The Peace of Amiens (March 25-27, 1802)

The Peace of Amiens (March 25-27, 1802)


We are searching data for your request:

Forums and discussions:
Manuals and reference books:
Data from registers:
Wait the end of the search in all databases.
Upon completion, a link will appear to access the found materials.

  • The Peace of Amiens

    ZIEGLER Jules-Claude (1804 - 1856)

  • Homage to Bonaparte the Peacekeeper.

    LECOINTE

  • Fireworks project organized in Marseille to celebrate the signing of peace in Amiens

To close

Title: The Peace of Amiens

Author : ZIEGLER Jules-Claude (1804 - 1856)

Creation date : 1853

Date shown: March 27, 1802

Dimensions: Height 0 - Width 0

Technique and other indications: Oil on canvas

Storage location: Picardy Museum website

Contact copyright: © Amiens métropole, Musée de Picardie - All rights reserved

Picture reference: ND

© Amiens métropole, Musée de Picardie - All rights reserved

To close

Title: Homage to Bonaparte the Peacekeeper.

Author : LECOINTE (-)

Creation date : 1801

Date shown: 1801

Dimensions: Height 0 - Width 0

Technique and other indications: Pen drawing by Lecointe, clerk at the town hall of Laon, in the register of deliberations of the municipal council of Laon (April 18, 1800 - October 22, 1802).

Storage location: Departmental Archives of Aisne website

Contact copyright: © Departmental Archives of Aisne

Picture reference: FRAD002_E-depot 401_1D1

Homage to Bonaparte the Peacekeeper.

© Departmental Archives of Aisne

To close

Title: Fireworks project organized in Marseille to celebrate the signing of peace in Amiens

Author :

Creation date : 1802

Date shown: 1802

Dimensions: Height 0 - Width 0

Technique and other indications: Drawn and handwritten project (on paper)

Storage location: Marseille municipal archives website

Contact copyright: © Municipal Archives of Marseille

Picture reference: AM Marseille 78 Fi 331.

Fireworks project organized in Marseille to celebrate the signing of peace in Amiens

© Municipal Archives of Marseille

Publication date: March 2016

Historical context

Diplomatic isolation of England

Formed at the instigation of England at the end of 1798, the second coalition opposed to France suffered a complete military failure two years later. Exasperated, Tsar Paul I withdrew. The following year Bonaparte, who had become First Consul, made overtures of peace to the King of England; they were rejected with contempt. Defeated on all battlefields in 1800, Austria signed peace at Luneville on February 9, 1801. Britain, isolated, began by reacting brutally by bombarding Copenhagen while its ambassador, Sir Whitworth, participated in the plot to l origin of the assassination of Tsar Paul I, an ally of France. The preliminaries of London, signed on October 1, 1801, led to the signing of the peace treaty in Amiens, on March 25, 1802, between England on the one hand and, on the other hand, France and its allies, the Spain and Holland.

Image Analysis

Ziegler's painting

Unlike the allegorical representations of the Peace of Amiens, performed in the year X, the work of Ziegler, a pupil of Ingres, best known for having decorated the dome of the Church of the Madeleine in Paris, is a a veritable historical picture, made up from information supplied by Picard scholars “to guide the artist's brush”. This is, in fact, an order made on January 24, 1851, at the request of Prince President Louis Napoleon following his visit to Amiens (July 15, 1849). The completed painting arrived in Amiens in October 1853. The scene represented takes place on Saturday March 27, 1802, when the agreement reached on the 25th is signed in front of the public, admitted to the congress hall. In the foreground, the Minister of France, Joseph Bonaparte, and the Minister of England, Lord Cornwallis, in red coats, shake hands after signing. At their feet is a carpet made by Bonvallet in Amiens. The other two plenipotentiaries are still seated. Batavian Schimmelpenninck, on the left, signs before affixing the seal presented to him by a secretary in an open box. To the right, the Knight of Azara, Minister of Spain, affixes his seal to a page presented by a secretary. Personalities surround the plenipotentiaries: on the left, the constitutional bishop Desbois de Rochefort; on the right, General Saint-Hilaire, commanding the troops in Amiens, the first prefect of the Somme, Quinette, Augustin Debray, mayor of the city, in blue coat. The moment is serious and the attention is widespread, but already the public flocking to both doors are showing their joy: two people kiss, a hat is raised, a child is hoisted above their heads. The joy is general.

