Soviet operators and the Shoah

Soviet operators and the Shoah


We are searching data for your request:

Forums and discussions:
Manuals and reference books:
Data from registers:
Wait the end of the search in all databases.
Upon completion, a link will appear to access the found materials.

Soviet filmmaker Roman Karmen in Majdanek

© RGAKFD

Publication date: February 2015

Historical context

The extermination camps, the final stage in the discovery of the Shoah in the East

After the defeats which followed one another since the German invasion of June 22, 1941, the Red Army stopped retreating (end of 1941) and began the reconquest of lost ground (1942-1943), then the conquest of the Baltic countries, of the Poland and the eastern German territories (1944-1945). They often occur several years after the Nazi crimes (the site of the Babi Yar massacre in Ukraine, perpetrated between September 29 and September 30, 1941, was discovered on November 6, 1943), sometimes just a few days later (the pyres of Klooga, Estonia, were found in September 1944).

Among the 27 million victims of World War II on Soviet territory within its 1945 limits, there are around 3 million Jews systematically murdered, but also those killed in action in the uniform of the Red Army, those executed because suspected of being resistant or communist, or finally the Jews tortured as prisoners of war. If most of them were killed in the USSR occupied by the Wehrmacht, a number of them were victims of the "final solution" alongside deportees from all over Europe to the six camps of extermination established in occupied Poland.

Located on the outskirts of the city of Lublin, the Majdanek camp, built in October 1941 and transformed into an extermination camp the following year, was the first to be discovered by the Red Army on July 23, 1944. Indeed, between 1941 and 1945, hundreds of hours of film were shot in order to denounce Nazi barbarism and to attest to the international opinion of the extent of the massacres and destruction committed by the occupier.

Image Analysis

Majdanek, the first “factory of death” filmed

Among the many pictures taken in the Majdanek camp, this one stands out with its setting and its composition. Far from the traditional image of the camps, no watchtower, no set of electrified barbed wire or barracks on the horizon; one cannot distinguish either the tall chimneys which mark the crematorium ovens. The scene is indeed located in the immediate vicinity of these constructions, near the constellation of mass graves where Soviets and Poles are gradually becoming aware of the extent of the massacres committed in this killing center. They are the ones who piled up the bones in the heart of the summer wild vegetation and lined up the skulls to make the count. These piles appear in a number of pictures taken in the weeks following the discovery of the camp. To the Soviet public, they can only recall the pyramids of skulls from the famous painting The Apotheosis of War, painted in 1871 by Vasily Vereshchagin after he followed the Russian Expedition to Turkestan, a work considered to be the icon of pacifism in Russia.

At the edge of the image but in the midst of human remains, the only one alive in this death table, a cinema operator, in a simple military uniform, films as close as possible to his object. It is equipped with the eyemo triple rotating lens camera, the most handy and reliable of the time. He is no stranger: he is Roman Karmen (1906-1978), one of the most experienced documentary filmmakers of his generation. Operator, director, journalist and essayist, he enjoys preferential treatment and is often chosen for exceptional shoots, such as that of the surrender of Marshal Paulus in Stalingrad on 1er February 1943. Journal correspondent Izvestia, Karmen in 1944 became one of Moscow’s official voices for United Press. In July, he led the Soviet team sent to document the opening of the Majdanek camp. Although focused on his task, he is no doubt aware that he is being photographed in this highly symbolic pose.

Interpretation

An exemplary case of the media coverage of the Shoah by the Soviets

Crossing their territorial borders of 1940, the Soviets decided to involve the pro-Soviet Poles in the investigation of Nazi crimes. The commission of inquiry set up to carry out the investigations at the Majdanek camp upon its liberation at the end of July 1944 includes representatives of the Polish National Liberation Committee (PKWN), created to administer the territories abandoned by Hitler's troops. Led by Andrzej Witos, deputy director of the PKWN, it comprises local authorities (prelates, doctors, lawyers, professors from Lublin University) as well as three members of the Soviet State Extraordinary Commission, including forensic pathologist Prozorovsky. The first press release figures the victims at 1.5 million, a sign of the deep impression left on men who have yet seen so much evidence of atrocities since 1941. The total number of prisoners is estimated today at around three hundred thousand. passed through this camp, 40% of whom were Jews (sixty thousand murdered).

