Napoleon III and General Trochu

Napoleon III and General Trochu


We are searching data for your request:

Forums and discussions:
Manuals and reference books:
Data from registers:
Wait the end of the search in all databases.
Upon completion, a link will appear to access the found materials.

  • Napoleon III and Louis Trochu.

    FAUSTIN Faustin Betbeder, known as (1847 - 1914)

  • Trochu's plan.

    ANONYMOUS

To close

Title: Napoleon III and Louis Trochu.

Author : FAUSTIN Faustin Betbeder, known as (1847 - 1914)

Creation date : 1871

Date shown:

Dimensions: Height 55.8 - Width 45.1

Technique and other indications: Series News by Faustin

Storage location: MuCEM website

Contact copyright: © Photo RMN-Grand Palais - G. Blot website

Picture reference: 04-509851 / 996.4.69D

Napoleon III and Louis Trochu.

© Photo RMN-Grand Palais - G. Blot

To close

Title: Trochu's plan.

Author : ANONYMOUS (-)

Date shown:

Dimensions: Height 68.5 - Width 50

Storage location: MuCEM website

Contact copyright: © Photo RMN-Grand Palais - G. Blot website

Picture reference: 04-509101 / 50.39.1081D

© Photo RMN-Grand Palais - G. Blot

Publication date: August 2008

Historical context

After the defeat of Sedan, the defense of Paris

In August 1870, an inevitable succession of defeats brought down the Second Empire. However, this national defense government has in its ranks some great names of those who will make the IIIe République, such as Favre, Ferry or Gambetta. But the new leaders must make up for their credibility deficit with a French population which, again in May 1870, voted for Napoleon III: a man of order is absolutely necessary. Hence "the idea of ​​bringing Trochu into the government combination [because] despite his Catholic and Orleanist convictions, the latter benefited from his image as an opponent to the Empire and his popularity in the capital". (S. Audoin-Rouzeau, 1870, France in the war, p. "Breton, Catholic and soldier", as he defines himself, he is a man of convictions as evidenced by his resounding pre-war work, The French Army in 1867, where he unfriendly points out the extent of the shortcomings of the institution to which he belongs. This publication earned him a "shelving" by the imperial power, but it paid off during the collapse of Napoleon III's regime.

Image Analysis

Defeat, source of inspiration for the cartoon

The drawing entitled “Maître et valet” is the work of Faustin, diminutive of Faustin Betbeder (1847-1914), one of the big names in caricature, who counts, besides Napoleon III, Queen Victoria and Disraeli among his most victims. known. It is characterized by a precise line and a detailed representation of the counterfeit characters. Napoleon III and Trochu are here firmly tied up like condemned men, in a dreary place that one guesses stony, with a sky peopled with clouds of crows. The fallen emperor appears aged, eyelid drooping, decked out in a slicked back mustache that is just as much. Dressed in a sort of cloth, "the man of Sedan" clearly looks like an outlaw. According to a classic exaggeration, the very Catholic Trochu is, meanwhile, dressed in a cassock. His face less apathetic than his sidekick, the "valet" gives the impression of wanting to get rid of his ties. He owes his nickname "the man of Paris" to his role as military governor of the capital, a responsibility that his "master" Napoleon III entrusted to him on August 17, 1870 and that he retained until January 1871.

It seems that this function of military governor of the capital attracts many other jeers to Trochu. "His Tactics", as a Parisian newspaper ironically calls it, constantly brandishes a "plan", which it would have to face the difficulties, a plan moreover never revealed. This is blessed bread for the chansonniers, as shown in the lithograph thus entitled, publication of the newspaper The fight led by a revolutionary who returned from exile, Félix Pyat. The text is sarcastic at will (feigning assurance, Trochu enumerates all the setbacks and misfortunes suffered by France by making them the elements of the famous "Plan" planned to save the country ...). note that The fight It had already made a name for itself in the same register when it published an article on the "Plan Bazaine" on October 27, 1870, a virulent denunciation of the talks for the surrender of Metz. Featured in the center of the page as a wacky conspirator, Trochu rubs his hands, his feet resting on a plate running rats, a symbol of the daily life of Parisians during the siege. Below left, the cartoonist is ironic about his unsuccessful attempts to "get out" of the capital. On the other hand, it refers to the most famous of them, known as the Battle of Champigny (November 30-December 2, 1870). These days indeed saw the French troops cross the Marne to meet the Uhlans, to "re-pass" it (pun at the origin of the illustration) forced and forced three days later.

Interpretation

Men chained to the event

The sudden and unexpected collapse, at least in this form, of the Second Empire opens up a new political space and arouses caustic glances. The iconic figures of this historic fishtail are taunted, reflecting the fates of the protagonists. Prisoner of the enemy after Sedan, Napoleon III therefore lived in exile without return, barely embellished with any hints of conspiracy. Trochu resigned on January 22, 1871, after the failure of another "sortie", this time towards Versailles (Battle of Buzenval). The end of his functions is marked by a resounding speech in which he unequivocally points out the reality of the French defeat against the Prussians. The disowned general then quickly withdraws from political life.

