Napoleon and the policy of alliances

Napoleon and the policy of alliances


We are searching data for your request:

Forums and discussions:
Manuals and reference books:
Data from registers:
Wait the end of the search in all databases.
Upon completion, a link will appear to access the found materials.

  • Wedding of Prince Eugène de Beauharnais and Princess Amélie of Bavaria in Munich.

    MENAGEOT François Guillaume (1744 - 1818)

  • Wedding of Prince Jérôme Bonaparte and Princess Frédérique Catherine of Wurtemberg.

    REGNAULT Jean-Baptiste (1754 - 1829)

Wedding of Prince Eugène de Beauharnais and Princess Amélie of Bavaria in Munich.

© Photo RMN-Grand Palais - G. Blot / J. Schormans

To close

Title: Wedding of Prince Jérôme Bonaparte and Princess Frédérique Catherine of Wurtemberg.

Author : REGNAULT Jean-Baptiste (1754 - 1829)

Creation date : 1810

Date shown: 22 August 1807

Dimensions: Height 402 - Width 646

Technique and other indications: (22 August 1807) Oil painting on canvas

Storage location: National Museum of the Palace of Versailles (Versailles) website

Contact copyright: Photo RMN-Grand Palais - D. Arnaudet

Picture reference: 78EE217 / MV.1558

Wedding of Prince Jérôme Bonaparte and Princess Frédérique Catherine of Wurtemberg.

© Photo RMN-Grand Palais - D. Arnaudet

Publication date: March 2016

Historical context

Napoleon's international policy of establishing his dynasty led him to make allies among the new rulers and to secure their friendship through skillful, diplomatically arranged marriages.

Many Napoleonic marriages did not succeed. The descendants of this successful marriage continue to this day in the Scandinavian royal dynasties.

Image Analysis

Ménageot's painting

Late work of a painter four years older than David, a former pupil of Deshays and Boucher, who rallied to neoclassicism in a rather mellow style, the painting evokes in the background a very important diplomatic episode: the union from the Kingdom of Bavaria to the Kingdom of Italy, of which Prince Eugene was viceroy. The purpose of this alliance was to block the Austrian crossings on either side of the Alps.

The civil marriage of Prince Eugene and Princess Auguste-Amélie of Bavaria was celebrated in the Green Gallery of the Munich residence. Faced with Napoleon and Josephine, mother of Prince Eugene, and the new sovereigns of Bavaria, Maximilien-Joseph and his wife, the new couple step forward. Behind them sits Baron Dalberg, in ecclesiastical costume, soon Prince-Primate of the Confederation of the Rhine. It is he who will celebrate the religious marriage.

The marriage of these two young princes constitutes the first of the actions taken by the Emperor to integrate his dynasty into the reigning families of Europe, before he himself married Marie-Louise. This marriage will be followed in April 1806 by that of Stéphanie de Beauharnais with the crown prince of Baden, then, in 1807, by that of Jérôme, the youngest brother of Napoleon, with Catherine of Wurtemberg.

Despite this diplomatic background, Ménageot's work presents itself as a simple, very clumsy image, from which all solemnity is absent. A cold light, bright colors, a composition of a strict profile, further show the weakness of this aging artist who had long been director of the Académie de France in Rome.

Régnault's painting

Jérôme Bonaparte's marriage to Catherine of Wurtemberg was also the result of a political calculation. The kingdom of Westphalia, of which Jerome was king, had been formed by taking territories from Prussia in particular. It was thus the whole of Germany that finally found itself in the hands of the Emperor, blocking any attempt to invade France by Prussia or Russia. The alliance between the new kingdoms of Württemberg and Westphalia was therefore essential to guarantee the security of France.

The scene takes place in Diane's gallery in the Tuileries, just before the signing of the marriage contract.

