Napoleon III

Napoleon III


We are searching data for your request:

Forums and discussions:
Manuals and reference books:
Data from registers:
Wait the end of the search in all databases.
Upon completion, a link will appear to access the found materials.

© Photo RMN-Grand Palais

Publication date: March 2016

Historical context

Franz-Xaver Winterhalter painted this portrait of Napoleon III in 1857. It is the symbol of a newfound French grandeur.
It is therefore a serene sovereign, at the height of his power, of whom Winterhalter portrayed.

Image Analysis

The Emperor is shown in formal attire. He wears a black frock coat, with the rosette of the Legion of Honor on the buttonhole, a gray waistcoat with a watch chain and gray pants.
Although unsigned and little known, this portrait has always been attributed to Winterhalter. It was to be the counterpart of that of Empress Eugenie, entitled The Straw Hat, which also dates from 1857. The latter is slightly smaller, but also oval, and we find in these two works identical play of light, and the same rustic background. The idea of ​​this double commission was born when the painter was invited by the imperial couple to spend a week in Fontainebleau, at the end of November 1856.

Interpretation

There are very few portraits of Napoleon III painted by Winterhalter. The artist has much more often represented Empress Eugenie, of whom he was the favorite painter. When his first portrait of the Emperor - an official full-length portrait - was shown at the Exposition Universelle des Beaux-Arts in 1855, critics eloquently ignored him in order to exert their recrimination on the works dedicated to the Empress. , notably the famous composition Empress Eugenie surrounded by her ladies of honor. This 1857 portrait has not been the subject of any public exhibition and therefore has not been subjected to the perceptive gaze of art critics of the time.
According to Doctor Evans, a dentist to the Imperial Family, the Emperor was short, with a massive head, light brown hair and a waxed mustache. Winterhalter embellishes and flatters its model. Implementing an old trend, usual with him, he "corrects nature": Napoleon III here seems taller and straighter than he was in reality.
On the other hand, the sovereign's elegance, probably acquired through contact with the British gentry during his years of exile in England, is faithfully restored. Napoleon III had an English tailor, Henry Creed. “He was always dressed smartly, and we usually saw him in public, when he wasn't wearing the uniform, wearing a black frock coat. (Dr Evans: Memoirs, flight. I, 1905, p. 41).
As for the Emperor's face, it is expressionless and smooth. It does not reveal the personality of the model. He locks him in a dignified and serene reserve. This is a private portrait, which was not intended to be reproduced and disseminated. It is, of course, nicer and more endearing than the official portrait of 1854, of a grandiloquent majesty, but we are far from the image given of the sovereign Hippolyte Flandrin in his painting of 1861, where we subtly perceive the personality of the emperor despite the artificial nature of the pose and the decor.

  • Napoleon III
  • official portrait
  • Second Empire
  • Congress of Vienna
  • Crimean War
  • Legion of Honor
  • England

Bibliography

Jean TULARD (Dir) Dictionary of the Second Empire Paris, Fayard, 1995.Alain PLESSIS From the imperial festival to the federated wall Paris, Seuil, coll. "Point histoire", 1973. Collective "Should we rehabilitate Napoleon III?" " File History , n ° 211 June 1997 Collective Exhibition catalog: Franz-Xaver Winterhalter and the European Courts from 1830 to 1870 Museum of the Petit Palais, 1988.Dr EVANS Memories , flight. I1905, p. 41; Introduction, pp. 48-49 Wild, 1894, no.476.

To cite this article

Alain GALOIN, "Napoleon III"


Video: Le règne bling-bling de Napoléon III

Napoleon III

Napoleon III

© Foto RMN-Grand Palais

Erscheinungsdatum: März 2016

Historischer Zusammenhang

Franz-Xaver Winterhalter malte dieses Porträt von Napoleon III. Im Jahr 1857. Es ist das Symbol für eine neu entdeckte französische Größe.
Es ist daher ein gelassener Souverän auf dem Höhepunkt seiner Macht, von dem Winterhalter porträtiert hat.