Like General Boulanger a few years later, his career is characteristic of a popularity based on a reputation for inflexibility, but quickly dissipated: “Trochu, past participle of the verb too choir”, Victor Hugo will say scathingly. . On another level, the very free tone of the documents analyzed here refers to an adjacent question, that of freedom of expression. The reign of Napoleon III was indeed marked by heavy censorship. Once completed, it is certain that a breath of freedom animates the critical or satirical publications, which flourish from 1871. The IIIe République will of course curb imperial repressive practices, notably with the promulgation of the 1881 Press and Publishing Act. However, the creation in 1874 by cartoonist Gill of the indestructible shrew Anastasie, the incarnation of censorship with his long scissors, reminds us that the authors will never have any license to pastiche reality to make it appear better.

  • caricature
  • War of 1870
  • Napoleon III
  • Paris Headquarters

Bibliography

Aimé DUPUY, 1870-1871, the war, the Commune and the press, Paris, Armand Colin, coll. “Kiosque”, 1959.Bertrand TILLIER, La Républicature, political caricature in France. 1870-1914, Paris, Éditions du C.N.R.S., 1997. Robert TOMBS, La Guerre contre Paris, 1871, Paris, Aubier, 1997.

To cite this article

François BOULOC, "Napoleon III and General Trochu"


Video: Napoleon Bonaparte: The Strategic Genius

Napoleon III und General Trochu

Napoleon III und General Trochu

  • Napoleon III und Louis Trochu.

    FAUSTIN Faustin Betbeder, bekannt als (1847 - 1914)

  • Trochus Plan.

    ANONYM

Schließen

Titel: Napoleon III und Louis Trochu.

Autor: FAUSTIN Faustin Betbeder, bekannt als (1847 - 1914)

Erstellungsdatum : 1871

Datum angezeigt:

Maße: Höhe 55,8 - Breite 45,1

Technik und andere Indikationen: Serie Neuigkeiten von Faustin

Lagerraum: MuCEM-Website

Kontakt Copyright: © Foto RMN-Grand Palais - Website von G. Blot

Bildreferenz: 04-509851 / 996.4.69D

Napoleon III und Louis Trochu.

© Foto RMN-Grand Palais - G. Blot

Schließen

Titel: Trochus Plan.

Autor: ANONYM (-)

Datum angezeigt:

Maße: Höhe 68,5 - Breite 50

Lagerraum: MuCEM-Website

Kontakt Copyright: © Foto RMN-Grand Palais - Website von G. Blot

Bildreferenz: 04-509101 / 50.39.1081D

© Foto RMN-Grand Palais - G. Blot

Erscheinungsdatum: August 2008

Historischer Zusammenhang

Nach der Niederlage von Sedan die Verteidigung von Paris

Im August 1870 stürzte eine unvermeidliche Folge von Niederlagen das Zweite Reich. Diese nationale Verteidigungsregierung hat jedoch einige große Namen derer in ihren Reihen, die die III machen werdene République wie Favre, Ferry oder Gambetta. Aber die neuen Führer müssen ihre mangelnde Glaubwürdigkeit gegenüber einer französischen Bevölkerung ausgleichen, die erneut im Mai 1870 für Napoleon III. Stimmte: Ein Mann der Ordnung ist absolut notwendig. Daher "die Idee, Trochu in die Regierungskombination einzubeziehen, [weil] dieser trotz seiner katholischen und Orleanistischen Überzeugungen von seinem Image als Gegner des Imperiums und seiner Popularität in der Hauptstadt profitierte". (S. Audoin-Rouzeau, 1870 Frankreich im Krieg, p. "Bretonisch, katholisch und Soldat", wie er sich selbst definiert, ist ein Mann der Überzeugung, wie seine durchschlagende Vorkriegsarbeit zeigt, Die französische Armee im Jahr 1867, wo er unangenehm auf das Ausmaß der Mängel der Institution hinweist, zu der er gehört. Diese Veröffentlichung brachte ihm ein "Regal" von der imperialen Macht ein, aber es zahlte sich während des Zusammenbruchs des Regimes Napoleons III aus.

Bildanalyse

Niederlage, Inspirationsquelle für den Cartoon

Die Zeichnung mit dem Titel „Maître et valet“ ist das Werk von Faustin, einer Verkleinerung von Faustin Betbeder (1847-1914), einem der großen Namen in der Karikatur, der neben Napoleon III. Königin Victoria und Disraeli zu seinen meisten Opfern zählt. bekannt. Es zeichnet sich durch eine präzise Linie und eine detaillierte Darstellung der gefälschten Zeichen aus. Napoleon III. Und Trochu sind hier fest wie verurteilte Männer gefesselt, an einem trostlosen Ort, den man für steinig hält, mit einem Himmel voller Krähenwolken. Der gefallene Kaiser wirkt gealtert, das Augenlid hängt herab und trägt einen ebenso gekämmten Schnurrbart. "Der Mann von Sedan" ist in eine Art Stoff gekleidet und sieht eindeutig wie ein Gesetzloser aus. Nach einer klassischen Übertreibung ist der sehr katholische Trochu inzwischen in eine Soutane gekleidet. Sein Gesicht ist weniger apathisch als sein Kumpel, der "Kammerdiener" erweckt den Eindruck, seine Krawatten loswerden zu wollen. Seinen Spitznamen "der Mann von Paris" verdankt er seiner Rolle als Militärgouverneur der Hauptstadt, eine Verantwortung, die ihm sein "Meister" Napoleon III. Am 17. August 1870 anvertraute und die er bis Januar 1871 behielt.

