Construction workers

Construction workers


We are searching data for your request:

Forums and discussions:
Manuals and reference books:
Data from registers:
Wait the end of the search in all databases.
Upon completion, a link will appear to access the found materials.

© Photo RMN-Grand Palais - C. Jean

Publication date: March 2016

Historical context

Alexandre Steinlen, born in Lausanne in 1859, was durably impressed by the Parisian events of 1871. In 1911, when this painting was painted, they represented 13.6% of an estimated working population of 4.7 millions of people.

Image Analysis

A red brick wall and lighted scaffolding occupy the center of a painting evenly composed of warm hues. This central motif sets the scene - a building site - and makes it possible to unambiguously identify the characters before any other clue. This wall and the shadow which extends it draw a sawtooth diagonal which divides the painting into two unequal triangles, one of which, in the background, is in full sun while the other, in the foreground, significantly larger, is in the shade. In each of them, a belt clip, red, reminiscent of the color of the wall. This wall forms a rectangle in the shadow of which are the three workers forming the leading group. This construction is reminiscent of certain Japanese prints.
The moment represented is that of the break, perhaps even lunch time (in the background, the light is strong, and a worker seems to be eating something). The workers are at rest, their arms crossed in various ways, so that their hands, this expression of work among all, are invisible. The three workers who speak in the foreground are each from a different generation. Their outfit designates them as commoners: open collars, hats having no real shape, faded jacket thrown over the shoulders of one of them. Their wide trousers and the excavator's belt, already mentioned, clearly indicate their profession. In the background, the four similarly dressed figures are no more than silhouettes, however more relaxed, with a more relaxed outfit (sleeves rolled up). This world of the site is strictly masculine, without virile connotation, however.

Interpretation

Steinlen was at the same time poster artist, painter and engraver. If these posters constitute a specific part of his work, his paintings and engravings, on the other hand, have strong ties. The individuals he paints here become types in the prints he then makes for the satirical journal The Butter Plate or for other titles from the workers' press. The preeminence of the revolutionary syndicalist current in the building federation and certain major strikes in this sector have earned the building worker the right to establish himself as the worker figure par excellence.
The close relationship between the paintings and the engravings then allows for a hypothesis. In the engravings, the sun is an image of the future, and therefore a becoming. As such, the simultaneity of sun and shadow, here realistic, is susceptible to overinterpretation. Are these silhouettes with more slender looks immersed in the light also the image of a future?

  • labor movement
  • workers
  • unionism

Bibliography

Steinlen Exhibition, Museum of Living History, Montreuil, 1987. Gérard NOIRIEL, Workers in French society Paris, Seuil, coll. "Points Histoire", 1986.

To cite this article

Danielle TARTAKOWSKY, “Construction workers”


Video: Made in Germany. Construction Workers for Latvia

Bauarbeiter

Bauarbeiter

© Foto RMN-Grand Palais - C. Jean

Erscheinungsdatum: März 2016

Historischer Zusammenhang

Alexandre Steinlen, geboren 1859 in Lausanne, war von den Pariser Ereignissen von 1871 nachhaltig beeindruckt. 1911, als dieses Gemälde gemalt wurde, repräsentierten sie 13,6% einer erwerbstätigen Bevölkerung, die auf 4,7 geschätzt wurde Millionen von Menschen.

Bildanalyse

Eine rote Backsteinmauer und ein beleuchtetes Gerüst bilden die Mitte eines Gemäldes, das gleichmäßig aus warmen Farbtönen besteht. Dieses zentrale Motiv setzt die Szene - eine Baustelle - in Szene und ermöglicht es, die Charaktere vor jedem anderen Hinweis eindeutig zu identifizieren. Diese Wand und der Schatten, der sie ausdehnt, zeichnen eine Sägezahndiagonale, die das Gemälde in zwei ungleiche Dreiecke unterteilt, von denen eines im Hintergrund in voller Sonne steht, während das andere im Vordergrund steht. deutlich größer, liegt im Schatten. In jedem von ihnen ein Gürtelclip, rot, der an die Farbe der Wand erinnert. Diese Wand bildet ein Rechteck, in dessen Schatten die drei Arbeiter die führende Gruppe bilden. Diese Konstruktion erinnert an bestimmte japanische Drucke.
Der dargestellte Moment ist der der Pause, vielleicht sogar der Mittagspause (im Hintergrund ist das Licht stark und ein Arbeiter scheint etwas zu essen). Die Arbeiter ruhen, ihre Arme sind auf verschiedene Weise verschränkt, so dass ihre Hände, dieser Ausdruck der Arbeit unter allen, unsichtbar sind. Die drei Arbeiter, die im Vordergrund sprechen, stammen jeweils aus einer anderen Generation. Ihr Outfit bezeichnet sie als Bürger: offene Kragen, Hüte ohne wirkliche Form, verblasste Jacke, die über die Schultern eines von ihnen geworfen wird. Ihre weite Hose und der bereits erwähnte Gürtel des Baggers zeigen deutlich ihren Beruf. Im Hintergrund sind die vier ähnlich gekleideten Figuren nur Silhouetten, jedoch entspannter, mit einem entspannteren Outfit (Ärmel hochgekrempelt). Diese Welt der Baustelle ist streng männlich, jedoch ohne männliche Konnotation.

Interpretation

Steinlen war gleichzeitig Plakatkünstler, Maler und Graveur. Wenn diese Plakate einen bestimmten Teil seiner Arbeit ausmachen, sind seine Gemälde und Gravuren dagegen eng miteinander verbunden. Die Personen, die er hier malt, werden zu Typen in den Drucken, die er dann für das satirische Tagebuch macht Die Butterplatte oder für andere Titel aus der Arbeiterpresse. Die Vorrangstellung der revolutionären syndikalistischen Strömung im Bauverband und bestimmte größere Streiks in diesem Sektor haben dem Bauarbeiter das Recht eingebracht, sich als Arbeiterfigur schlechthin zu etablieren.
Die enge Beziehung zwischen den Gemälden und den Gravuren erlaubt dann eine Hypothese. In den Gravuren ist die Sonne ein Bild der Zukunft und damit ein Werden. Insofern ist die hier realistische Gleichzeitigkeit von Sonne und Schatten anfällig für Überinterpretationen. Sind diese Silhouetten mit schlankeren Reizen, die in das Licht eingetaucht sind, nicht auch das Bild einer Zukunft?

  • Arbeiterbewegung
  • Arbeitskräfte
  • Unionismus

Literaturverzeichnis

Steinlen Ausstellung, Museum für lebendige Geschichte, Montreuil, 1987. Gérard NOIRIEL, Arbeiter in der französischen Gesellschaft Paris, Seuil, umg. "Points Histoire", 1986.

Um diesen Artikel zu zitieren

Danielle TARTAKOWSKY, „Bauarbeiter“


Video: Unglaublich kreative Bauarbeiter - die du sehen musst!