Napoleon, idol of the people under Louis-Philippe

Napoleon, idol of the people under Louis-Philippe


We are searching data for your request:

Forums and discussions:
Manuals and reference books:
Data from registers:
Wait the end of the search in all databases.
Upon completion, a link will appear to access the found materials.

  • Pair of water pitchers in the shape of "Napoleon" and "Joséphine".

    ANONYMOUS

  • "Napoleon" waffle mold.

    ANONYMOUS

  • Scarf "Legion of Honor".

    ANONYMOUS

To close

Title: Pair of water pitchers in the shape of "Napoleon" and "Joséphine".

Author : ANONYMOUS (-)

Creation date : 1830

Date shown:

Dimensions: Height 30 - Width 13.5

Technique and other indications: earthenware

Storage place: National Museum of Malmaison Castle website

Contact copyright: © Photo RMN-Grand Palais - G. Blot website

Picture reference: 01DE14514 / MM.60.9.3 (1 & 2)

Pair of water pitchers in the shape of "Napoleon" and "Joséphine".

© Photo RMN-Grand Palais - G. Blot

To close

Title: "Napoleon" waffle mold.

Author : ANONYMOUS (-)

Creation date : 1840

Date shown:

Dimensions: Height 22.5 - Width 8.5

Technique and other indications: Iron sheet

Storage place: National Museum of Malmaison Castle website

Contact copyright: © Photo RMN-Grand Palais - G. Blot website

Picture reference: 01CE14532 / MM.85.1.14

"Napoleon" waffle mold.

© Photo RMN-Grand Palais - G. Blot

To close

Title: Scarf "Legion of Honor".

Author : ANONYMOUS (-)

Creation date : 1840

Date shown:

Dimensions: Height 80 - Width 91

Technique and other indications: printed silk

Storage place: National Museum of Malmaison Castle website

Contact copyright: © Photo RMN-Grand Palais - D. Arnaudet web site

Picture reference: 95CE15849 / N.319

Scarf "Legion of Honor".

© Photo RMN-Grand Palais - D. Arnaudet

Publication date: April 2014

Historical context

“Always him! Him everywhere! ", Exclaimed Victor Hugo in The Orientals (1829), to which Auguste Barbier replied in "L’idole" (Legs (1831): “Again Napoleon, still his great image! "From the Restoration, in fact, the demi-pays, former demobilized soldiers of the Empire, began to circulate innumerable Napoleonic objects. The production was immense, varied, unusual, and made use of all the supports, techniques and materials.

Image Analysis

In addition to the objects presented here, there are also pocket knives, inkwells, table bells, candlesticks in the shape of Napoleon, snuff boxes or various boxes decorated with portraits of the Emperor or battle scenes, representations of the tomb of the Emperor, statuettes, plates decorated with Napoleonic subjects, etc. In the absence of an invasion of Europe, Napoleon was everywhere in things. From the most everyday to the most luxurious, there was something for all budgets, because these objects were distributed to different social categories, from the worker and the peasant to the liberal bourgeois.

It was not trivial in the first part of the 19th century to own an object of this type, especially under the Restoration. It was to display loudly his Bonapartist, liberal opinions. This is why certain objects such as scarves were only printed under Louis-Philippe: it was impossible to show oneself with a Napoleonic handkerchief tied around the neck under the reign of Charles X. Printed scarves were moreover more the fact of the workers - most of them made of cotton - only bourgeois. The one shown here, in silk and bearing the Legion of Honor, must have belonged to either a former officer or a newly decorated one. It is indeed an already luxurious work, which can be dated from 1840 given its central subject which allegorically represents "the flight of the eagle", that is to say the return of the ashes.

On the other hand, the pitchers and the waffle mold are indeed very popular objects, kitchen and tavern items, which should, however, only be shown to close friends or relatives whose opinions were known.

Interpretation

Signs of recognition between people of the same party, all these objects at the same time fall within one way or another of the propaganda more or less authorized under Louis-Philippe, the main period of production of all these objects. We will notice the presence of the Empress Joséphine, better accepted by the people than Marie-Louise, well highlighted in the imagery around 1814-1815 because mother of the King of Rome, but very quickly forgotten because daughter of the Emperor of Austria, enemy of France, and traitor to Napoleon.

  • bonapartism
  • Napoleonic legend
  • Hugo (Victor)
  • Louis Philippe
  • popular imagery
  • Restoration
  • Charles X
  • objects

Bibliography

Collective Napoleon. The Return of the Ashes. Death and Resurrection , exhibition catalog, Courbevoie, Roybet-Fould museum, 1990.

To cite this article

Jérémie BENOÎT, "Napoleon, idol of the people under Louis-Philippe"


Video: Maximilian I: The Austrian Dictator of Mexico

Napoleon, Idol des Volkes unter Louis-Philippe

Napoleon, Idol des Volkes unter Louis-Philippe

  • Paar Wasserkrüge in Form von "Napoleon" und "Joséphine".

    ANONYM

  • Waffelform "Napoleon".

    ANONYM

  • Schal "Ehrenlegion".

    ANONYM

Schließen

Titel: Paar Wasserkrüge in Form von "Napoleon" und "Joséphine".

