The new face of maternal love

The new face of maternal love


We are searching data for your request:

Forums and discussions:
Manuals and reference books:
Data from registers:
Wait the end of the search in all databases.
Upon completion, a link will appear to access the found materials.

  • Madame Vigée Le Brun and her daughter, Jeanne-Lucie, known as Julie (1780-1819)

    VIGÉE LE BRUN Élisabeth Louise (1755 - 1842)

  • Madame Vigée Le Brun and her daughter, Jeanne-Lucie-Louise, known as Julie (1780-1819)

    VIGÉE LE BRUN Élisabeth Louise (1755 - 1842)

  • Marie-Antoinette de Lorraine-Habsbourg, Queen of France, and her children

    VIGÉE LE BRUN Élisabeth Louise (1755 - 1842)

To close

Title: Madame Vigée Le Brun and her daughter, Jeanne-Lucie, known as Julie (1780-1819)

Author : VIGÉE LE BRUN Élisabeth Louise (1755 - 1842)

Creation date : 1786

Date shown: 1786

Dimensions: Height 105 cm - Width 84 cm

Technique and other indications: oil on wood

Storage location: Louvre Museum (Paris) website

Contact copyright: © RMN - Grand Palais (Louvre museum) / Franck Raux

Picture reference: 12-548336 / INV. 3069

Madame Vigée Le Brun and her daughter, Jeanne-Lucie, known as Julie (1780-1819)

© RMN - Grand Palais (Louvre museum) / Franck Raux

To close

Title: Madame Vigée Le Brun and her daughter, Jeanne-Lucie-Louise, known as Julie (1780-1819)

Author : VIGÉE LE BRUN Élisabeth Louise (1755 - 1842)

Creation date : 1789

Date shown: 1789

Dimensions: Height 130 cm - Width 94 cm

Technique and other indications: Oil on canvas

Storage location: Louvre Museum (Paris) website

Contact copyright: © RMN - Grand Palais (Louvre museum) / Tony Querrec

Picture reference: 15-523297 / INV. 3068

Madame Vigée Le Brun and her daughter, Jeanne-Lucie-Louise, known as Julie (1780-1819)

© RMN - Grand Palais (Louvre museum) / Tony Querrec

Marie-Antoinette de Lorraine-Habsbourg, Queen of France, and her children

© Palace of Versailles, dist. RMN - Grand Palais / Christophe Fouin

Publication date: October 2015

Historical context

In 1786, Élisabeth Louise Vigée Le Brun produced a self-portrait with her daughter, exhibited at the Salon of 1787. The painting touches the public so much by the veracity of the feelings represented which it is quickly nicknamed Maternal tenderness. In the wake of this success and at the request of the Count of Angiviller, general manager of the King's Buildings, the artist painted in 1789 an equally famous variant in Greek costume.

If these two portraits are striking in their time, it is because they crystallize the change that then takes place in mentalities concerning the place of the mother and the conception of maternal love. Since the middle of the century, there has been a global craze for everything related to "nature": unprecedented development of natural sciences, interest in the life of "wild" populations discovered during exploratory trips around the globe, questioning of concepts of society and education by a philosopher like Jean-Jacques Rousseau - in theEmile, the latter he places the sensitive experience of the child at the heart of his reflection. In society, in art and in literature, emotion, especially in its tearful form, occupies a major place.

This very cultural construction of nature has consequences on the perception of maternal feeling, now considered “instinctive”. The mother and the love which attaches her to her child are glorified by society, and we see the development of new "natural" practices such as breastfeeding, in contrast to the still very common practice of childcare. nanny of the children of aristocratic and bourgeois families. This development reaches to the top of society, as the queen herself, Marie-Antoinette, privately claims daily closeness to her children that court etiquette theoretically contradicted.

Image Analysis

"The natural tenderness, this delicate feeling, this sweet affection of the soul, is rendered with such admirable artistry that the picture can be compared to what the greatest masters of the Italian school have produced that are most sublime. This review of The Literary Year, formulated on the occasion of the presentation to the public of Maternal tenderness, could not aim more just. An admirer of Raphaël, Vigée Le Brun has in fact the Madonnas of Renaissance genius in mind when she creates this work. In fact, it is in religious painting, and more precisely in the codified theme of Madonna and Child, that the maternal sentiment has until then been expressed mainly in art. Pictures of mothers and children did exist, of course, but never did the outpouring of affection visible here shine through. This was not the aim of these official works, intended to present the mother as the legitimate progenitor of a line, within the agreed framework of her social rank. To be convinced of this, it suffices to compare this self-portrait with the portrait of another mother that Vigée Le Brun produced at the same time: the official one of Marie-Antoinette surrounded by her daughter and her two sons. The queen sits in a stilted seat while her three children surround her in prepared poses: above all, the work celebrates her role as mother to the royal family.