Bildanalyse

Der Kaiser wird in formeller Kleidung gezeigt. Er trägt einen schwarzen Gehrock mit der Rosette der Ehrenlegion am Knopfloch, eine graue Weste mit einer Uhrenkette und eine graue Hose.
Obwohl nicht signiert und wenig bekannt, wurde dieses Porträt immer Winterhalter zugeschrieben. Es sollte das Gegenstück zu dem von Kaiserin Eugenie sein Der Strohhut, das ebenfalls aus dem Jahr 1857 stammt. Letzteres ist etwas kleiner, aber auch oval, und wir finden in diesen beiden Werken identisches Lichtspiel und den gleichen rustikalen Hintergrund. Die Idee zu diesem Doppelauftrag entstand, als der Maler Ende November 1856 vom Kaiserpaar eingeladen wurde, eine Woche in Fontainebleau zu verbringen.

Interpretation

Es gibt nur sehr wenige Porträts von Napoleon III., Die von Winterhalter gemalt wurden. Der Künstler hat viel häufiger Kaiserin Eugenie vertreten, von der er der Lieblingsmaler war. Als sein erstes Porträt des Kaisers - ein offizielles Porträt in voller Länge - 1855 auf der Exposition Universelle des Beaux-Arts gezeigt wurde, ignorierten ihn Kritiker eloquent, um ihre Beschuldigung für die der Kaiserin gewidmeten Werke geltend zu machen. , insbesondere die berühmte Komposition Kaiserin Eugenie, umgeben von ihren Ehrendamen. Dieses Porträt von 1857 war nicht Gegenstand einer öffentlichen Ausstellung und wurde daher nicht dem scharfsinnigen Blick der damaligen Kunstkritiker ausgesetzt.
Laut Doktor Evans, einem Zahnarzt der kaiserlichen Familie, war der Kaiser klein, hatte einen massiven Kopf, hellbraunes Haar und einen gewachsten Schnurrbart. Winterhalter verschönert und schmeichelt seinem Modell. Er setzt einen alten Trend um, der bei ihm üblich ist, und "korrigiert die Natur": Napoleon III. Scheint hier größer und gerader zu sein als in Wirklichkeit.
Andererseits wird die Eleganz des Souveräns, die wahrscheinlich durch den Kontakt mit dem britischen Adel während seiner Exiljahre in England erlangt wurde, getreu wiederhergestellt. Napoleon III hatte einen englischen Schneider, Henry Creed. „Er war immer gut gekleidet, und wir haben ihn normalerweise in der Öffentlichkeit gesehen, wenn er keine Uniform trug und einen schwarzen Gehrock trug. (Dr. Evans: Erinnerungen, Flug. I, 1905, p. 41).
Das Gesicht des Kaisers ist ausdruckslos und glatt. Es zeigt nicht die Persönlichkeit des Modells. Er sperrt ihn in eine würdige und ruhige Reserve. Dies ist ein privates Porträt, das nicht reproduziert und verbreitet werden sollte. Es ist natürlich schöner und liebenswerter als das offizielle Porträt einer großmütigen Majestät von 1854, aber wir sind weit entfernt von dem Bild, das der souveräne Hippolyte Flandrin in seinem Gemälde von 1861 gegeben hat, in dem wir das subtil wahrnehmen Persönlichkeit des Kaisers trotz der künstlichen Natur der Pose und des Dekors.

  • Napoleon III
  • offizielles Porträt
  • Zweites Reich
  • Wiener Kongress
  • Krim-Krieg
  • Ehrenlegion
  • England

Literaturverzeichnis

Jean TULARD (Dir) Wörterbuch des Zweiten Reiches Paris, Fayard, 1995. Alain PLESSIS Vom kaiserlichen Fest bis zur Föderationsmauer Paris, Seuil, umg. "Point histoire", 1973. Kollektiv "Sollten wir Napoleon III rehabilitieren?" "" Dokumentenhistorie , Nr. 211 Juni 1997 Sammelausstellungskatalog: Franz-Xaver Winterhalter und die europäischen Gerichte von 1830 bis 1870 Museum des Petit Palais, 1988. Dr. EVANS Erinnerungen , Flug. 1905, p. 41; Einleitung, pp. 48-49 Wild, 1894, Nr. 476.

Um diesen Artikel zu zitieren

Alain GALOIN, "Napoleon III"


Video: Who Was Napoleon III? AP Euro Bit by Bit #32