Napoleon and his legitimacy as a warrior

Napoleon and his legitimacy as a warrior

To close

Title: Oath of the army made to the emperor after the distribution of the Eagles at the Champs de Mars.

Author : DAVID Jacques Louis (1748 - 1825)

Creation date : 1810

Date shown: 05 December 1804

Dimensions: Height 610 - Width 931

Technique and other indications: (5 December 1804) Oil painting on canvas

Storage location: National Museum of the Palace of Versailles (Versailles) website

Contact copyright: © Photo RMN-Grand Palais - P. Willi

Picture reference: 89EE477 / MV. 2278

Oath of the army made to the emperor after the distribution of the Eagles at the Champs de Mars.

© Photo RMN-Grand Palais - P. Willi

Publication date: November 2014

Video

Napoleon and his legitimacy as a warrior

Video

Historical context

Already an emblem of the Roman armies, of the German emperors, then of Prussia, Sicily and the United States, the eagle was adopted in June 1804 as the emblem of the empire by decision of Napoleon. This is the text of the oath taken by the Emperor.

Image Analysis

The painting of David belongs to the works commissioned for the celebrations of the coronation. In this composition, which is much more dynamic than The Coronation is, on the left on the platform we can distinguish the great dignitaries of the new regime: Duroc, Grand Marshal of the Palace, Cambacérès and Lebrun, Louis and Joseph Bonaparte, Eugène de Beauharnais, the Empress Joséphine and several other figures. The Emperor stepped forward surrounded by the new marshals Berthier, Bernadotte, Murat, Augereau, Masséna, Lannes, etc., brandishing their sticks. The moment of the ceremony chosen by David is when, with unanimous enthusiasm, all the soldiers shout to the Emperor: "We swear it! We recognize there hunters, grenadiers, dragons. The outstretched arms of the soldiers and those of the marshals meet in a sort of triangle, the apex of which would be formed by the eagle and the tricolor which surmount the tent at the back of the painting. The eagle, a sacred animal from ancient Roman times, emblem of the sovereign Jupiter, is believed to announce the light and represent the sun. But it is no longer Napoleon who is at the center of this sumptuous composition, he only descends towards his army. The symbolism here is more abstract. However, the eagle on the flag somewhat plays the role of the cross in the coronation table.

Interpretation

The democratic legislator of the Revolution has been replaced by the soldier who has become emperor. Consecrated by religion and by the eagle, bird of light, it derives its legitimacy from the popular base ensured by the oath of all army corps and the endorsement it has received from the Church. In fact, we can distinguish the sacred sovereign, who appears in The Coronation, from the vigilante sovereign shown in The Army Oath. It is as if we had here a split of imperial power into two entities. Just as the three colors of the national flag each symbolize, as shown by Georges Dumezil (sovereign's white, warrior's red and producers' blue), the color white divides itself into two sides materialized in David's paintings. by the two symbols which surmount his compositions: the cross and the eagle. Thus, David seems to have reasoned according to ancient representations deeply rooted in the European spirit, and reactivated at the time of the Revolution and the Empire.

  • army
  • Champ-de-Mars
  • Great Army
  • Bonaparte (Napoleon)
  • coronation of Napoleon
  • oath
  • political symbol
  • Cambaceres (Jean-Jacques-Régis de)

Bibliography

Louis BERGERON The Napoleonic Episode. Interior aspects. 1799-1815 Paris, Seuil, coll. "Points", 1972. Claire CONSTANS National Museum of the Palace of Versailles: Paintings , 2 vol. Paris, RMN, 1995 Eudore SOULIE Notice from the Versailles museum , 4 vol. Paris, Mourgues Frères, 1861-1881 Adolphe THIERS History of the Consulate and the Empire , 20 vol. Paris, Paulin-Lheureux, 1845-1862. Jean TULARD (ed.) Napoleon dictionary Paris, Fayard, 1987. Jean TULARD (dir.) The History of Napoleon through painting Paris, Belfond, 1991 Jean TULARD, Louis GARROS Day-to-day itinerary of Napoleon 1769-1821 Paris, Tallandier, 1992 Collective From David to Delacroix , catalog of the exhibition at the Grand-PalaisParis, 1974-1975. Dominique Vivant Denon. Napoleon's eye Paris, catalog of the exhibition at the Louvre, 1999. Paris, 1999

To cite this article

Jérémie BENOÎT, "Napoleon and his legitimacy as a warrior"


Video: Kaiserreich Guide - How to get Emperor Napoleon VI! Kept ya waiting, huh?

Napoleon und seine Legitimität als Krieger

Napoleon und seine Legitimität als Krieger

Schließen

Titel: Eid der Armee an den Kaiser nach der Verteilung der Adler auf den Champs de Mars geleistet.

Autor: DAVID Jacques Louis (1748 - 1825)

Erstellungsdatum : 1810

Datum angezeigt: 05. Dezember 1804

Maße: Höhe 610 - Breite 931

Technik und andere Indikationen: (5. Dezember 1804) Ölgemälde auf Leinwand

Lagerort: Website des Nationalmuseums des Schlosses von Versailles (Versailles)

Kontakt Copyright: © Foto RMN-Grand Palais - P. Willi

Bildreferenz: 89EE477 / MV. 2278

Eid der Armee an den Kaiser nach der Verteilung der Adler auf den Champs de Mars geleistet.

