A new urban experience

A new urban experience


We are searching data for your request:

Forums and discussions:
Manuals and reference books:
Data from registers:
Wait the end of the search in all databases.
Upon completion, a link will appear to access the found materials.

  • Metro, Villiers station

    VUILLARD Édouard (1868 - 1940)

  • In the metro by simple hygiene

    BRIDGE Joe (1886 - 1967)

To close

Title: Metro, Villiers station

Author : VUILLARD Édouard (1868 - 1940)

Creation date : 1916

Dimensions: Height 88 cm - Width 219 cm

Technique and other indications: mounted glue paint

Storage location: Orsay Museum website

Contact copyright: RMN-Grand Palais (Musée d'Orsay) / Hervé Lewandowski Link to image

Picture reference: 10-521132

Metro, Villiers station

© RMN-Grand Palais (Musée d'Orsay) / Hervé Lewandowski

To close

Title: In the metro by simple hygiene

Author : BRIDGE Joe (1886 - 1967)

Creation date : Around 1930

Dimensions: Height 119 cm - Width 78 cm

Technique and other indications: chromolithography

Storage location: MuCEM website

Contact copyright: All rights reserved - Photo MuCEM, Dist. RMN-Grand Palais / MuCEM image Link to image

Picture reference: 20-504001 / INV 999.27

In the metro by simple hygiene

© All rights reserved - Photo MuCEM, Dist. RMN-Grand Palais / MuCEM image

Publication date: February 2020

Historical context

The metro, emblem of Paris

From the start, the Paris metropolitan has inspired artists as diverse as the Nabi Édouard Vuillard (1868-1940), who painted the interior of a station, or the press cartoonist Joe Bridge (1886-1967) who located a famous advertising scene in a crowded wagon. Between the opening of the first line connecting the Porte de Vincennes to the Porte Maillot in July 1900, and 1921, the network has grown: the 10 lines cover many Parisian districts and we are preparing to extend them to the inner suburbs. . Admittedly, he had already designed the interior of a wagon in 1908, but he was not very interested in urban transformations and in society: it has been more than a decade that he no longer produces decorative panels for mansions. or no longer illustrates programs for theaters.

Jean-Louis-Charles-Joseph Barrez, known as Joe Bridge, did not study Fine Arts like his elder brother. But like him, he refuses the path mapped out by his family (for Vuillard, the army; for Barrez, business) and, on the strength of his cultural background acquired at Lycée Stanislas, he launches into the music hall after his baccalaureate. Even the war did not interrupt this vocation: wounded at the front and detained in the same camp as his friend Maurice Chevalier, he set up a cabaret with him, while serving in the infirmary. This is the hallmark of his first advertising achievements, even before the creation of his agency in 1922.

Image Analysis

Journey to the center of Paris

Large format canvas Metro, Villiers station was probably made by Vuillard in his studio from sketches. Its very elongated horizontal format allows you to embrace at once the two platforms, the tracks which separate them (Parisian particularity), the vault, the tunnel and the staircase which allows the connection. The painter stood at the head of the platform to observe the dense and indistinct crowd waiting for the next train. On the quay opposite, billboards punctuate the space lengthwise and occupy the entire height. The dark tone combining the black pencil, the dark panels and the brown tones of the coats brings out the luminous elements of the bulbs above the docks and especially the violently lit downward opening. The white earthenware tiles that traditionally dress the walls and metal rails reflect these shards in yellow and green tones. While the Impressionists who liked to paint outdoors played with diffracted sunlight, Vuillard experimented underground with effects obtained with artificial electric light.

The advertising poster In the subway was created by Joe Bridge in association with other media that feature the imaginary character Ugène, the personification of the popular Parisian. The slogan is distributed between the top and the bottom of the poster, both to facilitate reading, to bring out the rich rhyme (hygiene, Ugene, odorigen) and to compose a rhythm easy to remember. The signature at the bottom left serves as much to identify the author as to disseminate this pseudonym to make it a brand. The design is apparently simple. First of all, Bridge shifted the perspective to give it depth and increase the number of headgear: cap, soft hat, kepi, cap, bowler, bibi, top hat even, testify to the democratic character of this fashion. transport where workers and bourgeois, depraved refractories and law enforcement officers, men, women and children rub shoulders. The foreground delivers two scenes to the public: on the left, the confrontation between a teenager with a shadowy gaze and a policeman caught up in his severity; on the right, the hero Ugène observed by three unlikely travelers: a stunned rupine, a nanny all smiles and a greedy little child. Their three attitudes suggest the reactions Parisians might have when they see this pocket-sized inhaler for the first time.