Es scheint, dass diese Funktion des Militärgouverneurs der Hauptstadt viele andere Spötter nach Trochu zieht. "His Tactics", wie es eine Pariser Zeitung ironischerweise nennt, schwenkt ständig einen "Plan", dem sie sich den Schwierigkeiten stellen müsste, ein Plan, der im Übrigen nie enthüllt wurde. Dies ist gesegnetes Brot für die Chansonniers, wie in der so betitelten Lithographie, Veröffentlichung der Zeitung, gezeigt Der Kampf angeführt von einem aus dem Exil zurückgekehrten Revolutionär, Félix Pyat. Der Text ist nach Belieben sarkastisch (Trochu täuscht Sicherheit vor und zählt alle Rückschläge und Unglücksfälle Frankreichs auf, indem er sie zu Elementen des berühmten "Plans" macht, der das Land retten soll ...). beachten Sie, dass Der Kampf Sie hatte sich bereits im selben Register einen Namen gemacht, als sie am 27. Oktober 1870 einen Artikel über den "Plan Bazaine" veröffentlichte, eine virulente Denunziation der Gespräche zur Übergabe von Metz. Trochu wird in der Mitte der Seite als verrückter Verschwörer dargestellt und reibt sich die Hände. Seine Füße ruhen auf einem Teller mit Ratten, ein Symbol für das tägliche Leben der Pariser während der Belagerung. Unten links ist der Karikaturist ironisch über seine erfolglosen Versuche, die Hauptstadt zu "verlassen". Auf der anderen Seite bezieht es sich auf die berühmteste von ihnen, bekannt als die Schlacht von Champigny (30. November - 2. Dezember 1870). In diesen Tagen überquerten die französischen Truppen tatsächlich die Marne, um die Ulanen zu treffen, um sie drei Tage später zu erzwingen (Wortspiel am Ursprung der Illustration).

Interpretation

Männer an die Veranstaltung gekettet

Der plötzliche und unerwartete Zusammenbruch des Zweiten Reiches, zumindest in dieser Form, eröffnet einen neuen politischen Raum und weckt ätzende Blicke. Die ikonischen Figuren dieses historischen Fischschwanzes werden verspottet und spiegeln das Schicksal der Protagonisten wider. Napoleon III., Ein Gefangener des Feindes nach Sedan, lebte daher ohne Rückkehr im Exil, kaum mit Anzeichen von Verschwörung verziert. Trochu trat am 22. Januar 1871 zurück, nachdem ein weiterer "Ausfall" gescheitert war, diesmal in Richtung Versailles (Schlacht von Buzenval). Das Ende seiner Funktionen ist durch eine durchschlagende Rede gekennzeichnet, in der er unmissverständlich auf die Realität der französischen Niederlage gegen die Preußen hinweist. Der verleugnete General zieht sich dann schnell aus dem politischen Leben zurück.

Wie General Boulanger einige Jahre später ist seine Karriere charakteristisch für eine Popularität, die auf dem Ruf der Inflexibilität beruht, sich aber schnell auflöst: „Trochu, Partizip Perfekt des Verbs zu Chor“, wird Victor Hugo vernichtend sagen. . Auf einer anderen Ebene bezieht sich der sehr freie Ton der hier analysierten Dokumente auf eine angrenzende Frage, die der Meinungsfreiheit. Die Regierungszeit Napoleons III. War in der Tat von starker Zensur geprägt. Nach seiner Fertigstellung ist es sicher, dass ein Hauch von Freiheit die kritischen oder satirischen Veröffentlichungen belebt, die ab 1871 florierene Die Republik wird natürlich die imperialen Repressionspraktiken eindämmen, insbesondere mit der Verkündung des Presse- und Verlagsgesetzes von 1881. Die Kreation des unzerstörbaren Spitzmaus Anastasie im Jahr 1874 durch den Karikaturisten Gill, die Inkarnation der Zensur mit seiner langen Schere, erinnert uns jedoch daran, dass die Autoren niemals eine Lizenz zur Pastiche-Realität haben werden, um sie besser erscheinen zu lassen.

  • Karikatur
  • Krieg von 1870
  • Napoleon III
  • Hauptsitz von Paris

Literaturverzeichnis

Aimé DUPUY, 1870-1871, der Krieg, die Kommune und die Presse, Paris, Armand Colin, Slg. "Kiosque", 1959. Bertrand TILLIER, La Républicature, politische Karikatur in Frankreich. 1870-1914, Paris, Éditions du C.N.R.S., 1997. Robert TOMBS, La Guerre contre Paris, 1871, Paris, Aubier, 1997.

Um diesen Artikel zu zitieren

François BOULOC, "Napoleon III und General Trochu"


Video: Napoleon III: The Forgotten Bonaparte