Nice. Place Masséna at the corner of avenue de Verdun

Nice. Place Masséna at the corner of avenue de Verdun


We are searching data for your request:

Forums and discussions:
Manuals and reference books:
Data from registers:
Wait the end of the search in all databases.
Upon completion, a link will appear to access the found materials.

Nice. Place Masséna at the corner of avenue de Verdun.

© Photo RMN-Grand Palais

Publication date: August 2013

Historical context

The development of tourism in the 19th century caused a strong demographic growth of spas or seaside resorts. Tourism towns, created ex nihilo or new neighborhoods built from older cores, have been among the most dynamic in Western Europe, and their growth rate has often been more vigorous than that of industrial cities. Between 1811 and 1911, the total population increased from some 13,000 inhabitants to nearly 110,000.

Image Analysis

Located on Place Masséna, a place where the old town is articulated with the new town, the Claridge hotel is characterized by the sobriety of its facades, thus obeying the urban regulations established by the Sardinian administration, which intends to draw inspiration from the methods that have prevailed in Paris during the construction of the rue de Rivoli under the First Empire. The building overlooks the gardens which cover the lower course of the Paillon and which lead to the Promenade des Anglais and the Baie des Anges. We are a far cry from the type of grand hotel with ostentatious decoration that developed from the 1880s and of which the Excelsior, the Negresco or the Carlton are examples.
Nice in the 19th century was a “seasonal city”: “For six months, we seek the sun as a benefactor, the other six months we flee it like an enemy,” notes Robert de Souza. The electric sign installed on the hotel and inviting you to spend the summer in Aix-les-Bains is proof of this. The Hotel Claridge was not documented in the indicators for Nice and the Alpes-Maritimes until after the First World War, which moreover raises the question of the date of the photo. Paradox: according to the advertisements which appear in these same indicators and which concern the Claridge hotel-pension, it is open all year round.

Interpretation

The traditional tourism that had developed in Nice since the end of the 18th century made it a seasonal city, a winter capital. The First World War put an end to this situation and the city began to welcome visitors in all seasons, even if the illuminated advertisements lag behind the reality.

  • electricity
  • Nice
  • tourism
  • tram
  • town planning
  • french riviera
  • city

Bibliography

Robert de SOUZA Nice, winter capital Berger-Levrault, 1913.HAUG, C. JAMES Leisure and Urbanism in Nineteenth-Century Nice , Lawrence, Regents Press of Kansas, 1982 François LOYER The Century of Industry Paris, Skira, 1983.

To cite this article

Jean-Luc PINOL, “Nice. Place Masséna at the corner of avenue de Verdun »


Video: Place Masséna Visite guidée de Nice

Nett. Platzieren Sie Masséna an der Ecke der Avenue de Verdun

Nett. Platzieren Sie Masséna an der Ecke der Avenue de Verdun

Nett. Platzieren Sie Masséna an der Ecke der Avenue de Verdun.

© Foto RMN-Grand Palais

Erscheinungsdatum: August 2013

Historischer Zusammenhang

Die Entwicklung des Tourismus im 19. Jahrhundert führte zu einem starken demografischen Wachstum von Spas und Badeorten. Tourismusstädte, geschaffen aus dem Nichts oder neue Stadtteile, die aus älteren Kernen gebaut wurden, gehörten zu den dynamischsten in Westeuropa, und ihre Wachstumsrate war oft kräftiger als die von Industriestädten. Zwischen 1811 und 1911 stieg die Gesamtbevölkerung von rund 13.000 Einwohnern auf fast 110.000.

Bildanalyse

Das Claridge Hotel befindet sich am Place Masséna, einem Ort, an dem die Altstadt mit der Neustadt in Verbindung gebracht wird. Es zeichnet sich durch die Nüchternheit seiner Fassaden aus und befolgt damit die städtischen Vorschriften der sardischen Verwaltung, die sich von den Methoden inspirieren lassen wollen herrschte in Paris während des Baus der Rue de Rivoli unter dem Ersten Reich. Das Gebäude überblickt die Gärten, die den Unterlauf des Paillon bedecken und zur Promenade des Anglais und zur Baie des Anges führen. Dies ist weit entfernt von der Art eines Grand Hotels mit prunkvoller Dekoration, das ab den 1880er Jahren entwickelt wurde und für das das Excelsior, das Negresco oder das Carlton Beispiele sind.
Schön im 19. Jahrhundert war eine „saisonale Stadt“: „Sechs Monate lang suchen wir die Sonne als Wohltäter, die anderen sechs Monate fliehen wir wie ein Feind“, bemerkt Robert de Souza. Das elektrische Schild am Hotel, das Sie einlädt, den Sommer in Aix-les-Bains zu verbringen, ist ein Beweis dafür. Das Hotel Claridge wurde erst nach dem Ersten Weltkrieg in den Indikatoren für Nizza und die Alpes-Maritimes dokumentiert, was außerdem die Frage nach dem Datum des Fotos aufwirft. Paradox: Laut den Anzeigen, die in denselben Indikatoren erscheinen und die Claridge Hotel-Pension betreffen, ist sie das ganze Jahr über geöffnet.

Interpretation

Der traditionelle Tourismus, der sich seit dem Ende des 18. Jahrhunderts in Nizza entwickelt hatte, machte es zu einer saisonalen Stadt, einer Winterhauptstadt. Der Erste Weltkrieg setzte dieser Situation ein Ende und die Stadt begann zu jeder Jahreszeit, Besucher willkommen zu heißen, auch wenn die beleuchteten Anzeigen hinter der Realität zurückblieben.

  • Elektrizität
  • nett
  • Tourismus
  • Straßenbahn
  • Stadtplanung
  • Französische Riviera
  • Stadt

Literaturverzeichnis

Robert de SOUZA Schöne Winterhauptstadt Berger-Levrault, 1913. HAUG, C. JAMES Freizeit und Urbanismus im Nizza des 19. Jahrhunderts , Lawrence, Regents Press von Kansas, 1982 François LOYER Das Jahrhundert der Industrie Paris, Skira, 1983.

Um diesen Artikel zu zitieren

Jean-Luc PINOL: „Schön. Platzieren Sie Masséna an der Ecke der Avenue de Verdun »


Video: Appartement Massena - Nice - France