown: 1896

Dimensions: Height 12 - Width 17

Technique and other indications: photography

Storage place: Municipal Museum of Guise website

Contact copyright: © Guise museum collection / Guise Familistère

Picture reference: 1976-01-078

Schoolchildren in the inner courtyard of the Familistère Social Palace.

© Guise museum collection / Guise Familistère

To close

Title: The Familistère de Guise seen from the southwest: the central pavilion, the left wing and the commissaries.

Author : ANONYMOUS (-)

Creation date : 1865

Date shown: 1865

Dimensions: Height 13.5 - Width 22

Technique and other indications: photography

Storage place: Municipal Museum of Guise website

Contact copyright: © Guise museum collection / Guise Familistère

Picture reference: 1976-01-015

The Familistère de Guise seen from the southwest: the central pavilion, the left wing and the commissaries.

© Guise museum collection / Guise Familistère

To close

Title: View of the city, the Familistère and the Godin factory from the castle of the Dukes of Guise.

Author : ANONYMOUS (-)

Creation date : 1865

Date shown: 1865

Dimensions: Height 9.6 - Width 16

Technique and other indications: photography

Storage place: Municipal Museum of Guise website

Contact copyright: © Guise museum collection / Guise Familistère

Picture reference: 1976-01-014

View of the city, the Familistère and the Godin factory from the castle of the Dukes of Guise.

© Guise museum collection / Guise Familistère

To close

Title: Portrait of Jean-Baptiste-André Godin.

Author : ANONYMOUS (-)

Creation date : 1879

Date shown: 1879

Dimensions: Height 13 - Width 8,8

Technique and other indications: photography

Storage place: Municipal Museum of Guise website

Contact copyright: © Guise museum collection / Guise Familistère

Picture reference: 1976-01-008

Portrait of Jean-Baptiste-André Godin.

© Guise museum collection / Guise Familistère

Publication date: March 2016

Historical context

Industry did not, in 19th century Francee century, upset the urban framework. However, in certain localities, in Le Creusot or Mulhouse, in Roubaix or in mining towns, industrialization has led to a very sharp increase in the number of working families, and this has not gone without sometimes dramatic housing difficulties.

In this context, various experiences of employer housing developed. Among the latter, the case of the Guise familistère, built by the industrialist Jean-Baptiste Godin, is quite original, because it does not envisage the isolation of the working family in the single-family house which remains the ideal of working-class housing estates. , but intends to promote social relations within the framework of a collective habitat which he calls “social palace”. His portrait, his clothes (the soft collar, for example), are more that of a free spirit than of an industry baron.

A locksmith worker, in 1840 he invented an enamelled cast iron stove whose distribution was to be a great success. In 1865, the original workshop had grown into a large factory employing over 300 workers. Two years later, they will be more than 900.

Image Analysis

A member of the Fourierist Societal School since 1843, the one who has become a prosperous industrialist intends to give workers the "equivalents of wealth" in the fields of housing, hygiene, culture and education.

After several failed attempts at the Societe School, especially in Texas, he decided to build a familistere, inspired by the Fourierist phalanstery. The pragmatism that characterizes him is reflected in the evolutionary plan he is developing for the social palace. In 1865, two of the three buildings were built, the left wing and the central pavilion; the right wing was not completed until 1879.

Thus, away from the old nucleus of the village, a complex is formed which houses more than 1,300 people, or one inhabitant in six of Guise on the eve of the First World War. The difference between "those of the familistere" and "those of the city" is all the more marked as the former benefit from advantages and amenities that the latter do not. The accommodations have comfort and hygiene conditions far above the standard. Godin himself lives in the familistere, as do the factory framing or the cast iron molders.

The inner courtyard is the geometric place in the life of familistériens, it hosts Sunday balls, the annual feasts of work and childhood. Its technical device sums up the requirements of hygiene: the glass roof supported by a wooden frame (span of 40 × 20 m for the central pavilion) dispenses the light; ventilation is provided by a ventilation circuit: the alignment of the air vents between the partially closed glass roof and the cellars is clearly visible on the courtyard floor to the right. Cleanliness is ensured by garbage chutes (“sweeping traps”, says Godin) and sanitary blocks installed in the angles where the stairs also arrive. The balconies give access to the apartments - each door leads to a small vestibule which opens onto two apartments -, and each of them has windows to the outside and to the courtyard: always the principle of air circulation ...

