Charles Garnier's Opera

Charles Garnier's Opera


We are searching data for your request:

Forums and discussions:
Manuals and reference books:
Data from registers:
Wait the end of the search in all databases.
Upon completion, a link will appear to access the found materials.

  • Staircase of the Opera in Paris.

    NAVLET Victor (1819 - 1886)

  • Napoleon III and the Empress visit the works of the Opera.

    GILIS Ed.

To close

Title: Staircase of the Opera in Paris.

Author : NAVLET Victor (1819 - 1886)

Creation date : 1880

Date shown:

Dimensions: Height 131 - Width 196

Technique and other indications: Oil painting on canvas

Storage location: Orsay Museum website

Contact copyright: © Photo RMN-Grand Palais - G. Blot

Picture reference: 92DE978 / MV 7382

Staircase of the Opera in Paris.

© Photo RMN-Grand Palais - G. Blot

To close

Title: Napoleon III and the Empress visit the works of the Opera.

Author : GILIS Ed. (-)

Date shown:

Dimensions: Height 54 - Width 65

Technique and other indications: Oil painting on canvas

Storage location: National Museum of the Château de Compiègne website

Contact copyright: © Photo RMN-Grand Palais - D. Arnaudet

Picture reference: 95CE6098 / IMP 420

Napoleon III and the Empress visit the works of the Opera.

© Photo RMN-Grand Palais - D. Arnaudet

Publication date: September 2014

Historical context

The construction of the new Paris Opera

Decided in 1858 to remedy the dilapidation and inconvenience of the hall in rue Le Pelletier, the construction of the new Paris Opera House was the heart of a masterful demonstration of town planning according to the Second Empire. Under the aegis of Baron Haussmann (Prefect of the Seine from 1853 to 1870), the building was built to meet the luxurious pleasures demanded by the whole of Paris and the imperial court.

At the same time, it was to be one of the "beacons" which the baron dotted the capital to punctuate the new traffic routes. The surrounding district was then completely remodeled, causing several 18th century mansions to disappear.e century.

Image Analysis

The actors of a luxurious construction site

The visit of Napoleon III and Eugenie to the site testifies to the importance which the Emperor had in the eyes of the new Opera, which was, after the Grand Louvre, the major monument of his reign and the most expensive.

Charles Garnier (1825-1898) had not yet built anything when in 1860, he won the Opera competition, in front of the architect of the City of Paris (Rohault de Fleury) and Eugène Viollet-le-Duc, supported by the Empress. Disillusioned by his studies and his travels, he put all his ardor as a young romantic artist as well as his academic talents at the service of this project to which he devoted himself completely.

In the very rich architectural program invented by Garnier, the grand staircase occupies a considerable place. Taking the model of that of the theater of Bordeaux, it develops in Paris a monumental and unexpected cage. Its originality lies in its dual function of space for movement and place of strolling. The three flights provide access to the stalls but above all to the reception areas (lounges and large foyer). All around the steps, punctuated by large arches, the galleries open widely onto the central void of the staircase, offering balconies made to follow the evolution of the spectators on the steps.

The decor, very mineral, uses a wide variety of hard stones, all from French quarries, a veritable mineralogical museum of the French Empire. This polychromy is enhanced by the abundant electric lighting provided by cast iron candelabras, reminiscent of those on the outside. Very quickly electrified, the Opera combined traditional works of art with the comfort of modernity.

Interpretation

An original work for an elitist society

To carry out the work he led, Charles Garnier called on the greatest official painters and sculptors of the time, as well as the best workmen in France. With the same talent and enthusiasm that he brought to the compilation of references and materials, he took a precise and critical look at them.

The Empress’s hesitation is reminiscent of the public's bewilderment in the face of so much luxury displayed both inside and outside the building. Never has a performance building taken on this importance in the city, with the tradition of architecture giving way to lyrical art. The audacity of the style of certain parts even shocked; Garnier put all his ardor in defending the group of Dance, by his friend Carpeaux, considered indecent.

Moreover, time and a lack of money did not allow the installation of the modern machinery which had been initially planned, and the technical equipment of the Opera did not present any revolution. While the stage was one of the largest, it did not have excessive depth, and the hall was smaller than many European theaters. With the proliferation of contemporary lyrical and choreographic creation, the Paris room only offered a traditional welcome.