Regnault was undoubtedly the only painter with David to have been able to transform Napoleonic subjects into masterpieces. Compared to the previous one, this painting is indeed one, first of all because of the skill of its composition which shifts the point of view by rotating it. It is to the beauty of the materials, to the silks, to the embroidery, that the artist, pupil and rival of David, became attached. The ample composition, in which Regnault had the idea to cut the canopy to use it as a drapery, is a pretext to develop the pomp of imperial ceremonial.

In small costume (see Goubaud's painting), Napoleon, alongside Empress Joséphine, welcomes his younger brother to whom he gave the hand of the daughter of the new King Frederick of Württemberg. Napoleon does not present here the usual passivity of paintings of this kind. Between the two brothers appears Madame Mère, Letizia Ramolino, and, forming a guard of honor around the advancing procession, stand the sisters and brothers of Napoleon and Jerome, as well as Julie Clary, wife of Joseph, Queen Hortense, Stéphanie de Beauharnais and Prince Eugène, as well as Félix Baciocchi, husband of Élisa, Prince Camille Borghèse, husband of Pauline, and Murat, husband of Caroline, without forgetting Cardinal Fesch.

It is therefore the entire Bonaparte "clan" that the painter brilliantly represented in this family picture which, despite its official character, allows fraternity to be expressed between the two main protagonists.

Interpretation

These two tables are not a priori than more or less brilliant images of events of the imperial era. But as often with the Napoleonic subjects, a much more important issue underlies them, in this case diplomatic questions related to the security of the state.

However, it is not here the hero's qualities that are declined, but his political views of overhauling Europe. In this sense, it is less Napoleon himself who is the subject of these paintings than the relationships between sovereigns.

  • Germany
  • imperial dynasty
  • Bonaparte (Jerome)
  • Bonaparte (Napoleon)
  • alliance policy

Bibliography

Claire CONSTANS, National Museum of the Palace of Versailles. The paintings, Paris, 2 vol., RMN, 1995.

Roger DUFRAISSE, Michel KERAUTRET, Napoleonic France. External aspects, Paris, Seuil, coll. “Points Histoire”, 1999.

Georges LACOUR-GAYET, Napoleon, his life, his work, his time, Paris, Hachette, 1921.

Georges LEFEBVRE, Napoleon, Paris, PUF, 1969.

Eudore SOULIE, Notice from the Versailles museum, 4 vol., Paris, Mourgues Frères, 1861-1881.

Jean TULARD (dir.), Napoleon dictionary, Paris, Fayard, 1987.

Jean TULARD (dir.), The History of Napoleon through painting, Paris, Belfond, 1991.

Jean TULARD, Louis GARROS, Day by day Napoleon's itinerary. 1769-1821, Paris, Tallandier, 1992.

COLLECTIVE, From David to Delacroix, catalog of the exhibition at the Grand Palais, Paris, 1974-1975.

COLLECTIVE, Dominique Vivant Denon. Napoleon's eye, catalog of the exhibition at the Louvre, Paris, Réunion des Musées Nationaux, 1999.

To cite this article

Jérémie BENOÎT, "Napoleon and the policy of alliances"


Video: Napoleon the Great? A debate with Andrew Roberts, Adam Zamoyski and Jeremy Paxman

Napoleon und die Politik der Allianzen

Napoleon und die Politik der Allianzen

  • Hochzeit von Prinz Eugène de Beauharnais und Prinzessin Amélie von Bayern in München.

    MENAGEOT François Guillaume (1744 - 1818)

  • Hochzeit von Prinz Jérôme Bonaparte und Prinzessin Frédérique Katharina von Württemberg.

    REGNAULT Jean-Baptiste (1754 - 1829)

Hochzeit von Prinz Eugène de Beauharnais und Prinzessin Amélie von Bayern in München.

© Foto RMN-Grand Palais - G. Blot / J. Schormans

Schließen

Titel: Hochzeit von Prinz Jérôme Bonaparte und Prinzessin Frédérique Katharina von Württemberg.

