The smoky nude

The smoky nude


We are searching data for your request:

Forums and discussions:
Manuals and reference books:
Data from registers:
Wait the end of the search in all databases.
Upon completion, a link will appear to access the found materials.

  • The White Slave.

    LECOMTE DU NOUY Jean Jules Antoine (1842 - 1923)

  • The Sighs.

    LAURENS Paul Albert (1870 - 1934)

  • Idleness.

    ZACHARIE Philippe Ernest (1849 - 1915)

  • Tea.

    SCALBERT Jules (1851 - 1928)

© Photo RMN-Grand Palais - G. Blot

To close

Title: The Sighs.

Author : LAURENS Paul Albert (1870 - 1934)

Creation date : 1913

Date shown:

Dimensions: Height 0 - Width 0

Technique and other indications: Exhibited at the Salon des Artistes Français in 1913. Photograph by François Antoine Vizzavona (1876-1961).

Storage place: Rmn photographic agency, Druet-Vizzavona fund website

Contact copyright: © Photo RMN-Grand Palais - F. Vizzavona

Picture reference: 97-008903 / VZD4238

© Photo RMN-Grand Palais - F. Vizzavona

To close

Title: Idleness.

Author : ZACHARIE Philippe Ernest (1849 - 1915)

Creation date : 1912

Date shown:

Dimensions: Height 0 - Width 0

Technique and other indications: Exhibited at the Salon of French Artists in 1912. Photograph by François Antoine Vizzavona (1876-1961).

Storage place: Rmn photographic agency, Druet-Vizzavona fund website

Contact copyright: © Photo RMN-Grand Palais - F. Vizzavona

Picture reference: 98-006642 / VZC10491

© Photo RMN-Grand Palais - F. Vizzavona

To close

Title: Tea.

Author : SCALBERT Jules (1851 - 1928)

Creation date : 1914

Date shown:

Dimensions: Height 0 - Width 0

Technique and other indications: Exhibited at the Salon des Artistes Français in 1914. Photograph by François Antoine Vizzavona (1876-1961).

Storage place: Rmn photographic agency, Druet-Vizzavona fund website

Contact copyright: © Photo RMN-Grand Palais - F. Vizzavonasite web

Picture reference: 97-027591 / VZC10089

© Photo RMN-Grand Palais - F. Vizzavona

Publication date: October 2011

Professor of contemporary history IUFM and University Claude Bernard Lyon 1.Head of University for all, University Jean Monnet, Saint-Etienne.

Historical context

The New Nude

With the IIIe Republic, customs are liberalized and censorship is relaxed. One element often gives a topical note: cigarettes.

The association of women and cigarettes dates from Mérimée with her Carmen. But in the days of the July monarchy, feminine smoking caused a scandal and denounced the "lioness", a woman who sought to emancipate herself. George Sand, who introduced the word “cigarette” into literature, is its emblematic figure. Under IIIe As a nascent republic, cigarettes became commonplace: there were 100 million cigarettes sold in 1872, 3 billion in 1909. The essence of good manners is simply not to smoke in the street and in society.

Image Analysis

The naked smoker

Jean Jules Antoine Lecomte du Nouy (1842-1923) takes up the idea of ​​the harem scene and the slave trade with his White slave (the year of the abolition of slavery in Brazil). The bill is furiously romantic: at the edge of the pool, under the gaze of two eunuchs, seated on her silk adornments, next to cushions, rugs and art crockery, a naked woman loses herself in reveries. Modernity comes from the cigarette which she casually holds in her left hand. It blows a trickle of smoke which gives mystery and flavor to the space. The tobacco undoubtedly has a "Levantine taste"; brands of cigarettes of this type numbered in the tens by the 1880s.

The painting by Paul Albert Laurens (1870-1934) titled The Sighs turns a comedy Harlequin and Pierrot around a beautiful Oriental girl lasciviously stretched out on a sofa: the myth of the Circassian woman is still in full swing, making hearts beat faster. The Idleness by Ernest Philippe Zacharie (1849-1915) shows the plasticity of a smooth and hairless body of a woman who has just got up after a nap and stretches nonchalantly. Jules Scalbert (1851-1928) gives a very erotic version of the tea break: an impeccably dressed maid brings the tray (with two cups: the man is not far?) To his naked mistress under a negligee that hides nothing of its forms. Here again, the scene is set in a bourgeois interior (Louis XV sofa à la Pompadour). In all three cases, the cigarette emphasizes the beauty of the woman by the elegance of the gesture. Note the Orientale cigarette holder which, with the long, double-row pearl necklace, heralds the fashion of the Roaring Twenties.

