Louise Michel's funeral

Louise Michel's funeral


We are searching data for your request:

Forums and discussions:
Manuals and reference books:
Data from registers:
Wait the end of the search in all databases.
Upon completion, a link will appear to access the found materials.

To close

Title: Louise Michel's funeral.

Author : PETERS-DESTERACT Albert (-)

Creation date : 1905

Date shown: January 22, 1905

Dimensions: Height 51.4 - Width 62

Technique and other indications: etching on paper

Storage place: Saint-Denis Art and History Museum

Contact copyright: © Saint-Denis, art and history museum - Photo I. Andréani

Louise Michel's funeral.

© Saint-Denis, art and history museum - Photo I. Andréani

Publication date: March 2016

Historical context

Louise Michel's death

On January 9, 1905, Louise Michel died of pulmonary congestion in Marseille, where she had gone to give one of her countless lectures in favor of the libertarian cause.

Since her return from New Caledonia - she was deported there in 1872 for her participation in the Commune - and thanks to the general amnesty of 1880, Louise Michel had experienced intense activity as a journalist, pamphleteer and lecturer. She had thus become a popular incarnation of the revolution.

Image Analysis

A funeral procession

The remains of the "Red Virgin" were brought back to Paris. At the Gare de Lyon, large police forces had been deployed to contain the funeral procession which was to accompany to the cemetery of Levallois-Perret the seventh-class hearse, called "of the poor", covered with a red cloth and bordered in black.

In this polychrome etching, the artist sought to produce the effect of a dense and compact crowd, a sort of human flow punctuated by funeral wreaths, bristling with red flags and black banners, from which emerges in the center a cuirassier of the order service. By favoring the representation of the procession to the detriment of that of the hearse, off-screen, the artist can showcase the heterogeneity of Louise Michel's admirers - women, workers, veterans of past causes, kids from Paris including a town crier. Libertarian ... - and promote consistency through colors. With a tight framing on the crowd and the alignment of the facades which closes all perspective, Peters-Destéract attempts to represent what was this fourteen kilometer course that the procession completed in four hours.

Interpretation

A popular tribute

The effectiveness of this image lies in the heterogeneous and disorderly flow of the procession of anonymous, hesitating between homage and demonstration. It illustrates the wish of some close to Louise Michel, that she did not belong to any group but to all: French socialist party, revolutionary socialist workers' party, anti-militarist groups, anarchists and feminists, labor unions, newspaper editorial staff Humanity, The Libertarian or The sling

Peters-Destéract thus offers a sort of snapshot of the social revolution marching around the hearse of his muse, recalling the procession which had accompanied him through Paris, on his return from deportation on November 9, 1880.

  • Municipality of Paris
  • red flag
  • women
  • funeral
  • Michel (Louise)
  • political opponents
  • Parisians
  • socialism
  • working class

Bibliography

Louise MICHEL, The Municipality: history and memory, Paris, La Découverte, 1999.

Michel RAGON, The Vendéen and the Anarchist, Paris, Albin Michel, 2000.

Jacques ROUGERIE, Paris insurgent: the Commune of 1871, Paris, Gallimard, coll. "Discoveries", 1995.

To cite this article

Bertrand TILLIER, "The funeral of Louise Michel"


Video: Banksy Artwork Shredded After Selling at Auction May Have Increased in Value

Louise Michels Beerdigung

Louise Michels Beerdigung

Schließen

Titel: Louise Michels Beerdigung.

Autor: PETERS-DESTERACT Albert (-)

Erstellungsdatum : 1905

Datum angezeigt: 22. Januar 1905

Maße: Höhe 51,4 - Breite 62

Technik und andere Indikationen: Radierung auf Papier

Speicherort: Kunst- und Geschichtsmuseum Saint-Denis

Kontakt Copyright: © Saint-Denis, Kunst- und Geschichtsmuseum - Foto I. Andréani

Louise Michels Beerdigung.

© Saint-Denis, Kunst- und Geschichtsmuseum - Foto I. Andréani

Erscheinungsdatum: März 2016

Historischer Zusammenhang

Der Tod von Louise Michel

Am 9. Januar 1905 starb Louise Michel in Marseille an einer Lungenstauung, wo sie einen ihrer unzähligen Vorträge zugunsten der libertären Sache gehalten hatte.

Seit ihrer Rückkehr aus Neukaledonien - sie wurde 1872 wegen ihrer Teilnahme an der Kommune dorthin deportiert - und dank der Generalamnestie von 1880 hatte Louise Michel eine intensive Tätigkeit als Journalistin, Pamphletin und Dozentin erlebt. Sie war somit eine populäre Inkarnation der Revolution geworden.

Bildanalyse

Ein Trauerzug

Die Überreste der "Roten Jungfrau" wurden nach Paris zurückgebracht. Am Gare de Lyon waren große Polizeikräfte eingesetzt worden, um den Trauerzug einzudämmen, der zum Friedhof von Levallois-Perret, dem Leichenwagen der siebten Klasse, genannt "der Armen", begleitet werden sollte schwarz umrandet.

In dieser polychromen Radierung versuchte der Künstler, die Wirkung einer dichten und kompakten Menge zu erzeugen, einer Art menschlichem Fluss, der von Trauerkränzen unterbrochen wird, die von roten Fahnen und schwarzen Bannern strotzt, aus denen in der Mitte ein Kürassier du hervorgeht Bestellservice. Indem der Künstler die Darstellung der Prozession zum Nachteil des Leichenwagens außerhalb des Bildschirms bevorzugt, kann er die Heterogenität der Bewunderer von Louise Michel demonstrieren - Frauen, Arbeiter, Veteranen vergangener Anliegen, Kinder aus Paris, einschließlich eines Stadtschreiers. Libertarian ... - und fördern die Konsistenz durch Farben. Peters-Destéract versucht, den vierzehn Kilometer langen Kurs, den die Prozession in vier Stunden absolviert hat, darzustellen, da die Menge eng umrahmt ist und die Fassaden alle Perspektiven ausschließen.

Interpretation

Eine beliebte Hommage

Die Wirksamkeit dieses Bildes liegt im heterogenen und ungeordneten Fluss der anonymen Prozession, die zwischen Hommage und Demonstration zögert. Es zeigt den Wunsch einiger Angehöriger von Louise Michel, dass sie keiner Gruppe angehört, sondern allen: der französischen sozialistischen Partei, der revolutionären sozialistischen Arbeiterpartei, antimilitaristischen Gruppen, Anarchistinnen und Feministinnen, Gewerkschaften, Zeitungsredaktionen Menschheit, Der Libertäre oder Die Schlinge

Peters-Destéract bietet somit eine Art Momentaufnahme der sozialen Revolution, die um den Leichenwagen seiner Muse marschiert und an die Prozession erinnert, die ihn bei seiner Rückkehr von der Deportation am 9. November 1880 durch Paris begleitet hatte.

  • Gemeinde Paris
  • rote Flagge
  • Frauen
  • Beerdigung
  • Michel (Louise)
  • politische Gegner
  • Pariser
  • Sozialismus
  • Arbeiterklasse

Literaturverzeichnis

Louise MICHEL, Die Gemeinde: Geschichte und Erinnerung, Paris, La Découverte, 1999.

Michel RAGON, Die Vendéen und der Anarchist, Paris, Albin Michel, 2000.

Jacques ROUGERIE, Aufständisches Paris: die Kommune von 1871, Paris, Gallimard, umg. "Discoveries", 1995.

Um diesen Artikel zu zitieren

Bertrand TILLIER, "Die Beerdigung von Louise Michel"


Video: Beerdigung: Was Hinterbliebene beachten sollten