© Foto RMN-Grand Palais - P. Willi

Erscheinungsdatum: November 2014

Video

Napoleon und seine Legitimität als Krieger

Video

Historischer Zusammenhang

Der Adler war bereits ein Wahrzeichen der römischen Armeen, der deutschen Kaiser, dann Preußens, Siziliens und der Vereinigten Staaten und wurde im Juni 1804 durch Entscheidung Napoleons als Wahrzeichen des Reiches angenommen. Dies ist der Text des Eides des Kaisers.

Bildanalyse

Das Gemälde Davids gehört zu den Werken, die zur Feier der Krönung in Auftrag gegeben wurden. In dieser Komposition, die viel dynamischer ist als die Krönung, können wir links auf der Plattform die großen Würdenträger des neuen Regimes unterscheiden: Duroc, Großmarschall des Palastes, Cambacérès und Lebrun, Louis und Joseph Bonaparte, Eugène de Beauharnais, die Kaiserin Joséphine und einige andere Figuren. Der Kaiser rückte inmitten der neuen Marschälle Berthier, Bernadotte, Murat, Augereau, Masséna, Lannes usw. vor und schwang ihre Stöcke. Der Moment der von David gewählten Zeremonie ist, wenn alle Soldaten mit einstimmiger Begeisterung zum Kaiser rufen: "Wir schwören es! Wir erkennen dort Jäger, Grenadiere, Drachen. Die ausgestreckten Arme der Soldaten und der Marschälle treffen sich in einer Art Dreieck, dessen Spitze der Adler und die dreifarbige Flagge bilden würden, die das Zelt auf der Rückseite des Gemäldes überragen. Es wird angenommen, dass der Adler, ein heiliges Tier aus dem alten Rom, das Wahrzeichen des souveränen Jupiter, das Licht ankündigt und die Sonne darstellt. Aber es ist nicht mehr Napoleon, der im Zentrum dieser prächtigen Komposition steht, er steigt nur noch zu seiner Armee hinab. Die Symbolik hier ist abstrakter. Der Adler auf der Flagge spielt jedoch etwas die Rolle des Kreuzes in der Krönungstabelle.

Interpretation

Der demokratische Gesetzgeber der Revolution wurde durch den Soldaten ersetzt, der Kaiser geworden ist. Von der Religion und vom Adler, dem Lichtvogel, geweiht, leitet es seine Legitimität aus der Volksbasis ab, die ihm durch den Eid aller Streitkräfte und die Zustimmung der Kirche garantiert wird. Tatsächlich können wir den heiligen Souverän, der in The Coronation erscheint, von der souveränen Gerechtigkeit unterscheiden, die in The Army Oath gezeigt wird. Alles geschieht so, als hätten wir hier eine Aufteilung der imperialen Macht in zwei Einheiten. So wie die drei Farben der Nationalflagge jeweils symbolisieren, wie Georges Dumezil (souveränes Weiß, Kriegerrot und Produzentenblau) zeigt, teilt sich die Farbe Weiß in zwei Seiten, die in Davids Gemälden materialisiert sind. durch die zwei Symbole, die seine Kompositionen überragen: das Kreuz und der Adler. So scheint David nach alten Darstellungen argumentiert zu haben, die tief im europäischen Geist verwurzelt und zur Zeit der Revolution und des Imperiums reaktiviert waren.

  • Heer
  • Champ-de-Mars
  • Große Armee
  • Bonaparte (Napoleon)
  • Krönung Napoleons
  • Eid
  • politisches Symbol
  • Kambaceres (Jean-Jacques-Régis de)

Literaturverzeichnis

Louis BERGERON Die napoleonische Episode. Innenaspekte. 1799-1815 Paris, Seuil, umg. "Points", 1972. Claire CONSTANS Nationalmuseum des Schlosses von Versailles: Gemälde , 2 Vol. Paris, RMN, 1995 Eudore SOULIE Versailler Museumshinweis , 4 vol. Paris, Mourgues Frères, 1861-1881 Adolphe THIERS Geschichte des Konsulats und des Reiches 20, Paris, Paulin-Lheureux, 1845–1862. Jean TULARD (Hrsg.) Napoleon Wörterbuch Paris, Fayard, 1987. Jean TULARD (Regie) Die Geschichte Napoleons durch Malerei Paris, Belfond, 1991 Jean TULARD, Louis GARROS Tagesablauf von Napoleon 1769-1821 Paris, Tallandier, 1992 Kollektiv Von David bis Delacroix , Katalog der Ausstellung im Grand-PalaisParis, 1974-1975. Dominique Vivant Denon. Napoleons Auge Paris, Katalog der Ausstellung im Louvre, 1999. Paris, 1999

Um diesen Artikel zu zitieren

Jérémie BENOÎT, "Napoleon und seine Legitimität als Krieger"


Video: Napoleon Endgame: France 1814