Warned by the political leadership of the Red Army of the unexpected importance of the site, the first operators very quickly reached Majdanek. Following them, Roman Karmen as well as the Polish Aleksander Ford and his team are sent there to film the investigative work of the commission. The industrial dimension particularly strikes photographers and filmmakers who record as precisely as possible the traces of this “European killing factory”. In order to consolidate anti-Nazi propaganda, the Soviet military authorities organize visits for foreign press correspondents, the local population and German prisoners of war.

The Americans and the British do the same a few months later in Bergen-Belsen, Buchenwald or Dachau. However, due to the geography of the operations, they were only able to discover concentration camps. Only the Soviets were able to film the traces of the Shoah in all its magnitude, its systematic nature and the variety of methods of killing. Their initial aim was certainly not to document the genocide of the Jews, but the bodies piled up in mass graves, those tortured in internment camps and ghettos, testimonies during the trials, not to mention the opening of the camps. extermination in Poland are proof of this.

During the Nuremberg trials, the Americans broadcast Nazi Concentration Camps, the Soviets The Cinematographic Documents on the Germano-Fascist Abuses on the Territory of the Occupied USSR. Neither film dwells on what will later be called the genocide of the Jews. At the time, the Soviet film made a very strong impression, both on the accused and on the press. But in the end, it is the images of the skeletal survivor with the emaciated face in striped clothes from the camps located in Poland (Majdanek and Auschwitz), much more diffused than those of other methods of killing, which have imposed themselves in the collective imagination. both in Western and Eastern Europe.

  • Concentration camp
  • deportation
  • War of 39-45
  • soviet army
  • Ukraine

Bibliography

EHRENBOURG Ilya, GROSSMAN Vassili (dir.), The Black Book on the Villainous Extermination of Jews by German Fascist Invaders in Provisionally Occupied Areas of the USSR and in Extermination Camps in Poland during the 1941-1945 War: Texts and Testimonies, Arles, Actes Sud / Paris, Solin, coll. "Hebraïca", 1995.HICKS Jeremy, First Films of the Holocaust: Soviet Cinema and the Genocide of the Jews (1938-1946), Pittsburg, University of Pittsburg Press, coll. “Pitt Series in Russian and East European Studies”, 2012.HILBERG Raul, The Destruction of the Jews of Europe, Paris, Gallimard, coll. “Folio: histoire” (nos 142-144), 2006 (final ed., Completed and updated), 3 vol.SCHNEER David, Through Soviet Jewish Eyes: Photography, War, and the Holocaust, New Brunswick, Rutgers University Press, 2012.WERTH Alexander, Russia at war, Paris, Tallandier, coll. “Texto”, 2010, 2 vol.

To cite this article

Alexandre SUMPF, "Soviet operators and the Shoah"


Video: Soviet Anthem from TOO EASY to COMMUNISM

Sowjetische Betreiber und die Shoah

Sowjetische Betreiber und die Shoah

Der sowjetische Filmemacher Roman Karmen in Majdanek

© RGAKFD

Erscheinungsdatum: Februar 2015

Historischer Zusammenhang

Die Vernichtungslager, die letzte Etappe bei der Entdeckung der Shoah im Osten

Nach den Niederlagen, die seit der deutschen Invasion am 22. Juni 1941 aufeinander folgten, hörte die Rote Armee auf, sich zurückzuziehen (Ende 1941) und begann mit der Rückeroberung des verlorenen Bodens (1942-1943), dann der Eroberung der baltischen Länder Polen und die ostdeutschen Gebiete (1944-1945). Sie ereignen sich oft einige Jahre nach den Verbrechen der Nazis (der Ort des Massakers von Babi Yar in der Ukraine, das zwischen dem 29. und 30. September 1941 verübt wurde und am 6. November 1943 entdeckt wurde), manchmal nur wenige Tage später (die Pyren von Klooga, Estland, wurden im September 1944 gefunden.

Unter den 27 Millionen Opfern des Zweiten Weltkriegs auf sowjetischem Gebiet innerhalb seiner Grenzen von 1945 sind etwa 3 Millionen Juden systematisch ermordet worden, aber auch diejenigen, die in der Uniform der Roten Armee im Einsatz getötet wurden, die hingerichtet wurden, weil verdächtigt, widerstandsfähig oder kommunistisch zu sein, oder schließlich die Juden als Kriegsgefangene gefoltert. Wenn die meisten von ihnen in der von der Wehrmacht besetzten UdSSR starben, waren einige von ihnen Opfer der "Endlösung", zusammen mit Deportierten aus ganz Europa in die sechs Lager von Ausrottung im besetzten Polen etabliert.