Yet the two self-portraits of Vigée Le Brun with her daughter, painted for pleasure in a private setting, precisely escape the conventions of official portraiture. The tenderly entwined poses materialize the double feeling of love and protection of the mother for the child. If the staging shines through in the dialogue of looks established with the spectator, nothing however seems to ring wrong. This sense of sincerity is all the more vivid as the setting of the scene is intentionally stripped down to focus attention on the two characters. A recurring model in her mother's paintings, Julie is captured as accurately as possible by the spontaneity of her childish gestures, turned over with an impression of slight surprise in the first painting, and impertinent gaiety in the second. The only major difference between the two works concerns the costumes: those, "à la grecque", in the 1789 painting reflect the taste of Neoclassicism for Antiquity, which appeared following the first excavations of Herculaneum and Pompeii in the middle of the century. century.

Interpretation

In these two works, does Vigée Le Brun reduce her role to that of a mother? The argument would be all the more admissible than the valuation of the mother figure in the XVIIIe century was not accompanied by in-depth emancipation: women remain largely confined to the private sphere. Yet the innocent simplicity of these paintings conceals a more complex meaning than it seems. A customary self-portrait, Vigée Le Brun had already caused a sensation in 1782, staging herself with brushes in hand. The self-portrait is therefore for this artist a form of self-assertion. Representing herself with her daughter is a way of asserting her unique situation, but perfectly assumed, in a society still not very receptive to female liberation: the fact of being both a loving mother and a woman painter whose success allows her to make a living from his art. Trained in the trade by her pastellist father, who died when she was 12 years old, Vigée Le Brun very early on provided for her family through the sale of her paintings. From her youth, she was therefore one of the few women of her time and of her bourgeois social condition to assume the exercise of a profession traditionally reserved for men.

  • official portrait
  • royal bride
  • Marie Antoinette
  • absolute monarchy
  • maternity
  • childhood
  • self-portrait

Bibliography

BAILLIO Joseph, SALMON Xavier (dir.), Élisabeth Louise Vigée Le Brun, cat. exp. (Paris, New York, Ottawa, 2015-2016), Paris, Meeting of national museums - Grand Palais, 2015.HAROCHE-BOUZINAC Geneviève, Louise Élisabeth Vigée Le Brun: story of a look, Paris, Flammarion, coll. “Grandes biographies”, 2011.KNIBIEHLER Yvonne, History of mothers and motherhood in the West, Paris, University Press of France, coll. "What do I know? »(No 3539), 2000. PITT-RIVERS Françoise, Madame Vigée Le Brun, Paris, Gallimard, 2001.

To cite this article

Emilie FORMOSO, "The new face of maternal love"


Video: 2019 Christian Movie A Mothers Love English Dubbed

Das neue Gesicht der mütterlichen Liebe

Das neue Gesicht der mütterlichen Liebe

  • Madame Vigée Le Brun und ihre Tochter Jeanne-Lucie, bekannt als Julie (1780-1819)

    VIGÉE LE BRUN Élisabeth Louise (1755 - 1842)

  • Madame Vigée Le Brun und ihre Tochter Jeanne-Lucie-Louise, bekannt als Julie (1780-1819)

    VIGÉE LE BRUN Élisabeth Louise (1755 - 1842)

  • Marie-Antoinette de Lorraine-Habsbourg, Königin von Frankreich, und ihre Kinder

    VIGÉE LE BRUN Élisabeth Louise (1755 - 1842)

Schließen

Titel: Madame Vigée Le Brun und ihre Tochter Jeanne-Lucie, bekannt als Julie (1780-1819)

Autor: VIGÉE LE BRUN Élisabeth Louise (1755 - 1842)

Erstellungsdatum : 1786

Datum angezeigt: 1786

Maße: Höhe 105 cm - Breite 84 cm

Technik und andere Indikationen: Öl auf Holz

Lagerraum: Website des Louvre-Museums (Paris)

Kontakt Copyright: © RMN - Grand Palais (Louvre-Museum) / Franck Raux

Bildreferenz: 12-548336 / INV. 3069

Madame Vigée Le Brun und ihre Tochter Jeanne-Lucie, bekannt als Julie (1780-1819)

© RMN - Grand Palais (Louvre-Museum) / Franck Raux

Schließen

Titel: Madame Vigée Le Brun und ihre Tochter Jeanne-Lucie-Louise, bekannt als Julie (1780-1819)