Interpretation

The metro and advertising

Since 1900, the Parisian metro has been distinguished by a concentration of unique city-wide advertising. The walls of the corridors, the platforms and even the trains welcome advertising: the space is saturated with advertisements, while on the surface, despite the street furniture and the signs of the stores, the facades leave a breath to the passer-by. . It is therefore no coincidence that, in a rather fine way, Joe Bridge chooses this environment for his poster. On the one hand, he places his message on a hygienic level. The metro is a promiscuous place, poorly ventilated because it is underground, as the totally enclosed landscape of Vuillard clearly shows, where the only opening is an artificial light well that takes the traveler even deeper. Inhaling essences or fragrances can mean building up a pleasant odor barrier or having a therapeutic effect - inhalers having been originally designed for acute or chronic respiratory problems. But the character of Ugene, with his too small and patched hat, his raised collar, his shaggy fleece and his uncut mustache, constitutes a real snub to the hygienist standard. In addition, one would have expected a woman of a certain social level: the double shift makes people laugh and contributes to the success of the campaign. It also takes the form of a colored advertising sticker (Ugène est roux) and a popular song composed by Lucien de Gerlor, apparently for a review given to the Boîte à Fursy. Bridge's ties to the music hall therefore allowed for more media, and it may well be that spots where the song was broadcast on the radio at the time. Five years apart, Vuillard and Bridge each testify in their own way that the underground world of the metropolitan is one of the faces of Paris. Its dozens of stations and millions of travelers form both ephemeral social groups united by a fairly uniform decor, and a captive audience for the other great invention of the 19th century.e century: advertising.

  • Metro
  • hygienism
  • Nabis
  • publicity
  • Ugene
  • Paris
  • Parisians
  • Crazy years
  • music hall

Bibliography

Guy Cogeval, Edouard Vuillard, Paris, Meeting of National Museums, 2003.

Roger-Henri Guerrand, The Metropolitan Adventure, Paris, La Découverte, 1999.

Marc Martin, History of advertising in France, University Press of Nanterre, 2012.

To cite this article

Alexandre SUMPF, "A new urban experience"

Glossary

  • République de Montmartre: Association founded in 1921 at the initiative of Joe Bridge. Its founders are Poulbot, Willette, Forain, Neumont and Joë Bridge.

  • Video: THE DIVISION 2 - LEVEL 100 BUG - DO THIS FAST!

Eine neue urbane Erfahrung

Eine neue urbane Erfahrung

  • U-Bahn, Bahnhof Villiers

    VUILLARD Édouard (1868 - 1940)

  • In der U-Bahn durch einfache Hygiene

    BRÜCKE Joe (1886 - 1967)

Schließen

Titel: U-Bahn, Bahnhof Villiers

Autor: VUILLARD Édouard (1868 - 1940)

Erstellungsdatum : 1916

Maße: Höhe 88 cm - Breite 219 cm

Technik und andere Indikationen: montierte Leimfarbe

Speicherort: Orsay Museum Website

Kontakt Copyright: RMN-Grand Palais (Musée d'Orsay) / Hervé Lewandowski Link zum Bild

Bildreferenz: 10-521132

U-Bahn, Bahnhof Villiers

© RMN-Grand Palais (Musée d'Orsay) / Hervé Lewandowski

Schließen

Titel: In der U-Bahn durch einfache Hygiene

Autor: BRÜCKE Joe (1886 - 1967)

Erstellungsdatum : Um 1930

Maße: Höhe 119 cm - Breite 78 cm

Technik und andere Indikationen: Chromolithographie

Speicherort: MuCEM-Website

Kontakt Copyright: Alle Rechte vorbehalten - Photo MuCEM, Dist. RMN-Grand Palais / MuCEM Bild Link zum Bild