Das am Rande der Stadt Lublin gelegene Majdanek-Lager, das im Oktober 1941 erbaut und im folgenden Jahr in ein Vernichtungslager umgewandelt wurde, wurde am 23. Juli 1944 als erstes von der Roten Armee entdeckt 1941 und 1945 wurden Hunderte von Stunden Film gedreht, um die Barbarei der Nazis anzuprangern und die internationale Meinung über das Ausmaß der von den Besatzern begangenen Massaker und Zerstörungen zu bestätigen.

Bildanalyse

Majdanek, die erste "Fabrik des Todes", wurde gedreht

Unter den vielen Bildern, die im Lager Majdanek aufgenommen wurden, zeichnet sich dieses durch seine Umgebung und seine Zusammensetzung aus. Weit entfernt vom traditionellen Bild der Lager, kein Wachturm, kein Satz elektrifizierter Stacheldraht oder Kasernen am Horizont; man kann auch die hohen Schornsteine, die die Krematoriumsöfen markieren, nicht unterscheiden. Die Szene befindet sich in der Tat in unmittelbarer Nähe dieser Bauwerke, in der Nähe der Konstellation von Massengräbern, in denen sich die Sowjets und Polen allmählich des Ausmaßes der in diesem Tötungszentrum verübten Massaker bewusst werden. Sie sind diejenigen, die die Knochen im Herzen der sommerlichen wilden Vegetation angehäuft und die Schädel aufgereiht haben, um die Zählung durchzuführen. Diese Stapel erscheinen auf einer Reihe von Bildern, die in den Wochen nach der Entdeckung des Lagers aufgenommen wurden. Für die sowjetische Öffentlichkeit können sie sich nur an die Schädelpyramiden des berühmten Gemäldes erinnern Die Apotheose des Krieges, 1871 von Wassili Vereschtschagin gemalt, nachdem er der russischen Expedition nach Turkestan gefolgt war, ein Werk, das als Ikone des Pazifismus in Russland gilt.

Am Rande des Bildes, aber inmitten menschlicher Überreste, filmt der einzige, der an diesem Todestisch lebt, ein Kinobetreiber in einer einfachen Militäruniform so nah wie möglich an seinem Objekt. Es ist mit der dreifach drehbaren Eyemo-Objektivkamera ausgestattet, der praktischsten und zuverlässigsten der Zeit. Er ist kein Fremder: Er ist Roman Karmen (1906-1978), einer der erfahrensten Dokumentarfilmer seiner Generation. Der Betreiber, Regisseur, Journalist und Essayist wird bevorzugt behandelt und oft für außergewöhnliche Aufnahmen ausgewählt, wie zum Beispiel die Übergabe von Marschall Paulus in Stalingrad am 1. Septemberäh Februar 1943. Journal Korrespondent IzvestiaKarmen wurde 1944 eine der offiziellen Stimmen Moskaus für United Press. Im Juli leitete er das sowjetische Team, um die Eröffnung des Majdanek-Lagers zu dokumentieren. Obwohl er sich auf seine Aufgabe konzentriert, ist er sich zweifellos bewusst, dass er in dieser symbolträchtigen Pose fotografiert wird.

Interpretation

Ein beispielhafter Fall der Medienberichterstattung über die Shoah durch die Sowjets

Als die Sowjets 1940 ihre territorialen Grenzen überschritten, beschlossen sie, die pro-sowjetischen Polen in die Untersuchung der Verbrechen der Nazis einzubeziehen. Zu der Untersuchungskommission, die eingerichtet wurde, um Ermittlungen im Lager Majdanek nach seiner Befreiung Ende Juli 1944 durchzuführen, gehören Vertreter des polnischen Nationalen Befreiungskomitees (PKWN), das zur Verwaltung der von Hitlers Truppen verlassenen Gebiete geschaffen wurde. Unter der Leitung von Andrzej Witos, dem stellvertretenden Direktor der PKWN, setzen sich die örtlichen Behörden (Prälaten, Ärzte, Anwälte, Professoren der Universität Lublin) sowie drei Mitglieder der außerordentlichen Kommission des Sowjetstaats zusammen, darunter der forensische Pathologe Prozorovsky. Die erste Pressemitteilung schätzt die Opfer auf 1,5 Millionen, ein Zeichen für den tiefen Eindruck, den Männer hinterlassen haben, die seit 1941 noch so viele Hinweise auf Gräueltaten gesehen haben. Die Gesamtzahl der Gefangenen wird heute auf rund dreihunderttausend geschätzt. gingen durch dieses Lager, von denen 40% Juden waren (sechzigtausend ermordet).