The windows may seem sinister, we saw a similarity with the prison model. But there is a desire here to make the world of work escape the vagaries of the climate, to allow children and their parents to escape the rain and the cold, which is in line with the Phalansterian model.

Interpretation

In 1871, when the Paris Commune came to an end in blood and symbolized the violence of the class struggle, Godin published Social solutions, a book that condemns the civil war and explains in detail how to achieve the association of capital, labor and talent according to Fourierist precepts. The book is a true manual of the ideal industrial city, both from the point of view of housing, education and hygiene.

Its author sends it to many libraries around the world, convinced that its reading would multiply the followers of the familistérienne solution and that in the XXe century the construction of hundreds of "social palaces" would allow the establishment of universal concord.

  • architecture
  • workers city
  • Fourierism
  • hygiene
  • workers
  • industrial Revolution
  • Second Empire
  • socialism
  • campaign
  • working class

Bibliography

Annick BRAUMAN et al., Jean-Baptiste André Godin, 1817-1888, Le familistère de Guise or the equivalents of wealth, second revised and enlarged edition, catalog of the Brussels-Paris exhibition, archives of Modern Architecture - Center national d'Art et de culture Georges-Pompidou, 1980.

COLLECTIVE, Le Familistère Godin à Guise, Living in Utopia, Paris, Editions de la Villette, coll. "Thinking Space", 1982.

Henri DESROCHE, The Festive Society: from written Fourierism to practiced Fourierisms, Paris, Seuil, 1975.

Jean-Baptiste André GODIN, Social solutions, presentation and notes by Jean-Luc PINOL and Jean-François REY, reflections by René RABAUX, administrator-manager of the familistère from 1933 to 1954, Quimperlé, Éditions La Digitale, 1871, reprint. 1979.

To cite this article

Jean-Luc PINOL, "A social palace for workers"


Video: Servants: The True Story of Life Below Stairs. Part 1 of 3 - Knowing Your Place.

Ein sozialer Palast für Arbeiter

Ein sozialer Palast für Arbeiter

  • Schulkinder im Innenhof des Familistère Social Palace.

    ANONYM

  • Die Familistère de Guise von Südwesten aus gesehen: der zentrale Pavillon, der linke Flügel und die Kommissare.

    ANONYM

  • Blick auf die Stadt, die Familistère und die Godin-Fabrik von der Burg der Herzöge von Guise.

    ANONYM

  • Porträt von Jean-Baptiste-André Godin.

    ANONYM

Schließen

Titel: Schulkinder im Innenhof des Familistère Social Palace.

Autor: ANONYM (-)

Erstellungsdatum : 1896

Datum angezeigt: 1896

Maße: Höhe 12 - Breite 17

Technik und andere Indikationen: Fotografie

Speicherort: Website des Stadtmuseums von Guise

Kontakt Copyright: © Guise Museumssammlung / Guise Familistère

Bildreferenz: 1976-01-078

Schulkinder im Innenhof des Familistère Social Palace.

© Guise Museumssammlung / Guise Familistère

Schließen

Titel: Die Familistère de Guise von Südwesten aus gesehen: der zentrale Pavillon, der linke Flügel und die Kommissare.

Autor: ANONYM (-)

Erstellungsdatum : 1865

Datum angezeigt: 1865

Maße: Höhe 13,5 - Breite 22

Technik und andere Indikationen: Fotografie

Speicherort: Website des Stadtmuseums von Guise

Kontakt Copyright: © Guise Museumssammlung / Guise Familistère

Bildreferenz: 1976-01-015

Die Familistère de Guise von Südwesten aus gesehen: der zentrale Pavillon, der linke Flügel und die Kommissare.