The mediocrity of the early productions allowed an affluent society enamored of entertainment and performances to grant the building immediate success. It was then crowned with the success of an architect, but also of an architectural and urban ensemble which could only develop within the precise and subtle framework set by the emperor and Haussmann.

  • architecture
  • electricity
  • Haussmann (Georges Eugène)
  • Empress Eugenie (Montijo de)
  • music
  • Napoleon III
  • opera
  • Paris Opera
  • Second Empire
  • Napoleon III style

Bibliography

Charles NUITTER, The New Opera [Garnier] 1875, Paris, C. Tchou for the Library of the Untraceable, coll. “Opera and Lyric Art”, 1999.

François LOYER (dir.), Around the Opera: birth of the modern city, Paris, Delegation for action of the City of Paris, coll. “Paris and its heritage”, 1995.

Gérard FONTAINE, Charles Garnier's Opera. Architecture and exterior decor, Paris, Heritage Publishing, 2000.

To cite this article

Nicolas COURTIN, "The Opera of Charles Garnier"


Video: Watch this breathtaking bridal entrance at Opera garnier, Paris!

Charles Garniers Oper

Charles Garniers Oper

  • Treppe der Oper in Paris.

    NAVLET Victor (1819 - 1886)

  • Napoleon III. Und die Kaiserin besuchen die Werke der Oper.

    GILIS Ed.

Schließen

Titel: Treppe der Oper in Paris.

Autor: NAVLET Victor (1819 - 1886)

Erstellungsdatum : 1880

Datum angezeigt:

Maße: Höhe 131 - Breite 196

Technik und andere Indikationen: Ölgemälde auf Leinwand

Speicherort: Orsay Museum Website

Kontakt Copyright: © Foto RMN-Grand Palais - G. Blot

Bildreferenz: 92DE978 / MV 7382

Treppe der Oper in Paris.

© Foto RMN-Grand Palais - G. Blot

Schließen

Titel: Napoleon III. Und die Kaiserin besuchen die Werke der Oper.

Autor: GILIS Ed. (-)

Datum angezeigt:

Maße: Höhe 54 - Breite 65

Technik und andere Indikationen: Ölgemälde auf Leinwand

Speicherort: Website des Nationalmuseums des Château de Compiègne

Kontakt Copyright: © Foto RMN-Grand Palais - D. Arnaudet

Bildreferenz: 95CE6098 / IMP 420

Napoleon III. Und die Kaiserin besuchen die Werke der Oper.

© Foto RMN-Grand Palais - D. Arnaudet

Erscheinungsdatum: September 2014

Historischer Zusammenhang

Der Bau der neuen Pariser Oper

Der Bau des neuen Pariser Opernhauses wurde 1858 beschlossen, um den Verfall und die Unannehmlichkeiten des Saals in der Rue Le Pelletier zu beheben. Er war das Herzstück einer meisterhaften Demonstration der Stadtplanung nach dem Zweiten Reich. Unter der Schirmherrschaft von Baron Haussmann (Präfekt der Seine von 1853 bis 1870) wurde das Gebäude gebaut, um den luxuriösen Freuden gerecht zu werden, die ganz Paris und der kaiserliche Hof verlangen.

Gleichzeitig sollte es eines der "Leuchtfeuer" sein, mit denen der Baron die Hauptstadt punktierte, um die neuen Verkehrswege zu markieren. Das umliegende Viertel wurde dann komplett umgebaut, wodurch mehrere Villen aus dem 18. Jahrhundert verschwanden.e Jahrhundert.

Bildanalyse

Die Schauspieler einer luxuriösen Baustelle

Der Besuch Napoleons III. Und Eugenies vor Ort zeugt von der Bedeutung, die der Kaiser in den Augen der neuen Oper hatte, die nach dem Grand Louvre das wichtigste und teuerste Denkmal seiner Regierungszeit war.

Charles Garnier (1825-1898) hatte noch nichts gebaut, als er 1860 vor dem Architekten der Stadt Paris (Rohault de Fleury) und Eugène Viollet-le-Duc den Opernwettbewerb gewann. unterstützt von der Kaiserin. Desillusioniert von seinem Studium und seinen Reisen stellte er all seine Begeisterung als junger romantischer Künstler sowie seine akademischen Talente in den Dienst dieses Projekts, dem er sich ganz widmete.