Autor: VIGÉE LE BRUN Élisabeth Louise (1755 - 1842)

Erstellungsdatum : 1789

Datum angezeigt: 1789

Maße: Höhe 130 cm - Breite 94 cm

Technik und andere Indikationen: Öl auf Leinwand

Lagerraum: Website des Louvre-Museums (Paris)

Kontakt Copyright: © RMN - Grand Palais (Louvre-Museum) / Tony Querrec

Bildreferenz: 15-523297 / INV. 3068

Madame Vigée Le Brun und ihre Tochter Jeanne-Lucie-Louise, bekannt als Julie (1780-1819)

© RMN - Grand Palais (Louvre-Museum) / Tony Querrec

Marie-Antoinette de Lorraine-Habsbourg, Königin von Frankreich, und ihre Kinder

© Schloss Versailles, dist. RMN - Grand Palais / Christophe Fouin

Erscheinungsdatum: Oktober 2015

Historischer Zusammenhang

1786 fertigte Élisabeth Louise Vigée Le Brun mit ihrer Tochter ein Selbstporträt an, das 1787 im Salon ausgestellt wurde. Das Gemälde berührte die Öffentlichkeit so sehr durch die Richtigkeit der dargestellten Gefühle, dass es schnell einen Spitznamen erhielt Mütterliche Zärtlichkeit. Nach diesem Erfolg und auf Ersuchen des Grafen von Angiviller, Generaldirektor der Königsgebäude, malte der Künstler 1789 eine ebenso berühmte Variante in griechischer Tracht.

Wenn diese beiden Porträts in ihrer Zeit auffallen, dann deshalb, weil sie die Veränderung kristallisieren, die dann in den Mentalitäten bezüglich des Ortes der Mutter und der Vorstellung von mütterlicher Liebe stattfindet. Seit der Mitte des Jahrhunderts gibt es eine globale Begeisterung für alles, was mit "Natur" zu tun hat: beispiellose Entwicklung der Naturwissenschaften, Interesse am Leben "wilder" Populationen, die bei Erkundungsreisen rund um den Globus entdeckt wurden, Hinterfragen von Konzepten von Gesellschaft und Bildung von einem Philosophen wie Jean-Jacques Rousseau - in derEmileLetzteres stellt er die sensible Erfahrung des Kindes in den Mittelpunkt seines Spiegelbildes. In der Gesellschaft, in der Kunst und in der Literatur nimmt die Emotion, insbesondere in ihrer tränenreichen Form, einen wichtigen Platz ein.

Diese sehr kulturelle Konstruktion der Natur hat Konsequenzen für die Wahrnehmung des mütterlichen Gefühls, das heute als „instinktiv“ gilt. Die Mutter und die Liebe, die sie an ihr Kind bindet, werden von der Gesellschaft verherrlicht, und wir sehen die Entwicklung neuer "natürlicher" Praktiken wie Stillen im Gegensatz zu der immer noch sehr verbreiteten Praxis der Kinderbetreuung. Kindermädchen der Kinder aristokratischer und bürgerlicher Familien. Diese Entwicklung erreicht die Spitze der Gesellschaft, da die Königin Marie-Antoinette selbst privat die tägliche Nähe zu ihren Kindern behauptet, die der Gerichtsetikette theoretisch widersprach.

Bildanalyse

"Die natürliche Zärtlichkeit, dieses zarte Gefühl, diese süße Zuneigung der Seele wird mit solch bewundernswerter Kunstfertigkeit wiedergegeben, dass das Bild mit dem verglichen werden kann, was die größten Meister der italienischen Schule hervorgebracht haben, die am erhabensten sind. Diese Überprüfung von Das literarische Jahr, formuliert anlässlich der Präsentation von Mütterliche Zärtlichkeitkönnte nicht gerechter zielen. Vigée Le Brun, eine Bewundererin von Raphaël, hat tatsächlich die Madonnen des Renaissance-Genies im Sinn, wenn sie dieses Werk schafft. Tatsächlich ist das mütterliche Gefühl in der religiösen Malerei und genauer gesagt im kodifizierten Thema Madonna und Kind bis dahin hauptsächlich in der Kunst zum Ausdruck gekommen. Natürlich gab es Bilder von Müttern und Kindern, aber nie schien die hier sichtbare Ausgießung von Zuneigung durch. Dies war nicht das Ziel dieser offiziellen Arbeiten, die darauf abzielten, die Mutter als legitimen Vorfahren einer Linie im vereinbarten Rahmen ihres sozialen Ranges darzustellen. Um davon überzeugt zu sein, genügt es, dieses Selbstporträt mit dem Porträt einer anderen Mutter zu vergleichen, die Vigée Le Brun zur gleichen Zeit produzierte: das offizielle von Marie-Antoinette, umgeben von ihrer Tochter und ihren beiden Söhnen. Die Königin sitzt auf einem gestelzenen Sitz, während ihre drei Kinder sie in verkleideten Posen umgeben: Vor allem feiert die Arbeit ihre Rolle als Mutter der königlichen Familie.