Interpretation

Soon the cigarette makes woman

In the 1910s, cigarette advertising still scarcely dared to use the image of women. It wasn't until the 1920s that we saw beautiful smokers appearing in charge of training men to smoke. La Gitane is a good example: first drawn, she was photographed in the 1930s as a flamenco dancer, however still dressed. On the other hand, the painting already shows women, preferably naked, with a languid cigarette, in an intimate scene in principle naturalistic.

  • women
  • naked
  • tobacco
  • eroticism

Bibliography

Jacqueline BALTRAN, Paris, crossroads of arts and letters. 1880-1918, Paris, L’Harmattan, 2002. Kenneth CLARK, Le Nu, Paris, Le Livre de Poche, coll. "Art", 1969, reprint Hachette coll. "Pluriel", 1998.William A.EWING, Le Siècle du corps, Paris, editions of La Martinière, 2000.Michel HADDAD, La Divine et Impure.Le nu au XIXe siècle, Paris, Éditions du Jaguar, 1990.Didier INFANT, Cigarette, History of a tease, Paris, Payot, 2010.

To cite this article

Didier NOURRISSON, "The smoky nude"


Video: Le smoky nude - Tutoriel Beauté

Der rauchige Akt

Der rauchige Akt

  • Der weiße Sklave.

    LECOMTE DU NOUY Jean Jules Antoine (1842 - 1923)

  • Die Seufzer.

    LAURENS Paul Albert (1870 - 1934)

  • Faulheit.

    ZACHARIE Philippe Ernest (1849 - 1915)

  • Tee.

    SCALBERT Jules (1851 - 1928)

© Foto RMN-Grand Palais - G. Blot

Schließen

Titel: Die Seufzer.

Autor: LAURENS Paul Albert (1870 - 1934)

Erstellungsdatum : 1913

Datum angezeigt:

Maße: Höhe 0 - Breite 0

Technik und andere Indikationen: 1913 im Salon französischer Künstler ausgestellt. Foto von François Antoine Vizzavona (1876-1961).

Lagerraum: Rmn Fotoagentur, Druet-Vizzavona Fondswebsite

Kontakt Copyright: © Foto RMN-Grand Palais - F. Vizzavona

Bildreferenz: 97-008903 / VZD4238

© Foto RMN-Grand Palais - F. Vizzavona

Schließen

Titel: Faulheit.

Autor: ZACHARIE Philippe Ernest (1849 - 1915)

Erstellungsdatum : 1912

Datum angezeigt:

Maße: Höhe 0 - Breite 0

Technik und andere Indikationen: 1912 im Salon des Artistes Français ausgestellt. Foto von François Antoine Vizzavona (1876-1961).

Lagerraum: Rmn Fotoagentur, Druet-Vizzavona Fondswebsite

Kontakt Copyright: © Foto RMN-Grand Palais - F. Vizzavona

Bildreferenz: 98-006642 / VZC10491

© Foto RMN-Grand Palais - F. Vizzavona

Schließen

Titel: Tee.

Autor: SCALBERT Jules (1851 - 1928)

Erstellungsdatum : 1914

Datum angezeigt:

Maße: Höhe 0 - Breite 0

Technik und andere Indikationen: 1914 im Salon des Artistes Français ausgestellt. Foto von François Antoine Vizzavona (1876-1961).

Lagerraum: Rmn Fotoagentur, Druet-Vizzavona Fondswebsite

Kontakt Copyright: © Foto RMN-Grand Palais - F. Vizzavonasite Web

Bildreferenz: 97-027591 / VZC10089

© Foto RMN-Grand Palais - F. Vizzavona

Erscheinungsdatum: Oktober 2011

Professor für Zeitgeschichte IUFM und Claude Bernard Lyon University 1. Leiter der Universität für alle, Jean Monnet University, Saint-Etienne.

Historischer Zusammenhang

Der neue Akt

Mit dem IIIe Republik, die Bräuche werden liberalisiert und die Zensur gelockert. Ein Element gibt oft eine aktuelle Anmerkung: Zigaretten.