Von der politischen Führung der Roten Armee vor der unerwarteten Bedeutung des Standorts gewarnt, erreichten die ersten Betreiber sehr schnell Majdanek. Im Anschluss werden Roman Karmen sowie der polnische Aleksander Ford und sein Team dorthin geschickt, um die Ermittlungsarbeit der Kommission zu filmen. Die industrielle Dimension trifft insbesondere Fotografen und Filmemacher, die die Spuren dieser „europäischen Tötungsfabrik“ so genau wie möglich aufzeichnen. Um die Anti-Nazi-Propaganda zu festigen, organisieren die sowjetischen Militärbehörden Besuche für ausländische Pressekorrespondenten, die lokale Bevölkerung und deutsche Kriegsgefangene.

Das tun die Amerikaner und die Briten einige Monate später in Bergen-Belsen, Buchenwald oder Dachau. Aufgrund der geografischen Lage der Operationen konnten sie jedoch nur Konzentrationslager entdecken. Nur die Sowjets konnten die Spuren der Shoah in all ihrer Größe, ihrer Systematik und der Vielfalt der Tötungsmethoden filmen. Ihr ursprüngliches Ziel war es sicherlich nicht, den Völkermord an den Juden zu dokumentieren, sondern die in Massengräbern angehäuften Leichen, die in Internierungslagern und Ghettos gefoltert wurden, Zeugnisse während der Prozesse, ganz zu schweigen von der Eröffnung der Lager. Die Ausrottung in Polen ist ein Beweis dafür.

Während der Nürnberger Prozesse sendeten die Amerikaner Konzentrationslager der Nazisdie Sowjets Kinodokumente zu den deutsch-faschistischen Missbräuchen im Gebiet der besetzten UdSSR. Keiner der Filme betont das, was später als Völkermord an den Juden bezeichnet wird. Zu dieser Zeit machte der sowjetische Film sowohl bei den Angeklagten als auch in der Presse einen sehr starken Eindruck. Aber am Ende sind es die Bilder des Überlebenden des Skeletts mit dem abgemagerten Gesicht in gestreiften Kleidern aus den Lagern in Polen (Majdanek und Auschwitz), die viel diffuser sind als die anderer Tötungsmethoden, die sich in der kollektiven Vorstellung durchgesetzt haben. sowohl in West- als auch in Osteuropa.

  • Konzentrationslager
  • Abschiebung
  • Krieg von 39-45
  • Sowjetarmee
  • Ukraine

Literaturverzeichnis

EHRENBURG Ilja, GROSSMAN Vassili (dir.), Das Schwarze Buch über die bösartige Ausrottung der Juden durch die deutschen faschistischen Invasoren in den provisorisch besetzten Gebieten der UdSSR und in den Vernichtungslagern in Polen während des Krieges 1941-1945: Texte und Beweise, Arles, Actes Sud / Paris, Solin, umg. "Hebraïca", 1995. HICKS Jeremy, Erste Filme des Holocaust: Sowjetisches Kino und der Völkermord an den Juden (1938-1946), Pittsburg, University of Pittsburg Press, Slg. "Pitt Series in Russian and East European Studies", 2012.HILBERG Raul, Die Zerstörung der Juden Europas, Paris, Gallimard, umg. "Folio: histoire" (Nr. 142-144), 2006 (endgültige Ausgabe, abgeschlossen und aktualisiert), 3 vol.SCHNEER David, Mit sowjetischen jüdischen Augen: Fotografie, Krieg und Holocaust, New Brunswick, Rutgers University Press, 2012. WERTH Alexander, Russland im Krieg, Paris, Tallandier, umg. "Texto", 2010, 2 vol.

Um diesen Artikel zu zitieren

Alexandre SUMPF, "Sowjetische Betreiber und die Shoah"


Video: KGB Akte 662 - Deutsche Generäle in sowjetischer Kriegsgefangenenschaft 1943 - 1956