Autor: REGNAULT Jean-Baptiste (1754 - 1829)

Erstellungsdatum : 1810

Datum angezeigt: 22. August 1807

Maße: Höhe 402 - Breite 646

Technik und andere Indikationen: (22. August 1807) Ölgemälde auf Leinwand

Lagerort: Website des Nationalmuseums des Schlosses von Versailles (Versailles)

Kontakt Copyright: Foto RMN-Grand Palais - D. Arnaudet

Bildreferenz: 78EE217 / MV.1558

Hochzeit von Prinz Jérôme Bonaparte und Prinzessin Frédérique Katharina von Württemberg.

© Foto RMN-Grand Palais - D. Arnaudet

Erscheinungsdatum: März 2016

Historischer Zusammenhang

Napoleons internationale Politik zur Gründung seiner Dynastie führte ihn dazu, Verbündete unter den neuen Herrschern zu machen und ihre Freundschaft durch geschickte diplomatisch arrangierte Ehen zu sichern.

Viele napoleonische Ehen waren nicht erfolgreich. Die Nachkommen dieser erfolgreichen Ehe leben bis heute in den skandinavischen Königsdynastien.

Bildanalyse

Ménageots Gemälde

Spätes Werk eines Malers, der vier Jahre älter ist als David, ein ehemaliger Schüler von Deshays und Boucher, der sich in einem eher milden Stil dem Neoklassizismus verschrieben hat. Das Gemälde erinnert im Hintergrund an eine sehr wichtige diplomatische Episode: die Vereinigung vom Königreich Bayern zum Königreich Italien, dessen Vizekönig Prinz Eugen war. Ziel dieses Bündnisses war es, die österreichischen Übergänge auf beiden Seiten der Alpen zu blockieren.

Die standesamtliche Trauung von Prinz Eugen und Prinzessin Auguste-Amélie von Bayern wurde in der Grünen Galerie der Münchner Residenz gefeiert. Angesichts von Napoleon und Josephine, der Mutter von Prinz Eugen, und den neuen bayerischen Herrschern Maximilien-Joseph und seiner Frau tritt das neue Paar vor. Hinter ihnen sitzt Baron Dalberg in kirchlicher Tracht, der bald Prinz-Primas des Rheinbundes sein wird. Er wird die religiöse Ehe feiern.

Die Hochzeit dieser beiden jungen Fürsten ist die erste Maßnahme des Kaisers, um seine Dynastie in die regierenden Familien Europas zu integrieren, bevor er selbst Marie-Louise heiratete. Dieser Ehe folgt im April 1806 die von Stéphanie de Beauharnais mit dem Kronprinzen von Baden, dann 1807 die von Jérôme, dem jüngsten Bruder Napoleons, mit Katharina von Württemberg.

Trotz dieses diplomatischen Hintergrunds präsentiert sich Ménageots Werk als einfaches, sehr unangenehmes Bild, in dem jede Feierlichkeit fehlt. Ein kaltes Licht, helle Farben, eine Komposition mit einem strengen Profil zeigen weiter die Schwäche dieses alternden Künstlers, der lange Zeit Direktor der Académie de France in Rom gewesen war.

Régnaults Gemälde

Die Ehe von Jérôme Bonaparte mit Katharina von Württemberg war auch das Ergebnis einer politischen Berechnung. Das Königreich Westfalen, dessen König Hieronymus war, war insbesondere durch die Einnahme von Gebieten aus Preußen gebildet worden. Es war also ganz Deutschland, das sich schließlich in den Händen des Kaisers befand und jeden Versuch blockierte, durch Preußen oder Russland in Frankreich einzudringen. Das Bündnis zwischen den neuen Königreichen Württemberg und Westfalen war daher für die Gewährleistung der Sicherheit Frankreichs von wesentlicher Bedeutung.

Die Szene spielt in Dianes Galerie in den Tuilerien kurz vor der Unterzeichnung des Ehevertrags.