In dem von Garnier erfundenen sehr reichen Architekturprogramm nimmt die große Treppe einen beachtlichen Platz ein. Nach dem Vorbild des Bordeaux-Theaters entwickelt sich in Paris ein monumentaler und unerwarteter Käfig. Seine Originalität liegt in seiner Doppelfunktion von Bewegungsraum und Bummelplatz. Die drei Flüge bieten Zugang zu den Ständen, vor allem aber zu den Empfangsbereichen (Lounges und großes Foyer). Rund um die Stufen, unterbrochen von großen Arkaden, öffnen sich die Galerien weit in die zentrale Leere der Treppe und bieten Balkone, die die Entwicklung der Zuschauer auf den Stufen verfolgen.

Das Dekor, sehr mineralisch, erfordert eine Vielzahl von harten Steinen, alle aus französischen Steinbrüchen, einem wahren mineralogischen Museum des französischen Reiches. Diese Polychromie wird durch die reichlich vorhandene elektrische Beleuchtung durch Kandelaber aus Gusseisen verstärkt, die an die Außenkandelaber erinnern. Sehr schnell elektrifiziert, verband die Oper traditionelle Kunstwerke mit dem Komfort der Moderne.

Interpretation

Ein originelles Werk für eine elitäre Gesellschaft

Für die von ihm geleitete Arbeit berief sich Charles Garnier auf die größten offiziellen Maler und Bildhauer der Zeit sowie auf die besten Arbeiter Frankreichs. Mit dem gleichen Talent und der gleichen Begeisterung, die er für die Zusammenstellung von Referenzen und Materialien mitbrachte, nahm er diese präzise und kritisch unter die Lupe.

Das Zögern der Kaiserin erinnert an die Verwirrung der Öffentlichkeit angesichts des Luxus, der sowohl innerhalb als auch außerhalb des Gebäudes gezeigt wird. Nie hat ein Performance-Gebäude in der Stadt diese Bedeutung erlangt, und die Tradition der Architektur weicht der lyrischen Kunst. Die Kühnheit des Stils bestimmter Teile schockierte sogar; Garnier setzte seine ganze Begeisterung in die Verteidigung der Gruppe von Tanzenvon seinem Freund Carpeaux als unanständig angesehen.

Darüber hinaus ermöglichten Zeit und Geldmangel nicht die Installation der ursprünglich geplanten modernen Maschinen, und die technische Ausstattung der Oper stellte keine Revolution dar. Die Bühne war zwar eine der größten, hatte aber keine übermäßige Tiefe und der Saal war kleiner als viele europäische Theater. Mit der Verbreitung zeitgenössischer lyrischer und choreografischer Kreationen bot der Pariser Raum nur einen traditionellen Empfang.

Die Mittelmäßigkeit der frühen Produktionen ermöglichte es einer wohlhabenden Gesellschaft, die in Unterhaltung und Aufführungen verliebt war, dem Gebäude sofortigen Erfolg zu verleihen. Es wurde dann mit dem Erfolg eines Architekten gekrönt, aber auch eines architektonischen und städtischen Ensembles, das sich nur innerhalb des präzisen und subtilen Rahmens entwickeln konnte, den Kaiser und Haussmann vorgaben.

  • die Architektur
  • Elektrizität
  • Haussmann (Georges Eugène)
  • Kaiserin Eugenie (Montijo de)
  • Musik-
  • Napoleon III
  • Oper
  • Pariser Oper
  • Zweites Reich
  • Napoleon III Stil

Literaturverzeichnis

Charles NUITTER, Die neue Oper [Garnier] 1875, Paris, C. Tchou für die Bibliothek des Unverfolgbaren, coll. "Oper und lyrische Kunst", 1999.

François LOYER (Regie), Rund um die Oper: Geburt der modernen Stadt, Paris, Delegation für Maßnahmen der Stadt Paris, Slg. "Paris und sein Erbe", 1995.

Gérard FONTAINE, Charles Garniers Oper. Architektur und Außendekor, Paris, Heritage Publishing, 2000.

Um diesen Artikel zu zitieren

Nicolas COURTIN, "Die Oper von Charles Garnier"


Video: Cest pas sorcier - Dans les coulisses de lOpéra