Die beiden Selbstporträts von Vigée Le Brun mit ihrer Tochter, die zum Vergnügen in einer privaten Umgebung gemalt wurden, entziehen sich jedoch genau den Konventionen der offiziellen Porträtmalerei. Die zärtlich verschlungenen Posen materialisieren das doppelte Gefühl der Liebe und des Schutzes der Mutter für das Kind. Wenn die Inszenierung im Dialog der mit dem Zuschauer festgelegten Blicke durchscheint, scheint jedoch nichts falsch zu klingen. Dieses Gefühl der Aufrichtigkeit ist umso lebendiger, als die Kulisse der Szene bewusst reduziert wird, um die Aufmerksamkeit auf die beiden Charaktere zu lenken. Julie ist ein wiederkehrendes Modell in den Gemälden ihrer Mutter und wird durch die Spontaneität ihrer kindlichen Gesten, die im ersten Gemälde mit einem Eindruck von leichter Überraschung und im zweiten mit unverschämter Fröhlichkeit umgedreht wurden, so genau wie möglich eingefangen. Der einzige wesentliche Unterschied zwischen den beiden Werken betrifft die Kostüme: Die "à la grecque" im Gemälde von 1789 spiegeln den Geschmack des Neoklassizismus für die Antike wider, der nach den ersten Ausgrabungen von Herculaneum und Pompeji Mitte des Jahrhunderts auftrat. Jahrhundert.

Interpretation

Reduziert Vigée Le Brun in diesen beiden Werken ihre Rolle auf die einer Mutter? Das Argument wäre umso zulässiger als die Bewertung der Mutterfigur im XVIIIe Das Jahrhundert war nicht von einer tiefgreifenden Emanzipation begleitet: Frauen bleiben weitgehend auf die Privatsphäre beschränkt. Die unschuldige Einfachheit dieser Gemälde verbirgt jedoch eine komplexere Bedeutung, als es scheint. Vigée Le Brun, ein übliches Selbstporträt, hatte bereits 1782 für Aufsehen gesorgt und sich mit Pinseln in der Hand inszeniert. Das Selbstporträt ist daher für diesen Künstler eine Form der Selbstbehauptung. Sich mit ihrer Tochter zu vertreten, ist eine Möglichkeit, ihre einzigartige Situation zu behaupten, die jedoch in einer Gesellschaft, die für die Befreiung von Frauen noch nicht sehr empfänglich ist, vollkommen angenommen wird: die Tatsache, sowohl eine liebevolle Mutter als auch eine Malerin zu sein, deren Erfolg es ihr ermöglicht leben von seiner Kunst. Vigée Le Brun wurde von ihrem Pastellvater, der im Alter von 12 Jahren starb, im Handwerk ausgebildet und versorgte ihre Familie sehr früh durch den Verkauf ihrer Gemälde. Seit ihrer Jugend war sie daher eine der wenigen Frauen ihrer Zeit und ihres bürgerlichen sozialen Zustands, die die Ausübung eines traditionell für Männer reservierten Berufs übernahmen.

  • offizielles Porträt
  • königliche Braut
  • Marie Antoinette
  • absolute Monarchie
  • Mutterschaft
  • Kindheit
  • Selbstporträt

Literaturverzeichnis

BAILLIO Joseph, LACHS Xavier (Regie), Élisabeth Louise Vigée Le Brun, Katze. exp. (Paris, New York, Ottawa, 2015-2016), Paris, Treffen der Nationalmuseen - Grand Palais, 2015.HAROCHE-BOUZINAC Geneviève, Louise Élisabeth Vigée Le Brun: Geschichte eines Blicks, Paris, Flammarion, umg. "Grandes Biographien", 2011.KNIBIEHLER Yvonne, Geschichte der Mütter und Mutterschaft im Westen, Paris, University Press of France, Slg. "Was weiß ich? »(Nr. 3539), 2000. PITT-RIVERS Françoise, Madame Vigée Le Brun, Paris, Gallimard, 2001.

Um diesen Artikel zu zitieren

Emilie FORMOSO, "Das neue Gesicht der mütterlichen Liebe"


Video: Bindungstheorie - Wie Deine Kindheit Dein Leben Beeinflusst