Autor: ANONYM (-)

Erstellungsdatum : 1830

Datum angezeigt:

Maße: Höhe 30 - Breite 13.5

Technik und andere Indikationen: Steingut

Speicherort: Website des Nationalmuseums von Malmaison Castle

Kontakt Copyright: © Foto RMN-Grand Palais - Website von G. Blot

Bildreferenz: 01DE14514 / MM.60.9.3 (1 & 2)

Paar Wasserkrüge in Form von "Napoleon" und "Joséphine".

© Foto RMN-Grand Palais - G. Blot

Schließen

Titel: Waffelform "Napoleon".

Autor: ANONYM (-)

Erstellungsdatum : 1840

Datum angezeigt:

Maße: Höhe 22,5 - Breite 8,5

Technik und andere Indikationen: Eisenblech

Speicherort: Website des Nationalmuseums von Malmaison Castle

Kontakt Copyright: © Foto RMN-Grand Palais - Website von G. Blot

Bildreferenz: 01CE14532 / MM.85.1.14

Waffelform "Napoleon".

© Foto RMN-Grand Palais - G. Blot

Schließen

Titel: Schal "Ehrenlegion".

Autor: ANONYM (-)

Erstellungsdatum : 1840

Datum angezeigt:

Maße: Höhe 80 - Breite 91

Technik und andere Indikationen: bedruckte Seide

Speicherort: Website des Nationalmuseums von Malmaison Castle

Kontakt Copyright: © Foto RMN-Grand Palais - Website von D. Arnaudet

Bildreferenz: 95CE15849 / N.319

Schal "Ehrenlegion".

© Foto RMN-Grand Palais - D. Arnaudet

Erscheinungsdatum: April 2014

Historischer Zusammenhang

„Immer er! Ihn überall! ", Rief Victor Hugo aus Die Orientalen (1829), worauf Auguste Barbier in "L’idole" antwortete (Beine (1831): „Wieder Napoleon, immer noch sein großartiges Bild! "Von der Restaurierung an begannen die Demi-Pays, ehemalige demobilisierte Soldaten des Imperiums, unzählige napoleonische Objekte in Umlauf zu bringen. Die Produktion war immens, vielfältig, ungewöhnlich und griff auf alle Träger, Techniken und Materialien zurück.

Bildanalyse

Neben den hier vorgestellten Objekten gibt es auch Taschenmesser, Tintenfass, Tischglocken, napoleonförmige Kerzenhalter, Schnupftabakdosen oder verschiedene Schachteln, die mit Porträts des Kaisers oder Kampfszenen verziert sind, Darstellungen des Grabes von Kaiser, Statuetten, Teller mit napoleonischen Motiven usw. In Ermangelung einer Invasion in Europa war Napoleon überall in Dingen. Vom alltäglichsten bis zum luxuriösesten war für jeden Geldbeutel etwas dabei, da diese Objekte auf verschiedene soziale Kategorien verteilt waren, vom Arbeiter über den Bauern bis zum liberalen Bourgeois.

In der ersten Hälfte des 19. Jahrhunderts war es nicht trivial, ein Objekt dieser Art zu besitzen, insbesondere im Rahmen der Restaurierung. Es sollte laut seine bonapartistischen, liberalen Meinungen zeigen. Aus diesem Grund wurden bestimmte Objekte wie Schals nur unter Louis-Philippe gedruckt: Es war unmöglich, sich während der Regierungszeit Karls X mit einem napoleonischen Taschentuch um den Hals zu zeigen. Gedruckte Schals waren darüber hinaus eher die Tatsache von Arbeiter - die meisten von ihnen Baumwolle - als bürgerlich. Die hier gezeigte aus Seide mit der Ehrenlegion muss entweder einem ehemaligen Offizier oder einem neu dekorierten gehört haben. Es ist in der Tat ein bereits luxuriöses Werk, das aufgrund seines zentralen Themas, das allegorisch "den Flug des Adlers" darstellt, aus dem Jahr 1840 datiert werden kann die Rückkehr der Asche.

Auf der anderen Seite sind die Krüge und die Waffelform in der Tat sehr beliebte Gegenstände, Küchen- und Tavernenartikel, die jedoch nur engen Freunden oder Verwandten gezeigt werden sollten, deren Meinungen bekannt waren.

Interpretation

Zeichen der Anerkennung zwischen Personen derselben Partei, alle diese Objekte zur gleichen Zeit fallen auf die eine oder andere Weise unter die Propaganda, die mehr oder weniger unter Louis-Philippe, der Hauptproduktionsperiode all dieser Objekte, autorisiert ist. Wir werden die Anwesenheit der Kaiserin Joséphine bemerken, die vom Volk besser angenommen wird als Marie-Louise, die in den Bildern um 1814-1815 als Mutter des Königs von Rom gut hervorgehoben, aber sehr schnell vergessen wurde, weil Tochter der Kaiser von Österreich, Feind Frankreichs und Verräter Napoleons.

  • Bonapartismus
  • Napoleonische Legende
  • Hugo (Victor)
  • Louis Philippe
  • beliebte Bilder
  • Wiederherstellung
  • Charles X.
  • Objekte

Literaturverzeichnis

Kollektiv Napoleon. Die Rückkehr der Asche. Tod und Auferstehung , Ausstellungskatalog, Courbevoie, Roybet-Fould Museum, 1990.

Um diesen Artikel zu zitieren

Jérémie BENOÎT, "Napoleon, Idol des Volkes unter Louis-Philippe"


Video: Tribute to Napoléon Bonaparte