Bildreferenz: 20-504001 / INV 999.27

In der U-Bahn durch einfache Hygiene

© Alle Rechte vorbehalten - Photo MuCEM, Dist. RMN-Grand Palais / MuCEM Bild

Erscheinungsdatum: Februar 2020

Historischer Zusammenhang

Die U-Bahn, Wahrzeichen von Paris

Von Anfang an hat die Pariser Metropole so unterschiedliche Künstler inspiriert wie den Nabi Édouard Vuillard (1868-1940), der das Innere einer Station malte, oder den Pressekarikaturisten Joe Bridge (1886-1967), der eine berühmte Werbeszene in einem überfüllten Wagen. Zwischen der Eröffnung der ersten Linie, die die Porte de Vincennes mit der Porte Maillot verbindet, im Juli 1900 und 1921 ist das Netzwerk gewachsen: Die 10 Linien decken viele Pariser Bezirke ab und wir bereiten uns darauf vor, sie auf die inneren Vororte auszudehnen. . Zwar hatte er bereits 1908 das Innere eines Wagens entworfen, aber er interessierte sich nicht sehr für städtische Veränderungen und für die Gesellschaft: Es ist mehr als ein Jahrzehnt her, dass er keine dekorativen Paneele für Villen mehr herstellt oder illustriert keine Programme mehr für Theater.

Jean-Louis-Charles-Joseph Barrez, bekannt als Joe Bridge, studierte nicht wie sein älterer Bruder Bildende Kunst. Aber wie er lehnt er den Weg ab, den seine Familie (für Vuillard, die Armee; für Barrez, das Geschäft) beschritten hat, und startet aufgrund seines kulturellen Hintergrunds, den er bei Lycée Stanislas erworben hat, nach seinem Abitur in die Musikhalle. Auch der Krieg hat diese Berufung nicht unterbrochen: Er wurde an der Front verwundet und im selben Lager wie sein Freund Maurice Chevalier festgehalten. Während seines Dienstes auf der Krankenstation richtete er mit ihm ein Kabarett ein. Dies ist das Markenzeichen seiner ersten Werbeerfolge, noch vor der Gründung seiner Agentur im Jahr 1922.

Bildanalyse

Reise ins Zentrum von Paris

Großformatige Leinwand U-Bahn, Bahnhof Villiers wurde wahrscheinlich von Vuillard in seiner Werkstatt aus Skizzen gemacht. Das sehr langgestreckte Querformat ermöglicht es Ihnen, die beiden Plattformen, die sie trennenden Gleise (Pariser Besonderheit), das Gewölbe, den Tunnel und die Treppe, die die Verbindung ermöglicht, gleichzeitig zu erfassen. Der Maler stand am Kopf des Bahnsteigs und beobachtete die dichte und undeutliche Menge, die auf den nächsten Zug wartete. Auf der gegenüberliegenden Plattform markieren Werbetafeln den Raum in Längsrichtung und nehmen die gesamte Höhe ein. Der dunkle Ton, der den schwarzen Stift, die dunklen Tafeln und die Brauntöne der Mäntel kombiniert, bringt die leuchtenden Elemente der Glühbirnen über den Docks und insbesondere die heftig beleuchtete Öffnung nach unten zur Geltung. Die weißen Steingutfliesen, die traditionell die Wände und Metallschienen schmücken, reflektieren diese Scherben in Gelb- und Grüntönen. Während die Impressionisten, die gerne im Freien malten, mit gebeugtem Sonnenlicht spielten, experimentierte Vuillard im Untergrund mit Effekten, die mit künstlichem elektrischem Licht erzielt wurden.

Das Werbeplakat In der U-Bahn wurde von Joe Bridge in Zusammenarbeit mit anderen Medien geschaffen, die den imaginären Charakter Ugène, die Personifikation des beliebten Parisers, zeigen. Der Slogan wird zwischen der Ober- und Unterseite des Plakats verteilt, um das Lesen zu erleichtern, den reichen Reim (Hygiene, Ugene, Geruch) hervorzuheben und einen leicht zu merkenden Rhythmus zu komponieren. Die Signatur unten links dient sowohl zur Identifizierung des Autors als auch zur Verbreitung dieses Pseudonyms, um es zu einer Marke zu machen. Das Design ist anscheinend einfach. Zunächst wechselte Bridge die Perspektive, um ihr Tiefe zu verleihen und die Anzahl der Kopfbedeckungen zu erhöhen: Mütze, weicher Hut, Kepi, Mütze, Bowler, Bibi, sogar Zylinder zeugen von der demokratischen Natur dieser Mode. Transport, bei dem Arbeiter und bürgerliche Männer, Männer, Frauen und Kinder sich die Schultern reiben. Der Vordergrund liefert zwei Szenen für die Öffentlichkeit: links die Konfrontation zwischen einem Teenager mit einem schattigen Blick und einem Polizisten, der in seiner Strenge gefangen ist; rechts der Held Ugène, der von drei unwahrscheinlichen Reisenden beobachtet wurde: einer fassungslosen Rupine, einem Kindermädchen, das alle lächelt, und einem gierigen kleinen Kind. Ihre drei Einstellungen lassen darauf schließen, dass die Pariser diesen Inhalator im Taschenformat zum ersten Mal sehen könnten.