Homage to “Bonaparte the pacifier”

As soon as the preliminaries of peace were signed in London, a wave of joy and hope aroused public opinion throughout France. In the register of the deliberations of the municipal council of Laon (Aisne) the clerk Lecointe designates Bonaparte as “the Peacekeeper of the world”, on the anniversary of the Dix-Huit Brumaire (November 9, 1801). He celebrates with fervor and naivety who he believes is the defender of peace. Like many then, the clerk of the town hall of Laon imagines a peace that could both last, confirm the French victories and guarantee the freedom of the seas, the promise of trade and abundance.

Fireworks project in Marseille for the celebration of Peace signed in Amiens

On 18 Floréal Year X (May 8, 1802), at the request of the Prefect of Bouches-du-Rhône, Charles Delacroix, the fireworks engineer Estellon presented a show project comprising twenty-four figures highlighting the representation of a dedicated temple to Peace and to the First Consul appearing at the top of the sketch.

Interpretation

Strangely enough, Bonaparte had not commissioned a work representing this important event. Did he perceive the fragility of the treaty? It was up to his nephew to have this historical picture painted without, however, using it for Second Empire propaganda. It was in Amiens, in fact, that in 1849, Napoleon III made a speech in favor of peace, a theme that he took up again in Bordeaux in October 1852 in the speech in which his famous formula appears "the Empire is the peace ". Half a century after the signing of the treaty, the painting reflects the immense joy of the French, which was manifested at the time by countless celebrations, like the fireworks display in Marseille, and by the vote of the consulate for life, opening the way to absolute power for Bonaparte.

  • Spain
  • Holland
  • Bonaparte (Napoleon)
  • peace
  • UK
  • Treaty of Amiens
  • Consulate
  • Bonaparte (Joseph)
  • Cornwallis (Lord)
  • Schimmelpenninck
  • knight of Azara
  • fireworks
  • signature
  • seal
  • pyrotechnics
  • England
  • Peace of Amiens

Bibliography

Thierry LENTZThe Grand Consulate: 1799-1804Paris, Fayard, 1999.Louis MADELINHistory of the Consulate and the Empiret. III and IV, Paris, Hachette, 1938-1939. Jean TULARD (dir.)The History of Napoleon through paintingParis, Belfond, 1991.Fernand BEAUCOUR "The painting of the Peace of Amiens by the painter Ziegler: a symbolic painting", in Acts of the commemoration of the 200th anniversary of the Peace of Amiens, Bulletin of the Société des Antiquaires de Picardie, 1st quarter 2002.

To cite this article

Nicole GOTTERI, “The Peace of Amiens (March 25-27, 1802)”


Video: 12-11 Daily Mass begins at 8AM

Der Frieden von Amiens (25.-27. März 1802)

Der Frieden von Amiens (25.-27. März 1802)

  • Der Frieden von Amiens

    ZIEGLER Jules-Claude (1804 - 1856)

  • Hommage an Bonaparte den Friedenswächter.

    LECOINTE

  • In Marseille organisiertes Feuerwerksprojekt zur Feier der Friedensunterzeichnung in Amiens

Schließen

Titel: Der Frieden von Amiens

Autor: ZIEGLER Jules-Claude (1804 - 1856)

Erstellungsdatum : 1853

Datum angezeigt: 27. März 1802

Maße: Höhe 0 - Breite 0

Technik und andere Indikationen: Öl auf Leinwand

Speicherort: Website des Picardiemuseums

Kontakt Copyright: © Amiens métropole, Musée de Picardie - Alle Rechte vorbehalten

Bildreferenz: ND

© Amiens métropole, Musée de Picardie - Alle Rechte vorbehalten

Schließen

Titel: Hommage an Bonaparte den Friedenswächter.