Die Vereinigung von Frauen und Zigaretten stammt von Mérimée mit ihrer Carmen. Aber in den Tagen der Julimonarchie verursachte das Rauchen von Frauen einen Skandal und denunzierte die "Löwin", eine Frau, die sich emanzipieren wollte. George Sand, der das Wort "Zigarette" in die Literatur einführte, ist seine emblematische Figur. Unter IIIe Als aufstrebende Republik wurden Zigaretten alltäglich: 1872 wurden 100 Millionen Zigaretten verkauft, 1909 3 Milliarden. Die Essenz guter Manieren besteht einfach darin, nicht auf der Straße und in der Gesellschaft zu rauchen.

Bildanalyse

Der nackte Raucher

Jean Jules Antoine Lecomte du Nouy (1842-1923) greift mit ihm die Idee der Haremszene und des Sklavenhandels auf Weißer Sklave (das Jahr der Abschaffung der Sklaverei in Brasilien). Die Rechnung ist wütend romantisch: Am Rand des Pools, unter dem Blick zweier Eunuchen, die auf ihren Seidenschmuck neben Kissen, Teppichen und Kunstgeschirr sitzen, verliert sich eine nackte Frau in Träumereien. Die Moderne kommt von der Zigarette, die sie beiläufig in der linken Hand hält. Es bläst eine Rauchwolke, die dem Raum Geheimnis und Geschmack verleiht. Der Tabak hat zweifellos einen "levantinischen Geschmack"; Zigarettenmarken dieses Typs wurden in den 1880er Jahren in den Zehnern nummeriert.

Das Gemälde von Paul Albert Laurens (1870-1934) betitelt Die Seufzer dreht eine Komödie Harlekin und Pierrot um ein schönes orientalisches Mädchen, das lasziv auf einem Sofa ausgestreckt ist: Der Mythos des Circassian ist immer noch in vollem Gange und lässt die Herzen schneller schlagen. Das Faulheit von Ernest Philippe Zacharie (1849-1915) zeigt die Plastizität eines glatten und haarlosen Körpers einer Frau, die gerade nach einem Nickerchen aufgestanden ist und sich lässig streckt. Jules Scalbert (1851-1928) gibt eine sehr erotische Version der Teepause: Ein tadellos gekleidetes Mädchen bringt das Tablett (mit zwei Tassen: Der Mann ist nicht weit?) Zu seiner nackten Geliebten unter einem Negligé, das nichts verbirgt seiner Formen. Auch hier spielt die Szene in einem bürgerlichen Interieur (Louis XV Sofa à la Pompadour). In allen drei Fällen betont die Zigarette die Schönheit der Frau durch die Eleganz der Geste. Beachten Sie die Zigarettenspitze Orientale, die mit der langen, doppelsträngigen Perlenkette die Mode der Roaring Twenties ankündigt.

Interpretation

Bald macht die Zigarette Frau

In den 1910er Jahren wagte die Zigarettenwerbung kaum, das Frauenbild zu verwenden. Erst in den 1920er Jahren sahen wir wunderschöne Raucher, die Männer zum Rauchen ausbilden. La Gitane ist ein gutes Beispiel: Zum ersten Mal gezeichnet, wurde sie in den 1930er Jahren als Flamencotänzerin fotografiert, jedoch immer noch gekleidet. Andererseits zeigt das Gemälde bereits Frauen, vorzugsweise nackt, mit einer trägen Zigarette in einer intimen Szene im Prinzip naturalistisch.

  • Frauen
  • nackt
  • Tabak
  • Erotik

Literaturverzeichnis

Jacqueline BALTRAN, Paris, Kreuzung von Kunst und Buchstaben. 1880-1918, Paris, L'Harmattan, 2002. Kenneth CLARK, Le Nu, Paris, Le Livre de Poche, Slg. "Art", 1969, Nachdruck Hachette coll. "Pluriel", 1998. William A. EWING, Le Siècle du Corps, Paris, éditions de La Martinière, 2000. Michael HADDAD, La Divine et Impure. Le nu au XIXe siècle, Paris, Éditions du Jaguar, 1990.Didier Säugling, Zigarette, Histoire d'une necken, Paris, Payot, 2010.

Um diesen Artikel zu zitieren

Didier NOURRISSON, "Der rauchige Akt"


Video: Nena - Nur Geträumt Wolfgang Herbst. The Voice of Germany. Blind Audition