© Guise Museumssammlung / Guise Familistère

Schließen

Titel: Blick auf die Stadt, die Familistère und die Godin-Fabrik von der Burg der Herzöge von Guise.

Autor: ANONYM (-)

Erstellungsdatum : 1865

Datum angezeigt: 1865

Maße: Höhe 9,6 - Breite 16

Technik und andere Indikationen: Fotografie

Speicherort: Website des Stadtmuseums von Guise

Kontakt Copyright: © Guise Museumssammlung / Guise Familistère

Bildreferenz: 1976-01-014

Blick auf die Stadt, die Familistère und die Godin-Fabrik von der Burg der Herzöge von Guise.

© Guise Museumssammlung / Guise Familistère

Schließen

Titel: Porträt von Jean-Baptiste-André Godin.

Autor: ANONYM (-)

Erstellungsdatum : 1879

Datum angezeigt: 1879

Maße: Höhe 13 - Breite 8,8

Technik und andere Indikationen: Fotografie

Speicherort: Website des Stadtmuseums von Guise

Kontakt Copyright: © Guise Museumssammlung / Guise Familistère

Bildreferenz: 1976-01-008

Porträt von Jean-Baptiste-André Godin.

© Guise Museumssammlung / Guise Familistère

Erscheinungsdatum: März 2016

Historischer Zusammenhang

Die Industrie tat dies im Frankreich des 19. Jahrhunderts nichte Jahrhundert, verärgerte den städtischen Rahmen. In bestimmten Gegenden, in Le Creusot oder Mulhouse, in Roubaix oder in Bergbaustädten, hat die Industrialisierung jedoch zu einem sehr starken Anstieg der Zahl der arbeitenden Familien geführt, und dies ist nicht ohne manchmal dramatische Wohnprobleme verlaufen.

In diesem Zusammenhang entwickelten sich verschiedene Erfahrungen mit Arbeitgeberwohnungen. Unter den letzteren ist der Fall der Guise familistère, die vom Industriellen Jean-Baptiste Godin erbaut wurde, ziemlich originell, da er nicht die Isolation der arbeitenden Familie in dem Einfamilienhaus vorsieht, das das Ideal des Wohnens der Arbeiterklasse bleibt. beabsichtigt jedoch, die sozialen Beziehungen im Rahmen eines kollektiven Lebensraums zu fördern, den er als „sozialen Palast“ bezeichnet. Sein Porträt, seine Kleidung (zum Beispiel der weiche Kragen) sind eher die eines freien Geistes als die eines Industriebarons.

Als Schlosserarbeiter erfand er 1840 einen emaillierten Gusseisenofen, dessen Vertrieb ein großer Erfolg werden sollte. 1865 war aus der ursprünglichen Werkstatt eine große Fabrik mit über 300 Arbeitern geworden. Zwei Jahre später werden es mehr als 900 sein.

Bildanalyse

Der seit 1843 Mitglied der Fourierist Societal School, der zu einem wohlhabenden Industriellen geworden ist, beabsichtigt, den Arbeitnehmern die "Äquivalente des Wohlstands" in den Bereichen Wohnen, Hygiene, Kultur und Bildung zu vermitteln.

Nach mehreren gescheiterten Versuchen an der Societe School, insbesondere in Texas, beschloss er, ein Familistere aufzubauen, das von der Fourier-Phalansterie inspiriert war. Der Pragmatismus, der ihn auszeichnet, spiegelt sich in dem Evolutionsplan wider, den er für den sozialen Palast entwickelt. 1865 wurden zwei der drei Gebäude gebaut, der linke Flügel und der zentrale Pavillon; Der rechte Flügel wurde erst 1879 fertiggestellt.

So bildet sich abseits des alten Kerns des Dorfes ein Komplex, in dem am Vorabend des Ersten Weltkriegs mehr als 1.300 Menschen oder jeder sechste Einwohner von Guise leben. Der Unterschied zwischen "denen der Familie" und "denen der Stadt" ist umso deutlicher, als die ersteren von Vorteilen und Annehmlichkeiten profitieren, die die letzteren nicht haben. Die Unterkünfte bieten Komfort- und Hygienebedingungen, die weit über dem Standard liegen. Godin selbst lebt im familistere, ebenso wie der Fabrikrahmen oder die Gusseisenformer.