Autor: LECOINTE (-)

Erstellungsdatum : 1801

Datum angezeigt: 1801

Maße: Höhe 0 - Breite 0

Technik und andere Indikationen: Federzeichnung von Lecointe, Angestellter im Rathaus von Laon, im Beratungsregister des Stadtrats von Laon (18. April 1800 - 22. Oktober 1802).

Speicherort: Website des Abteilungsarchivs von Aisne

Kontakt Copyright: © Abteilungsarchiv von Aisne

Bildreferenz: FRAD002_E-Depot 401_1D1

Hommage an Bonaparte den Friedenswächter.

© Abteilungsarchiv von Aisne

Schließen

Titel: In Marseille organisiertes Feuerwerksprojekt zur Feier der Friedensunterzeichnung in Amiens

Autor:

Erstellungsdatum : 1802

Datum angezeigt: 1802

Maße: Höhe 0 - Breite 0

Technik und andere Indikationen: Gezeichnetes und handgeschriebenes Projekt (auf Papier)

Speicherort: Website des Stadtarchivs von Marseille

Kontakt Copyright: © Stadtarchiv Marseille

Bildreferenz: AM Marseille 78 Fi 331.

In Marseille organisiertes Feuerwerksprojekt zur Feier der Friedensunterzeichnung in Amiens

© Stadtarchiv Marseille

Erscheinungsdatum: März 2016

Historischer Zusammenhang

Englands diplomatische Isolation

Die zweite Koalition gegen Frankreich, die Ende 1798 auf Veranlassung Englands gegründet wurde, erlitt zwei Jahre später einen vollständigen militärischen Misserfolg. Verärgert zog sich Zar Paul I. zurück. Im folgenden Jahr machte Bonaparte, der Erster Konsul wurde, dem König von England Friedensangebote; Sie wurden mit Verachtung abgelehnt. Österreich wurde 1800 auf allen Schlachtfeldern besiegt und unterzeichnete am 9. Februar 1801 in Luneville den Frieden. Großbritannien, isoliert, reagierte zunächst brutal, indem es Kopenhagen bombardierte, während sein Botschafter Sir Whitworth an der Verschwörung gegen l teilnahm Ursprung der Ermordung von Zar Paul I., einem Verbündeten Frankreichs. Die am 1. Oktober 1801 unterzeichneten Vorbereitungen von London führten am 25. März 1802 in Amiens zur Unterzeichnung des Friedensvertrages zwischen England einerseits und Frankreich und seinen Verbündeten andererseits Spanien und Holland.

Bildanalyse

Zieglers Gemälde

Im Gegensatz zu den allegorischen Darstellungen des Friedens von Amiens, die im Jahr X aufgeführt wurden, ist das Werk von Ziegler, einem Schüler von Ingres, der am besten dafür bekannt ist, die Kuppel der Kirche der Madeleine in Paris geschmückt zu haben, ein ein reales historisches Bild, das aus Informationen von Picard-Gelehrten besteht, „um den Pinsel des Künstlers zu leiten“. Dies ist in der Tat ein Befehl, der am 24. Januar 1851 auf Ersuchen von Prinzpräsident Louis Napoleon nach seinem Besuch in Amiens (15. Juli 1849) erlassen wurde. Das fertige Gemälde kam im Oktober 1853 in Amiens an. Die dargestellte Szene findet am Samstag, den 27. März 1802 statt, als die am 25. getroffene Vereinbarung vor der Öffentlichkeit unterzeichnet und in die Kongresshalle aufgenommen wird. Im Vordergrund schütteln der französische Minister Joseph Bonaparte und der englische Minister Lord Cornwallis in roten Mänteln nach der Unterzeichnung die Hand. Zu ihren Füßen liegt ein Teppich von Bonvallet in Amiens. Die beiden anderen Bevollmächtigten sitzen noch. Batavian Schimmelpenninck links unterschreibt, bevor er das Siegel anbringt, das ihm eine Sekretärin in einer offenen Schachtel überreicht hat. Rechts bringt der spanische Minister Knight of Azara sein Siegel auf einer Seite an, die von einem Sekretär vorgelegt wird. Persönlichkeiten umgeben die Bevollmächtigten: links der Verfassungsbischof Desbois de Rochefort; rechts General Saint-Hilaire, Kommandeur der Truppen in Amiens, dem ersten Präfekten der Somme, Quinette, Augustin Debray, Bürgermeister der Stadt, im blauen Mantel. Der Moment ist ernst und die Aufmerksamkeit ist weit verbreitet, aber bereits die Öffentlichkeit, die zu beiden Türen strömt, zeigt ihre Freude: Zwei Menschen küssen sich, ein Hut wird erhoben, ein Kind wird über ihre Köpfe gehoben. Die Freude ist allgemein.