Regnault war zweifellos der einzige Maler mit David, der wusste, wie man napoleonische Motive in Meisterwerke verwandelt. Im Vergleich zum vorherigen ist dieses Gemälde in der Tat eines, vor allem durch die Fähigkeit seiner Komposition, die den Blickwinkel durch Drehen verschiebt. An der Schönheit der Materialien, an den Seiden, an der Stickerei wurde der Künstler, Schüler und Rivale Davids verbunden. Die reichhaltige Komposition, in der Regnault die Idee hatte, den Baldachin zu schneiden, um ihn als Vorhang zu verwenden, ist ein Vorwand, um den Pomp der kaiserlichen Zeremonie zu entwickeln.

In kleinen Kostümen (siehe Goubauds Gemälde) begrüßt Napoleon neben Kaiserin Joséphine seinen jungen Bruder, dem er die Hand der Tochter des neuen Königs Friedrich von Württemberg gab. Napoleon präsentiert hier nicht die übliche Passivität von Gemälden dieser Art. Zwischen den beiden Brüdern erscheinen Madame Mère, Letizia Ramolino, und als Ehrengarde um die vorrückende Prozession stehen die Schwestern und Brüder von Napoleon und Jerome sowie Julie Clary, die Frau von Joseph. Königin Hortense, Stéphanie de Beauharnais und Prinz Eugène sowie Félix Baciocchi, Ehemann von Élisa, Prinz Camille Borghèse, Ehemann von Pauline, und Murat, Ehemann von Caroline, ganz zu schweigen von Kardinal Fesch.

Es ist daher der gesamte Bonaparte- "Clan", den der Maler in diesem Familienbild brillant dargestellt hat, der es trotz seines offiziellen Charakters ermöglicht, die Brüderlichkeit zwischen den beiden Hauptprotagonisten zum Ausdruck zu bringen.

Interpretation

Diese beiden Tabellen sind nicht a priori als mehr oder weniger brillante Bilder von Ereignissen der Kaiserzeit. Aber wie so oft bei den napoleonischen Untertanen liegt ihnen ein viel wichtigeres Thema zugrunde, in diesem Fall diplomatische Fragen im Zusammenhang mit der Sicherheit des Staates.

Hier werden jedoch nicht die Qualitäten des Helden abgelehnt, sondern seine politischen Vorstellungen von einer Überarbeitung Europas. In diesem Sinne ist weniger Napoleon selbst Gegenstand dieser Bilder als die Beziehungen zwischen Souveränen.

  • Deutschland
  • kaiserliche Dynastie
  • Bonaparte (Hieronymus)
  • Bonaparte (Napoleon)
  • Bündnispolitik

Literaturverzeichnis

Claire CONSTANS, Nationalmuseum des Schlosses von Versailles. Die Gemälde, Paris, 2 Vol., RMN, 1995.

Roger DUFRAISSE, Michel KERAUTRET, Napoleonisches Frankreich. Externe Aspekte, Paris, Seuil, umg. "Points Histoire", 1999.

Georges LACOUR-GAYET, Napoleon, sein Leben, seine Arbeit, seine Zeit, Paris, Hachette, 1921.

Georges LEFEBVRE, Napoleon, Paris, PUF, 1969.

Eudore SOULIE, Versailler Museumshinweis4 Bd., Paris, Mourgues Frères, 1861-1881.

Jean TULARD (dir.), Napoleon Wörterbuch, Paris, Fayard, 1987.

Jean TULARD (dir.), Die Geschichte Napoleons durch Malerei, Paris, Belfond, 1991.

Jean TULARD, Louis GARROS, Tag für Tag Napoleons Reiseroute. 1769-1821, Paris, Tallandier, 1992.

KOLLEKTIV, Von David bis Delacroix, Katalog der Ausstellung im Grand Palais, Paris, 1974-1975.

KOLLEKTIV, Dominique Vivant Denon. Napoleons Auge, Katalog der Ausstellung im Louvre, Paris, Réunion des Musées Nationaux, 1999.

Um diesen Artikel zu zitieren

Jérémie BENOÎT, "Napoleon und die Politik der Allianzen"


Video: Napoleons Rückzug von Moskau 1812