Interpretation

Die U-Bahn und Werbung

Seit 1900 zeichnet sich die Pariser U-Bahn durch eine Konzentration einzigartiger stadtweiter Werbung aus. Die Wände der Korridore, die Bahnsteige und sogar die Züge begrüßen Werbung: Der Raum ist mit Werbung gesättigt, während die Fassaden trotz der Straßenmöbel und der Schilder der Geschäfte dem Passanten einen Atemzug geben. . Es ist daher kein Zufall, dass Joe Bridge diese Umgebung auf ziemlich gute Weise für sein Poster auswählt. Einerseits stellt er seine Botschaft auf ein hygienisches Niveau. Die U-Bahn ist ein promiskuitiver Ort, schlecht belüftet, weil sie unterirdisch ist, wie die vollständig geschlossene Landschaft von Vuillard zeigt, wo die einzige Öffnung ein künstlicher Lichtschacht ist, der den Reisenden noch tiefer führt. Das Einatmen von Essenzen oder Duftstoffen kann den Aufbau einer angenehmen Geruchsbarriere oder eine therapeutische Wirkung bedeuten - Inhalatoren wurden ursprünglich für akute oder chronische Atemprobleme entwickelt. Aber der Charakter von Ugene mit seinem zu kleinen und geflickten Hut, seinem erhöhten Kragen, seinem zotteligen Vlies und seinem ungeschnittenen Schnurrbart ist ein echter Stupser für den Hygieniker. Außerdem hätte man eine Frau mit einem bestimmten sozialen Niveau erwartet: Die Doppelschicht bringt die Menschen zum Lachen und trägt zum Erfolg der Kampagne bei. Es hat auch die Form eines farbigen Werbeaufklebers (Ugène est roux) und eines populären Liedes, das von Lucien de Gerlor komponiert wurde, anscheinend für eine Rezension, die der Boîte à Fursy gegeben wurde. Die Verbindungen von Bridge zur Musikhalle ermöglichten daher mehr Medien, und es kann durchaus sein, dass das Lied zu dieser Zeit im Radio ausgestrahlt wurde. Im Abstand von fünf Jahren bezeugen Vuillard und Bridge auf ihre Weise, dass die unterirdische Welt der Metropolregion eines der Gesichter von Paris ist. Dutzende von Bahnhöfen und Millionen von Reisenden bilden sowohl kurzlebige soziale Gruppen, die durch ein ziemlich einheitliches Dekor vereint sind, als auch ein gefangenes Publikum für die andere große Erfindung des 19. Jahrhunderts.e Jahrhundert: Werbung.

  • Metro
  • Hygiene
  • Nabis
  • Werbung
  • Ugene
  • Paris
  • Pariser
  • Verrückte Jahre
  • Musikhalle

Literaturverzeichnis

Guy Cogeval, Edouard Vuillard, Paris, Treffen der Nationalmuseen, 2003.

Roger-Henri Guerrand, Das Metropolitan-Abenteuer, Paris, La Découverte, 1999.

Marc Martin, Geschichte der Werbung in Frankreich, University Press of Nanterre, 2012.

Um diesen Artikel zu zitieren

Alexandre SUMPF, "Eine neue urbane Erfahrung"

Glossar

  • République de Montmartre: Verein, der 1921 auf Initiative von Joe Bridge gegründet wurde. Die Gründer sind Poulbot, Willette, Forain, Neumont und Joë Bridge.

  • Video: NEW MAYBELLINE DREAM URBAN COVER SPF50 FOUNDATION: FIRST IMPRESSION u0026 REVIEW. Blissfulbrii