Hommage an "Bonaparte der Schnuller"

Sobald die Friedensvorbereitungen in London unterzeichnet waren, erregte eine Welle der Freude und Hoffnung die öffentliche Meinung in ganz Frankreich. Im Register der Beratungen des Stadtrats von Laon (Aisne) bezeichnet der Angestellte Lecointe Bonaparte anlässlich des Jubiläums des Dix-Huit Brumaire (9. November 1801) als „Friedenswächter der Welt“. Er feiert mit Inbrunst und Naivität, von dem er glaubt, dass er der Verteidiger des Friedens ist. Wie viele damals stellte sich der Angestellte des Rathauses von Laon einen Frieden vor, der sowohl Bestand haben als auch die französischen Siege bestätigen und die Freiheit der Meere, das Versprechen des Handels und des Überflusses garantieren konnte.

Feuerwerksprojekt in Marseille zur Feier des Friedens in Amiens unterzeichnet

Am 18. Blumenjahr X (8. Mai 1802) präsentierte der Feuerwerksingenieur Estellon auf Ersuchen des Präfekten von Bouches-du-Rhône, Charles Delacroix, ein Showprojekt mit vierundzwanzig Figuren, die die Darstellung eines speziellen Tempels hervorheben zu Frieden und dem ersten Konsul, der oben auf der Skizze erscheint.

Interpretation

Seltsamerweise hatte Bonaparte keine Arbeit in Auftrag gegeben, die dieses wichtige Ereignis darstellte. Hat er die Zerbrechlichkeit des Vertrags wahrgenommen? Es lag an seinem Neffen, dieses historische Bild malen zu lassen, ohne es jedoch für die Propaganda des Zweiten Reiches zu verwenden. In Amiens hielt Napoleon III. 1849 eine Rede zugunsten des Friedens, ein Thema, das er im Oktober 1852 in Bordeaux in der Rede wieder aufnahm, in der seine berühmte Formel "Das Reich ist das" erscheint Frieden ". Ein halbes Jahrhundert nach der Unterzeichnung des Vertrags spiegelt das Gemälde die immense Freude der Franzosen wider, die sich zu dieser Zeit von unzähligen Parteien wie dem Feuerwerk in Marseille und der Abstimmung des Konsulats manifestierte für das Leben den Weg zur absoluten Macht für Bonaparte öffnen.

  • Spanien
  • Holland
  • Bonaparte (Napoleon)
  • Frieden
  • Großbritannien
  • Vertrag von Amiens
  • Konsulat
  • Bonaparte (Joseph)
  • Cornwallis (Herr)
  • Schimmelpenninck
  • Ritter von Azara
  • Feuerwerk
  • Unterschrift
  • Dichtung
  • Pyrotechnik
  • England
  • Frieden von Amiens

Literaturverzeichnis

Thierry LENTZDas Großkonsulat: 1799-1804Paris, Fayard, 1999. Louis MADELINGeschichte des Konsulats und des Reichest. III und IV, Paris, Hachette, 1938-1939. Jean TULARD (Regie)Die Geschichte Napoleons durch MalereiParis, Belfond, 1991.Fernand BEAUCOUR "Das Gemälde des Friedens von Amiens vom Maler Ziegler: ein symbolisches Gemälde", in Akt des Gedenkens an den 200. Jahrestag des Friedens von Amiens, Bulletin der Société des Antiquaires de Picardie, 1. Quartal 2002.

Um diesen Artikel zu zitieren

Nicole GOTTERI, "Der Frieden von Amiens (25.-27. März 1802)"


Video: Frieden von Tilsit