Der Innenhof ist der geometrische Ort im Leben der familistériens, er beherbergt Sonntagsbälle, die jährlichen Feste der Arbeit und der Kindheit. Das technische Gerät fasst die Anforderungen an die Hygiene zusammen: Das von einem Holzrahmen getragene Glasdach (Spannweite 40 × 20 m für den zentralen Pavillon) sorgt für Licht; Die Belüftung erfolgt durch einen Lüftungskreislauf: Die Ausrichtung der Lüftungsschlitze zwischen dem teilweise geschlossenen Glasdach und den Kellern ist auf dem Hofboden rechts deutlich sichtbar. Die Sauberkeit wird durch Müllschlucker ("Kehrfallen", sagt Godin) und Sanitärblöcke in den Ecken gewährleistet, in denen auch die Treppen ankommen. Die Balkone bieten Zugang zu den Apartments - jede Tür führt zu einem kleinen Vorraum, der sich zu zwei Apartments öffnet - und jeder von ihnen hat Fenster nach außen und zum Innenhof: immer das Prinzip der Luftzirkulation ...

Die Fenster mögen unheimlich erscheinen, wir haben eine Ähnlichkeit mit dem Gefängnismodell gesehen. Hier besteht jedoch der Wunsch, die Arbeitswelt den Unwägbarkeiten des Klimas zu entfliehen, damit Kinder und ihre Eltern dem Regen und der Kälte entkommen können, was dem phalansterianischen Modell entspricht.

Interpretation

Als die Pariser Kommune 1871 blutig zu Ende ging und die Gewalt des Klassenkampfes symbolisierte, veröffentlichte Godin Soziale Lösungen, ein Buch, das den Bürgerkrieg verurteilt und ausführlich erklärt, wie man die Vereinigung von Kapital, Arbeit und Talent gemäß den Fourier-Vorschriften erreicht. Das Buch ist ein wahres Handbuch der idealen Industriestadt, sowohl in Bezug auf Wohnen, Bildung als auch Hygiene.

Sein Autor schickt es an viele Bibliotheken auf der ganzen Welt, überzeugt davon, dass seine Lektüre die Anhänger der vertrauten Lösung und der im XXe Jahrhundert würde der Bau von Hunderten von "sozialen Palästen" die Herstellung einer universellen Übereinstimmung ermöglichen.

  • die Architektur
  • Arbeiterstadt
  • Fourierismus
  • Hygiene
  • Arbeitskräfte
  • Industrielle Revolution
  • Zweites Reich
  • Sozialismus
  • Kampagne
  • Arbeiterklasse

Literaturverzeichnis

Annick BRAUMAN et al., Jean-Baptiste André Godin, 1817-1888, Le familistère de Guise oder die Äquivalente des Reichtums, zweite überarbeitete und erweiterte Ausgabe, Katalog der Ausstellung Brüssel-Paris, Archiv für moderne Architektur - Nationales Kunst- und Kulturzentrum Georges-Pompidou, 1980.

KOLLEKTIV, Die Familistère Godin à Guise, die in Utopie lebt, Paris, Editions de la Villette, Slg. "Thinking Space", 1982.

Henri DESROCHE, Die festliche Gesellschaft: vom schriftlichen Fourierismus zum praktizierten Fourierismus, Paris, Seuil, 1975.

Jean-Baptiste André GODIN, Soziale Lösungen, Präsentation und Notizen von Jean-Luc PINOL und Jean-François REY, Reflexionen von René RABAUX, Administrator-Manager der familistère von 1933 bis 1954, Quimperlé, Éditions La Digitale, 1871, Nachdruck. 1979.

Um diesen Artikel zu zitieren

Jean-Luc PINOL, "Ein sozialer Palast für Arbeiter"


Video: Kommunismus u0026 Sozialismus erklärt